Unity of Command PC

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 61
  2. Negative: 9 out of 61

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 29, 2013
    6
    A traditional game in WW2 setting where you move armies on a hex field. I saw the demo and didn't buy the full version because the game somehow lacks touch. It's very cold, too abstract, and has very boring premise (cmon, simulating ww2 again? haven't I seen dozens of games like this already)..
  2. Aug 24, 2013
    5
    Unity of Command appears to be a serious effort to kill off what little interest remains in strategic war games. It gets lots of high review scores from 'professional reviewers', who all seem to agree that this game depicts Operation Barbarossa, the German invasion of the USSR in 1941. Too bad for them this game is based on Fall Blau, later renamed Operation Braunsweig, the 1942 summerUnity of Command appears to be a serious effort to kill off what little interest remains in strategic war games. It gets lots of high review scores from 'professional reviewers', who all seem to agree that this game depicts Operation Barbarossa, the German invasion of the USSR in 1941. Too bad for them this game is based on Fall Blau, later renamed Operation Braunsweig, the 1942 summer offensive towards the Southern Soviet oil fields. The critics also get the score of this game as muddled as their history. Unity of Command is a TERRIBLE game with an incredibly limited, linear and boring scenario. The player has almost zero control of units, formations or anything else. The combat is simplicistic to the point of being asanine. It looks and feels like a game of checkers. Units move with ridiculous fluidity to instant-resolve 'fights' that appear to be simply mathmatically randomised results. The maps are PATHETIC, lacking detail or even visual appeal. Unit cards are even worse. The UI is cluttered and confusing and the manual for the game is not existing. Frankly at $7 you would be better off getting an expensive coffeee than wasting your time that was obviously built as your standard Steam scam, a game that offers a cutesy little video offering to get your interest. Comes with an inflated user score created by the scam artists themsellves with false metacritic accounts, then sold to the unsuspecting Steam buyer on the back of your standard 'see no evil' speak no evil' "pro" reviews. You can believe me because I don't lie to you. This is worse than mediocre. It might be worth $2 for a masochist. You will have much more fun playing Hearts of Iron 3, if you want to play a Wargame.Or try Panzer General 3, which is at least passably fun. The Paradox development team are trying to make a serious and historic and viable war game. This is a pathetic amateursville shadow of a war game.

