User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1695 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 10, 2012
    9
    I didn't play TL1 to any great extent. In fact, it was quite boring and repetetive. I kept an eye on Runic's plans for TL2 as they looked to be quite ambitious in comparison to the first entry of this series. I didn't take part in any beta events, and I bought the game on day one of release.........................I think the main point of focus when looking at TL2 is it's price vs product. For £15 it offers up a well polished game. Many will compare it to Diablo 3, which for my money, Blizzard failed to deliver anything like what I'd hoped, and if you are compelled to compare the two, then the first port of call is on loot. D3 absolutely failed on loot throughout it's entirety, and TL2 is the complete opposite. Plenty of loot drops that are relevant to your level and character...................Graphically TL2 has a less realistic feel to it, and is, strangely enough more comparable with Warcraft games. It is probably a required taste, but you soon lose yourself inside the game's various areas and dungeons......................As far as gameplay is concerned, well it's pretty standard fare for this genre, and I'd say gamers of any level can easily pick it up and play. As far as combat goes, it's pretty simple, and is probably where it lets itself down - but only slightly. Pretty much everything i've encountered so far on my Engineer is simply a case of spamming and running, but then again, I'm only about 10 hours or so into the game. Maybe later on, or on a more difficult setting everything might get ramped up - or might require some thought into how to defeat the bosses..................Finally, co-op play. For a game to include this at this price is quite rare, and a definate plus for Runic games' reputation. I've only tried it a couple of times, but it worked fine for me, and when you think back to only last year with Dungeon Siege 3 - which was a full priced supposed AAA title, where you had to stay in a limited area on the same screen as your compadres, how Runic have implemented it how they have on such a small budget shoud really make some developers sit back and rethink there approach as to what gamers want. If you deliver cr*p, then gamers will remember and speak with their wallets next time around - ie: they won't buy....................................So, TL:DR - TL2 is a welcome addition in the genre, something that I think I could put alongside Titan Quest as a winner in this genre....... Buy it - you won't be disappointed. Expand
  2. Oct 9, 2012
    9
    Torchlight II is clearly the best Hack and Slay game since Diablo 2. It brings much needed changes to the classic game mechanics like limited respec (3 skills) for people who want to try without getting penalized for it later in the game. But it stays true to the things that make a Diablo style hack and slay game good. The pet reliefs you from the trips back to town to sell whatever is cluttering your inventory or to buy new potions. So you can keep on slaying those monsters. And speaking of monsters there are TONS of them and every monster feels unique and has one or more special attack. It's never just another guy who will try to hit you with a mace. On the first playthrough I thought noumerous times that I just encountered a small boss but it was just a regular monster with awesome attacks. It is amazing how much love they put in those side quests. You'll see quest bosses that will blow your mind and there are secret rooms and things to explore everywhere. If you like Eastereggs you will live Torchlight 2. The classes feel refreshing and new. The engineer is a nice mix between a hard hitting two hander / tanking and summoning class but has some ranged skills too (Canons!). The item and loot system is also very good. You can play for 30 minutes and it never feels like you wasted your time. You'll still have progressed a little and probably found some useful items.

    The only thing that I'd like to have in Torchlight 2 is that NG+s ( replay the story with existing character on higher difficulty due to higher monster level ) play a bit different than the first play through. In Diablo 2 you'd face monsteres from other Acts earlier and they would have immunities or multiple affixes ( Extra Fast, immune vs. Fire, Lightning Enchanted etc.) and maps would get bigger on higher difficulties. With Torchlight 2 the monsters will simply deal more damage and take less damage. Other than that awesome game.... oh and it's a real bargin!
    Expand
  3. Oct 9, 2012
    9
    My thoughts about this game were crystalized while playing with my wife. Steam went down. Our LAN game kept right on working as if nothing had ever happened... unlike with Diablo 3, where a server hiccup gets you killed. I could stop there, but the game is more fun, the items are more enjoyable to find due to more interesting effects, building up a character is more fun (and permanent). Sure the graphics are simpler, but they work really well and for $20 they're definitely up to the task. The bottom line here is that this is what DIablo 3 should have been. Expand
  4. Oct 8, 2012
    10
    If you don't know what to do, i tell you, PLAY THIS GAME, it is pretty awesome, the graphics, the characters, the action, the music, everything is AWESOME, just AWESOME, i made a "OutLander" and God, i really want to play this all the day, i really really really enjoy this game. Play It, You'll Love IT!
  5. Oct 8, 2012
    10
    This game getes a 10/10. I've played it since the release and I've played over 40 hours, and counting. Customization, great multiplayer, exploration, great rewards, fast leveling, and insane skills make this game a must-have. I can make a tank with ANY class, I can make a DPS with ANY class, I can make an Elemental DPS with ANY class, I can make an all-around with ANY class, etc. This game offers the customization that D3 SHOULD have had. If you liked D2, you will LOVE this. Expand
  6. Oct 7, 2012
    9
    Very enjoyable. I've not tried playing online yet, but I am really enjoying single player. My only complaint is that higher difficulty levels don't up the AI factor, instead just increase enemy stats and reduce your own level, essentially forcing players to not only do all side-quests, but reach a point of being underleveled and needing to farm experience.
  7. Oct 7, 2012
    10
    It has got the spirit of old D1 & D2. Way better play experience than D3. It has got the heart. Gamer's choice. Recommended to any old school Diablo fan. The right vibe is there.
  8. Oct 6, 2012
    10
    Fantastically engaging dungeon crawler with strong randomisation that allows for real replayability. Although the story is somewhat passable, the gameplay and character design more than makes up for this and for 20 dollars you just can't beat it
  9. Oct 6, 2012
    9
    Massively, massively fun. If the DRM--oops, 'always online feature' and RMAH of D3 pissed you off as much as they did me, give Torchlight 2 a shot. I love the loot drops--plentiful, fun, and with points that are USEFUL FOR MY CLASS, hint hint Blizz--and the LAN. No more dying to mobs offscreen because Blizz can't keep latency on their end working for my benefit. It's nice to be able to pick your gender (can't help it, got to be able to play as a girl or I get bummed out) and my husband and I are playing the **** out of this. It's everything that D3 should have been but wasn't. Lots of hidden rooms, portal beasts opening up new maps and all kinds of goodies. Plus, you can mod it. Need I say more? This game will be around for a long time. Good job, Runic. For 19.99 you can't go wrong with this one. Just don't let EA or Activision buy you out. Expand
  10. Oct 6, 2012
    10
    This game is just great! The reason i bought it was not only because it was cheap, but also because i liked playing Diablo 3. The only problem was that Diablo 3 was getting very boring after a while. Torchlight 2 is very nice!! :)
  11. Oct 6, 2012
    10
    Torchlight 2 has all the ingredients for the perfect ARPG. Runic games updates frequently the game to assure that there are no problems, and they have a fantastic support service. I'm betting that they will release an expansion pack, and posibly with a PVP option. And the possibilities with the mod tools are endless.
  12. Oct 6, 2012
    10
    This game is simply amazing. It is simple yet there is so much content to be had/explored. For the price point of $20 it doesn't get any better than this! These guys are ex-Diablo developers and it shows. If you played and didn't love TL1 dw, this game is head and shoulders above anything TL was! It is, imo, also way better and more fun than Diablo 3. It has a longer campaign, more variety of mobs, more loot, more bosses and at times harder challenges. It is surely less polygons than D3 and has less engaging story than D3 (imo D3 already has a very weak story line) but the art style really grows on you and start loving it. It is very varied and never boring. The prospect of new features added by both Runic and the community through modding is such an exciting one! I can't express how glad I am that I actually made that $20 purchase. Absolutely worth it, especially if you like Diablo style ARPG. It is the epitome of it! Expand
  13. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    10/10 Amazing game. Feels like diablo 2. Everything is perfect
    DEFINITE BUY. PERFECT DUNGEON CRAWL Worth much more than 20$. I cant believe I wasted 60$ on diablo 3!!!!
  14. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    Yup, definitely giving this a 10.

