User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 173 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 173

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 8, 2011
    8
    I like the music, humor and graphics. The setting is beautiful, but as a chronically benevolent sim player, I found some aspects of being a dictator unsettling. The tutorial is very bare bones. A solid title, but probably more appealing to people who like to be the bad guy.
  2. Nov 16, 2011
    8
    Addictive, fun, challenging and possesses a great sense of humor, I highly recommend this game, ive had hours upon hours of fun with it. There are many different challenges that can make up a mission or map, you can choose what sort of industry to focus on, there is quite a lot on offer in this game.
  3. KlausF
    Oct 29, 2009
    6
    Tropico 3 must really be reviewed from two perspectives. For those who haven't played the original, Tropico is among the most creative and entertaining "city sims" ever created, and Tropico 3 does a great job of updating the experience for 2009. However, those who have played the original will find virtually nothing new here beyond a few online features and a better looking (though Tropico 3 must really be reviewed from two perspectives. For those who haven't played the original, Tropico is among the most creative and entertaining "city sims" ever created, and Tropico 3 does a great job of updating the experience for 2009. However, those who have played the original will find virtually nothing new here beyond a few online features and a better looking (though far clunkier) interface. Tropico 3 adds basically nothing in terms of buildings, edicts, character traits, and the game's basic mechanics. In fact, compared to the expanded Tropico Mucho Macho Edition, Tropico 3 is a drastically scaled back version of the game that offers little challenge or novelty to hold the interest of experienced Tropicans. Honestly, if you still own a copy of the original, you're probably better off playing that. The changes made here are uniformly superficial with the exception of the event editor. While the game looks good, the free-floating camera doesn't work well for this kind of game, though you do have the option of viewing the game in a "classic" fixed perspective. The musical soundtrack is very nice (though short), and the voice acting is fairly poor compared to the original game. Character creation is very similar to the original, though you now have the option of creating a 3d avatar. However, the choices are fairly limited, particularly since many of the available outfits just don't really fit in with the flavor of the game. All in all, Tropico 3 is a very good game for the unitiated. For those of you who haven't played the original, this definitely deserves an 8 or 9. However, those who have played the original will likely feel like they've basically just purchased the same game they bought eight years ago. For these experienced Tropicans, this lazy update warrants a 3 or 4. Expand
  4. BradfordS.
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    Tropico 3 is a true masterpiece -- mostly flawless in excecution, but most of all *fun*. Whether you're building your island empire, or simply cruising the streets and following peoples' daily activities, it's all fun. You could say it combines Sim City, The Sims, and... well, more. Everyone should try it.
  5. Feb 11, 2011
    10
    This game is the best city builder ever! The economics are challenging but manageable, the graphics are far better than I expected and its all sent off with a nice dose of latin music. Ok, so you cant be that much of an evil dictator but you can still assassinate people, ban things and do almost anything you want.. The gameplay is fun, and my only real complaint is that you cant completelyThis game is the best city builder ever! The economics are challenging but manageable, the graphics are far better than I expected and its all sent off with a nice dose of latin music. Ok, so you cant be that much of an evil dictator but you can still assassinate people, ban things and do almost anything you want.. The gameplay is fun, and my only real complaint is that you cant completely build your own map. However, its still amazing. Viva El Presidente! Collapse
  6. OveM.
    Jan 26, 2010
    5
    Could have been so much better. I experienced alots of bugs and graphics glitches. The gameplay is okay... not exactly as cool as Tropico 1,2. But if you're hardcore Tropico fan you will like it!
