Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Devise tactics to rid a small community of the living dead.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 14
  2. Negative: 6 out of 14
  1. Oct 19, 2011
    74
    Trapped Dead has a nice idea but degenerates to a simplistic RTS. [Sept 2011]
  2. Mar 16, 2011
    66
    Trapped Dead is well worth it for the retro zombie fans out there.
  3. Mar 28, 2011
    65
    Trapped Dead has several original ideas and use the zombie apocalypse setting as no one else has ever done. Pity then that it falls under the blows of too many defects and a rough implementation.
  4. May 22, 2011
    50
    Not brainy enough to satisfy the hunger of zombified strategy enthusiasts. [June 2011, p.69]
  5. 45
    As it stands, there's hardly ever a reason to go beyond the obviously marked out route to the objective, as there'll not ever really be anything that interesting to find if you do.
  6. Aug 12, 2011
    40
    Killing the first few zombies in the tutorial level alone shows the violence and tactical planning that could have made the game something special. As you progress however, all the bugs, all the inconsistent controls, all the unbalanced gameplay, and the awful checkpoint system completely ruin the experience.
  7. Aug 17, 2011
    20
    Returning to the horror genre's roots might be a good idea, but Trapped Dead doesn't offer convincing evidence of the idea's merits. It fumbles at every step except -- with the possible exception of mimicking comic books in its menus and cutscenes.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 20
  2. Negative: 11 out of 20
  1. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    This game puts more emphasis on Tactics rather than mindless button mashing "just to kill as many as possible" unlike recent zombies games. 3 zombies at the same time can be a problem, hence, kiting and careful ammo distribution is critical to your survival. All of this coupled with a "Command & Conquer" interface where each of your survivors can be given an order. You can even move the camera to see the horrors that lies ahead and plan carefully.

    The atmosphere and the setting is highly detailed, especially the map props. Any fans of George A. Romero's zombies and movies will feel right at home. Heck, the first 2 playable characters are direct cameos of his movies. It's like a big party and everyone was invited.

    I haven't tried Multiplayer, but thinking about it makes me shiver... Having "mean" players on your side, hoarding all the guns and ammo, talking trash in the chat saying "he's the boss and he doesn't give a f because it's the zombie apocalypse", closing doors leaving you behind with a horde, shooting you to death because you're bleeding and bleeding in this game attracts zombies... stuff like that... :P

    Last note... This game is for hardcore zombie movie/game fanatics only. Only these people may appreciate the great value of this game. That includes me, which is why I'm giving it 10/10.
    Expand
  2. May 29, 2012
    8
    I like this game. If your looking for a fast paced action zombie shooter look elseware. This game is a great tactical game like Commandos in a zombie apocalypse type scene except a little slower paced. I found this game to be quite hard, theres little ammo around but if you let the zombies get in close or can kite one away from the group to gun it down it works well (the closer the better, u can do 1 shot kills this way), also melle weapons are a BIG part of this game, like sneaking up on someone from behind or simply hacking them down but you can only do this 1vs1 and it saves ammo for when you need it... when i first started to play this game i thought it sucked, was way to hard, to slow paced, not enough weapons or ammo to kill the hordes (then i realized, ok this game isnt meant to be a run a gun type game). A large part of this is to simply avoid the unecessary groups or run in someplace grab the items or ammo and run out untill the zombies forget about you, or get them 1 on 1 and axe em in the face. After the first few levels you get used to it and understand how the game is meant to be played, some groups or certain monsters you arent really supposed to kill unless you want to waste all your precious ammo (like the big guys with the cleavers) and its best to kite them into a room run out and close the door... get past the first lets say 4 levels and youll enjoy what this game is about, just give it a chance. The graphics are good i thought, it has alot of detail, the voiceovers are terrible, but whatever, the story is weak but i didnt expect a good one, theres not any music really so *shrug* anyways, give it a chance, get used to the game and youll think its good :) i give it an 8 because after i got used to the way its supposed to be played i had alot of fun. Expand
  3. Aug 15, 2012
    8
    This game have a lot of bad reviews because bugs when it was released, but now days these bugs are no longer. Is not a perfect game, but I like it a lot, simple strategy and the possibility to order character while game is paused.
    Just remember to use attack with left **** pressed to order "auto attack", really useful. Is a good game for people who want a simple stategy / adventure game, also it have simple but good plot and level design.
    Expand
  4. Jul 19, 2011
    3
    The game's visuals and art style are where the positive experiences of the game ends. The controls are slow and sometimes unresponsive, even when they are responsive the in-game actions are just as slow. Many reviews spoke of bugs but I didn't get the chance to encounter many because a bug on the 2nd tutorial level made progress impossible. After re-trying the tutorial level I've already reached the point of never wanting to run the game again.

    I don't hate this game and appreciate the attempt at changing up the zombie genre with something that is less twitch shooter type of gameplay. Trapped Dead however fails in providing entertaining gameplay. I write this review to hopefully prevent anyone else from being convinced that the game is worth the cost to at least give it a try. As a zombie fan and a fan of tactical gameplay, I urge you to avoid spending time and money on Trapped Dead.
    Collapse
  5. Mar 27, 2012
    2
    very bad control and navigation system. its very hard to play this game and the control make it not fun to play it. the graphics is okey. for the story i didnt continue playing since i was frostrated Expand
  6. Sep 29, 2011
    2
    This game is TERRIBLE! I love zombie games but this one is awful. Yes it has zombies, but Trapped Dead also has poor control, bad story, unlikeable characters, and a save system I hate. Project Zomboid (not available on Steam) is exponentially better than this stinking pile of software. Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2012
    0
    Dont wast your money on this one people, the game doesn't even start up, that just cant be a good sign. And from what i can read about other reviews its full of bugs. Dont support the lazy and crappy developer. Enough said. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews