User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 46
  2. Negative: 11 out of 46

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    Many people didn't get the point of this game. Yes it might not be so obvious for new players and means that you must perseverate to learn the basics. Ok the single player content is poor... Well it's already a blessing there is one. Come on people, game used to be 10 times harder and with 10 times less content! Do you need everything to be explained? There are fan videos out there! The whole strength of this game lies with the multiplayer. It is one of the most addictive game I have played in the past 10 years. Those guys are better than many top notch studios. They got the point. Keep it simple yet deep. One of the main reason why people don't buy the game is because of the 59/100 rating this website gives. But still there are many strong opponents out there. Many new players too. Try it out, you won't regret it! See you in-game! Expand
  2. Feb 20, 2013
    9
    Tower Wars is right up my alley simply because I get to fight real intelligence instead of predictable AIs. Don't get me wrong, I'm a sucker for classic TDs as well, and have completed just about every popular version out there, but to get real longevity you just need to fight real people. This game provides that.

    Also, the bugs and shortcomings posted at launch are pretty much fixed by
    now. The game is bug free, new maps have been added, and the coop-mode people asked for was added months ago. I see little reason not to buy this game now, if you are a fan of TDs or TWs you will get loads of fun out of this title, for a great price to boot. See ya in-game! Expand
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    Very good game ! I love the idea of a tower defense where you have to attack you opponents too. Lacks a few functionalities like being able to play against AI but still great ! :)
  4. Sep 1, 2012
    10
    FINALLY! Someone made an actual Tower Wars game! The mods were so much fun, so it's awesome that SuperVillain made an actual game to pretty much officially kick off the genre (I think?)! Basically, not only do you set up your towers and maze to defend, but you send out your own armies to attack the other castle! Lots of units to unlock and upgrade by using an RTS system (tech tree). And the humor is a nice touch too. Who doesn't love a robot named Stanley Clunkerbottom? The meat of the experience is the multi-player for sure! It supports local hosted and ranked matches, so you can play with friends until you're ready to head out into a ranked match. 2v2 is probably my favorite, and the game goes all the way up to 3v3 (and 1v1 of course). And there IS a single player "Classic" mode, which is like other normal Tower Defense games where you just defend as long as you can. But this thing REALLY shines in multi-player modes that it's built for!

    And, for what it's worth, the game is gorgeous if you have a gaming PC with some muscle. But it also lets you customize all settings for weaker machines too, and even looks pretty good at lower settings. Looks like a miniatures set up! I want to play this in real life!

    Highly recommended for fans of Tower Defense, RTSs, Table-Top Games, or multi-player with friends! Oh, and for $10? No brainer!
    Expand
  5. Aug 19, 2012
    10
    This game is pretty good. At first i thought the game was a bit slow but as soon as you learn new tactics you can easily win quite fast. The game is only going to get better, since the developers are currently working on updates which will dramatically improve the game for many people. If you even slightly considered buying the game I would do so. However I would definitely buy it if it comes on sale in the future. Expand
  6. Aug 16, 2012
    0
    I think this game is still the beta version and will be updated regularly. My first impression is very positive...the graphics look really good, the gameplay is smooth and the sound fits perfectly. You have a COOP-Mode, you can play 1 Vs 1, 2 Vs 2 and 3 Vs 3, random teams and custom ones. When you start playing, take 15 minutes for the tutorial mission! Then start a multiplayer game or the single player mode. There are only few maps (so far I can see there are 3) and there is still a lot balancing work to do (custom coop-teams against random coop-teams are unfair, matchmaking systems needs an improvement)! But the developers are on a good way and due to the steam based ranking system, the motivation is pretty high! Collapse
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. 50
    Interesting variation of the tower defense genre suffers from chaotic gameplay and an absence of single-player mode. [Oct 2012]
  2. Sep 25, 2012
    60
    Tower Wars looks colorful and steampunk-y, but doesn't offer much. Three maps, one raceā€¦ And this is in a multiplayer-oriented game?
  3. Sep 17, 2012
    60
    Tower Wars feels as if it were designed specifically for hardcore strategists. With a tutorial that skips important concepts and the tendency for matches to become one sided, the result is an uncomfortable and frustrating experience for beginners.