Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Sep 24, 2012
    90
    Transcripted's unexpected blend of shoot-em-ups and Zuma-style match three gameplay makes for one of the most refreshing and addictive experiences of the year, with the perfect mix of casual simplicity and hardcore depth.
  2. Jan 7, 2013
    75
    Transcripted is a fun game that lies somewhere between a two-dimensional scrolling shooter and a puzzle game, with a pace that is not suited to the casual gamer.
  3. Feb 13, 2013
    60
    Transcripted's mashing of genres does work despite its hiccups. As a game to play here and there, it is a nice distraction with plenty of ways to change how it's played.
  4. Sep 21, 2012
    80
    Transcripted is a refreshing mixture of twin-stick shooter and tile matching that entertains despite some minor hiccups.
  5. Nov 29, 2012
    85
    Transcripted is a mash-up of the shooting and puzzle genres that feels right. The shooting and puzzle aspects maintain a nice balance and complement rather than contradict. The overall presentation works well, especially for a genre where presentation usually doesn't matter, and the story is captivating. The overall gameplay length is good, and while the difficulty ramps up rather quickly, it also means that there's little to no chance of boredom setting in since each level feels different from the last. Fans of either genre would do well to give Transcripted a shot, especially at the low price point of $9.99.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Sep 17, 2012
    9
    I LOVE twin-stick shooters. Geometry Wars, Super Stardust HD, Beat Hazard, Scoregasm, give 'em all to me. Anyone that sees the preview of this game can easily tell that it was designed to work with a 360 controller (or PS3 controller with MotionInJoy), so this review will not cover mouse+keyboard controls. I imagine they work well enough, but the true beauty of the PC platform is the wide-range of configurability when it comes to peripherals, so the game should absolutely NOT be punished (like so many are) for making best use of a controller. Mini-rant aside, this game is pretty awesome. It starts off basic, where you shoot little pods that release colored blocks, which you launch towards a chain that moves by you, much like those match-3 games (Luxor, Zuma, etc.). As you get to later levels, however, enemies appear, which can corrode your hull, slow you down, etc. New mechanics are introduced pretty regularly, which gets rather frantic, without ever feeling too overwhelming. At the end of each level, you are awarded credits depending on how you did in certain categories (damage taken, time taken, powerups picked up, chains, etc.) Credits are used to upgrade your ship. Some of the additional abilities are rather useless (in my opinion), but you can use credits to purchase only the upgrades that benefit your play style, if wanted. You can also go back and replay previous levels, to earn more credits. The nice thing is that you only earn credits (besides the random one picked up in the level) for beating your previous high-score. This not only encourages perfection, but it also prevents people from just grinding easy levels to max out their ship, and reduce all challenge. While this could be bad for inexperienced players having a hard time, I didn't find the game to be overly difficult. If you watch the previews, you can clearly see that this is a well-polished game, but one thing that surprised me is how story-driven it is. The story deals with microbiology research on diseases, which while unnecessary (admit it, you just want to shoot things twin-stick-style), was quite well-done and interesting. Overall, this scratches my twin-stick-shooter-itch extremely well, and I encourage all fans of the genre to check it out. Full Review »
  2. Dec 12, 2012
    10
    I downloaded the demo because the game was on sale (Steam), but didn't get around to playing it until two days later (with the game no longer on sale). Nonetheless, I had to have it then and there. I am not upset that I didn't get it on sale, because this game is worth every penny ($10) of what I paid for it.

    The best way I can describe it is to imagine a cross between Geometry Wars and Zuma's Revenge - with a touch of Every Extend thrown in for good measure. It is a unique shooter experience unlike any other. It really is it's own game, and a game that any self-respecting shooter/puzzle fan should own.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 24, 2013
    7
    Transcripted might not be one of the more well-known indie games, but it is certainly unique in the twin-stick shooter genre. It certainly has it's high and lows, but all in all it provides a pretty fun PC game. Apart from the simple, yet addicting gameplay, it also provides pretty nice visuals. Something that also caught my eye about that the story progresses quite nicely with the main human character talking and giving an insight as to what is going on. In the end, it's not prefect, or overly great, but it's still good. 7/10 Full Review »