User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 496 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 68 out of 496

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JehfersonM.
    Jun 19, 2009
    6
    With the departure of Bombing Run and Assault, UT lost what was, at least for me, the two most fun game modes. Also where the AI was superb on UT2004, I've had to LITERALLY teach one of the bots that "flag goes into base" during the single player campaign. No Skaarj, no Egyptech and noThunderCrash also mean a loss of traditional characters . So Unreal Tournament 3 feels like a With the departure of Bombing Run and Assault, UT lost what was, at least for me, the two most fun game modes. Also where the AI was superb on UT2004, I've had to LITERALLY teach one of the bots that "flag goes into base" during the single player campaign. No Skaarj, no Egyptech and noThunderCrash also mean a loss of traditional characters . So Unreal Tournament 3 feels like a downgrade on UT2004, game wise. But not all is lost. The game is more beautiful than ever, new vehicles introduce variety and innovation.... Maybe all it needs is a good and heavy expansion pack to fill in all these holes. The potential certainly IS there. Expand
  2. Nemesis
    Nov 21, 2007
    7
    If you want a "little" more polished version of UT2004, then you should go ahead and pick this up. Word of caution: It's exactly the same in design as 2004, but lacks the expansive maps for deathmatch and CTF (which are my favorite modes). Also, my other big gripe is the lack of sniper oriented maps in CTF. In due time, we'll get patches and map additions to rememdy this MAJOR If you want a "little" more polished version of UT2004, then you should go ahead and pick this up. Word of caution: It's exactly the same in design as 2004, but lacks the expansive maps for deathmatch and CTF (which are my favorite modes). Also, my other big gripe is the lack of sniper oriented maps in CTF. In due time, we'll get patches and map additions to rememdy this MAJOR issue (at least with me). Expand
  3. Mr.51
    Nov 23, 2007
    4
    I had an absolute blast with the previous versions of UT, but UT3 does not even come close to being as fun. While the game has pretty graphics and all these neat little features to show off the new Unreal Engine, it is almost like this was all at the sacrifice of the balanced, fun game play of UT versions past. I get the impression that Epic was so obsessed with making the game look like I had an absolute blast with the previous versions of UT, but UT3 does not even come close to being as fun. While the game has pretty graphics and all these neat little features to show off the new Unreal Engine, it is almost like this was all at the sacrifice of the balanced, fun game play of UT versions past. I get the impression that Epic was so obsessed with making the game look like Gears of War that they may have forgotten about everything else. It is great that there will be mods and everything that might introduce some improvements, but the core game itself should have been better than this. I have owned the game for only 4 days and I am already sick of it. By far the most disappointing game of the season, in my eyes. Expand
  4. SeamusB.
    Nov 28, 2007
    2
    Being a long-term fan of the Unreal series, I was very much looking forward to playing this latest entry. However, the gameplay is totally broken. Everything has been dumbed-down and generally ruined for anybody apart from the casual player. Assault is gone, and Onslaught has been streamlined to the point of being almost unplayable. The levels are smaller, more cramped and more confusing. Being a long-term fan of the Unreal series, I was very much looking forward to playing this latest entry. However, the gameplay is totally broken. Everything has been dumbed-down and generally ruined for anybody apart from the casual player. Assault is gone, and Onslaught has been streamlined to the point of being almost unplayable. The levels are smaller, more cramped and more confusing. There is less choice on almost every front. This has to be the only game Epic have done that is actually WORSE than UT2003. Simply put, I utterly hate this game, and wish I had downloaded it. At least then I wouldn't have spent 30 pounds. Expand
  5. Dec 22, 2011
    7
    unsure how to rate this one, the graphics are a definite plus, and the game just shines with quality and polish, i found not only the visuals, but the sound and altogether feel of the game to be very nice, and imo an IMPROVEMENT over older ut titles, i mean let's face it, games change with time, ut franchise is no different!

    however in agreement with many others, the campaign is awful!
    unsure how to rate this one, the graphics are a definite plus, and the game just shines with quality and polish, i found not only the visuals, but the sound and altogether feel of the game to be very nice, and imo an IMPROVEMENT over older ut titles, i mean let's face it, games change with time, ut franchise is no different!

    however in agreement with many others, the campaign is awful! also i would like to call this ut the most difficult ut game so far, but i'm unsure, it seems to be very unbalanced difficulty levels really... skilled is like impossible and then inhuman is actually easier (or so i found it to be!).