  7. b00tsy
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    I normaly only buy the "top" games available, but especialy the last years the so called top games such as the new batman game and call of duty game turned out to be a huge disapointment, as in short linear single player mode lame story line, bad AI etc just packed in nice graphics and advert campains. This game gets a clean 10 stars from me, because for me this is how a good game supose I normaly only buy the "top" games available, but especialy the last years the so called top games such as the new batman game and call of duty game turned out to be a huge disapointment, as in short linear single player mode lame story line, bad AI etc just packed in nice graphics and advert campains. This game gets a clean 10 stars from me, because for me this is how a good game supose to be like. The game is good old fashion fun! Finaly a game where i don't feel i am being milked by the game developers. They really put an effort in creating this game to give you a long lasting fun game. The graphics are not wow (still good), but that does not bother me one bit. I prefer this game over almost any top game releast in the last years. I'm sure if i really look for it i would find some flaws, so far i'm having to much fun to even notice any. Thats a good sign :) ..I recommend this game to all the true gamers out there! Expand
  8. SteveP
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    One of the best things about this game, is the fact that the developers still respect the gamers/fans - there is no DRM or Online Activation Requirement (Steam). All you need to do to start playing Tropico 3, is enter the key code included with the game (just like the good old days!) It's because of this, that I went to Best Buy and gladly paid full price for Tropico 3. Way to go One of the best things about this game, is the fact that the developers still respect the gamers/fans - there is no DRM or Online Activation Requirement (Steam). All you need to do to start playing Tropico 3, is enter the key code included with the game (just like the good old days!) It's because of this, that I went to Best Buy and gladly paid full price for Tropico 3. Way to go Kalypso... thank you for having faith in your fans!!! As for the game itself... 10/10 - The developers stayed faithful to the original Tropico, basically combining the original & its expansion into one game... and then updating it. They have added great new features such as a customizable avatar & vehicles. These two features alone add an extra layer of depth, realism and playability missing from the original series. I have also found the game to be almost bug free... this is very refreshing, since most new games seem to be released unfinished & still in Beta (Empire: Total War anyone?) My main criticism with Tropico 3, would have to be the Garages. These building types are a fundamental part of the vehicle/transportation system in the game. The garage buildings, however, look very modern & out of place. They are an eyesore that stand out amongst the other theme-appropriate buildings on your island. I would love to see a garage makeover in a future expansion pack. Speaking of an expansion pack... The only other critique I would give this game is the need for more of everything - more customizable options for your avatar, more building types or design variations of current buildings, more edict options... more, more, more. Call it "Tropico 3: Mas Todo" - no major theme change is needed, just more of everything! Tropico 3 is a very fun game! Expand
  9. BobQ.
    Dec 26, 2009
    10
    A seriously solid game - perfect if you enjoy city sims/building sims.
  10. Sep 29, 2010
    10
    This is simply best economic and city-building strategy of today. Game is very well optimized and visuals are gorgeous. Absolute Power is worth getting as well. If you like games like SimCity, Transport Tycoon or Transport Giant, then Tropico 3 is must have for you.
  11. Oct 18, 2011
    9
    Truly a great modern city builder. I'd say it shares the same level of complexity as Sim City 4. Many complain about its learning curve, but if you play the basic and advanced tutorials, and if you read the first 20 pages of the instruction manual, you should know what you are doing before you even start. It was optimized well for the PC, and the retail copy came with no DRM, so thatTruly a great modern city builder. I'd say it shares the same level of complexity as Sim City 4. Many complain about its learning curve, but if you play the basic and advanced tutorials, and if you read the first 20 pages of the instruction manual, you should know what you are doing before you even start. It was optimized well for the PC, and the retail copy came with no DRM, so that makes it even better! Expand
  12. Aug 4, 2013
    4
    This game is an underwhelming city builder. It has style, which other city builders tend to lack, and the game has some nice options ranging from an okay campaign to a sandbox scenario on a randomly generated island. Unfortunately, the game severely lacks polishing. After playing this over three years past its release, it still suffers from an unbelievable amount of bugs. I can onlyThis game is an underwhelming city builder. It has style, which other city builders tend to lack, and the game has some nice options ranging from an okay campaign to a sandbox scenario on a randomly generated island. Unfortunately, the game severely lacks polishing. After playing this over three years past its release, it still suffers from an unbelievable amount of bugs. I can only imagine how unplayable it would have been at release. A polished version of this game might have scored a 7 from me, but in its current state (that I imagine won't get any better at this point), I can't give it more than a 4. To clarify, the bugs range from both gameplay bugs and technical bugs (such as crashing while saving, corrupting save files of course). Expand
  13. StianH
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    Best game ever is back - better, prettier, and even more fun. It looks and feels very refreshing with beautiful graphics and full 3d, and at the bottom it's still good old tropico, I was still playing tropico 1 and 2 until this came out. If you are familiar with those, then you will find much the same mechanics here. To me its the best city building/management game ever :) My only Best game ever is back - better, prettier, and even more fun. It looks and feels very refreshing with beautiful graphics and full 3d, and at the bottom it's still good old tropico, I was still playing tropico 1 and 2 until this came out. If you are familiar with those, then you will find much the same mechanics here. To me its the best city building/management game ever :) My only issue is when I get to 500+ citizens, the game is choking my 3.16ghz core 2 duo, at 600-700 it cries out for a quad. It does come to mind that the previous tropico games were exactly like this too, they would get really cpu intensive with a large population, I assume due to all the micromanagement involved. I was getting that quad core anyway ;) Expand
