Tribes: Vengeance PC

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 37
  2. Negative: 6 out of 37

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    i think the game is great because i have played all of the tribes vengeance. The Beta is great it is also one of the best games i have ever played in my life in that case i give Tribes Vengeance a 10 out of 10
  2. [Anonymous]
    Sep 13, 2004
    10
    I think that the beta is great. Its just like T1 in a good way. All the T2 problems have been fixed. Unlike someone else said, i think T:V requires more teamplay and tactics than other Tribes games. And Heavies have been able to solo since Tribes 1. :P As a veteran t1/t2 player i think this game will simply rock. Single-Player is a nice bonus too. Must buy.
  3. MrBear
    Sep 23, 2009
    0
    Tribes 1, Amazing!! Tribes 2 and Tribes 2 expansion, Astounding... The build up to vengeance, intense. the graphics, stunning, gameplay and physics of high quality... Tribes 3: Vengeance... a pathetic, horrible, amazing terrible game. A hollowed husk of its predessesors, devoid of interesting, fun gameplay- Nothing like T1 and T2. The weapons? Ruined... mostly removed and replaced by Tribes 1, Amazing!! Tribes 2 and Tribes 2 expansion, Astounding... The build up to vengeance, intense. the graphics, stunning, gameplay and physics of high quality... Tribes 3: Vengeance... a pathetic, horrible, amazing terrible game. A hollowed husk of its predessesors, devoid of interesting, fun gameplay- Nothing like T1 and T2. The weapons? Ruined... mostly removed and replaced by terrible additions The vehicles? A laughing stock... literally a joke compared to tribes 2's achievements. Base raping, or base defense? removed Gigantic, dynamic, and expansive maps? removed Strategy? removed Conclusion, A fantastic series ended by a game that will be forever remembered as a giant fart. So foul in fact, the online game-servers died 3-4 months after its release... Recommendation: If T4 were ever to be created, hand the production over to the original makers of t1 and t2, Dynamix. Expand
  4. BobD.
    Nov 26, 2004
    0
    Horrible Gameplay. Horrible Map Balance. Horrible Multiplayer Experience. Irrational has dug the grave for the Tribes franchise. Thanks a lot.
  5. Mar 19, 2011
    7
    Even if the single player is repetitive and boring the multiplayer is well-balanced and fun.
  6. AnonymousMC
    Jan 1, 2006
    3
    I was terribly dissapointed in T:V. The new dagger thing is a poor substitute for T2's classic shocklance. And the flying along with the grappling hook is overall clumsy compared to the previous physics. Downgraded teamwork, in contrast to the old Tribes where a clan had to use teamspeak to be sucessful in matches. There's also a much easier learning curve, where there can beI was terribly dissapointed in T:V. The new dagger thing is a poor substitute for T2's classic shocklance. And the flying along with the grappling hook is overall clumsy compared to the previous physics. Downgraded teamwork, in contrast to the old Tribes where a clan had to use teamspeak to be sucessful in matches. There's also a much easier learning curve, where there can be several good players without dedicating too much of their time. Expand
  7. PY
    Oct 10, 2004
    10
    Excellent game. While different from the previous two, it stands in its own light. Overall, I think it lives up to the Tribes name. I wouldn't be as satisfied if they just released a rehash of the same old game. The changes and additions made to T:V are welcome in my book.
  8. MikeJ.
    Oct 6, 2004
    10
    Excellent game that is quality throughout. Nice single player game in addition to everything you come to expect from the signature Tribes multiplayer experience. A must own for 2004.
  9. Batman
    Sep 11, 2004
    10
    The demo was cool although they just keep sending out the enemies I bet the full version will be much better plus the multiplayer would be better than single.
  10. IsamuD.
    Sep 3, 2004
    6
    Granted, the game is still in beta, however my first impression is that this will be more like Quake and UT2k4 than any of the tribes games. Hard core Tribes fans may be disappointed by the lack of teamwork elements included in the game. T:V still has jetpacks, vehicles, and 3 ?classes? of armor to choose from? but much less in variety compared to previous tribes games. There are only 4 Granted, the game is still in beta, however my first impression is that this will be more like Quake and UT2k4 than any of the tribes games. Hard core Tribes fans may be disappointed by the lack of teamwork elements included in the game. T:V still has jetpacks, vehicles, and 3 ?classes? of armor to choose from? but much less in variety compared to previous tribes games. There are only 4 packs, less weapons and vehicles to choose from, and all 3 classes can hold any pack but only 3 weapons at a time (even heavies). Heavy armor can get around on its own without the help of teammates, and there are less deployables for defenders to use (mines, invo stations, and turrets are the only 3, I think). Any single player can accomplish just about anything without the help of teammates. For the solo gamers, this is a faster-pace game that may appeal to you. There should be a single-player campaign once released that may make up for it?s multi-player weaknesses (which is ironic since the Tribes series gained popularity though it?s multilayer online gaming, and having virtually no single player options at all) Time will tell, but so far I have been unable to find any forums with more praises than complaints about the new Tribes game. I gave it a 6/10 as it is still a fun game for those who have not played T1 or T2. The grapple is reminiscent of the Quake grappling hook, however now you can swing around corners and not just in a straight line. That alone makes the beta worthy of a download (now open to everyone). Expand
  11. StephenL.
    Jul 23, 2003
    10
    Tribes Makes One of the Best games.
  12. J.Gibson
    Oct 11, 2004
    9
    A good addition to the series. Fun gameplay with a few noteworthy issues outside the actual game that need to be addressed such as demo playback.
  13. Aug 21, 2014
    8
    The game isn't perfect, but it has much more merits than shortcomings.
    Firstly, you can fly. Do you remember jet packs in Duke Nukem 3D? In Tribes: Vengeance, you can fly much higher, farther, longer, and often. This feature makes game play much more vertical, which is very fun.
    Secondly, the game has a good story, in past and today, with several different protagonists (including a very
    The game isn't perfect, but it has much more merits than shortcomings.
    Firstly, you can fly. Do you remember jet packs in Duke Nukem 3D? In Tribes: Vengeance, you can fly much higher, farther, longer, and often. This feature makes game play much more vertical, which is very fun.
    Secondly, the game has a good story, in past and today, with several different protagonists (including a very young girl without any weapon, a cyborg-assassin, etc).
    Thirdly, the game has a good, though short sound track. Plus, the game has a lots of free content (hundreds maps, skins, etc) via TribesVengeance.com.
    Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. The entire game runs on the well-known Unreal Engine, which has been extensively modified, and is now called the Vengeance Engine. Player models sport lots of detail, and the landscapes are both pretty and varied.
  2. While the character animations in the single-player cut scenes detract from the overall product (I guess "Doom 3" spoiled me), Irrational Studios should be applauded for translating the action and intensity of the Tribes multiplayer game into a mostly satisfying, single-player setting.
  3. It's as distant from real-world war scenarios as you can get, but as far as high intensity, high speed Sci-Fi shooters go, Vengeance now reigns supreme.