User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 49
  2. Negative: 12 out of 49

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 21, 2012
    2
    As far as Tower Defense games goes it is quite good. If you are familiar with the Tropical Tower Wars mod for Warcraft III you would feel right at home. The major glaring problem I have with this game is the lack of AI available to play against in a single player mode. The learning curve is steep for a TD game (due to income, upgrading and battle point denying) and it would be nice to be able to hone your skills against some good AI instead of having to go PVP. Sadly the only single player mode is a classic TD where you try to defeat waves. It is boring and gets old fast. Taking into account that you can get better classic tower defense games online for free (I.e. Gemcraft, Cursed Treasure), I feel that this game was a terrible disappointment. Being able have a game by yourself or with friends against AI would elevate this score much more. Hopefully there will be a patch in the future that rectifies this mistake. Expand
  2. Sep 5, 2013
    4
    as the name states, its a tower defense game. got it from a bundle so i was curious how it is. well the graphics are sweet, thats the good part. there are only 3 different maps, and they arent so large either so it gets boring after a short amount of time. the controls are weird and annoying if youre trying to build fast. the tutorial for noobs only explains the basics, multiplayer seems to be dead already.
    when youre lucky to find a match, you either play vs a complete autist or a 578347593845 skill guy whos playing day&night. pretty bad matchmaking.

    maybe its fun in coop, but all together its far away from being as good as warcraft 3 tower defense mods that i loved to play.

    7€ are not much, but because of the few maps and dead multiplayer, even this seems to be overpriced.
    Expand
  3. AWG
    Aug 9, 2013
    4
    Terrible framing, chaotic gameplay, ridicolous tutorial... and no single player mode. Yeah, what about no?
  4. May 31, 2013
    0
    Rude developers who shut down all dissent on forums and NO SINGLEPLAYER ruin what otherwise could have been a nice title. As it is it's a borefest missing major game modes that any other modern tower defense or even moba style game would have.
    This game had a high potential and failed hard. SupervillainStudios are ungrateful jerks. Don't give them your money.
  5. Jun 25, 2013
    0
    Beautiful graphics thats all ...Singleplayer is low, only 3 maps to play, and multiplayer rules is not good. For exam when u set 2vs1 in multiplayer team of to have 2xgain of gold, and 2xgain of battle points. It´s unreal to beat team of 2 or 3 with only one player ....wasting timme this game
  6. Oct 17, 2013
    2
    i believe this game is still in beta and will need much more work before it is going to be a good game hardly no map selection available 3 maps and online is depressing i would not buy again
  7. Oct 31, 2013
    1
    Bought on steam, the game crashes to desktop from the first loading screen. AVOID this POS and those associated with it.Bought on steam, the game crashes to desktop from the first loading screen. AVOID this POS and those associated with it.Bought on steam, the game crashes to desktop from the first loading screen. AVOID this POS and those associated with it.Bought on steam, the game crashes to desktop from the first loading screen. AVOID this POS and those associated with it.Bought on steam, the game crashes to desktop from the first loading screen. AVOID this POS and those associated with it.Bought on steam, the game crashes to desktop from the first loading screen. AVOID this POS and those associated with it.Bought on steam, the game crashes to desktop from the first loading screen. AVOID this POS and those associated with it.Bought on steam, the game crashes to desktop from the first loading screen. AVOID this POS and those associated with it.

    orctowmgrot
    Expand
  8. Dec 26, 2013
    0
    My buddy got this in a bundle for us to play when we were bored. It's pretty unplayable at the moment, which is pretty unfortunate considering there's not a lot of head to head tower defense games, so i was slightly excited to play this. Every time anything involving the game is clicked, whether it be host match, start match, load match, switch map, pretty much anything, the game goes into "not responding" and you end up having to wait anywhere between 1-10 minutes for it to actually get out of the "not responding". Both me and my buddy had the same issue, there's no computer problem, i haven't experienced this in any other game i've played, and i play a lot of video games. Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. 50
    Interesting variation of the tower defense genre suffers from chaotic gameplay and an absence of single-player mode. [Oct 2012]
  2. Sep 25, 2012
    60
    Tower Wars looks colorful and steampunk-y, but doesn't offer much. Three maps, one race… And this is in a multiplayer-oriented game?
  3. Sep 17, 2012
    60
    Tower Wars feels as if it were designed specifically for hardcore strategists. With a tutorial that skips important concepts and the tendency for matches to become one sided, the result is an uncomfortable and frustrating experience for beginners.