User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 42
  2. Negative: 3 out of 42

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 16, 2015
    9
    Review for Trine Enchanted Edition and Trine 2: The Complete Story. read the full review @ http://blurbarians.blogspot.pt/2015/05/trine-trine-2.html :D

    — Characters are fleshed out in a very light way. You get a quick background on their reasons to do whatever they are/want to do and that’s it. While this could be a negative point, you don’t really need to know more than what is told
    Review for Trine Enchanted Edition and Trine 2: The Complete Story. read the full review @ http://blurbarians.blogspot.pt/2015/05/trine-trine-2.html :D

    — Characters are fleshed out in a very light way. You get a quick background on their reasons to do whatever they are/want to do and that’s it. While this could be a negative point, you don’t really need to know more than what is told to you, and from then on the plot develops over the course of the game and through their dialogue, which is pretty nice. You get just the right amount of information to be able to enjoy the characters and their misadventures.

    — Characters are rather overpowered in the first game, thanks to the inventory system, allowing you to equip up to 9 artefacts to each character, improving stats or giving them health boosts (or outright giving them a second life). There is also the fact that each character has 3 ranks on their spells, and Amadeus in particular can summon more than twice the number of objects in the first game when compared to the second, including floating platforms which make it easy to bypass obstacles or reach difficult places. In the second game you have to use several skills from the three characters in combination to achieve the same results, making it more enjoyable.

    — Oh my god, the visuals. Every plant, leaf, statue, EVERYTHING looks absolutely wonderful. And don’t even get me started on some of the bosses or goblins in the second game. I don’t think I ever took as many screenshots per minute as I did in the Trine games. Back when these games came out in 2009 and 2011 respectively, playing on Extreme settings with a good framerate required a pretty solid rig. But seeing as my four year old GTX670 can keep it capped pretty much all of the time, it’s not a stretch anymore.

    — Occasional oddity in character physics, game has its quirks.

    — Amadeus is kind of useless in boss fights. He's a wizard that can summon boxes and move objects, meaning his offensive skills are non-existent.

    — Having to make movements with the cursor to summon different objects can be a headache and make the game unnecessarily hard on higher difficulties. It would have been easier to just press a specific button for each object (there are only 3 different objects anyways, 2 in the second game). Making said movements with a controller using the analog stick takes even longer than with a mouse and might get annoying after a while. In addition, the speed at which you can levitate certain objects (due to their weight) is painfully slow.

    — Everything is intuitive and makes sense, puzzles are relatively easy to solve by using simple logic or by just paying attention to your surroundings. Obviously, you'll have to solve them faster on harder difficulties if you don’t want to get killed. It certainly wouldn't have hurt to have harder puzzles, though that would probably have made certain achievements close to impossible, such as completing levels using only one single character.

    — Voice acting is wonderful, for some reason I can’t put my finger on. Characters seem genuinely friendly and trustful towards each other, except for the first couple of levels in the first game. Characters (especially Amadeus) have a lot of emotion behind them so it’s easy for the player to empathize with them, and all dialogue sounds natural and flows well. The narrator is nice too.

    — Music is very fitting and relaxing. Goes with the beautiful art and keeps you calm and focused.

    Conclusion: relaxing and fun gameplay, nice music, friendly characters and astounding visuals. If you want a nice co-op experience, go for it. If you want a good single-player experience, go for it too. Especially if you like platformers, puzzles, fantasy games and beautiful scenery.

