Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
Buy On
  1. PC Gamer
    90
    But it's the puzzles that elevate Underworld to new heights. [Jan 2009, p.54]
  2. PC Format
    89
    Lush, satisfying and thoughtful. [Jan 2009, p.92]
  3. There aren’t many titles that can come close to the glory of Tomb Raider. If you’re looking for some gun totting, cliff hugging action then look no further than Tomb Raider: Underworld for the PC.
  4. PC Gamer UK
    86
    The remarkable architectural vision, coupled with ultra-smart level design, all produced on such a huge scale, makes this as good as Tomb Raider has ever seen. [Christmas 2008, p.74]
  5. Tomb Raider: Underworld is a source of joy as long as everything works as intended and Lara follows the controls, leading the player to beautiful panoramas, seamlessly moving from gameplay to cut-scene. But at the same time, the game can be quite depressing if Lara doesn't reach moving platforms, the camera plays up and it's hard to solve a problem. It's an emotional roller coaster and great entertainment.
  6. Gamers.at
    84
    It seems as if Lara is finally back on track. More puzzles, less action – that’s tombraiding as it should be! My only complaint is the lack of guidance the game offers – standing about in clueless stupor happens too often by far. [Issue#17]
  7. Tomb Raider Underworld is a fantastic proposal for fans of puzzles and platform gaming. Sadly its camera and control issues let down its many virtues. Nevertheless the new adventure of Lara Croft is brief but intense, and is plenty of good puzzles and great environments.
  8. Tomb Raider Underworld was far more enjoyable than I ever thought it would be. The expansive environments, solid platforming sequences, challenging puzzles, and adventure-filled storyline should appeal to anyone who loved the Prince of Persia games and Uncharted: Drake's Fortune. Disappointingly, combat is fairly mediocre, and a lot of technical inconsistencies are troublesome. Nevertheless, Underworld is a very good game.
  9. A visually stunning, epic adventure that continues Crystal Dynamics' excellent run. We reckon it's the best completely original Tomb Raider (Anniversary was, of course, a remake) we've had in years, and is only let down by the odd control quirk and camera issue.
  10. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    80
    We like the way she moves – Lara excels in both body and environments visuals that are great. It’s still the good old Tomb Raider cliché, but is there anything wrong with that? We don’t think so. Do not underestimate the Underworld! [Dec 2008]
  11. 80
    While the PC version has much sharper visuals and some tighter control, the camera can still hamper gameplay.
  12. Okay, the new Tomb Raider adventure is not really innovative. But Lara has never looked so good before. The gameplay is smooth and the puzzles are great. But the stupid motorcycle trips, the camera and the senseless gadgets are fun-killers.
  13. At its best, it can compete with the best, offering gorgeous vistas and jaw-dropping scenery.
  14. Tomb Raider: Underword manages to impress on so many levels.
  15. Play (Poland)
    80
    Lady Archaeologist is in her top shape again. This time she's mostly interested in exploring the wonders of nature and she does it better that ever before. Pity that not everything is polished. But who will resist the temptation of putting his hands on - or rather into - the Thor's gloves that can rip the fabric of time and space? [Dec 2008]
  16. If the release would have been delayed a couple of months (the time required to fix the large number of bugs (some of them being very bad), Underworld could have been labeled as a fruitful combination of Legend and Anniversary. But the impression of an unfinished product also reflects in reduced replay value, puzzle simplicity and insufficient use of the level design. And some options, like (at least partial) camera control, are yet to be seen.
  17. PC Zone UK
    76
    Excellent despite niggles. [Jan 2009, p.66]
  18. Tomb Raider: Underworld is ambiguous, offering the best and the worst elements of the series. The camera is awful and there are quite a few bugs. It lacks polish, but still manages to be a good Lara Croft adventure…. And she's as beautiful and agile as ever.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 278 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 58
  2. Negative: 11 out of 58
  1. Pixelated
    Nov 24, 2008
    4
    We all know Eidos is not the greatest at making games. But after a dozen or so Tomb Raiders you would think they could fix the persistent We all know Eidos is not the greatest at making games. But after a dozen or so Tomb Raiders you would think they could fix the persistent problems the series has had. What's with the awful camera controls again? I mean this is an issue that goes all the way back to.. well, it goes back years! Just another publisher pushing a game out the door in time for the holidays. They say piracy is killing the industry but I think it's just forcing these studios to make good games. If they want to make money they need to release games worth $50, not buggy ports. EA is learning the hard way and a relatively small publisher like Eidos should take notice and polish their games a lot more or risk releasing another flop. Then blaming piracy for their money problems. The bottom line is that good games sell and sorry games get pirated instead. Full Review »
  2. MikeH
    Jan 15, 2009
    6
    Pretty visuals, a problematic camera and gameplay that has been dumbed down (though not as much as PoP). Give me a few ways to solve Pretty visuals, a problematic camera and gameplay that has been dumbed down (though not as much as PoP). Give me a few ways to solve problems, don't magnetically correct badly timed jumps, give me a challenge! TR: Legend and TR: Anniversary are both better games which are more deserving of your time. Legend had better combat, Anniversary had better level design - funny that, considering it was a remake of the original... St Francis' Folly is a perfect example of the kind of level design totally lacking in Underworld. Oh, and the plot? Whatever. New plot, please, that doesn't make me travel to Cambodia to go through Incan ruins to find Norse mythology or whatever that was all about... Full Review »
  3. FrankV
    May 20, 2009
    10
    I really enjoyed this chapter in Lara's long career. The graphics and gameplay were the best yet.