    not to mention the game ups it's difficulty GREATLY in campaign mode for some reason.... skilled in campaign is like godlike in instant action o.0

    but on the whole i think this game is excellent, and i am not just some modern graphics whore that never played ut games before, i grew up with them myself, and i actually like the direction they took in this game... apart from the bizarre fluctuating difficulty curve and the silly campaign story
    Expand
  6. Feb 21, 2012
    8
    I can understand the frustration a lot of players have with this game. UT99 more or less raised me, I was 5 or 6 when it came out, and I play it from about 1999 to 2004 regularly before moving away from PC gaming for a while. On the positive side, this game looks gorgeous, has a wide selection of maps, and most important, it FEELS like Unreal Tournament. The weapons might look different,I can understand the frustration a lot of players have with this game. UT99 more or less raised me, I was 5 or 6 when it came out, and I play it from about 1999 to 2004 regularly before moving away from PC gaming for a while. On the positive side, this game looks gorgeous, has a wide selection of maps, and most important, it FEELS like Unreal Tournament. The weapons might look different, but they feel just like improved versions of the ones I love. The main negative for me is that this game does not LOOK like an Unreal Tournament game. It might be beautiful, but both the aesthetics and the colors just don't look like they used to. Frankly, the reason I'm just now getting around to playing this game is because it looks like a mash-up of the GoW series and UT, which scared me. I was afraid it would play like Gears too. Fortunately, it still boasts the fast, skill-oriented gameplay for which the series is famous. If franchise-fans can get past the new looks of the game, they'll find a solid addition to the series. At this point, I can't speak for how newcomers will feel about the game, I simply can't separate myself from the series. Expand
  7. Apr 22, 2012
    8
    Unreal is Unreal, nothing else to say, get in and frag them all, giants maps, a lot of devastating weapons and vehicles, many power ups and user made maps keep this game alive and kicking with a nice community of players.
  8. May 20, 2012
    0
    I love-loved Unreal-Unreal 2-Unreal Tournament-Unreal Tournament 2004 and I hated this "Unreal Tournament III" I must say that I am a fan of unreal engine, engine is so beautiful and can work on low spec pcs and compatibility with windows xp and windows 7 is godlike, what I did not like in "Unreal Tournament III" is I could not see anything and I am not talking about engine I am talkingI love-loved Unreal-Unreal 2-Unreal Tournament-Unreal Tournament 2004 and I hated this "Unreal Tournament III" I must say that I am a fan of unreal engine, engine is so beautiful and can work on low spec pcs and compatibility with windows xp and windows 7 is godlike, what I did not like in "Unreal Tournament III" is I could not see anything and I am not talking about engine I am talking about design, colors, blurs, like all put in a blender I could not bear my self and torture my eyes with this game I played it for 1 hour and deleted it Fun - 0/10
    Gameplay - 0/10
    Controls - 0/10
    Graphics Design - 0/10
    Story - 0/10
    All Time Graphics - 10/10
    Sound - 4/10
    Music - 7/10
    Replayability - 0/10
    Graphics for its time - 10/10
    31/100
    Expand
  9. Dec 20, 2012
    2
    Good game for FPS players. Bad game for Unreal Tournament fans. This isn't a "real" UT, it is definetly a Gears of War FPS. Same concept, world design with Geow.
  10. Apr 18, 2013
    8
    Unreal Tournament 3 brings back the UT99 playstyle and puts the '03 and '04 one back in its place. The game is gorgeous, the gameplay is fast and the cutscenes are well made. I think it lacks a bit on the competitive side of multiplayer when compared to UT 2004, but otherwise UT3 is a great addition to the series.
  11. Jun 28, 2013
    2
    A train wreck of a game and basically dead on release.

    Based on the incredibly good UT99 and 2004 games, I, like others, bought this on "day one". Within a couple hours of playing realized I'd been had in the worst way: a console controller had been jammed firmly up my crack. It exemplified the "lazy console port" trend which was popular at the time (and is thankfully finally
    A train wreck of a game and basically dead on release.

    Based on the incredibly good UT99 and 2004 games, I, like others, bought this on "day one". Within a couple hours of playing realized I'd been had in the worst way: a console controller had been jammed firmly up my crack.

    It exemplified the "lazy console port" trend which was popular at the time (and is thankfully finally starting to recede). Capped framerates, dumb-downed menus, wildly inconsistent performance, missing multiplayer modes, and one of the worst multiplayer connect menus ever. I remember a week into this game's launch there were one or two players per server basically server admins playing bots hoping someone would join.

    In the face of the avalanche of performance issues, EPIC's response was basically to blame PC gaming. What an incredibly stupid move.

    Eventually these issues were addressed and by the Titan patch it was finally worth playing. Still, without a critical mass of players there was no online community. No players no game.