    It's got everything that made the original game so good and a whole list of excellent new features that make it even more of a joy to play. The graphics and animations are spectacular, the sound effects are meaty and satisfying and the steam-punk style artwork is top-notch.

    There is an over-whelming amount of really cool loot to pick up, some of
    which gives nods to other games and pop-culture. The monsters are appropriately challenging and there is a huge amount of them onscreen pretty much all the time. Some of the bosses are *massive* and even the areas are diverse and interesting. Finally, the biggest selling points for me would have to be the possibility of playing offline, the excellent multi-player and the brilliant decision to allow for modding. It's amazing what Runic has done with this game, and it's previous entry, compared to Diablo 3's massive budget, this proves that an indy game can be every bit as good, if not better than the big name studios. Expand
  15. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    Something interesting...Digital Spy a "Critic" review gave Torchlight II, a 20$ game a 60/100 because it's not innovative, which in fact it is. The same company gave Diablo III an 80/100. Simply put, there are morons out in this world that have no clue how to be a critic and give an unbiased review. The fans couldn't have asked more out of a $20 game and I got more than I wanted playing Torchlight II. At least it has meaningful skill trees and stat points, and of course PvP, more than you could say for the "highly polished" Diablo III in the words of Digital Spy... Expand
  16. Oct 5, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Having played the whole Diablo series not since beginning but close enough to, since I was only 5 or 6, I believe that torchlight 2 is what people were expecting diablo 3 to be like. Given Blizzard North(For the most part) made this game, it is no surprise that it is like this. However, unlike previous games, of this sort, difficulties are set at level 1, rather than being set at the final completion of the storyline in each difficulty(normal/nightmare/hell etc. The speed or pace of the game is quite fast, faster than that of the diablo series but there is absolutely nothing wrong with that. It gives players the feeling that they're completing the storyline or quests quicker than what they would, but as people know.. "Time flies when you're having fun". Much like Diablo 2, the "endgame" mapworks, is a lot like a baal run, repetitive but quick and easy enough to do it over and over again. The maps vary between 5 possible maps, but multiple outcomes on each and level difficulties are planted in the map title. This is obviously quite newbie friendly and much like other parts of the game are a great addition.

    The only problem I personally have and am unsure if others have this problem too, is that multiplayer can be quite 'iffy' to say the least. When connecting to a game on multiplayer that someone else has created, you can get either a inability to connect, very long load screen(1-5 mins) or a smooth running game.

