User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 222 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 222

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    First, straight off the bat, I'd like to say, GREATEST Splinter Cell game in the entire series. I mean, bravo, 2 thumbs up. Gameplay is very organized and not too tweaked around like the later games. Story line was exceptional. Running on a very good computer, this game rarely has any glitches or bugs, so, good job Ubisoft. The co-op portion is possibly the best part about Chaos Theory. If you love taking out bad guys in stealth over lan or online, this is probably the best game to do it in. Very, very fun game. I prefer it highly over Double Agent in my opinion. 10/10 Expand
  2. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    I own this game for both pc and xbox. The multilayer concept and style of gameplay will keep this game among my few favorites. Sadly conviction was overseen by a baboon and the series has ended with a big fat epic fail. There will never be another game like this.
  3. Aug 4, 2011
    9
    Probably the best stealth game i have ever played and this is 6 years after the games release. The game looks great but where this game stands out is in the game play, it allows one to play the game the way one wants to and allows one to choose different options to get objectives done and send people into the next dimension or just knock them out, although this game is most rewarding when you stick to being stealthy.The game also has quite a bit of humor and will keep you grinning at certain points in the game("Did you hear about the new Prince of Persia..."). The downside of the game is quite simply the music which was nothing special and the story while being epic had a very un-epic ending. Overall a really good quality lengthy game.8.8/10. Expand
  4. Apr 13, 2011
    10
    Easily the best installment of the Splinter Cell series, the game play is stealthy, tactical, and just plain satisfying. This isn't a mindless, fast paced stealth action game like Conviction, Chaos Theory is the very essence of the Splinter Cell franchise. Even if your having problems with multiplayer, the single player experience is still easily worth the money, which currently costs $10 on Steam. Easily the greatest stealth game ever created! Collapse
  5. Aug 20, 2011
    9
    I missed the boat when this game first came out, but i recently picked it up for the PC and i was absolutely stunned by how great it looked. Game play is solid when the AI isnt being brainless or clairvoyant. Story is what you'd expect from Clancy. Other than that highly recommended!
  6. Sep 22, 2011
    10
    What can I say, I've got a hardon for this particular brand of realistic gameplay. Also why I find Counter-Strike such a disappointing and disgusting phenomenon. Ah well, back to Sam Fisher. Splinter Cell was one of the greats, and Chaos Theory, the third one in the series, just takes everything from Splinter Cell and makes it better. Better weapon mechanics, better graphics, better lighting, better enemy AI, better level design, and holy **** they added a knife for Sam! Truly, the most important addition to any series, ever. Slicing someone's throat open from the side with it is one of the most satisfying moves in gaming. Chaos Theory is also superior in its addition of a fantastic co-op mode online. Instead of sneaking around by yourself, you could actually sneak around and perform stealth knockouts with a teammate. While limited to four levels, it was not a thoughtless addition and provided some genuinely exciting and tense action. While not anywhere near as cinematic or annoyingly labored with its storytelling as the Metal Gear Series, Splinter Cell is the superior stealth genre series in my humble opinion. PS: don't get SC Double Agent, it's a buggy mess on the PC. Expand
  7. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    an absolutely fantastic game.levels are well designed.i have played this game thrice and havent got bored of it.this game is best of the series.if you like stealth game then try this and thief series.both are epic.
  8. Jun 23, 2012
    10
    absolutley wonderful

    a+ for graphical settings

    still pretty +shadows work at the bat, no tweaking needed

    fun fun fun fun funfun best best best splinter cell
  9. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    Great Game, great story and great graphics. This game together with Hitman is one of the BEST single player games of its Era. Much like Half life, it changed alot of things on the Market, a Modern Tomb Raider if you will. +10!
  10. Apr 8, 2013
    9
    The original Splinter Cell is a good game. Ubisoft has managed to turn it into a great game in this second installment. I played only the single player and enjoyed every moment. The mechanics are great, the story and voice acting are quite good this time and the humor is awesome. The graphics, especially when pushed to their limit are incredible for the 2005 release. The one issue is the near clairvoyant ability of the AI. I would do and change NOTHING and slip past a guard and they would look at the door I just closed and say "somethings wrong here...." and go on alert. Other than that this is a very solid game 8 years after its original release. Expand
  11. Sep 1, 2013
    9
    Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Chaos Theory Is the best game in the series after Original Splinter Cell
    because of its story.Chaos theory has everything a Splinter Cell Fan like me would want like more interrogation with NPC & option between lethal & Non-Lethal attack.Graphics & Sound are amazing.
    Note:This review is only about single player Campaign
  12. AWG
    Jul 7, 2013
    9
    Wow. I played Chaos Theory 8 years ago and I still almost can feel the thrills this game gave me. Greatest Splinter Cell game? Maybe, even likely, but I haven't played any from the latter trilogy.
  13. Mar 3, 2014
    10
    Splinter Chaos Theory, has been mentioned as the best of it's series. If you do not believe this claim, then you better believe it! I played this game on March 2nd, of 2014; and by the gods it was still able to give me (a modern day gamer) a fun ride.

    My final thoughts, Splinter Cell Chaos Theory is way better than the first Splinter Cell. The first game had an extremely weaker version
    of Sam. Sneaking and taking down enemies was an experience which i didn't enjoy. So if you've played the first game, and hated it, play this game. Its much better! But, please note, you still have to be patient. One of the missions actually took me 1 Hour and 20 minutes to complete! Lol, im a noob, but I was playing it on Hard.... :l Expand
  14. Apr 13, 2011
    0
    Easily the best installment of the Splinter Cell series, the game play is stealthy, tactical, and just plain satisfying. This isn't a mindless, fast paced stealth action game like Conviction, Chaos Theory is the very essence of the Splinter Cell franchise. Even if your having problems with multiplayer, the single player experience is still easily worth the money, which currently costs $10 on Steam. Easily the greatest stealth game ever created! Collapse
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 36
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 36
  3. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Writing in video games is a subject that doesn't get a lot of attention, but Chaos Theory features a simply great script. Not only is it complex and deep, it's also surprisingly funny. [Apr 2005, p.112]
  2. 96
    When combined with the excellent animations, the game feels incredibly cinematic, and on a high-end graphics card the game is stunning. Each level is a grand set piece in which players stylishly accomplish their goals.
  3. A serious improvement in any way you care to name, from gameplay to its newly, eerily realistic graphics.