    Final Gameplay Stats:

    Trine: 11 Hours played, 33 / 33 Achievements (100%)
    Trine 2: 55 Hours played, 97 / 97 Achievements (100%)
    Expand
  2. Jan 20, 2013
    6
    I finished Trine and Trine 2 so I think I can safely make a comment on Goblin Menace without suspicion of being impotent at this type of games. I had a bit more trouble in T2 than in 1, but it wasn't anything I couldn't handle, and it was still very fun and satisfying. Goblin Menace takes it to a whole different level though, which makes me feel that it was designed for hardcore players.I finished Trine and Trine 2 so I think I can safely make a comment on Goblin Menace without suspicion of being impotent at this type of games. I had a bit more trouble in T2 than in 1, but it wasn't anything I couldn't handle, and it was still very fun and satisfying. Goblin Menace takes it to a whole different level though, which makes me feel that it was designed for hardcore players. If this were true and the difficulty was intentional, I would just say "not for me" and move on, but I feel the design is bad. The environments are often very confusing (ex. "that looks like a platform?, yeah, let's jump there..." - [falls to death]), experience orbs and flasks become increasingly brutal to get (toward the end there were some parts where the only possible way I could see was to commit suicide while getting them, then just respawn at checkpoint), and some platforming puzzles are so extremely "just so"-esque that, although you know exactly what you need to do, you just fail over and over and over and over and over (etc.). In T2 I actually tried getting all the secrets and some of the more unusual achievs, but in GM I abandoned that thought and only wanted to finish the damn thing. I got to the final boss, but I was just exhausted and when I realized it's just another obvious but very frustrating encounter, I just quit and uninstalled. Expand
  3. Jan 29, 2013
    8
    Goblin Menace has the same strength (beautiful graphics, fun gameplay) and weaknesses (unprecise game mechanics, dull music, bad voice overs) as the original game.



    That said, GB is a pretty descent add-on, that did not disappoint me. They really added a lot new level themes, like the desert, an aegyptian temple, the belly of a sandworm - colorful and beautiful again. The levels are
    Goblin Menace has the same strength (beautiful graphics, fun gameplay) and weaknesses (unprecise game mechanics, dull music, bad voice overs) as the original game.



    That said, GB is a pretty descent add-on, that did not disappoint me. They really added a lot new level themes, like the desert, an aegyptian temple, the belly of a sandworm - colorful and beautiful again. The levels are a bit more challenging - so be prepared.



    To anyone who liked Trine 2, I would strongly recommend this add-on.
    Expand
  4. Jan 18, 2014
    7
    It adds a new story after finishing Trine 2. There are new wonderful places but gameplay is similar. If you like Trine 2, I think you would like Goblin Menace too.
  5. Oct 29, 2014
    8
    A nice expansion featuring gorgeous new locations.

    First let me say I liked Trine 2 so much I wouldn't have changed anything in there. With this expansion Trine 2 gets more enemies, more wonderful locations and more mechanics but all this is not supported enough by the plot IMHO. In Trine 2 levels were small and there was some sort of "progression" from level to level, in Goblin Menace
    A nice expansion featuring gorgeous new locations.

    First let me say I liked Trine 2 so much I wouldn't have changed anything in there. With this expansion Trine 2 gets more enemies, more wonderful locations and more mechanics but all this is not supported enough by the plot IMHO.
    In Trine 2 levels were small and there was some sort of "progression" from level to level, in Goblin Menace it's the exact opposite: long levels totally unrelated each other (like going from the desert to an icy mountain) and even if the story "explains" why it's like that, you feel like the plot was designed after the levels and not the opposite (as it should be).

    So, to recap, this expansion brings some good new mechanics and for Trine fans I can only recommend it; just don't expect "Trine 2 reloaded" because the expansion diverges a lot from the original game.
    Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Dec 8, 2012
    80
    Goblins, orcs, wizards, knights, princesses, queens, sexy thieves, dragons and enchanted castles. Need we say more? Yes, it's a must have.
  2. Oct 9, 2012
    80
    A great expansion pack worthy of the original game. Surprisingly, the game offers many new properly-dosed ideas, but at the same time it forces to implement new narrative techniques with the useless effort to hold the established boss concept. The actual gameplay (apart the boss thingy) is the pure author's pleasure.
  3. Sep 25, 2012
    80
    This is an honest DLC – 4-5 hours of joy for 10 bucks guaranteed!