Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 577 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Improvise. Adapt. Overcome. You are a fugitive, ruthlessly hunted by the very government you used to serve. Your only choice is to improvise to survive. Experience original gameplay based on improvisation in which your environment is your top weapon. Always on your toes, you need to react on the fly to any changing situations and use the environment and the crowds around you to create diversions and deter your enemies. As a fugitive, quick thinking and adaptation are essential to turn the situation to your advantage. A gameplay experience delivering 100% adrenaline includes close combat and shooting sequences. To survive, build an underground network of allies who will help you obtain high-tech gadgets and stay one step ahead of your pursuers as you struggle to unmask the forces that frame you. [Ubisoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. 100
    Why Sam has stepped out of the shadows and is on full out attack makes complete sense in context with the story, so if you can accept it for what it is and not dwell on the fact that it isn't what you've come to expect in a Splinter Cell title, you'll no doubt agree that Conviction rivals Chaos Theory as the best title in the franchise's history. [Jun 2010, p.78]
  2. Arguably the best in the series. Better sneaking mechanic, one of the best cover systems ever, and pacing on a level unlike anything you've experienced in a stealth game, all while keeping it accessible to new players.
  3. Conviction is a really good reboot of the series, even so I sometimes miss the feeling of the older titles. Nevertheless the game is really fun, especially the multiplayer-part.
  4. Sam might not be sticking to the shadows as much as he once did, but Splinter Cell's never been this classy. [July 2010, p.78]
  5. New, different and excellent – this is an all new Splinter Cell. Is it good because of changes or despite the changes, that is the question. [Issue#191]
  6. In some respects, Splinter Cell Conviction on the PC is the definitive version of Ubi's reborn franchise. But it's a far more controversial choice for those with flakey broadband connections that just want to experience the single-player, or for anybody that enjoys conversing and strategising with other players in their multiplayer.
  7. In trading substance for style, Conviction winds up hollow and unsatisfying. Co-op is the only saving grace. [July 2010, p.52]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 86
  2. Negative: 26 out of 86
  1. ProphetofDoom
    May 5, 2010
    10
    Where are all your comments you whinning bitches? This game looks great plays great with keyboard and mouse and feels great, a worthy follow up to Double Agent. Much better use of the unreal engine than bioware's effort in Mass Effect 2, which is not unexpected... Sam Fisher is one of the truly great characters of gameing, in no small part thanks to Micheal Ironside, whose rasping irony sets the mood right from the first sentence. The people who voted this game so low are probably the same pack of wankers we voted Dragon Age Origins RPG of the year. When it should have been voted biggest "..from the makers of KOTOR...", media hype, let down pile of bullshit of the year. Expand
  2. Feb 4, 2014
    10
    Its a good gamefffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff Expand
  3. Jul 20, 2012
    9
    I bought this game at a Steam sale... wow... what a blast, worth every dime ! Very satisfying stealth and shooting action, good cover mechanics, decent graphics, with good AI. There are lots of options to play different modes, including multiplayer, it offers much more than a simple campaign so lots of replay value.

    I play this on PC with a joystick, and I haven't had so much fun since Goldeneye on the N64 and Crysis 1.
    Expand
  4. Oct 30, 2013
    7
    It's alright, but I must say I found the story rather tedious and not overly interesting, plus it all takes place in obscure parts of the US with the exception of the very beginning. It places more emphasis on a COD approach to taking down your enemies, which I didn't mind per se but it didn't really give me the feel of being an agent. Worth it if you want to spend a few hours taking out bad guys and it's on sale but overall a fairly enjoyable but ultimately forgettable experience. Expand
  5. Jul 22, 2012
    6
    Worthy of more than a 4 score, however I do understand the disappointment. The game is different from the other splinter cell- You are no longer a "company man", but you are still being played and overall the storyline doesn't feel much different. The center of this game is sam fisher, not thrid echelon. Gadgets, Weapons, Items, are all replaced and you only have sam, who is now more dangerous than ever because of is rage and... Whatever. The story is not really intresting, (Maybe you will like it, Presonally I no longer consider Dead people coming back to life a twist). Sadly, the game has been simplified. The tag and execute system pretty much means that if you kill one guy in melee you can automaticly kill 2 or 4 more with gun, which is wierd idea that put some action in the game while damaging the gameplay in my opinion. no more dark or light metter- the game turns black and white when you are in shaldow. This annoyed me at first but now I think its better. Instead of the optic cable you have a broken mirror you took from a car- Works just the same, how come sam havent thought of that before/ You have portable EMP that stun everyone but you and X-vision that show you whats behind the wall but thats pretty much all that is new. The cover system works fine, but controls are sometimes annoying- too few buttons actually being used. The co-op is the best thing about this game, but if you dont have partner for it don't count on the matchmaking to find suitable one for you. All in all its a decent game that I suggest to buy if it costs 7$-2$ Expand
  6. Jul 11, 2012
    3
    Good action game, but bad stealth game and very bad Splinter Cell. In most missions, enemies are hidden in cover waiting for you. It's more a third person tactical shooter. Expand
  7. Dec 14, 2013
    0
    Just awful. The game is solely focused on action and gun play and not on stealth. This would be okay if the guns felt good and the action was exciting but it just isn't. On my computer the game looks awful (even with the settings all the way up) and the game frequently freezes for a few seconds which makes combat damn near impossible. If you are after a stealth game, go play the first Splinter Cell cause this one doesn't do the series justice. Expand

See all 86 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.