    With all this being said and the only issue is online play (which is expected with player hosted servers), I will gladly give this a 9/10 overall, but 10/10 gameplay as I am a huge fanboy of Blizzard North.
    Expand
  17. Oct 4, 2012
    10
    Okay, so I had a weird start with this game, and I'm just here to amend my original review, which was a measly six. Now, my original issue was that the controls felt sluggish, and I still stand by that claim, but after about 10 hours or so, you get used to them... or perhaps you roll a class that feels good to you. Well, now I've done that, I've found the sword and board Engineer, and I'm have a ridiculous amount of fun here. The game is awesome. Just fun, fun fun fun. I've given up D3 in favor of this game, sad to say. The guys at Runic really understand what makes a game like this tick. It's the loot, mostly. :P And building a character is actually REALLY fun. Stat points! YEAH! Expand
  18. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    Torchlight 2 is what Diablo 3 should've been. Also, I have one word for you: Mods!
    This game will have a higher replay value than both Borderlands 2 & Diablo 3 combined! (Atleast for me.)
  19. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    For real, this game is all i wanted diablo 3 to be.
    Awesome gameplay, nice skill-trees, interesting quests, great item-drop (so, i can wear myself, is it great? yes, its awesome), perfect stylish graphics and.. BOSSES. Yes, i'm playing Hardcore Elite only, and these bros makes me sick, i'm afraid of them. Torchlight 2 is the greatest action-RPG game after Diablo 2 LoD was released.
  20. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    Outstanding ARPG Dungeon Crawler. 20 Bucks is such a low price for the games worth. I would pay a full 60 for this. Having a blast. Def check this game out.
  21. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    I'll try and get through this review without mentioning that other game... Torchlight 2 is almost perfect and the best game in the genre. 10/10. Buy it now.
  22. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    This game is really really addictive and a real challenge in Elite.
    I am enjoying playing this game and its been like 2 years i havent enjoying that much.
    Its just what D3 should have been!
    A very good surprise!
  23. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    I have spent only a few hours in the game but I'm very familiar with Diablo 1 and 2 so I can compare. I had this game preordered (and got Torchlight 1 for free) after I played demo of Torchlight 1 on Steam.
    I read some articles about development of this game (the first one) and you can clearly see that this game has been created with passion and by gamers for gamers - and money came sort
    of accidentally with it.
    Diablo III is the true opposite - capture most of the market get the money and run far far away. If you know what "pump and dump" means you get the idea...
    I can recommend this game to anyone who liked pre-Diablo III games.
    Expand
  24. Oct 2, 2012
    9
    The game is solid all the way around. I only drop 9/10 because I like my graphics on the dark horror side of things. Good job Runic, will defiantly check out your next release.
  25. Oct 2, 2012
    9
    This is a great game and everything I hoped for. I purchased the four pack and I play LAN games with my daughters and wife. We have had a packet of fun. My youngest is 6 and even she can play casual level - well worth it.
  26. Oct 2, 2012
    9
    I sunk 80 hours into this game. For 19 Euros this game was a steal. The gameplay is simple yet addicting. The itemprogression is what keeps you busy and constantly hunting for more and better items. The dungeons and bosses are way more versatile and interesting than the first game. The story is irrelevant in this game and not worth mentioning. It's a great game and for that price everyone should pick it up. Expand
  27. Oct 2, 2012
    9
    This game is BRILLIANT! It is not as visually spectacular as Diablo 3 but anyway it's amazing how much you can squeeze from a lower budget when u have a proper development team. I never got into Torchlight 1, it was too "generic" and cartoony for me but this time they got it right. There are 4 classes, I picked an engineer and I can see i could do like 5-6 different builds playing completely different styles. There is no respec so you need to think about your choices and even if you screw up you will know better next time - it was actually fun discovering the build possibilities on my own without any guides again. Just like in good old Diablo 2 days. Unfortunately, old school dungeon crawlers are not something I'm willing to invest time in but if you have a spare evening and don't know what to do - try T2. It's awesome. It has internet play and it costs £15 on steam. The only downside of this game is story - completely uninspiring and dull. I stopped reading quest text after first 30 minutes. That's why I give it a 9. Expand
  28. Oct 1, 2012
    9
    This game is the true successor to Diablo II, but even though its story/characters/combat (not as smooth or fluent) fall below Diablo III, it is still a great title. This game excels at everything that Diablo III tried to be great at. It has challenging combat, great itemization/randomized areas, single-player (no forced online connection), and most of all no gold-based progression. The combat feels a lot less polished than Diablo III, but it makes up for it by making it more engaging and less frustrating. You can pick any difficulty you want without having to play through the game several times to reach or unlock it. This is a definite game to buy if you love ARPGs. It was designed by the man responsible for the first two Diablos, and made by a small team of thirty that are better than Blizzard. Expand
  29. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    ARPG perfection. Beautiful art style, endless loot to collect, LAN play, Single player offline play, moddable, wonderful music, 6 player co-op - all for 20 dollars? I for one am very glad I decided to skip Diablo III (at 60 dollars? huh?) and patiently waited for this. Great job Runic!
  30. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    Excellent game, I played and adored torchlight but this. This is ~500% better than it's predecessor. Buying this game is a must (or torrent it but then buy). 10/10 without any doubt!
  31. Sep 30, 2012
    9
    Best $20 I've spent in a long time. As 1 of only 3 people to have NEVER played the Diablo series, I have no way of knowing how it compares. However, this game does bear many similarities to Dungeon Runners, that short lived MMO by NCSoft. But TL2 is a lot better by comparison. The monsters, boss fights, loot, game play, and landscapes are far more interesting, yet both make (or *made* in the case of DR) it very easy to jump in and start fighting, either alone or with others. Both games had a very similar art style, reminiscent of WOW, and that's not necessarily a bad thing. Expand
  32. Sep 30, 2012
    10
    My Torchlight II review was deleted for some reason. It was rated very high as being a helpful review. I don't understand why it was deleted. Is Metacritic censoring people now? That's not a good way to get an accurate community opinion, but whatever, Metacritic is not the website that I thought it was.... Anyway, Im giving Torchlight II a 10 out of 10 because it is just plain fun, there is no other way to describe it. I don't understand how Blizzard took some 10 years to release a $60 game that failed so badly, while Runic took less than 3 years to release a $20 game that is universally loved. I feel sorry for all the people that were pulled into Diablo 3 by all the nostalgia only to find a real money pay to win auction house, and a constantly online DRM system designed to punish people that actually bought the game. Runic really likes their fans, and everything about Torchlight II shows that they really listen to them. Thank you Runic for showing the world how game companies are supposed to operate. Blizzard may have made more money by selling fake nostalgia, but Runic gained a lot more fans by selling a real product. Expand
  33. Sep 30, 2012
    10
    This game is great because of its nice graphics meaty action and the large amount of items you can have in the game. the demo is amazing because if you done want to pay for the game but you want to play a small amount of it you can the demo has a resanable size and with the four different charecters it has a fair amount of replayability. Overall great game. Definetly worth trying the demo.
  34. Sep 30, 2012
    10
    Torchlight 2 brings ARPG gameplay to players at its best, the way in which enemies explode in gold or items makes the game incredibly exciting and challenging at the same time compared to torchlight 1 the difficulty of torchlight 2 makes the player feel threatened by even the smallest of enemies while still giving th player a sense of power over the environment. The newly fashioned coop mode adds a whole new level of enjoyment to the game playing with up to 6 people at once you get to collaborate with each other to fight bosses and share gear. I find the replayibility of the game incredibly high since release i've played hardcore mode on veteren 6 times with friends on coop and each of the times i've felt an equal or even higher sense of satisfaction from the game. The classes are incredibly diverse allowing the player to play a syle that suits him or her with all sorts of differet skill sets and gear this aspect of the game i feel is a major factor in the replayibility of the game. The only weak point i feel the storyline of the game which is inferior to that of diablo but this flaw is offseted by a multitude of incredibly well thought out features of the game such as dungeons boss fights and the open world itself where one can encounter a wide asortment of monsters. One of the best aspects of torchlight 2 i feel are the boss fights staged in grand arenas ,the pinacle of any ARPG they are well thought out and paced reasonably well depending or difficulty level the bosses themselves are unique in their own right and no where in the game have i found any clear sign of obivious copies of any one boss ,after grinding through the hard won boss fights the amount of enemy corpes on the floor gives me an incredibly feeling of satisfaction picking up the droped gear and gold is even more fulfilling. Overall i feel that torchlight 2 is an excellent game that has far surpassed my expectations setting an example for future games of this genre rivaling Diablo 3 in every way. Runic games has proven a worthy rival of Blizzard if not better. Expand
  35. Sep 29, 2012
    9
    This game is what Diablo 3 should have been. There is nothing else that needs to be said but Metacritic has a 150 minimum character requirement. The difficulty is more consistent than Diablo 3 and the game is not afraid to challenge you. The skill trees (yes, there are skill trees) are well thought out and reward focusing your point distributions. The loot is copious, the enemy variety refreshing, and the gameplay is like crack cocaine. Get over the cartoony look, get over the generic story and buy this game and play it. Expand
  36. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    To anyone who enjoys the dungeon crawler genre, I highly recommend Torchlight II. The classes are very balanced and each has a great skill tree. I enjoyed the single player campaign a lot. But the multiplayer was what I really liked. All in all, good game, nice maps, and great loot system. Best thing of all, If i'm somewhere without internet, I can still play.
  37. Sep 29, 2012
    9
    The fore fathers of Diablo 1&2 (the Schaefer's) take Blizzard back to school and shows them how an ARPG is to be done and does it all for a third of the Diablo 3 price bringing us a superbly crafted, well designed ARPG with random surprises. Runic not only just improved everything they did in Torchlight, but also added full mod support, Steam Workshop and yup internet and LAN play, makes torchlight 2 a great, fun and rewarding ARPG experience. This is everything Diablo 3 should of been and never will be, Runic is showing us that building great game is more important than making cash cows. Expand
  38. Sep 28, 2012
    9
    First of, i'm not going to compare it to Diablo. No. I'll add to all the things that people have already said; The game is amazing! It is a perfect example to a game that has less graphics, but more GAMEPLAY and content! The online experience is everything that i wanted from TL1. The H&S is just what you would want from H&S game: "More please!". Simple... The game is rich in content and upgrades from the-already-great TL1 experience; More awesome skills, many quests and dungeons! All-in-all, You will find yourself spending a lot of hours on this one, trust me! Expand
  39. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    With the bundle running at about 14.99 for 4 people in steam this game is a steal. I highly suggest it as the game's fun factor increases with the number of players. Graphics do look old, but was tastefully done. It's just one of those game's that doesn't need state of the art looks to make the cut.

    Ironically, this game gives a nostalgic feeling of diablo II more-so than diablo III.


    Overall, despite the lack of graphics... the game is just plain old fun.
    Expand
  40. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    Amazing game. It is the game Diablo 3 suposed to be. When you start playing you totaly forget about time. You feel like you have been playing for 30 minutes and it's 3 hours. Worth every penny.
  41. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    Looks like an awesome game!if you like aRPG's, there's no need to convince you with a long blob of text. This game will confidently tick at the very least the majority of your aRPG boxes. If you simply just want an excellently constructed, fun and well polished game that continues to reward the players on every play through, this is also it. And for $20, you have absolutely no reason not to buy it and say 'Yes. This is what I want from a game. This is why I play them'. You have a rare opportunity to vote with your pocket book and have incredible levels of fun at the same time. Go get it. Thank me later. I'll be over here, enjoying this. Expand
  42. Sep 28, 2012
    9
    In terms of value, it might be the best game ever made for a launch price of $20. Tight gameplay and controls, very flexible play options (LAN/internet/offline, character customisations, mod friendly), and the game has very interesting itemization. There's multiple levels of difficulty available for play immediately at the start too, so you can start at Level 1 with a very challenging mode if you're an experienced gamer.