  14. AlejandroM.
    Mar 13, 2010
    10
    I love this game. The setting is my favorite part of it. The Cold War where the slightest push, could tip the scales by over 9000% to the Communists/Capitalists (choose one). I also the small details like that the people speak the language of where they're from (except citizens because they need to know spanish). I also love the gameplay and controls, it's easy to use (well at I love this game. The setting is my favorite part of it. The Cold War where the slightest push, could tip the scales by over 9000% to the Communists/Capitalists (choose one). I also the small details like that the people speak the language of where they're from (except citizens because they need to know spanish). I also love the gameplay and controls, it's easy to use (well at least for me). I would've like some more campaigns to do, but overall, the game is great. I can't wait for the expansion. Expand
  15. Derek
    Jan 19, 2010
    6
    I'm conflicted about how to rate this game. If you are into simple strategy games with out a lot of depth, this is a good game. I've been playing it a lot, and have yet to come into a campaign that i haven't crushed. It seemed like a good challenge at first but after you understand the game (maybe a couple games) it becomes easy. I'm finishing off the campaigns right I'm conflicted about how to rate this game. If you are into simple strategy games with out a lot of depth, this is a good game. I've been playing it a lot, and have yet to come into a campaign that i haven't crushed. It seemed like a good challenge at first but after you understand the game (maybe a couple games) it becomes easy. I'm finishing off the campaigns right now, and will attempt to play in the sandbox with all difficulties up to see if it is still as easy. It's not a bad game, I just wish it wasn't a cookie cutter thing (every game I can do the same strategy.) I wish it forced me to vary my styles (only did it a once or twice. Expand
  16. ChrisD
    Jan 10, 2010
    4
    Oh well, Kalypso made no effort and Kalypso support are a little too abrupt with their 'valued customers' on the forums for my taste. It's Tropico 1 with a nice loading screen and achievements (in-game, so no ties to Steam or Windows Live). If you didn't play the original, this is the time to get it since it's just as enjoyable, but if you've played it Oh well, Kalypso made no effort and Kalypso support are a little too abrupt with their 'valued customers' on the forums for my taste. It's Tropico 1 with a nice loading screen and achievements (in-game, so no ties to Steam or Windows Live). If you didn't play the original, this is the time to get it since it's just as enjoyable, but if you've played it before, don't bother spending money unless they come out with some great addons and release in a bundle. Expand
  17. jackM
    Dec 15, 2009
    0
    Kalypso screwed everyone that pre purchased the game on Steam by moving the release date 3 times and by giving a bogus discount that continued after the release...and they are still discounting it (permanent discount). The game is not all that bad, but to easy so I got bored with it after only 15 hours of playing. There are also multiple onnoying bugs and regular crashes. All in all i Kalypso screwed everyone that pre purchased the game on Steam by moving the release date 3 times and by giving a bogus discount that continued after the release...and they are still discounting it (permanent discount). The game is not all that bad, but to easy so I got bored with it after only 15 hours of playing. There are also multiple onnoying bugs and regular crashes. All in all i give it a big fat zero for how they treated (played) me. Its an over rated game that brings nothing new. Do not buy tropico 3 and boycot all games from Kalypso! Expand
  18. Mar 20, 2011
    10
    Capolavoro! I really loved the game, unlike other strategy games I found that I played throughout the missions and in sandbox mode without feeling bored or the game was reapeating. I like the fact I focused on different strategies on each mission and at no point I felt bored. Graphics and Audio are cool and I consider this a solid game. I would like very much an add-on with moreCapolavoro! I really loved the game, unlike other strategy games I found that I played throughout the missions and in sandbox mode without feeling bored or the game was reapeating. I like the fact I focused on different strategies on each mission and at no point I felt bored. Graphics and Audio are cool and I consider this a solid game. I would like very much an add-on with more characters, costumes, more perks, perhaps even middle-eastern, african and asian dictators to be included. I can't wait to see how tropico 4 will be! Expand
  19. Jun 14, 2011
    9
    I love this quirky little game. The premise is you are the leader of a communist island that has just taken over for a variety of reasons (choosing a custom avatar will allow you to create the background of your leader and gives rewards and penalties with the immense amount of factions). You have to build it into a paradise in so many years (depending on the scenario), bringing inI love this quirky little game. The premise is you are the leader of a communist island that has just taken over for a variety of reasons (choosing a custom avatar will allow you to create the background of your leader and gives rewards and penalties with the immense amount of factions). You have to build it into a paradise in so many years (depending on the scenario), bringing in Tourism and exporting Industry, all while trying to keep the US and USSR happy enough to send you cash to help out. It really is fun, Juanito is a hoot, Betty Boom is hilarious, micro managing the island is surprisingly VERY fun! I was stunned at how fun the game was. It really is a grand ole time to sit down for a few hours trying to make the island work without getting taken out by assassins or a coup. It's well worth the price, and if you're any good at micro-manage games and world building games, you should be pleasantly surprised with this offering. Expand