    The colossal failure of Unreal Tournament 3 should be required reading for game developers and distributors.
    Expand
  12. StormdragonB.
    Dec 30, 2007
    8
    This game is very much a worthy successor to the UT game series though obviously not perfect. Gameplay wise I can't find that much at fault. It's still very well paced and hectically fun. Warfare provides a great mix of Assault and Onslaught. The Orb enters an entirely new dimension to it as well making it a very good hybrid game type that just feels fresh. The maps themselves This game is very much a worthy successor to the UT game series though obviously not perfect. Gameplay wise I can't find that much at fault. It's still very well paced and hectically fun. Warfare provides a great mix of Assault and Onslaught. The Orb enters an entirely new dimension to it as well making it a very good hybrid game type that just feels fresh. The maps themselves all look very good to great but might suffer slightly from to much post processing effects like bloom/blur. But to me never so badly that it made the gameplay suffer. The bots are smarter this time around though still surprisingly stupid when it comes to using vehicles. They still feel to be stuck on UT2004 level. On that they do still need some work. I think that the only thing that really can be considered an issue is the menu GUI. It's very console like and pretty bare-bone even after the first patch is applied. I hope that Epic fixes this up a bit more in any coming patches. At least the first patch showed that they are trying to comply with any complaints. So all in all it's a great game that has a few weaknesses that do need ironing out but non are game killers by any means. This game is getting unfortunately quite some bad rep from people who feel that vehicle based game types are for "n00bs" especially now that warfare is the main selling point and VCTF (Vehicle Capture The Flag) is a true supported game type. I would say ignore them if you can as otherwise you are denying yourself from enjoying this game. The UT series evolves and you just need to adapt. Expand
  13. PaulB.
    Jan 21, 2008
    8
    With the updated graphics and the addition of the new vehicles this game aims to please fans of the Unreal game linage. Having played this for a month now, I can say that I am a fan, but I find, I enjoy the onslaught game style of UT2004 more than UT3's Warfare.
  14. SteveM.
    Nov 26, 2007
    8
    The new Warfare game mode and vehicles are welcome additions to the series. However, the overall look of this game is a bit confusing. Trying to show off their new Unreal 3 engine, the developers got lost with too many textures and effects. For an FPS, a cleaner look would have been better. Lets see what the Mod community can provide.
  15. KrogothC.
    Dec 5, 2007
    8
    UT3 is a solid MP FPS game. Sure, it isn't innovative when was the last time innoivation occurred in the FPS genre? The gameplay combines the best of UT99 and UT2K4. I can see why UT2K4 players are annoyed that dodging running and adrenaline are gone in UT3. It is supposed to be a throwback to UT99. Warfare mode improves the already popular Onslaught mode. The Nercis vehicles are UT3 is a solid MP FPS game. Sure, it isn't innovative when was the last time innoivation occurred in the FPS genre? The gameplay combines the best of UT99 and UT2K4. I can see why UT2K4 players are annoyed that dodging running and adrenaline are gone in UT3. It is supposed to be a throwback to UT99. Warfare mode improves the already popular Onslaught mode. The Nercis vehicles are very interesting and provided different strategies then previous UT2K4 vehicle roster. It has the potential to be an excellent successor to Assault mode. The rest of the modes are more of a the same. The graphics and art direction are top-notch, but obviously borrowed from Gears of War. The audio is nothing really that special, at least the taunts and bot feedback is better then previous games. You can personalize your own model's features. My problems with UT3 is the lack of polish. The current UI screams "consolitis" and is rather spartan. It is a pain to setup a proper dedicated server. It seems that Epic was pressured by Midway to get UT3 release early in order to meet hoilday sales. UT3 could of used at least three to six months worth of polishing to make it a real winner. Expand
  16. Dee
    Jan 22, 2008
    8
    The whole game can be summed up with one line: "It's a new UT2004 with better graphics." Nothing more, nothing less. Oh, and absolutely laughable auto-taunts from hell... makes me ashamed when someone walks by - I have to turn down the volume.
  17. AndresV
    Mar 11, 2009
    8
    I think this game is a lot of fun. I don't understand people who would give it a bad rating. I think they just like to whine. Wussies. I never really played the previous Unreal Tournaments, except a little of UT2. The single player story is corny, but who cares it is all about fast paced blasting anyways. That's what you get with this game. If you don't like good graphics I think this game is a lot of fun. I don't understand people who would give it a bad rating. I think they just like to whine. Wussies. I never really played the previous Unreal Tournaments, except a little of UT2. The single player story is corny, but who cares it is all about fast paced blasting anyways. That's what you get with this game. If you don't like good graphics and fast paced blasting then play the previous unreal tournaments. That way you can get fast paced blasting with outdated graphics! Expand
  18. RaymondF.
    Jan 24, 2008
    8
    Very fun game. Had performance problems at first, but now runs super smooth at 1680x1050 with the higest settings with the latest nvidia 8800 GTS drivers. Warfare is my favorite online mode of all the multiplayer games I have played. Only problem is there is not too many low ping servers when playing online. I never saw more then 6 under 100 ping servers for any of the modes when looking Very fun game. Had performance problems at first, but now runs super smooth at 1680x1050 with the higest settings with the latest nvidia 8800 GTS drivers. Warfare is my favorite online mode of all the multiplayer games I have played. Only problem is there is not too many low ping servers when playing online. I never saw more then 6 under 100 ping servers for any of the modes when looking in the server browser. Single player is a waste of time, but multiplayer is great. Expand
  19. MetallicusG.
    Nov 25, 2007
    8
    First I'd like to say, they did better job with UT3 than UT2K3 and UT2K4. Unfortunately, not better than UT99. Mainly because Epic Games decided to be a bit lazy with the UI (user interface) such as the menu. The game isn't as customizable as UT99 was. The levels are stunning to look at. So much details can be found in them. But you might notice a bit lack of variety in the First I'd like to say, they did better job with UT3 than UT2K3 and UT2K4. Unfortunately, not better than UT99. Mainly because Epic Games decided to be a bit lazy with the UI (user interface) such as the menu. The game isn't as customizable as UT99 was. The levels are stunning to look at. So much details can be found in them. But you might notice a bit lack of variety in the collection. But in the end, UT3 is a great game, which even a first person shooter fan shouldn't be allowed to miss. Expand
  20. Mar 16, 2014
    7
    Well this game is way worse than UT 2004 in many ways, but it is still good fun with excellent weapons, vehicles and funny mods. I am not a big fan of single payer campaign, they shoud add same single player like in UT 2004 with more detailed team management. Still a very good game with great gun play and awesome maps.
  21. Nov 18, 2013
    9
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player) Gameplay (2/2) Visuals/Story (2/2) (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player)

