True Crime: Streets of LA PC

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 45
  2. Negative: 10 out of 45
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Jan 12, 2005
    1
    No gamepad support kills all the enjoyment as the game is hell to play with kdb+mouse. you would need at east two hands on the keyboard to enjoy this. one of my worst buys.
  2. Daddy
    Jul 15, 2004
    7
    Another great game let down by bugs. Overall it's great, but the controls can be annoying. Another "promising" title let down by the fact it was released before it was polished.
  3. uj4ng
    Jun 14, 2004
    7
    The game is very fun to play and addictive, the cutscenes are very entertaining to watch... the game has some major flaws though, the camera angle, control flaws, etc the camera is very annoying, if it isn't the entertaining aspect of the game, i wouldn't keep playing it.
  4. Cbrainbootsector
    Jun 10, 2004
    2
    A total disappointment. It won't even let me map the driving controls to any other device except the friggin' mouse! It's totally ridiculous for a driving game to have mouse support for steering! The only other option is by driving with your keyboard.... duh! I got a steering wheel, I got a joystick, I got a gamepad with analog thumbsticks.... goddammit! Lemme use 'em! A total disappointment. It won't even let me map the driving controls to any other device except the friggin' mouse! It's totally ridiculous for a driving game to have mouse support for steering! The only other option is by driving with your keyboard.... duh! I got a steering wheel, I got a joystick, I got a gamepad with analog thumbsticks.... goddammit! Lemme use 'em! Friggin' morons. Expand
  5. ArcAngel
    Jun 2, 2004
    3
    As with best intents that could have been great, honestly when hailed as "a driving game." in which you will spend 240 square miles of LA's sun baked asphalt jungle, who was the snapper head who decided the PC version of this game will not support a driving wheel. Look ma, I am driving with two fingers...If you make a driving game, or that claim facilitate wheel support!!! I As with best intents that could have been great, honestly when hailed as "a driving game." in which you will spend 240 square miles of LA's sun baked asphalt jungle, who was the snapper head who decided the PC version of this game will not support a driving wheel. Look ma, I am driving with two fingers...If you make a driving game, or that claim facilitate wheel support!!! I disgustedly threw this coaster back in the box and fired up GTA 3, and have hopes Driv3r will support the wheel Expand
  6. DanielS.
    May 29, 2004
    7
    Neither as Good as the GTa 3 en Vice City ,but entertaining ! allthough the game has some flaws , low textures ,clipping ,camera angle, and the shooting controls are some that could be fixed, for an update or a new patch 'what so ever ! but the game has some good things,aswell , the models for the characthers are looking good ,aswell the acting in the cut scenes ,the diffrent outcomesNeither as Good as the GTa 3 en Vice City ,but entertaining ! allthough the game has some flaws , low textures ,clipping ,camera angle, and the shooting controls are some that could be fixed, for an update or a new patch 'what so ever ! but the game has some good things,aswell , the models for the characthers are looking good ,aswell the acting in the cut scenes ,the diffrent outcomes of the game keeps you to replay missions ,just to see how it otherwise could end ,the fighting skills are fun , the soundtrack is awsome and there's a lot to do in the game , sure a game to pass by the time 'Till Driv3r and San Andreas are released ! Expand
  7. Horus
    May 27, 2004
    5
    Hmm there's something fishy about people who just come on and say "Perfect game!" I always assume they're one of the developers... Anyway, this is a LONG way short of the heights scaled by GTA:Vice City. Pretty much everything R.S. said above is true. The driving feels wrong, scenery pops up, and there's no "off-road" capability as there is in GTA, you can only really drive Hmm there's something fishy about people who just come on and say "Perfect game!" I always assume they're one of the developers... Anyway, this is a LONG way short of the heights scaled by GTA:Vice City. Pretty much everything R.S. said above is true. The driving feels wrong, scenery pops up, and there's no "off-road" capability as there is in GTA, you can only really drive on roads. The physics are decidedly dodgy too. I don't expect to reverse into a wall at 20mph and have my car flip 30 foot into the air. Controls are also very poor. The camera angles are lethargic and unhelpful, the fighting is repetitive, and the shooting slow (the bullets all travel, very visibly, at about 50mph). I could go on, but this thing doesn't do paragraphs and I hate large blocks of text. To sum up, a very poor cousin to Vice City. Not worth it. Expand
  8. NilsT.
    May 27, 2004
    8
    I liked the game.The only minus that i noticed was that the graphics were old.
  9. R.S.
    May 26, 2004
    2
    This game is a big disappointment. The graphics look like they were 1 and a half years old, but tweaked up. Driving is unrealistic and sticky. Shooting scenes feel and controling your character feel retarted. Dialoge and phrases are extremly lame. I dont think if you were about to run someone over, or steal their car they would say stupid stuff like that. Close combat is the only thing I This game is a big disappointment. The graphics look like they were 1 and a half years old, but tweaked up. Driving is unrealistic and sticky. Shooting scenes feel and controling your character feel retarted. Dialoge and phrases are extremly lame. I dont think if you were about to run someone over, or steal their car they would say stupid stuff like that. Close combat is the only thing I thought was ok about the game. But soon that gets repititive and boring. The missions are somewhat dry and interesting, I didnt care anything about the storyline because it was lame. The only other good thing I like about this game is the HUGE map. One big area of L.A to drive around in. But soon that gets boring, nothing to do but explore and see and hear the same junk people say and wear. I am giving this a 2 due to the close combat, and Large map Expand
  10. RobertELee
    May 21, 2004
    9
    Awesome, but the main character can be annoying.
  11. FariB.
    May 9, 2004
    10
    Very very very good game perfect.
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 31
  2. Negative: 5 out of 31
  1. It’s this opened-ended type of storytelling mixed with diverse gameplay that makes True Crime: Streets of L.A. a decent console port and one of the better action games you can play on the PC.
  2. Although the multiplayer options seemed underdeveloped, the strong plot element and gameplay mechanics will keep most satisfied with their purchase.
  3. A lazy port of a game that wasn't all that great to begin with. Certainly, it has some great ideas in it, but they're all hampered by either having a weak implementation or a buggy interface, and all too often both.