  20. Mar 17, 2013
    9
    This is one of my favourite games (and one of the games with the best video game soundtrack). If you are remotely interested in city building then give this a try, even if you don't initially care for the Caribbean theme.
  21. ErikB
    Mar 28, 2010
    8
    Tropico 3 is certainly a worth while game for any stratigist, city builder, or sim fan. It's cheap price and abbundent content allow you to make a safe investment. The steep learning curve might turn some people away but otherwise, that's really it's only flaw. A few may say that Tropico isn't indepth enough, and I would agree only in some portions of the game such as Tropico 3 is certainly a worth while game for any stratigist, city builder, or sim fan. It's cheap price and abbundent content allow you to make a safe investment. The steep learning curve might turn some people away but otherwise, that's really it's only flaw. A few may say that Tropico isn't indepth enough, and I would agree only in some portions of the game such as diplomacy, and trade (if any). But I think that Haemimont Games wanted to keep the game as simple as possible. The game is very deep in individual polotics and electoral processes which is a deviation from most City Builders. If you enjoy city building but have been turned off by all the recent Rome era games, this is the game for you, different, modern, cheap, addicting. Building a 1950's era island is one of those things that turns out to be far more fun after you get the hang of it. Build industry, housing, entertainment, tourism, infestructure etc. all through a steamlined, realistic process. This is not a military game! If you like seeing little men kill each other like in AoE, then don't count on it in Tropico. The only visual military conflict that I know of is Rebel rebelions, when you see five guys attacking five guys, it's very anticlimatic. The graphics and lighting are perfect for this tropical setting and the amount of buildings and people seems a little low, but the variaty makes up for it. Are you Pro U.S.S.R or U.S.? you decide. Nationalist, realigous, a militant? There's so much to do in Tropico that it will have you playing for hours. It's not for EVERYONE, but it is for most. Expand
  22. PeterG
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    Having only discovered this recently due to their demo I tried out the first part. Gameplay is nearly the same , although Tropico 3 adds your presidente as a avatar. This avatar is currently the most useful buffing for lack of a better word the function of most buildings, thereby adding 20 service quality in most cases. It is also able to fight alongside your soldiers, break up peaceful Having only discovered this recently due to their demo I tried out the first part. Gameplay is nearly the same , although Tropico 3 adds your presidente as a avatar. This avatar is currently the most useful buffing for lack of a better word the function of most buildings, thereby adding 20 service quality in most cases. It is also able to fight alongside your soldiers, break up peaceful demonstrations by talking to the person that started it and holding a speech from the palace balcony. Election speeches might be new in which you can give 1 faction or superpower a 10% ratings boost. The avatar is also fully customizable , on top of having certain bonuses to ratings, productions or what have you, all chooseable at the beginning of a scenario. If you can't do it at once, you can always try it again with a avatar better suited to that map. Graphics are gorgeous at highlevel settings. Complexity is there, but it is forsaking some realism for more interesting gameplay I guess. For instance food is free, always, yet most factories and farms are only ever privatized in a very few scenarios where they give you monthly rents instead of sales. Overall I suggest doing the tutorial and playing around a bit first IF you have never played Tropico 1 or 3. If you have played Tropico 1 you might also like the third (can't say anything about the second yet, as I haven't installed it yet. Most things from the first one are in the second as well along with the latino soundtrack. Instead of your Adviser you will be able to hear the Radio DJ Juan and yourself during Election speeches. Just a word of warning, it is not a War simulator, your soldiers will behave better depending on how much skill they have at that Job, like in any else. You can influence that though wtih a few edicts, essentially laws you pass but can cancel anytime again. Expand
  23. Francis
    Jan 4, 2010
    9
    Great game. Loved it and still loving it! Graphics are really beautiful and its pushing my 295 GTX to the limit! But the DJ is starting to annoy me, and I think there should be more variety in buildings, character customization and islands. However, I do sense an add-on or a map pack is coming soon.