    THE GROT REVIEW CRITERIA: After a long time writing reviews like an anus, think its time to set a few bad habits straight: Stop insulting designers. Show some respect for the design process and getting games in circulation. Hence (1) No Red scores. (2) Game scores as follows: Bad Game 5/10. Poor Game 6/10. Mediocre Game: 7/10. Good Game 8/10. Great game 9/10. Stella Game 10/10. To get 10/10 it must be a game that can be (theoretically) play-able for 1000+ hours. Not only great but near endless fun. Games may be bad or poor but making them should earn respect. Thus even the worst POS will still be a 5/10. 0/10 no longer exists in my vocabulary. Yellow is the new red. For the sake of accountability: you can reply if needed: Orctowngrot: Tim Rawlins: timtimjp@yahoo.com
    Expand
  3. Dec 14, 2012
    7
    If you liked Panzer General you will like this game, because it plays almost exactly the same. Its a good remake of the 90's classic panzer general, so casual gamers can get into this as well as a grognard, but grognards need to remember its not a full blown war sim. They have incorporated a pretty neat supply system, making sure all your units stay in supply is very important, but itsIf you liked Panzer General you will like this game, because it plays almost exactly the same. Its a good remake of the 90's classic panzer general, so casual gamers can get into this as well as a grognard, but grognards need to remember its not a full blown war sim. They have incorporated a pretty neat supply system, making sure all your units stay in supply is very important, but its very annoying the CPU will sacrifice 2-3 CORPS just to interfere with your supply for 1 turn, which does have a pretty heavy cause and effect, but its like the CPUs main mission in life. Since it plays like panzer general combat is not considered simultaneous so I can attack the same enemy unit with every unit I have until its defeated, not realistic but it is what it is, all you have to do is keep rotating out units that attacked and rotating in units that are fresh, each hex is considered to be 20KM so this bugs me, and this is how the CPU will always find a way through your lines to interdict your supply lines, very very annoying, Except for this I find the game fun to play and capable of stealing many hours of my life. Expand
  4. X0R
    Feb 19, 2013
    7
    It's worth a few bucks on sale, looks boardgame/shiny nice, but in my experience just not a lot of meat or depth to the campaign and individual battles. I also bought the Stalingrad Campaign (DLC however, other older rehabbed games at Matrix are so much better than Unity of Command, like Panzer Corps, John Tiller's Campaign Series (TalonSoft East Front, West Front), even Close CombatIt's worth a few bucks on sale, looks boardgame/shiny nice, but in my experience just not a lot of meat or depth to the campaign and individual battles. I also bought the Stalingrad Campaign (DLC however, other older rehabbed games at Matrix are so much better than Unity of Command, like Panzer Corps, John Tiller's Campaign Series (TalonSoft East Front, West Front), even Close Combat (more RTS, not really boardgame style). Unity of Command was fun for a few hours, then lost motivation to play. Expand
  5. Nov 5, 2012
    7
    Yes, the game is worth playing if you like war games--but only on sale. Like Steam $15. But full price--no way. I jumped into this thinking I'd have hours and hours of play for the campaign but finished it quickly (like I'm married with kids and don't have time -- quickly) on 3/7 scenarios. Unity of command seems more like a gamelet than a game. It does get you thinking though. SupplyYes, the game is worth playing if you like war games--but only on sale. Like Steam $15. But full price--no way. I jumped into this thinking I'd have hours and hours of play for the campaign but finished it quickly (like I'm married with kids and don't have time -- quickly) on 3/7 scenarios. Unity of command seems more like a gamelet than a game. It does get you thinking though. Supply chain and tactics are fun. Graphics are definitely a plus. But way too short and the stale map really never changes much. They should have taken notes from Panzer Corps (and Panzer/Slitherine should have taken note of Unity's good graphics). If anything Unity makes me want to play Panzer Corps--the updated version and put Unity away (most likely for good). But I still say buy it on sale and have fun because it is fun and engaging--just too short, a little stale, and somewhat pricey for what you get. Expand
  6. Sep 23, 2013
    5
    Graphical appearance looks great, just like playing a board game. Opponent AI is thou terrible, i have played both soviet and German campaigns trough several times. Only thing that AI tries is to disturb your supply lines. Also it's aw full to notice that there is no need to try save your troops only thing that matters is to take control of objectives in time. Makes game play somewhatGraphical appearance looks great, just like playing a board game. Opponent AI is thou terrible, i have played both soviet and German campaigns trough several times. Only thing that AI tries is to disturb your supply lines. Also it's aw full to notice that there is no need to try save your troops only thing that matters is to take control of objectives in time. Makes game play somewhat funny, sometimes AI don't try to defend objectives and just attacks your non-important weak units. Weather effect seems to be designed to only interfere player what is very annoying. If you wish to full fill whole campaign you have to restart missions numerous times to get te needed weather or correct result from key attacks. Good looking game but terrible campaign and AI. Expand
  7. Dec 11, 2013
    5
    I like turn-based games and world war II theme, so I was obvious looking for this game. Tactical options, lovely graphics and mechanics are really great but I were not still fully satisfied. Maybe, it is by lack of variety in the campaign missions or monotony which really ruined the game. Anyway, looking forward to DLC.
  8. Jan 25, 2014
    7
    The game has very nice, if simplistic mechanics, scenarios are generally well designed, AI is OK, but limited to defensive scenarios, probably because it cannot perform any consistent offensive moves, if you try setting it in scenario editor.
    In general it is nice frame to work with, but lacks meat. There's just a single campaign, others are released as DLCs. There isn't much user created
    The game has very nice, if simplistic mechanics, scenarios are generally well designed, AI is OK, but limited to defensive scenarios, probably because it cannot perform any consistent offensive moves, if you try setting it in scenario editor.
    In general it is nice frame to work with, but lacks meat. There's just a single campaign, others are released as DLCs. There isn't much user created scenarios, so after 5-6 hours you're done with the game, unless you want to repeat campaign for perfect score, which is really painful, as random bad weather will make it impossible to reach objectives in time.
    In general the game reminds me old Panzer General, but PG is still better game. Amazingly no game got close in over 15 years.

    It's worth to buy on sale only, due to lack of content.
    Expand
  9. Feb 16, 2014
    6
    The game is ok but didn't live up to my expectations. It's biggest weakness is it's lack of customization. You don't get to pick your units like in PG series. You can carry over experienced units if they happen to show up in later scenarios but it can be very difficult to level up a large number of units. In addition, the game penalizes you for attempting to attempt a sound militaryThe game is ok but didn't live up to my expectations. It's biggest weakness is it's lack of customization. You don't get to pick your units like in PG series. You can carry over experienced units if they happen to show up in later scenarios but it can be very difficult to level up a large number of units. In addition, the game penalizes you for attempting to attempt a sound military victory and instead forces you to simply get units to objectives as fast as possible without regards to casualties or the state of your battle line, something no commander would ever ignore. Overall I give it a 6/10, it could have been much more than it is. The PG series did all of these things with a good level of balance that this game does not provide. I have not played the DLCs. One good aspect of the game is the supply function, that while frustrating, provides additional tactical considerations. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Mar 20, 2012
    80
    Unity of Command is a good turn based strategy game: so difficult but so accurate and deep. A must have for all fans of this genre, but a little bit too difficult for all others.
  2. Mar 17, 2012
    80
    An interesting and challenging strategy title that will make hardcore fans of the genre happy.
  3. Mar 9, 2012
    80
    This strategy game is a real gem. It's easy to learn and play, very smart and – thanks to a really evil computer opponent – very challenging. I just wish it had a bit more content, especially in the multiplayer department, but don't let that stop you from giving it a go.