Tomb Raider: The Last Revelation Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 0 Critics Awaiting 4 more reviews What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: According to Egyptian legend, Horus, son of the light, outwitted the evil God Set and imprisoned him in a secret tomb. Five thousand years later, Lara Croft discovers the lost tomb and unwittingly unleashes the evil God Set, fulfilling the ancient prophecy of his return to plunge mankindAccording to Egyptian legend, Horus, son of the light, outwitted the evil God Set and imprisoned him in a secret tomb. Five thousand years later, Lara Croft discovers the lost tomb and unwittingly unleashes the evil God Set, fulfilling the ancient prophecy of his return to plunge mankind into darkness! In a race against time, Lara must use all her wit and skill to reimprison Set and save the world from Armageddon. Pursued at every turn by her arch-rival, the unscrupulous archaeologist Werner Von Croy, Lara embarks on a journey of discovery across Egypt, where she must overcome the most ingenious puzzles and infernal traps ever devised, and face terrifying evil from beyond the grave...

    With more twists and turns than an Egyptian labyrinth, this is heart stopping action-adventure; a Tomb Raider that truly offers...

    The Last Revelation.
    Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    This is probably my most favourite game of all time. I am replaying it now on Vita and like it as much as more than 10 years ago. This is anThis is probably my most favourite game of all time. I am replaying it now on Vita and like it as much as more than 10 years ago. This is an example the real adventure game should be like. Huge complex levels, thrilling and atmospheric sound, difficult puzzles and the duration of the game. A true masterpiece. Thank You, Core Design. Expand
  2. Sep 22, 2010
    10
    First think that this game is 11 years old. Then play. This game is one of the best games ever made. It has a great story, good graphics &First think that this game is 11 years old. Then play. This game is one of the best games ever made. It has a great story, good graphics & gameplay for that time and awesome levels. The reason I give this a 10/10 is because that game changed my life, I play this when I was very young, and now still like it. I keep thinking at the long great levels, the complicated story with names I couldn't announce then,... it's the best Tomb Raider game ever made. Expand
  3. Oct 1, 2010
    9
    Some people ask themselves why other people like this game so much. For people who haven't played this game yet, it has everything a good gameSome people ask themselves why other people like this game so much. For people who haven't played this game yet, it has everything a good game should have. I know, it's one of the forgotten games (like NOLF and many others, that's why this is only the second review of this game) but that doesn't mean it is not a good game. And especially, this game is 11 years old. The game has a great story (one of the best story's ever in a game),and the gameplay and the graphics are both very good for a game of 1999. But there is one thing that TR 4 makes the best Tomb Raider ever: the very difficult puzzles. This and the great story makes it one of the best games I ever played in my life. Expand
  4. May 14, 2012
    9
    The last revelation is not a Tomb raider, it IS tomb raider. It is the most tomb raider-y experience since the very first game back in 1996.The last revelation is not a Tomb raider, it IS tomb raider. It is the most tomb raider-y experience since the very first game back in 1996. Most game reviewers usually complain that the core-design games lack innovation, they do a rehash of the first game with more levels, so? It may be true for tomb raider 2 or 3, but for me personally that's not a con. tomb raider 4 on the other hand plays differently while still giving the atmosphere you loved from the first game. Tr4 main setting is Egypt, and the sense of wonder from level to level is astounding. Each chamber, each open field, every place is full of personality and not a lazy copy-and-paste. Puzzles are different now, the one I most fondly remember is the "dice game" with Semherket. Action is usually integrated when solving puzzles, like when you have to use the strength of a raging bull to open a door, it's not the tired "press switch run to the door". Even though there are not "traditional boss fights, you will use your guns a lot. Up until the third act the pacins is amazing, the last levels are somehow tired. There is an increasingly difficult spike that would put some players off, without a guide you would feel lost. The main problem is that it's never clear wich objects are interactive and wich not, combine with the permanent state of darkness in the last leves that your eyes will bleed in agony. It's weird but Cairo and Giza (the last two sections of the game) are overly long, with little to no "break" with cutscenes, they are not set during the day so it's difficult to catch little details (like a key on the ground). In the end, if you like a challenging game with an involving story (that I didn't spoil for you), engaging environments, great action, this is the game for you. Collapse