  24. DanT
    Jan 7, 2010
    7
    Its a very good building/management simulator. Would rate it higher if it had extended play - mainly because as soon as you build a tv station, airport, etc and get things fully managed and raking in the money.. the game is over. More music options. Roads need work, especially when trying to build a road up to a resource (mining) and you can't get to it. gets routine after a while Its a very good building/management simulator. Would rate it higher if it had extended play - mainly because as soon as you build a tv station, airport, etc and get things fully managed and raking in the money.. the game is over. More music options. Roads need work, especially when trying to build a road up to a resource (mining) and you can't get to it. gets routine after a while and is short lived. Play for two weeks and move onto the next game. Was fun, needs more time! Expand
  25. SebastienL.
    Mar 19, 2010
    8
    Originally I would have given it a 10 since graphic wise it beats all of the earlier versions, though sadly the game is just too easy, that is about the only thing that will likely get you bored quickly. Although the garage was a good idea, too much is put on this, therefore you need a few to make things work. Nevertheless you will enjoy this game if you like sims type of game or have Originally I would have given it a 10 since graphic wise it beats all of the earlier versions, though sadly the game is just too easy, that is about the only thing that will likely get you bored quickly. Although the garage was a good idea, too much is put on this, therefore you need a few to make things work. Nevertheless you will enjoy this game if you like sims type of game or have loved the original one. Expand
  26. JohnN
    Nov 10, 2009
    8
    This game is loads of fun for those who like any type of city builder game. So far it's proven to be a very stable game and a relatively well optimized one too. The scenarios are great but not always the most challenging. Sandbox mode is funt too for those who want to have full control over how they shape their island but it seems to be lacking something... namely a point (but This game is loads of fun for those who like any type of city builder game. So far it's proven to be a very stable game and a relatively well optimized one too. The scenarios are great but not always the most challenging. Sandbox mode is funt too for those who want to have full control over how they shape their island but it seems to be lacking something... namely a point (but that's why they made campaign mode right?). The variety of pain and suffering you can inflict as dictator of your island could keep one occupied for hours. Users will get the most out of this game if they select a president and then govern with some role playing, as they probably would govern. The game has its flaws (reliance on XL parking garages, dead slow construction workers, limited map editing, needs more building variety & late game buildings) but it presents an incredible value at its current price and hours of entertainment. Additional content packages should make this game a 9 or 9.5 out of 10. Expand
