Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 110 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Transformers: War for Cybertron challenges players to become the ultimate weapon as a TRANSFORMERS character in the final, epic war that will determine the survival of their entire race. Armed with a diverse arsenal of lethal, high-tech weaponry and the ability to instantly convert from robot to vehicle at any time, players will engage in heart-pounding battles on land and in the air in this gripping, 3rd person action shooter set in the TRANSFORMERS’ war-ravaged homeland. Complete with several multiplayer modes, Transformers: War for Cybertron allows gamers to play through story missions with their friends in drop in/drop out online co-op, and also create their own TRANSFORMERS character for competitive head-to-head multiplayer modes, choosing among four distinct character classes, personalizing its look and selecting from a huge variety of weapons, skills and abilities. [Activision] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. 90
    Thankfully, War for Cybertron impresses with an excellent single-player campaign with full co-op support, the included Horde-alike Escalation mode, and surprisingly deep and inventive online multiplayer component.
  2. A little bit more polish could have made this game a blockbuster title.
  3. It's the first game I've played that nails the personality of the bots and it genuinely delivers a solid gaming experience alongside the nostalgia.
  4. The sound, except the voices (Peter Cullen is Optimus Prime, who else?), isn't remarkable either, so in the end the question boils down to: is War for Cybertron worth it? The answer is yes, but with some minuses, because there are plenty of problems ruining a nicely done story and the thrilling multiplayer is killed by technical hick-ups that shouldn't have been there in the first place.
  5. A competent shooter that makes the best of its license. Those early 80s cartoons have been suitably honoured. [Sept 2010, p.100]
  6. War for Cybertron is a huge leap forward compared to previous Transformers games.
  7. Its campaign is only worth seeing through if you're extremely curious to see how it ties into some of the other Transformers lore out there, and the multiplayer is solid, if perhaps a bit uninspired. It's a good diversion that'll keep you engaged for a few days, but don't go in expecting long-term excitement.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 4 out of 20
  1. Oct 5, 2011
    10
    Best Transformers Game EVER! Fun Bosses, Fun game play, Fun Multi-player. Its not the greatest game of all time but for being a transformers game its great. just basic fun and that is why we play games right? to have fun! unless you play games to become all sad and whatnot in which case you might need help. Expand
  2. Aug 2, 2012
    10
    Excellent singleplayer game. corridor style - but what a corridor! the transforms are fast and done very well. weapons are really good and varied, crates well-placed and not too obvious.

    each mission is physically long and challenging. some of the later ones are very challenging. it's beautiful, too. was playing and checked my graphics and they were set to medium - and it looked great. bumped it up to high and it was gorgeous.

    the story is excellent!

    it's on sale on steam right now for 75% off for $7.50, so just get it.
    Expand
  3. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    It is amazing not as much as Transformers Armada with he sand box exploring byt as similar controls and game play style. The multilayer is addictive but sadly ended when the big shot games came out right after it like black ops and halo reach. If it wasn't for those games the multilayer would be full right now but overall the game is amazing and the plot is excellent Expand
  4. Jan 5, 2013
    8
    Story: 7 --- You're on Cybertron and you're fighting a war with the upstart renegade Megatron. It's a simple plot, but like the Micheal bay movies, it's fun. --- Graphics: 8 --- It's a console port but it's still pretty damned pretty. There's a lot of detail packed into those textures and the character designs are fantastic. --- Sound: 6 --- It's top notch quality sound but the character comments get old and the background noise can often drown out the conversations between characters. --- Game Design: 8 --- It's a shooter but you can turn into cars and jets and stuff. The levels are well-made but too linear. More importantly, there is variation in the game as you get to play through many different Autobots and Decepticons. The jet levels are my favorite. --- Fun Factor: 10 --- The fun factor is Optim(us)al. Take the most fun action-packed tight-quarter levels from Halo and give me the ability to turn into vehicles and I will give you a 10 9 times out of 10. It's awesome! --- Overall: 8 --- Play this game. Even though I rated it an 8, it's a must buy. Especially considering the low $15 price. Expand
  5. Jul 20, 2011
    8
    An extremely nostalgic third person shooter with robots. And its not bad either. The firefights are fun, the weapons are easily recognisable after a few plays, and it feels well made. Compared to past Transformers games, I would give it a 10. However, its not THE BEST third person shooter out there so it ultimately gets an 8 from me. Expand
  6. Aug 28, 2012
    6
    This is a fun action shooter, but playing this game is a lot like watching a really long movie. The story is great, and it's fun to see what happens, but absolutely everything is scripted and on rails. After you finish playing through the story (8 to 10 hours), there's not much else to do. The actual combat is not polished enough to make me want to plow through the story mode more than once, and if I'm looking for multiplayer shooting mayhem, several others titles trounce this one for that type of gameplay. Collapse
  7. Jul 9, 2013
    0
    You can not rebind your keys for the PC version. I don't believe it is hard to program in the ability to change keys. I wont even bother trying to play it because of that simple reason alone. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews