Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 550 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Improvise. Adapt. Overcome. You are a fugitive, ruthlessly hunted by the very government you used to serve. Your only choice is to improvise to survive. Experience original gameplay based on improvisation in which your environment is your top weapon. Always on your toes, you need to react on the fly to any changing situations and use the environment and the crowds around you to create diversions and deter your enemies. As a fugitive, quick thinking and adaptation are essential to turn the situation to your advantage. A gameplay experience delivering 100% adrenaline includes close combat and shooting sequences. To survive, build an underground network of allies who will help you obtain high-tech gadgets and stay one step ahead of your pursuers as you struggle to unmask the forces that frame you. [Ubisoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. 100
    Why Sam has stepped out of the shadows and is on full out attack makes complete sense in context with the story, so if you can accept it for what it is and not dwell on the fact that it isn't what you've come to expect in a Splinter Cell title, you'll no doubt agree that Conviction rivals Chaos Theory as the best title in the franchise's history. [Jun 2010, p.78]
  2. Arguably the best in the series. Better sneaking mechanic, one of the best cover systems ever, and pacing on a level unlike anything you've experienced in a stealth game, all while keeping it accessible to new players.
  3. Conviction is a really good reboot of the series, even so I sometimes miss the feeling of the older titles. Nevertheless the game is really fun, especially the multiplayer-part.
  4. Sam might not be sticking to the shadows as much as he once did, but Splinter Cell's never been this classy. [July 2010, p.78]
  5. New, different and excellent – this is an all new Splinter Cell. Is it good because of changes or despite the changes, that is the question. [Issue#191]
  6. In some respects, Splinter Cell Conviction on the PC is the definitive version of Ubi's reborn franchise. But it's a far more controversial choice for those with flakey broadband connections that just want to experience the single-player, or for anybody that enjoys conversing and strategising with other players in their multiplayer.
  7. In trading substance for style, Conviction winds up hollow and unsatisfying. Co-op is the only saving grace. [July 2010, p.52]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 85
  2. Negative: 25 out of 85
  1. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    It isn't another Chaos Theory -- but that's a good thing. SC:C goes in completely different direction. Sam is darker and more violent. His weapons and equipment have been upgraded. The cover system has been updated and works as good as any I've seen. The stealth system has been updated as well. Instead of watching a stealth meter, the game turns black and white when Sam is invisible. It works surprisingly well. There are usually multiple paths through each mission/level. The main story is challenging and will provide hours of gameplay. The cream of SC:Conviction is Denied Ops. It has three game modes -- Hunter, Infiltration, and Last Stand -- playable on five unique and challenging maps. Hunter requires you to move through the maps killing bad guys. If you are seen, the bad guys call in reinforcements. Infiltration requires you to move through the maps killing bad guys. If you are seen, the alarm sounds and the game ends. I haven't played Last Stand so cannot speak about it.

    Infiltration and Hunter when played on "Realistic" turn into multi-hour experiences as you try to isolate and kill bad guys one by one. Enemy AI is tough, will flank you, and is fast on the trigger. Also, there are motion-sensitive cameras and infrared lasers to deal with.

    There is a co-op mode that I have yet to try. Supposedly, you and your partner play as two agents (one from Third Echelon and one from a Russian agency). You two work your way through five or six maps with your own co-op storyline. It sounds good and there are plenty of youtube videos of co-op gameplay.

    This game is a steal at $20. Denied Ops alone is worth the $20. Make sure you get the "Insurgency DLC" too. It comes with four more maps for Denied Ops -- San Francisco, Salt Lake City, New Orleans, and Portland, OR. San Fran is a shipyard/cargoyard, Salt Lake City is a mysterious industrial office. New Orleans is a graveyard - -where you fight above ground and in tunnels underground! Portland is an old prison. I've logged easily 200-250hrs in SC:Conviction playing the main storyline and Denied Ops. It's a boatload of fun that will challenge most PC gamers. Highly recommend.

    PS: Note that SC:Conviction talks to some Ubisoft servers during startup and possibly during gameplay. It was a hassle sorting things out but once it was working, it did not interfere with gameplay.
    Expand
  2. Feb 4, 2014
    10
    Its a good gamefffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff Expand
  3. Jun 6, 2012
    9
    The campaign is short but, there is a mode called Denied Ops which is very addicting and you could play hours of it. I'm a fan of the splinter cell series so I like it. To me campaign is worth at least 4 playthroughs before it gets a little old. It's very fun to play, complete challenges, and try to be as stealthy as possible. The only downside is you must have internet access to play the game, so if your internet is down, you can't play. In my opinion it's worth the 60$ but I would suggest getting the deluxe version, it adds a new mode in denied ops which is really fun, it also gives you the scar-h for a new weapon. Overall its a very good game, and worth the buy. I'm giving it a 9/10 because needing to have internet access at all times sucks. Expand
  4. Oct 30, 2013
    7
    It's alright, but I must say I found the story rather tedious and not overly interesting, plus it all takes place in obscure parts of the US with the exception of the very beginning. It places more emphasis on a COD approach to taking down your enemies, which I didn't mind per se but it didn't really give me the feel of being an agent. Worth it if you want to spend a few hours taking out bad guys and it's on sale but overall a fairly enjoyable but ultimately forgettable experience. Expand
  5. Jul 23, 2011
    6
    There are a lot of things wrong with this game. But overall it was good, i liked the storyline and graphics. A couple of flaws that really got on my nerves are when bullets go OUTSIDE of your crosshair, If your going to put a crosshair in a game that shows where your bullets might travel, at least have that accurate, i can't tell you how many times i have had the entire crosshair on someones head and then miss by a mile... Expand
  6. Jul 1, 2013
    4
    This game is the product of development hell, so I'm being generous by giving the game merely a four.
    Splinter Cell: Conviction is broken.
    Guards are damn near deaf and have absolutely no peripheral vision, the level design is linear with hardly any open ended areas, it simplifies the ability to hide in darkness, Sonar Goggles serve as a wall-hack, and Mark & Execute is the most condescending in-game aid in any video game ever.
    Overall, it's the worst game in the series. Even worse than Double Agent, which was only sub-par.
    Expand
  7. Dec 14, 2013
    0
    Just awful. The game is solely focused on action and gun play and not on stealth. This would be okay if the guns felt good and the action was exciting but it just isn't. On my computer the game looks awful (even with the settings all the way up) and the game frequently freezes for a few seconds which makes combat damn near impossible. If you are after a stealth game, go play the first Splinter Cell cause this one doesn't do the series justice. Expand

See all 85 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.