  27. JasonL.
    Nov 19, 2009
    8
    I was a HUGE fan of Tropico 1, and have spent many hours of our long Canadian winter happily absorbed in the sunny Latin American atmosphere of Tropico. This game brings me right back. It is essentially the same game with new music (I think I like the tropico 1 music slightly better - it was more varied) and MUCH better graphics. The new camera control and 3D detail really add to feeling I was a HUGE fan of Tropico 1, and have spent many hours of our long Canadian winter happily absorbed in the sunny Latin American atmosphere of Tropico. This game brings me right back. It is essentially the same game with new music (I think I like the tropico 1 music slightly better - it was more varied) and MUCH better graphics. The new camera control and 3D detail really add to feeling of living in a warm and wonderful world - even if it is a constant battle to keep the place from unraveling, what with all the challenging gameplay which must be attended to. The addition of the Presidente avatar is actually a useful tool and a GREAT idea that is well implemented. How many times did I just sit there *glaring* at the screen like a mad man trying desperately to *will* the little Tropicans into focusing on a particular construction project or production activity!?!? Now I can actually send them the message, and they get it! Brilliant. Something I don't see much talk about in the reviews, but has a big effect on gameplay is the addition of roads with actual VEHICLES! It is also well implemented in that typically low-maintenance way that the rest of the game has going for it. The thing is that the development of the island can be organized around resources almost right from the beginning of play! In the old tropico, it seems you had to develop an economic base around the town center for a few years before you could even consider developing a choice resource on the other side of the island. This adds to the overall flexibility in a big way and puts more design choices and power where it belongs - in the hands of El Presidente! ;) Things I don't like - the voice-overs have gotten more harshly ridiculous and intrusive. Some of the building and production processes have become less realistic - but at the same time more convenient. It's nice to have roads and park installations appear instantly, but it feels like I'm kind of cheating when in Tropico 1 there were no such breaks. Minor stuff really. The game is still as challenging as you want it to be. I think I like the old interface better too when checking in on buildings, etc. It seems to me like it was a little more 'visual' before, where now it's more about numbers. I'm used to it now - again pretty minor. Overall, it still feels like an upgrade, so I give it an 8! Expand
  28. PaulB
    Nov 2, 2009
    9
    Havent put this game down for days. Great fun playing the campaign with plenty of depth to the scenarios, politics and gameplay
  29. JanusA
    Oct 23, 2009
    7
    It's a well made game, but the gameplay get tiring fast. It is far too easy to keep all factions happy. I would have like to see more fighting between different factions. The use of all the special options available to oppress the people doesn't really find their use, when the grip on Tropico is so easily held.
  30. n00bxQb
    Oct 23, 2009
    9
    I loved Tropico 2 several years ago and this game is just as fun and involving. I haven't had hours fly by on me like this since Civilization IV. Great graphics for a game of this nature and runs very well on my system with everything maxed (Intel Core 2 Duo 3 GHz, 8 GB of RAM, ATI Radeon HD 4870 512 MB; 512 MB cards only allow up to Medium setting for anti-aliasing). There are a few I loved Tropico 2 several years ago and this game is just as fun and involving. I haven't had hours fly by on me like this since Civilization IV. Great graphics for a game of this nature and runs very well on my system with everything maxed (Intel Core 2 Duo 3 GHz, 8 GB of RAM, ATI Radeon HD 4870 512 MB; 512 MB cards only allow up to Medium setting for anti-aliasing). There are a few things that aren't perfect; laying out roads could be a little easier. It's easy to get yourself into trouble at the beginning trying to grow too quickly by spending yourself into debt. Once your economy is strong, the game is too easy. Natural disasters (Hurricanes, Earthquakes, etc.) cause damage to your city, but the buildings just disappear instead of crumbling too the ground in a pile of rubble. These are all relatively minor issues that will likely be taken care of in a future patch or, as usual w/ PC games, fixed by a user/group of users who can't wait for the patch. If you like Civ IV, Sim City, or any other city/empire building game, you won't regret buying this game. Expand
  31. JoshT
    Oct 26, 2009
    9
    Very Very detailed city building game. Your people will become rebels and eventually start attacking your city if you don't keep the people happy. Multiple industries that you can do in game to export for money to grow your city. The negative that i give the game is that there is a "random map" option but you can't go and create a custom map tile-by-tile as you can in other city Very Very detailed city building game. Your people will become rebels and eventually start attacking your city if you don't keep the people happy. Multiple industries that you can do in game to export for money to grow your city. The negative that i give the game is that there is a "random map" option but you can't go and create a custom map tile-by-tile as you can in other city building games. Also, you can't manually control your soldiers. I like the idea of your Presidente dude being controllable and that he can give speeches to make the people happy. etc. Maybe one of the more entertaining parts of the game i find is the subtle sarcasms against totalitarian dictatorships. I never played the previous Tropico 1 or 2, but i find this one to be great. Graphics aren't Oblivion or Crysis comparable, but the graphics are way better than any other city building game i have ever played. Again, i think not having a custom map terrain editor is the only minus i have... it takes away re-playability. Expand
  32. KyleJ
    Dec 14, 2009
    9
    Definitely a incredible leap from the first game with a lot of technological improvements. A true comical approach to government matters!
