• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Feb 10, 2014
    80
    A new quick and satisfying campaign that will keep you occupied for 10 hours on a smaller map limited to 18 provinces of Gaul and Britain. [02/2014, p.57]
  2. Feb 7, 2014
    70
    Caesar in Gaul is a good, little add-on. Not much content, especially if compared to the likes of Kingdoms and Warpath, but the overall feeling makes for an enjoyable experience.
  3. Feb 6, 2014
    65
    Caesar in Gaul is a by-product of the studio’s massive attempt to fix Rome 2. New gameplay elements definitely improve the game, but there is no need to pay for them, unless you want a new piece of map and three more fractions. All you have to do is simply download the latest patch.
  4. May 9, 2014
    61
    Total War: Rome 2: Caesar in Gaul DLC doesn't really add anything to the Rome 2 experience. [May 2014]
  5. Jan 14, 2014
    60
    Even at its best, Caesar in Gaul wears thin long before the end of the campaign.
  6. Jan 7, 2014
    60
    By stretching the years to 24 turns, adding seasonal weather and (all but) removing sea battles and internal politics, Caesar in Gaul proves to be an effective, though not exactly revolutionary, expansion to Rome 2.
  7. Feb 17, 2014
    50
    A bland expansion pack not enriching the original game. Caesar's name may be attractive, but his campaign against the Gauls is not what we want to be the game's expansion pack.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 5 out of 10
  1. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    hey guys, So i gave this a 10 since its exactly similar to what the kingdoms expansions were to medieval 2. If you like the barbarian factions or rome crushing barbarians, its alot of fun, it fixes loads of issues you may have with the main game.

    If you own the main game you should really check it out, its only a few bucks and well worth the purchase.
    Expand
  2. Feb 17, 2014
    10
    I Like it allot. Its fun, It easier then the big maps, so you are able to complete the campaign faster.
    .
    . Expand
  3. Jul 13, 2014
    6
    On legendary Caesar in Gaul offers a much more balanced campaign than Rome II's grand campaign.

    Problems that effect the grand campaign in
    a negative way, such as player income skyrocketting after around 100 turns leading to a boring and easy steamroll dont exist in CIG. Overall it is a much more challenging experience than the grand campaign - and I dont think that this is by design, but more a lucky coincidence due to the size of the map.

    It still of course suffers from the completely broken sieges that we all experience, but the campaign as a whole is a good one.
    Collapse
  4. Feb 12, 2014
    4
    Bought this when it came out. I didn't even try it back then. Now that I did, I wish I'd waited for a sale. Adding the seasons was a cool idea, but it should have been a part of the main game anyways. Not to mention, that these sort of smaller campaigns get boring pretty quickly. If you're not a fan of the Gauls, there is very little this DLC offers. Wait for a -75% sale or something like that and it might even amuse for a few moments. Expand
  5. Jan 19, 2014
    4
    Caesar in Gaul is the first expansion for the Creative Assembly's Total War: Rome II, and the same quality that shown through in Rome II, shines through here.
    The expansion pack starts off and lets the player choose from 4 factions, the Romans, the Suebi (a Germanic tribe), the Gauls, and the Nervii (a mix of the Celtic factions and the Germanic factions). In this focused mini-campaign, the map stretches over all of Gaul, and includes some areas just adjacent to it. While significantly smaller in scope, the game does increase the overall feeling needing to expand, and quickly. Unfortunately, that is all the game does successfully.
    The new tech trees are rotten, combining the worst aspects of Empire: Total War and the base product Rome II. The new factions add no real content into the main Campaign (purchasing Caesar in Gaul unlocks four new factions for the main game).
    The real sticking point for many fans is that multiple turns per year, and changing seasons, are only added in the mini campaign. Couple this with the still poor optimization and AI, and this game fails nearly on every aspect.
    All in all, this was rushed out too early, and more time should have gone into a massive overhaul of the AI and optimization with the launch of this 15USD product. At the end of the day, it simply isn't worth your time or money.
    Expand
  6. Feb 9, 2014
    3
    I thought I'd give this a try, seeing as the main game was so broken but in the end, it's just tacked on to make an extra buck on stripped features from previous games. Not worth it. Expand
  7. Jan 11, 2014
    1
    This DLC is WAY overpriced for what you get. Also the scenario is NOT very good. NOT well designed. NOT fun to play and NOT an enhancement of the core game. Its $15 for a piece of CRAP basically. There are better mods out there for free. Now CA can probably appreciate how flawed their entire approach to Rome II has been. If the engine design and the basic engine had been built properly an idea like this would have translated into a great mini campaign. As it is definitely WAIT till you can get this POS for about $1. Because that's all it's worth. I fell like a real moron for paying full price for this.

    Orctowngrot
    Expand

See all 10 User Reviews