    A few minor criticisms. The multiplayer game browser makes it hard to sort games, search rarely works when i try to find my friends' games by name. The plotline exists and is easily ignored if you just want to play, but its a bit generic. I also think the reskill mechanic should allow a full talent rebuild, not just the last 3 skills -- its inconvenient enough to have to pay to remap your talent points. Over all though, Torchlight 2 is *the* ARPG of 2012 and for the years beyond. Path of Exile. It is, in my mind, the true spiritual successor to Diablo 2 that we've waited a decade for.
    Expand
  43. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    Torchlight II is a great hack n' slay even better than Diablo 3. I liked Diablo 3 a lot but at about 40-50 hours it was unplayable for me because it was too hard. In Torchlight II there was actually no Problem for me. What i think is great is that you can switch between lan single player and multiplayer. The drop-rate of good Items is a lot better than in Diablo 3 so you still don't need an Auction House. All in all I have to say: A great game with a not that great story and a low graphic but it is still FUN for about 20 Expand
  44. Sep 27, 2012
    9
    This game is awesome; everything that Diablo 3 should have been. The game mechanics are fun and enjoyable. Harder difficulties and late game are tough but not impossibly infuriating like D3. My only gripe is the over the top cartoon graphics. Had the same gripe with the original Torchlight, but since the developers permit the game to be modded, actually encourage it, it is only a matter of time before graphics overhaul mods come out for the game. Expand
  45. Sep 27, 2012
    9
    This is seriously what diablo 3 should have looked like. The game is extremely polished, with very little bugs (despite the initial server problems that every online games have). Every little aspect that makes an awesome hack n slash game is in there. The only thing missing in my opinion is the aura mecanics from diablo 2 which enhanced the game a lot, a skill tree which makes you use the newer spells (I've been using the firebolt from level 1-42), wider areas for towns (everything is clustered in this game) and most of all a free for all PVP system and a forum/chat based trading system as seen as in the first two diablo titles. Expand
  46. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    Best gaming experience I've had in a long time. The game has FREE DLC planned for it and maybe even an expansion. The best ARPG i've played since Diablo II, and i would argue even better. If you don't own this game and you own D3. You are either a chinese botter or an addicted moron. This game is built around fun, and after 30 hours i didn't have a moment that didn't keep me entertained and im hungry for more. Great gear, great monsters, great abilities, and even better dungeons.

    The new trendsetter for all future APRGs or dungeon based games.
    Expand
  47. Sep 27, 2012
    9
    Buy this. Seriously. It's fun. It's amazing. It would be too long to write all the innovations and the good points of the game, just try the free demo and see for yourself :)

    I would love to give Runic the 90 euros I gave Blizzard for Diablo 3's Collector's Edition.
  48. Sep 27, 2012
    9
    It's a sequel, but it is a proper sequel. More characters, more animals, more of an open world, more stats, more abilities... more more more. There is nothing really new or inventive about the game, it is just a great sequel for Torchlight. If you liked Torchlight you will like this.
  49. Sep 26, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Torchlight 2 is a really good game, that has inherited many aspects from Diablo 2. Maybe even more than the famous diablo 3. The gameplay is fast, with much exploration enriched by sequences of fights that keep always the fun at high scores. The 4 classes are fairly customizable in gender and looks, and their skill trees are really classic in structure but really fun to try.
    The maps and the dungeons are really well done, with forests, deserts, and other environments large enough to permit a fun exploration. They are randomized in structure enough to resemble always new to explore any time you start a new game or reroll the map in an internet play through, but you won't meet random generation inside the dungeons (no forests generated underneath a crypt, no castles underneath a cave and so on) like it happened in Torchlight 1. Everything has its place and a logic behind.
    The music and overall sounds are very pleasant to hear, with a more modern style if compared to the ones of diablo 3.
    It seems to me that the first Torchlight episode could have been a kind of try, in order to study a new graphic style, but with a very classical game play. And Torchlight 2 is the "real" Torchlight game, with all the good ideas and experiences linked together in an almost perfect new "old-style" action rpg.
    Even the co-op multiplayer is really fun to play, with friends or newcomers. There is no problem with the loot sharing, in fact the loot is instanced and when you kill a mob or open a stash everyone has his own loot, invisible to the other players. The final verdict is: this game is one of the best experiences you can have in gaming at a really fair price: 20$. Go get it!
    Expand
  50. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    This is the game we have all dreamed during these years to succeed Diablo 2. In the future it will be seen as a true legend, a classic, on the same level as Half-Life, Kotor 1, Civilization 1 and Grim Fandango.
  51. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    What a game. For $20 you cant go wrong. You will probably be playing this for months if not year. 4 different class you can experiment with. You get a choice of where to put your stat points. You get to play with up to 6 people.
  52. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    It feels more like a journey than just a grind. While not actually playing, time goes into your character build instead of window shopping in an overpriced auction house. Itemization is on point and can be tinkered with to make items fit your build even more. The game design reminds me of when I played through Warcraft 3 one player (had no net at the time) and felt that even though it was cartoonish, it still felt crisp and stylish. I didn't get too into Diablo 2 like other friends had in the past, and Diablo 3 was supposed to be my initiation into the genre. The whole time we were playing Diablo 3 I heard that it was nothing like Diablo 2 so I was itching to get that experience under my belt. I could have gone back and picked up Diablo 2, but this game is definitely fitting the bill! Expand
  53. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    A real gem!

    Torchlight 1 was a fun game but it lacked of some features, like multiple towns, endgame options and multiplayer. Torchlight 2 not only fixes those flaws but also adds a lot of content.

    There's plenty of loot (magic/rare/unique/legendary items). You can find socketed items and add gems to improve them. Better, you can even add sockets to your items if you manage to find a
    rare NPC.

    Got enough gold? Pay an enchanter to add random properties to an already epic item. Do some dungeon crawl and find a special enchanter to add specific properties related to one of four game 'elemental' (electric, fire, ice, poison).

    I highly recommend it to any ARPG fans out there. And, yes, it's much better than Diablo 3.
    Expand
  54. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    The game torchlight 2 should of been. Fantastic on launch, great stable multiplayer. Extremely fun and entertaining. Enough variety to keep you going for hours. Launch price was a instabuy.
  55. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    Honnestly my best experience of gaming was with Diablo 2. I play like 2 years and i had awesome feelings. I waited a long time Diablo 3 and i played more than 350 Hours. It s a cool game but you know there is lot of troubles that everyone already knows. This game Torchlight is the next game i waited after Diablo 2 a strong substitute with good quality of gameplay. I play in Hc Elite and it s pretty tough. Not impossible but good challenge with my friend. I like trees skills , loots system and everything they did. Musics remember be Diablo 2 and the price of the game is really cool. I was confident about Runic skills and now i m sure they re really good . I wait double fine for a confirmation XD Expand
  56. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    Frankly, I don't usually review games that much, however I am an avid gamer, and with that I would definitely say that Torchlight 2 deserves a 10. Based on my experience on playing different games, I could say that TL2 truly shines among the lot. TL2 offers a good bit of variety to the fray (pleasant lighting, varying creatures, overall flow of the game), oftentimes I feel immersed as I grind through one single boss fight, not minding how long it took to beat, rather enjoying ever moment trying to do so. The developers have really taken the time and effort on "listening" to what its players had to say, and I am thankful towards this decision that they've made. I believe the TL series still has so much untapped potential, and I'm eager to find out what improvements the developers still have in mind, if any. Expand
  57. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    OK, I must confess I was only going for a 9.5 for TL2, but can only go whole numbers, so 10 / 10 it is. At first it's a bit cartoony to me, but get use to it pretty quick. The game play / boss / drops / offline / character designs.... are all great. Have been trying all the characters and didn't mind to run through the same quests again for all of them. One thing I would like to have is the ability to re-do an act so I can get the different pieces of the quest rewards! Not that's a big issues, just a personal thing for wanting to collect all the pieces (if I can). There's a slight bug / issue I have with the game, sometimes the mobs are off screen and literally becomes invisible but they can still attack you from that range. Not a big issue, but would be great if that's fixed. Actually there's another thing, would be great to respec more than 3 skill points (I don't mind using the console for the respec-potion though). Ah, and music / sound effect is great!
    I like the different magics / skill / gameplay / random dungeons at the end. Look forward for more patch / expansion / contents later, although even without them, I'll probably be playing for at least the next 6 months or so. =P

    Awesome game for $20! It's almost a steal (buyer's advantage) . Must try for anyone that likes the ARPG genre.
    Expand
  58. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    What more needs to be said? The launch was flawless, other than the fact that their website was hit with so much traffic due to people registering for accounts, and as a result, many people weren't able to register and play online. Those that were able to register before the mayhem started were able to play online. But this was only a minor inconvenience in reality. Why? Torchlight II had single player available at launch, as their previous title had. Not only that, but the characters on single player are linked to those you use on the internet, so even if you weren't able to play online the day of release, no time was lost!