  33. Nov 15, 2010
    9
    I've played about every city-builder up till now, and this one is certainly the happiest, and one of the very best.
    Great music, great graphics, great Cuban atmosphere, with just the right amount of cynicism, a solid 9.5. All in all, a great game!
    - The expansion is just too silly (build 32 power-plants and 77 sausage factories in 15 months to emit a ketchup-pulse) but adds new buildings
    I've played about every city-builder up till now, and this one is certainly the happiest, and one of the very best.
    Great music, great graphics, great Cuban atmosphere, with just the right amount of cynicism, a solid 9.5. All in all, a great game!
    - The expansion is just too silly (build 32 power-plants and 77 sausage factories in 15 months to emit a ketchup-pulse) but adds new buildings and some gameplay.
    Expand
  34. Jun 25, 2011
    8
    What a great little game. It's been a while since a Sim game has kept me intrigued and with a smile on my face. The intensity builds with each game so you gradually build up to the mayhem level of attention you need to beat the odds and the quirky voice overs and events are pretty funny and overall really well designed. This game does a good job of integrating a concept and the atmosphereWhat a great little game. It's been a while since a Sim game has kept me intrigued and with a smile on my face. The intensity builds with each game so you gradually build up to the mayhem level of attention you need to beat the odds and the quirky voice overs and events are pretty funny and overall really well designed. This game does a good job of integrating a concept and the atmosphere feels perfect for the theme.Love it. Expand
  35. Nov 7, 2011
    8
    This is a wonderful game. Its atmosphere and graphics are what grab you at first and make you want to see what it's all about. I've been playing it all weekend, which says something about its ability to suck you in. I haven't been that hooked on a game since I got Oblivion 2 years ago. Let's face it, the market was long overdue for a professional, polished city builder that people couldThis is a wonderful game. Its atmosphere and graphics are what grab you at first and make you want to see what it's all about. I've been playing it all weekend, which says something about its ability to suck you in. I haven't been that hooked on a game since I got Oblivion 2 years ago. Let's face it, the market was long overdue for a professional, polished city builder that people could get into and get to love. It's got one flawed and frustrating system and a few other annoyances, but that's understandable since there's a fine line between challenge and broken mechanics - mostly you're just concentrating on dictating effectively and staying in power. Which is an awesome and unique theme that completely captures the feel of a small time dictatorship. As long as you're not afraid of looking up the fine points on the internet, get this game already. It's dirt cheap now, and you'll know you like it if you've played the likes of Caesar or Sim City before. 8.3 overall. Expand
  36. Jul 13, 2011
    8
    While not as diverse as city sims such as 'Sim City 4' or 'Dawn of Discovery', Tropico 3 has a character to it that makes it stand out and be all the more enjoyable. The graphics are great and the autonomy of the citizenry really makes your town feel alive. I was pleasantly surprised by the political aspects of the game, be they pleasing certain factions of citizens, or balancing the favorWhile not as diverse as city sims such as 'Sim City 4' or 'Dawn of Discovery', Tropico 3 has a character to it that makes it stand out and be all the more enjoyable. The graphics are great and the autonomy of the citizenry really makes your town feel alive. I was pleasantly surprised by the political aspects of the game, be they pleasing certain factions of citizens, or balancing the favor of the US and USSR. I just wish there were more building types and radio quips. Expand
  37. Sep 24, 2011
    8
    I probably had too much fun with this. Awesome game, had a lot of interesting little details and abilities, the games only get better the more in depth it gets and the little details they add. The more random powers they give you, the happier I will be.