  5. May 7, 2013
    7
    This game is FAR better than Tomb Raider III. The level design is better, The graphics are great for a PS1 game and the story is the best inThis game is FAR better than Tomb Raider III. The level design is better, The graphics are great for a PS1 game and the story is the best in the series a this point. I would recommend it to people who like platformers Expand
  6. Jul 21, 2016
    7
    This is the moment where the Tomb Raider series finally hitting rock bottom thanks to this game. I'm not saying The Last Revelation is a badThis is the moment where the Tomb Raider series finally hitting rock bottom thanks to this game. I'm not saying The Last Revelation is a bad game everyone says, only Chronicles and The Angel of Darkness were both mediocre at best. I think it's a fairly decent sequel, but if you recall on the last 3 Tomb Raider games, this should've been extremely awesome whether it's fighting a T-Rex or swimming past deadly sharks, or discovering Area 51's mysterious secrets. Tomb Raider still keeps me waiting for a fun and dangerous adventure awaits in one Lara Croft excitement. But The Last Revelation wasn't quite daring enough. I've played the game on Steam (or Playstation) and it was fun. The acting was great, the story was great, the puzzles were kinda difficult (the tutorial was a bit meh). In fact, the ending where Lara Croft trying to save her father until a boulder of rocks starting to crumble and Lara Croft dies will indeed be gone down in infamy as one of the worst endings in video game history. That's what happens when Core Design started everything nice and fresh until it burns all the way down the rabbit hole. Everything is just the same in this game, awful tank controls, the level designs are just not the same like it should've been done in previous games, and also I just hope Toby Gard (since he left Core in 1997) is very sad and unhappy why his former bosses at Core starting treating Lara Croft as a iconic sexpot who like most men sees her breast in every game, but that's over with. Lara is now C-cup now in the recent Tomb Raider reboot series (which, technically, was his idea choice for an Indiana Jones-like female character ever since the first Tomb Raider was in development from the early begginings in 1993) and that's why Lara Croft is still the reigning queen of video games. In short, The Last Revelation is still re-playable, but let Crystal Dynamics do all the work and let Croft stills what she does best, killing every bastard and every artifact she can find. Expand
  7. Dec 12, 2015
    6
    "The Last Revelation" is a game that really brings back that sense of "Lara exploring tombs", that was lost in the magnificent Tomb Raider 2"The Last Revelation" is a game that really brings back that sense of "Lara exploring tombs", that was lost in the magnificent Tomb Raider 2 and in the minor Tomb Raider 3. But I say with regret that I was never able to finish it. The game is atrociously difficult: is humanly impossible a normal person able to finish it without the help of a walkthrough. The entire game takes place in Egypt, and while it offers really beautiful surroundings, at a certain point I was tired of seeing sand and pyramids along the way, which made me lose interest to continue playing.

    The controls, like all old games of Lara Croft, are archaic in compared to the current generation. In "The Last Revelation" we have the movement of Lara crouched. This movement always was annoying and irritant for me, for being too slow. Men players from that time certainly liked to contemplate the view, and perhaps they didn't realize how slow that was, but as I'm a girl, I never saw any grace. But if you thought that only this is slow in this game, just wait to see the screens of Loading... Jesus Christ. Think of a thing slow like a slug. And this isn't comforting in a game where everything can kill you at any time. You spend more time waiting at the loading screen than playing.

    Not is a bad game (Is much better than Tomb 3 and Chronicles), but I only recommend "The Last Revelation" for the most ardent fans of Lara. If you've never played a old game of Tomb Raider, I recommend spending far from it.
    Expand

See all 9 User Reviews