    If you like ARPG's, a number of the people at Runic Games came from a more known company: Blizzard North, who was behind Diablo 1 and Diablo 2. Needless to say, Torchlight II fits the bill of a superb ARPG, as to be expected from former Blizzard North employees.

    The people at Runic know how to make an ARPG. They don't try to force a story-line on you. They don't repeatedly nerf/buff in the name of balance, because an ARPG is not all about balance. They don't release "new" items with the same exact bland affixes and call them new.

    Other companies, mainly Blizzard (I like to call them Blizzard South still), are trying to morph the ARPG genre into a more MMORPG style where content is released in tiers, players and monsters are constantly balanced around one another, and items are based off of primary stats and weapon DPS. This is not the case whatsoever with Torchlight II, they have shown time and again that they are sticking to their roots with ARPG's, and I don't foresee that changing any time in the near future.
    Expand
  59. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    Torchlight II is the pc game of the year 2012. It slaps Diablo III in the face by doing things differently, yet it mimics some parts of the Diablo series. Which makes Torchlight II even more ridiculous yet wonderful. Its attitude is a bitter pill for Blizzard and its developers. And a blessing for the disappointed Diablo fans.
  60. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    This game is AWESOME

    PERFECT in every points

    I can't beleive that I bought this GREAT GAME for ONLY 20$

    Thanks Runic for this game, you rock!
  61. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    I Loved Diablo 1, I loved Diablo 2. After seeing the slow decline in Blizzard since Warcraft 3, I did not pursue interest in Diablo 3 after many things I saw implemented into the game system that really killed it for me. I played Torchlight 1 and was not impressed, then along came Torchlight 2, and I am: as many would put it, IMPRESSED!!
    Take What made Diablo 2 fun and update it by
    removing the tedium (selling junk, using potions and inventory management)

    While for some the graphics may seem childlike, I could agree, at first. But honestly when I am running a steady 60+ FPS with never any slowdown or graphical glitches, it can look like mine craft for all I care and is something that is easily looked past within the first hour of play.

    The story is intriguing and the voice acting acceptable for today's standards. It won't blow you away, but it will rarely (if ever) make you cringe.

    Loot seems right on top for how often a blue drops you may enjoy using to a unique, or even a green.
    You'll find yourself harken back to the days of Diablo 2 trying to finish that awesome set for the bonuses, or grinding away to find embers (socketables).

    Character customization is here, and gladly accepted. Diablo 3 and all games seem to treat us gamers like complete idiots and dumb down intricate systems of customization, not here. You tailor your stats and then create your build, no two builds are the same due to the amount of options per class.

    Bottom line, for 20 dollars, this is the BEST investment you could make if you enjoy the A-RPG genre, another major factor why I couldn't justify shelling out $60 to Blizzard for Diablo 3.

    And of course, why is this game a spiritual successor to Diablo 2? Well Matt Uelman of course. During your play you can almost hear bits of the music give you a taste of Diablo 2 and 1.

    The ace in the whole for the entire series was lost when Blizzard North got decimated and they lost Matt Uelman, look no further, he's here, he's alive...in Torchlight 2.
    Expand
  62. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    Much better than Diablo 3 this game is awesome i love every single monster kia in battle...LOVE LOVE LOVE this game you wont waste your money...DIABLO 3 ARE DEAD...RIP BLIZZARD AND ACTIVISION
  63. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    Completely addictive, with superb graphics and many many varying enemies and landscapes (no more boring - repetitive dungeon after dungeon gaming) !! Players don't have to limit their characters on one development tree anymore, but there can be combinations of spells and possibilities. Took the good old Torchlight some light years beyond. I really love it and I highly recommend it ( I haven't played Diablo 3 yet and I don't think I will either). Expand
  64. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    This is what D3 should have been. I highly suggest you buy the four pack on steam and play co-op with your friends. I had so much fun exploring the game and having FUN I lost track of time and here I am burning a sick day from work. :)
  65. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    I´ve just played TL2 for about 10 hours and already i love this game. Though i kinda dont like the fact that u cant respec. Its just trial and error. But maybe thats a good thing. I dont know. Anyway this game is awesome!
  66. Sep 25, 2012
    9
    This is a shining example of what a sequel should be: improvement on everything that was wrong with the first game. This is basically the type of game we should've had in Diablo 3. Also remember that while respec options are limited, they'll just be modded in ASAP anyway,.
  67. Sep 25, 2012
    9
    Torchlight 2 is a great game for it's price.Everything has changed from the first chapter,graphics,maps,boss mechanics all improved.Runic Games did really a great job
  68. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    Absolutely stunning! Beautiful graphics, amazing monsters, F****** awesome loot...did you hear me? AWESOME LOOT!

    Looking back I now wish I would have bought the package of more than one game! Definitely worth every penny!
  69. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    It was kind of disappointing that I had to wait for a year to finally play this game, but it was totally worth pre-purchasing. I totally enjoyed it when it came out. Even though I couldn't play online at first, single player totally satisfied me. It is so much better than the first Torchlight game because Runic Games totally listened to critics about making this game coop and other features that others have requested. This game really feels complete. I totally love fast-paced games, and this game is totally fast-paced. The action fighting is where all the speed. Even like the cartoon-styled art. I know some people don't like it, but if the graphic style were to change completely versus the 1st game, then I don't think it would be worth calling it the 2nd Torchlight. I'm glad that Runic Games kept lots of originality in the art style. Buying this game for $20 is totally worth it. I held off from buying the "rival" game, Diablo 3, because it was too expensive for me... I did not hesitate to buy TL2 because of the great price it displayed. Thank you, Runic Games, for giving people many hours of endless fun. I'm almost at 1 whole day of playing this game and it's only been out for 5 days so far. So overall, I give this game a 10/10, because it feels so complete compared to the first game. Loot on! ;D Expand
  70. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    This game is hands down better than Auction House 3. Now you can play on any difficulty you like in a world that constantly changes in every playthrough. It's only 20 bucks and with content like this it's probably worth more. No more having to endlessly grind through the same 2-3 levels just to buy garbage items from an AH to slightly improve your stats. In other words this game is fun fun fun!
  71. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    This game is really a vast improvement over the first. Obviously the co-op is a big part of the improvement, but the graphics and game play have been tweaked for the better making the cell shaded graphics less blocky and with the addition of new characters that you can customize as opposed to the ones in part 1 where you simply pick from the ones pre-made. Items are easier to swap between inventories and markets while you now have better options for your pet. The skill menu was is now improved by tiers as opposed to 1/20 like in T1. The story is drastically better too, as opposed to the more generic one in part where it was just kill god/demon and end of story, now one of the previous main characters the Alchemist (who you may have played as like me if you chose the spell caster) has now gone insane as hinted at the end of part 1 with power and is causing devastation around the world and has defeated his previous partners making the player a new character set on the path to stop him.