  38. Oct 28, 2011
    7
    A mediocre but still enjoyable "tin-pot dictator sim". Essentially a remake of the original Tropico. Beyond the souped-up graphics, there's been a bit of tiny bit of improvement to the game mechanics but nothing drastic. The addition of online features, especially the sharing of challenges (almost a "modding" community), is interesting and suggestive but ultimately shallow and a littleA mediocre but still enjoyable "tin-pot dictator sim". Essentially a remake of the original Tropico. Beyond the souped-up graphics, there's been a bit of tiny bit of improvement to the game mechanics but nothing drastic. The addition of online features, especially the sharing of challenges (almost a "modding" community), is interesting and suggestive but ultimately shallow and a little disappointing. Expand
  39. Mar 3, 2012
    7
    While Tropico 3 makes some great improvements on the original it does cut back in some areas and it's not quite as polished. Still if you've ever wanted to try your hand at being Fidel Castro, this is the best game for it.
  40. Mar 7, 2012
    8
    Tropico 3 is one of the best city builder games I've played. Lots of customization and control over your style of play, as well as a deep political aspect unseen in most city build games. the voice acting is fantastic and hilarious, the story mode has engaging missions and is fun to play. The only qualms I have with this game is relating to the tourism game play, I feel like it is in allTropico 3 is one of the best city builder games I've played. Lots of customization and control over your style of play, as well as a deep political aspect unseen in most city build games. the voice acting is fantastic and hilarious, the story mode has engaging missions and is fun to play. The only qualms I have with this game is relating to the tourism game play, I feel like it is in all underwhelming. The soundtrack to the game is fantastic, and often you need to think carefully about how you want to go about planning your little island paradise before just jumping in. All in all it is a deep and rewarding city builder, with a generous splash of politics and humor, and easily one of the best city build games I've ever owned. Expand
  41. May 21, 2012
    7
    *I have not played previous Tropico titles and lack the expansions for this game.

    This game is an excellent city builder game. You're given choices on how you develop your Island nation. You can go North Korea/Communist Cuba style or go South Korea/Jamaica style. For those who love history and older things, there are piles of culture references (Monty Python) and history references (US
    *I have not played previous Tropico titles and lack the expansions for this game.


    This game is an excellent city builder game. You're given choices on how you develop your Island nation. You can go North Korea/Communist Cuba style or go South Korea/Jamaica style. For those who love history and older things, there are piles of culture references (Monty Python) and history references (US fruit company) that will provide you with a couple laughs and smirks. Your El Presidente can be made to your expectations through traits and aesthetic changes, from a CIA installed dictator with Tourettes syndrome to a Democratically elected Socialist who is a Pirate. As a newcomer to the Tropico Franchise I found the game very simple and easy to get into. The campaign Scenario's for the most part act as the tutorial and playing through them really doesn't feel like a tutorial, which is a tutorial done right in my opinion.
    Expand
  42. May 12, 2015
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand
  43. Feb 11, 2011
    0
    This game is the best city builder ever! The economics are challenging but manageable, the graphics are far better than I expected and its all sent off with a nice dose of latin music. Ok, so you cant be that much of an evil dictator but you can still assassinate people, ban things and do almost anything you want.. The gameplay is fun, and my only real complaint is that you cant completelyThis game is the best city builder ever! The economics are challenging but manageable, the graphics are far better than I expected and its all sent off with a nice dose of latin music. Ok, so you cant be that much of an evil dictator but you can still assassinate people, ban things and do almost anything you want.. The gameplay is fun, and my only real complaint is that you cant completely build your own map. However, its still amazing. Viva El Presidente! Collapse
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. 80
    Tropico 3 has turned out to be a nice management sim that fans of the genre will love. The gameplay mechanics are elaborate, the economic and political systems are well done and it looks like a charm. The micromanagement can be annoying due to lack of information, but luckily it's never entirely frustrating. Looking for a good sim? Tropico 3 is definitely not a bad choice.
  2. Tropico 3 is a difficult, but never an unfair game. Is your financial plan in order, then the political problems will rise on the table, and vice verse. You can never rest and stay on guard for new problems to solve. Before you can solve every problem in the right way you might be a couple of games further. That’s also because of misplaced buttons and options. It is a little downfall on the ‘build your paradise’ game that despite of those small problems, shines like a tropical sun on a usually bright day in paradise.
  3. Surprisingly deep city-building sim with lots of neat quirks. [Christmas 2009, p.62]