TrackMania 2 Canyon PC

  • Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Sep 14, 2011
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Nov 16, 2011
    70
    Canyon may well become the definitive version of this smile-inducing stunt racer, but unless you're already a veteran it may be worth waiting a while before taking this sequel for a drive. [Issue#115, p.100]
  2. Oct 31, 2011
    70
    A prettier but more generic experience overall. Still fun, but somewhat lacking in the skill department. [Dec 2011, p.62]
  3. Sep 26, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Sep 23, 2011
    70
    Mice seem to have got at the game modes and vehicle selection but despite the paucity of options this is still one of the most original and fun racers on any format.
  5. Sep 21, 2011
    70
    I liked the sense of accomplishment I felt after completing a complex level, and online play is entertaining. Racing game fans won't find the same type of gameplay in Gran Turismo, as the arcade style gameplay leans more toward the casual crowd.
  6. Sep 19, 2011
    70
    Fans of TrackMania Nations and its Stadium course, in particular, will have a hard time adjusting to the heavy, drifty handling that is, for the moment, the only way to race in TrackMania 2.
  7. Sep 21, 2011
    65
    If you are someone who enjoys their racing games with more structure, something like Gran Turismo or Burnout Paradise, then you may find that Trackmania2 will leave you cold. However, if you are fan of the first game, or fancy flexing your design muscles, then there is a lot of fun to be found here. Just make sure you know what sort of game you are getting yourself into.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 93 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 5 out of 18
  1. Sep 19, 2011
    6
    This game is very hard to love. The racing is as wonderful as ever, and the graphics truly are a leap forward, but everything else is aThis game is very hard to love. The racing is as wonderful as ever, and the graphics truly are a leap forward, but everything else is a confused mess. Much seems to have been taken out since Trackmania United, with the community expected to fill it in later. The solo campaign is simply 'Race', with no 'Platform', 'Puzzle' and 'Stunt' mode any more. There's no in-game 'Explorer' to allow you to look for skins and tracks. There's no way of sharing your creations once they've been built- at least, as far as I can see. I can't understand why they've simply thrown all this stuff away, since Trackmania United Forever was so fully-featured.

    On top of that, there's no explanation as to what's going on, either. in fact, if you want to read the manual, you have to search for it on Google- and even then, you're not going to find it. It's here: http://wiki.maniaplanet.com/en/User_manual . It's also woefully incomplete. If you want any further explanation, you'll have to start mining the forums. This shouldn't be necessary.

    And there are bugs, and the interface is a mess, and there appear to be people who have hacked their way to the top of the rankings, and there's absolutely no communication from Nadeo as to what they're aware of and what they're going to be doing in the future.

    So, ultimately, this game has a very, very long way to go, and there's a very good chance Ubisoft are going to make you pay extra for all the things your missing. Probably best to avoid it for a few months until everything gets sorted out. Until then, buy Trackmania United on Steam. It's the same price and it'll last you for much longer.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 17, 2011
    10
    I am obsessed and in love. TrackMania 2 Canyon has arcade style car handling that is precise and responsive. Easy to learn and hard to master.I am obsessed and in love. TrackMania 2 Canyon has arcade style car handling that is precise and responsive. Easy to learn and hard to master. Graphics are simple, clean and impressive. The online ranking system is revealed layer by layer in an involving fashion that is massively rewarding. This is my favourite game to play hot seat with a friend or group of friends in local party play. I have had an absolute blast playing this game for the last few and I can see myself playing more and more as time goes on and I get into the massive customisation options and start downloading tracks. Now, excuse me while I go improve my time... Full Review »
  3. Sep 22, 2011
    10
    Are you kidding me? How do you take a game that has over 6 million players online and make it better? This is how you do it.Trackmania 2Are you kidding me? How do you take a game that has over 6 million players online and make it better? This is how you do it.Trackmania 2 Canyon is absolutely a must own, must play game if you want it all in a multiplayer game,PERIOD.
    Admittedly,it has a few unforgiving learning curves when it comes to the editors and how to's when trying them out but, if you played the former it shouldn't be a big hassle.The player and forums are a valuable reference to most questions that need answered.Most folks are friendly and are willing to share info. Gone are the Airbrakes that most were used to in the original and,drifting has taken its place to master and overcome obstacles & mishaps.The overall handling of the new vehicle(s) aren't as tight as the original Stadium car but, with practice you will become proficient enough to hang in there with the best of them. What more could you ask for? New graphics,new editor interface,support,great gameplay.Absolutely a FANTASTIC game.Thanx Nadeo for your dedication and hopefully a new environment ASAP. As far as Godwhacker's complaints...obviously he doesn't get it and probably never will.Too Bad....somethings you just gotta work for to make you appreciate this game and how to make yourself a better player.
    Full Review »