    Over all, and THIS is what you care about, the game is just more fun to play and isn't that what really matters?
    Expand
  72. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    Visuals: TL2 doesn't focus much on visual appeal. This is a sword, this is a gun, these are monsters. It has an almost cartoony look to it but the gear still looks badass enough so that it doesn't get annoying. As far as the skills are concerned i think they both are tied. They have different styles but TL2 is more pleasing to the eye. It isn't bright to the point that it is annoying but enough so you can clearly tell what everything is and the action doesn't blur your vision to the point that everything kind of melts together. (as it feels like it does sometimes in D3). As far as physics are concerned Diablo 3 definately wins. Crumbling stone, Monster gibs are very satisfying, and the environments almost falling apart in some areas really adds immersion to the gameplay. The models in TL2 look like they had a little more love put into them. The swords aren't flat and dont look paper thin, And the wide variety of ranged weapons for mostly one class really impressed me.
    Monsters: The monsters in diablo felt generic, uninteresting, and just plain bland most of the time. Mostly borrowing from the previous games and adding a few from other games it really didn't bring any surprises. Even the bosses felt kind of boring with the butcher being the generic bad guy from about 10-20 different video games including previous diablo games. The champions in TL2 have been greatly improved from the first one but after playing d3 for so long they felt like pushovers. While some people may have been disappointed with how simplistic the champion design is i was actually thankful i didnt have to spend 30mins-1hour fighting one champion because my gear wasn't godly at the time. I was also thankful there were no invuln minions, reflect damage, mortars, desc, or the ice bombs. Because it meant i didnt have to hop around the map trying to sneak a shot in time from time while trying not to get killed in 1-2 hits. Overall TL2's champions were slightly not challenging enough (i played on veteran) and D3 was too unforgiving. Gear: Here is where TL2 truly shines. Gear is plentiful, and gear of all rarities are useful with uniques being rare enough and with good enough affixes that it would immediately replace the rare gear you had before without making you feel like you NEEDED it. It took me 3 uniques until i got one that i could actually use so i stuck the others in my shared stash for alts and didn't find myself disappointed that i didn't get more. The rare and uncommon drops had good enough affixes, and all useful for my class so i didn't mind not getting godly gear. In diablo 3 had i gotten gear with strength or intelligence (focus in tl2) i would have been pissed and vendored that !@#$, but in TL2 some strength or focus is actually useful for my mostly Dexterity class. They balanced the skills so that every class can benefit from bonuses in each of the 4 stats. And if you dont like certain affixes on your gear you can pay some gold and get them removed via enchanter, and also add in more enchantments depending on how good the enchanter is. This allows for great customization in gear and makes almost every rare or higher drop worth keeping. In diablo 3 getting gear feels like cycling through garbage for hours or even days to find 1 hidden diamond.
    I've seen people complain about TL2 interface but honestly i found it to be much simpler and easier to understand than D3. It has no hidden modifiers, any additional information you want to know can be found in your arcane statistics (J). Plus you can load your pet up with any loot you dont want and he will go to town and sell it for you so you can spend more time actually playing the game.
    Basically if you love to grind and spend hours upon hours praying to find something godly, or even worth putting on the AH; then play D3. If you like to play ARPGs and kill monsters, get lots of loot, and have a ton of fun; then play TL2
    Expand
  73. Sep 25, 2012
    9
    So much replay value here from the multiple ways to build the four classes, to the randomized dungeons, mobs, and bosses(skills). Tons of varied equipment, and lots of mob variety, and multiplayer. But most of all.... Its so much fun, Ive lost track of time every single session Ive turned this game on. I dont even know how many timesI could play through this game before I got bored.The only and I mean the ONLY complaint I have about this game is the fact that you have to push the hold button to keep from charging enemies instead of attacking with auto attacks. But thats always been my bigggest complaint about this genre.
    Now Im a huge fan of the ARPG genre and have to say this one has more replay potential than any other Ive ever played. The funny part is that the pricing for Torchlight 2's main competition is backwards. This should have been the 60 dollar title and Diablo 3 should have been the 20 dollar title. Yes thats right, I said D3 is t2s competition. But once you max your character in D3, I just moved on to the next class. There is just no replay there, Unless your looking for gear for pvp. But thats a grindfest, thats not really replaying to enjoy the game. Hell Krater has more replay then D3 and is actually fun, D3 felt like a chore after a while. Lets be honest though D3 was a dumpster fire at launch, but blizzard will keep backing up dump trucks full of money to get it where it should have been at launch. And I would without a doubt recommend Krater, before D3. It marched to the beat of its own drum and I liked so many things about the game. And honestly feel like it has more potential then d3, but once again, and most importantly....its actually lots of fun(despite the repetitive combat). Does it compare to T2? yes but in very different ways, either way there far more entertaining(to me anyway),and put together are cheaper then D3.
    Regardless If T2 had been 60 dollars, I would have had no problem laying my money down. But being asked to pay more then...or even 20 for that matter for D3 to me seems....well...almost too much.
    Expand
  74. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    Thank you Runic Games, I knew you will make a flawless game :) For all the haters that rated this game a 0 on the release day, shame on you! Come here and give bad ratings after you actually play the game.
  75. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    This game deserves every 10/10 ratings given! It fast paced, challenging, tonnes of loots, tonnes of side quests and many more things to be done in the game. It just keeps getting more and more interesting. And the best part is, its mod-able and has so many great potentials. The developers marketing the game at $20 had definitely under priced it.
  76. Sep 24, 2012
    10
    Amazing is simply an understatement whilst playing Torchlight II, this, like the predecessor of Torchlight I contains the same, intuitive content and stunning gameplay, but as they said have added a whole new multiplayer platform boosting player experience on a whole new level adding in player interaction, trading, and instance based multiplayer combat. I personally have always found the Torchlight series much better than other dungeon crawlers such as the infamous Diablo series and the team at Runic have never ceased to amaze me with the modifiability, support and all the features packed into the Torchlight series making this the epiphany of Dungeon crawler games as of 2012. Expand
  77. Sep 24, 2012
    9
    I would actually give this game an 8.5, but I'll round up cause I like it so much. Story is lacking, but since when has anybody ever played an action-rpg/ lootfest for its story? I have only two complaints. The first is that movement is poorly done. It is nice being able to move and attack with one hand, but it's infuriating as hell when I'm trying to run away from *insert unnaturaly big and scary monster here* and I accidently click on a minion, causing me to stop and attack. Shift makes your character stay still no matter what, and control makes your character move only when a target is highlighted. They need a button to overide attacking completely so I can move without worry of accidentally attacking. My second complaint are the bosses. This may just be a personal preference, but my view is that if a boss needs minions to fight me, then he wasn't cool enough to be in the game. Every boss in this game is surrounded by minons. It pisses me off to no end when I see a vicious looking boss and think "Oh man, this guy is going to rock my **** I wonder what his special power is... Oh he runs away and calls for help. That's cool..." Almost every boss in this game does that. Come to think of it, there's just kind of a lacking of boss creativity. Expand
  78. Sep 24, 2012
    10
    The Good: Loot System - endlessly rewarding with no auction house to spoil the fun. You want godly gear in Torchlight II? you play the game, simple as that. - Enemy Diversity - so many unique types of enemies and its not just champions that have crazy abilities, some regular enemies have very nasty racial abilities - Price - $20 for a game that easily rivals if not defeats Diablo III as an aRPG. also the soundtrack is free, just google it. - MUSIC - composed by Matt Uelman, who did the music for Diablo 1 & 2, giving this game's music a much more Diablo feel then Diablo III itself. - Technical - The requirements for this game are very low and the game runs extremely smoothly all the time, I have yet to have a single crash or even a single frame lag. - Offline Mode - Self explanatory, no dealing with lag, no logging in if you don't want to, and you can go online at any point and even host LAN parties, i haven't much seen this option let alone used it since the days of Diablo 2. - MODS - again, self explanatory, any dev that endorses modding gets points in my book. The Bad: - Interface - the interface isn't terrible, its just not really that great either, just average. - Story - This is the only real down point in this game, the story is just not interesting on any level, that cliche ridden abomination full of long winded speeches and annoying cut scenes called a story in Diablo III is actually more interesting than the story in Torchlight II. However, torchlight's story is deigned in a way that you can totally and completely ignore it if you so choose and be just fine, which is exactly what I am doing. I'm in act 3 in torchlight II, lvl 50, around 18 hours play time, and I couldn't tell you the first thing about the story. TL;DR? buy it, its only $20, I haven't regretted a single second or a single penny I've spent on this game. Expand
  79. Sep 24, 2012
    10
    yesssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss sss
  80. Sep 24, 2012
    10
    Amazing and addicting game. Tons of enemy variety with lots of bosses and minibosses in each of the large zones and dungeons in the game. The environments are pretty and vary from bright forests and deserts to snowy plains and dark swamps, each with their own unique look. Tons of loot dropped from enemies and chests, although admittedly much of it useless but you can come across the odd unique weapon from bosses. The 4 classes are all cool and each have 3 talent trees to suit a subclass of your choice, for example engineers have a talent tree with skills suited for two handed warrior, machinist, and even a more defensive tank sort of playstyle. There are also about 6-7 types of pets you can choose from your character compared to just cat or dog from the original Torchlight and the Fate games. The story is pretty shallow but it's servicable for giving you a reason to slaughtering things and making flashy animations burst everywhere on the screen. The graphics are cartoony and WoW like and much more colourful than what might be seen in Diablo III. The particle effects have been upgraded so that explosions and stuff are prettier but it may also be more stressful on older computers like mine compared to the first Torchlight. There is also a co-op mode in the game although I was unable to play it on my pirated copy of the game

    Overall, awesome game and for $20 ( which I didn't pay) you can't go wrong. Or if you torrent it like I did, at least buy the game to support the developers later on.
    Expand
  81. Sep 24, 2012
    10
    This is by far the best game in its genre to date. The speed of play combined with the instant gratification and progress of your character create an experience that is nearly impossible to tear yourself away from. The frenetic boss encounters, challenging mobs and the possibility of EPIC LOOT add to the feeling of constant progress which marks Torchlight 2 as an ultimate achievement not only in its genre but in the grand spectrum of entertainment as a whole. I cannot recommend this game more highly. For the experienced dungeon crawler or to the Hack n' Slash first timer this game is sure to hit the loot button in us all. Not just once but hundreds of times. Expand
  82. Sep 24, 2012
    9
    Following up on the successful "Torchlight" release, Torchlight II has not failed to impress. Nothing too game breaking, but the creators just "get it". Gameplay, helpful loot drops, interesting bosses; TL2 is successful where its biggest competitor (D3) has failed so far. For the price ($20) this game is hard to beat. If you haven't played the first, don't worry, jump into this and start having fun. Expand
  83. Sep 24, 2012
    10
    I give it 10/10 because it is a really challenge so far. Even though the act seems short, but it is really exciting game after the 10 years of Diablo 2. It is a well done game from the makers of Diablo, Diablo 2 and Torchlight. USD20 is worth the game to be play with. Please do not pirated it as the creators has done alot of work on it and they release it in a affordable price for everyone to go for offline , online or Lan. Expand
  84. Sep 24, 2012
    10
    $20 game that plays like a $60 game. It is a great game even if you already have D3. Personally I like the Diablo 2 style skill trees with only minor respecing allowed. But i can see how some will dislike it. But if that is your only issue with the game I would overlook it and try it. Also I am greatly looking forward to the mods which there should be plenty with such a large player base.
  85. Sep 24, 2012
    10
    This is an amazing game. It is astounding how talented the Runic Games team is. Even without Blizzards money they managed to create such a great game. I can not fault it in any way. I am not saying it is the perfect game, it's just so quite and solid as far as gameplay goes that you forget to look for flaws. I will be giving this game a 10 out of 10. It deserves it.
  86. Luc
    Sep 24, 2012
    10
    Liberté, loot intéressant, développement du personnage "custom", niveaux de difficulté au choix, mods à venir, tout y est, c'est un jeu amusant et jouissif et surtout dans la lignée de Diablo ; je pleure sur l'arnaque Diablo et ses hôtels de vente en comparant les prix des ces 2 jeux.
  87. Sep 24, 2012
    10
    Beautiful game! A true deserving successor of Diablo I and II and basically the only point-click ARPG left that keeps intact the initial roots that made them so successful.
    As many of us here, I bought Diablo 3 waiting for an amazing new era of the benchmark of ARPGs, however I was completely disappointed and disgusted with what they made out of it. Torchlight 2 on the other hand, did
    almost everything right this time around. It kept the same feeling of continuous exploration/adventure by having randomized maps. It kept the quirky little things that made the game special for most of us, like scrolls, spells dropping from mobs, town portals, etc. Most importantly it also got the loot system right!! They do understand what is what made Diablo I and II successful regarding loot system, things like having random gear sets dropping from mobs from level 1, keeping the hierarchy of rare items and managing to keep an interesting socketing system without being overpowered. The talent system and character progression is the same old (in a good way) system from Torchlight I and Diablo I and II, which allows you to have a dual progress of your character by having a spell's tree and a character attributes customization. Now on to what Torchlight offers IN TOP of getting the old school mechanics right. 1) Pets and fishing, still a side dish to the game but amazingly fun and interactive to what you do. 2) Weapons, great deal of them!! and actually viable weapon switches. I don't feel pigeon holed into a weapon that "my class is supposed to use". 3) Classes, yes!!!, they managed to do a different style of classes without screwing up, now there are not entirely different per say, but a little twist here and there in each one of them keeps it fresh. Now the things that need improving: Internet multiplayer system is very outdated. This is probably the only place where D3 has the upper hand. Of course, we are talking about a $20 game with 2-3 years of development VS millions of $ + 10 years + global online infrastructure (battle.net) + $60 price tag. The other part than could be better are graphics and sound. While graphics have a nice approach with the cartoonish style, they really could use a better engine. Sound is unfortunately lackluster, the quality of it I mean. Conclusion: Best point-click Action RPG since Diablo 2, plain a simple. It deserves a 10/10 because above all we are talking about a $20 game, that did everything right plus more. Could use improvements in the multiplayer internet system, graphics and sound, but for it's price tag I feel that we are getting FAR more. Finally, the support that as customers we should provide to this team and Runic, they clearly have the TALENT there without the greediness and sloppy ideas that made Diablo 3 fail, at the end of the day I think is about having Talented people designing the game, and that's what this team has and Blizzard doesn't anymore. Expand
  88. Sep 24, 2012
    10
    Better then Diablo 3 for the third of the price. Those who like the gameplay of diablo 1 and 2 gonna prefer Torchlight series because it look more like it. One little problem: Normal mode is a little too easy. So if you have play other hack and slash, play at veteran level of difficulty.
  89. Sep 24, 2012
    9
    Ahh yes, its finally here. The game Diablo fanboys have been waiting to come out to either: 1. Praise for being just like 1&2 OR 2. Take a dump all over it because its a clone of Diablo 3. Similar to Diablo 3 yes but also better for a lot of reasons. Torchlight II is for people who like to tweak their experience to their play style whereas Diablo 3 forcefeeds you skills, talents, and modifiers. This game has NO AUCTION HOUSE making every juicy piece of loot earned and not gold-farmed or bought with actual money. But enough about Diablo lets talk about some T2 details. The graphics are really great. The graphical style of T2 goes perfectly with the lighter atmophere the game presents to you with cartoon flare and explosions that can fill the entire birdseye view at points. The soundtrack its just quite simply amazing. Composed by the great Matt Uelmen (Diablo, Diablo 2, WoW: BC, Starcraft) which morphs from sparse picking of a guitar to gawdy thick choir chanting and whatnot. At the time of this review there are bugs that can be annoying but Runic is working on them every day. I can't wait to see the mods that come out later on for this game. Expand
  90. Sep 24, 2012
    10
    I honestly believe reviews should be about the game in question and not be biased by other reviews or anything else for that matter.People coming here giving 0 to balance out something they personally feel is wrong is just a proof of their lack of intelligence.Now on to the game itself:.I played it and found it to be a wonderful game with atmosphere and game-play I yet have to see in another RPG.Do not listen to the people boycotting this game and saying it's bad and it doesn't offer a challenge because they are obviously great big liars who couldn't have seen anything relevant in the game since it's release.They are making up half of the bad observations on it just because they are butt-hurt over people saying it's better then diablo 3 which in my opinion is not far fetched at all.The music and scenery in the game is beautiful as expected and the boss fights are amazing too.I urge the diablo 3 and blizzard fan(atic)s to please leave this game alone and mind your own business.We don't go on diablo 3's score and unfairly rate it without having even played it,buy the game and actually play it please and then come here and rate it honestly if you want to appear credible because honestly so far I haven't seen to many honest bad reviews. Expand
  91. Sep 24, 2012
    10
    Every single red review mentions D3 at least once and was obviously made by a D3 fanboy. Don't listen to them. One of them was even going to give the game a 7 but instead gave it a ZERO because of all the tens T2 was getting. WHA??? What kind of insane logic is that? T2 takes everything from T1 and makes it better. EVERYTHING! But why take my word for it? IT ONLY COSTS $20! Go buy it and find out for yourself. Anytime you find a $20 game that you would gladly pay $60 for, it's a good day. Expand
  92. Sep 24, 2012
    10
    This is exactly what Diablo III should have been. It's a hundred times better and anyone who says otherwise has obviously never played the game - twenty dollars, full modding support, offline play, a legitimate class system, and you actually get to choose your skills. That alone should be enough to buy this game.
  93. Sep 24, 2012
    10
    Lets get the obvious first, Torchlight II is the greatest action RPG of all time and maybe the best game ever made. Do not mind the Diablo fanboy reviews seen here on Metacritic, they cannot stand that 20$ game developed by few guys at Runic could deliver a masterpiece like Torchlight II. So, what exactly is so good in Torchlight 2, well the answer would be everything. The gameplay is perfect, the balance is perfect, the pace is perfect. The game simply is perfect. Expand
  94. Sep 24, 2012
    10
    A true spiritual successor to Diablo. The art is a bit cartoony, but otherwise it seems to be on par with Diablo II in terms of depth and fun-factor and surpasses all Action RPGs with it's smooth, slick and rewarding combat. On top of its initial appeal, it looks like there's a ton of room for meaningful build customization. I would much rather have spent $60 on this game than the one I bought a few months ago. This is the real deal. I would dock it a point for minor issues, but it's $20 and it was just launched. I have no complaints. Expand
  95. Sep 23, 2012
    10
    This game is truly outstanding. I am new to the ARPG genre, and it definitely keeps the player engaged in the action. For a price of $20 along with free DLC and a full TorchED system in the near future, this game definitely has to be the best bang for the buck. I preordered the game through steam because I was looking to play something different, and after playing the first Torchlight (came with the preorder), I had to agree that a co-op feature was desperately needed. I recently played this game with a friend of mine, and the gameplay is seamlessly smooth. It's the truest form of co-op I have ever played. Even to the point that players can be in different realms on the same server, yet still remain on a synchronized server. Outstanding. I didn't know how much to expect for only $20, but I will say that this game is easily worth $40. No game is really worth $60, but sometimes we do what we must. I think Runic's tactic here longterm will bring them much more in terms of profits. A $20 game is safe gamble-- they can rake in new players, and I for one, am sure that I will buy any Runic titles in the future. I have been disappointed by EA and Activision far too many times. They don't even try to impress their player base anymore... not to mention the myriad of bugs at release. This game runs as smooth as silk from day one. Anyway, purchase this game, or at least try the Free Demo on steam to see what you think. It's definitely worth the buy, its A TON of fun. Also, to those who say the game is not challenging, it starts out easy, but get much more difficult as you progress through the game. Thanks for reading, and do the right thing. Buy this game! Expand
  96. Sep 23, 2012
    9
    Why do I enjoy this game? Looking at my Steam history, I played the original Torchlight for a slightly embarrassing number of hours, and it seems I'm headed that way with this one too. There's nothing very original about Torchlight II but Runic have consistently shown that they take pride in their work, and can actually feel the developers' delight as you play this game. Their care for detail and dedication to the genre is evident throughout. For some of us that's a huge relief from big game houses that shove out shoddy ports of PS3 or XBox games with horrible DRM that comes over as an insult to their customers. Not to mention Blizzard turning Diablo 3 into a marketplace instead of a game.

    The game itself is the same thing as the last one, but with better graphics, larger worlds and more variety of quests, monsters and loot. And with some atmospheric music, thank goodness, to replace the desperately bland sountrack to the first Torchlight.

    I feel a bit silly for liking this game because there really is very little skill involved. The loot is random, to kill the monsters you just have to keep bashing, and the level ups come without too much effort. But it's so attractively done and we humans are suckers for exploring, and for repetitive activities with intermittent rewards, and I'm tired of games by the big, arrogant game houses that ultimately leave you feeling insulted. This is a delightful bit of seductive, harmless fun, which is what video games really should be.
    Expand
  97. Sep 23, 2012
    10
    This game is what Diablo 3 should have been. Loot system is 10 times better, it actually has randomized maps, and just plays a ton better than D3 ever could.
  98. Sep 23, 2012
    10
    This is an absolutely fantastic effort by Runic, and proves to be a god-tier ARPG with versatile skill trees, ideal difficulty (on veteran IMO), and engaging combat. That said, it doesn't really innovate too much on the ARPG template of loot-kill-loot-kill that we all know and (might) love, with the notable exception of the incredibly convenient pet system. I've already sunk many hours into this gem, and I'm sure my social life will continue to be crippled for weeks to come at LAN parties and late night single player sessions. The $20 price tag is practically thievery, so you should probably buy it right now, even if you don't even WANT it. Only point reduction is for lack of originality, but honestly, it's an insignificant niggle and won't effect your enjoyment too much. Why haven't you bought it yet? Was I not clear or something? Expand
  99. Sep 23, 2012
    10
    Incredible game. Nothing I can say that others haven't already. This is how the genre of game is supposed to be. My only argument would be the graphics, however what it lacks in graphics it supplies in gameplay and consistency. Its actually really FUN and makes you want to keep playing. Its good to see not all game developers are obsessed with funny and maintain that "gamer spirit", and it clearly shows in their work here. Expand
  100. Sep 23, 2012
    10
    I haven't had this much from with an ARPG since Diablo 2. The atmosphere and setting are both bang on, the gameplay (targeting enemies, camera, mechanics, etc.) are all very well done. The only fault I can find in this game is that the story isn't memorable. Aside from that, this game is perfection.
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. 82
    Torchlight 2 offers everything an action RPG fan wants: a huge campaign, variety of enemies, a rich system of quality loot, well-balanced and fresh classes with different build options, care-free and fun multiplayer modes. [November 2012]
  2. Dec 13, 2012
    90
    Sure, it might not reinvent the wheel as built by Diablo II over a decade ago, but Runic deserves props for perfectly recreating the formula. Many others have tried to bring their own take on Diablo to the market-and failed. Runic didn't, which makes Torchlight II an essential purchase for anyone who loves to crawl through dungeons while scoring phat loot.
  3. Nov 25, 2012
    88
    A slick action RPG with wit and charm, this is a genuine alternative to Diablo III. [Christmas 2012, p.93]