    Gameplay (2/2)

    Visuals/Story (2/2)

    (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is better than the visuals, review this section as if the visuals didn’t matter)

    Accessibility/Longevity (1/2)

    (Review this section only on Accessibility if the game has no longevity) (Review this section only on longevity if the game isn’t accessible)

    Pricing (2/2)

    Wildcard (0)

    This is a guideline for how to properly review games. Many reviewers like to get a “feel” for a game, and arbitrarily give a game a score that they believe it deserves. This results in wildly different scores between different reviewers, and vastly different scores between similar games. This guideline addresses these problems and scores games fairly and consistently. This guideline also gives scores that are usually similar to the metacritic score.

    The review score is based out of 10 points. There are no “half” or 0.5 increments. It is impossible to have a score above 10 or below 0. The review score will change as the game gets new dlc, drops in price, or if more secrets are found through the game increasing its appeal.

    The scoring is split into 6 sections. The first five sections can add a possible 2 points to the final score. The first 5 sections are Single Player/Multi Player, Gameplay, Visuals/Story, Accessibility/Longevity, and Pricing.

    Notice that 3 of these sections have two parts. These particular sections will be scored based on the stronger part of the game of the two. For example, if a game has a lousy single player campaign, but an excellent multiplayer component, that section will be based solely on the multiplayer as if the single player did not exist. This allows games to be based on their own merits, as many unnecessary features are shoehorned into video games by publishers to reach a “feature quota”. Games that excel in both areas of a section don’t receive should be noted in the written review, but cannot increase the score past 2 in that section. However, it can be taken into account in the final section

    The final section can add 1, add 0, or subtract 1 to the final score. This final section is the “wildcard” section. This section is for how the reviewer “feels” about the game, but limits this only to this section, rather than the entire 10 point review. This section can include any positive or negative point that was not covered in the previous 5 sections.
    Expand
  22. Jun 20, 2014
    9
    Unreal Tournament III. Before I begin my review of this game, I'd just like to say that I will be critiquing this game based on its presentation rather than its story. This is because the story missions are basically the same as the multiplayer missions, and the story is also terrible, so if you're getting this game for the story, don't bother. Because Unreal Tournament 4 is inUnreal Tournament III. Before I begin my review of this game, I'd just like to say that I will be critiquing this game based on its presentation rather than its story. This is because the story missions are basically the same as the multiplayer missions, and the story is also terrible, so if you're getting this game for the story, don't bother. Because Unreal Tournament 4 is in development, and I've played every game in the series, I decided to review the latest one for you based on multiplayer only, because as I said, the story missions are literally the exact same levels you could already find in multiplayer. The story is just there to add immersion, and don't worry, you can still play this game with bots. So anyway, is the multiplayer of this game the thrilling and fun experience you would expect from this series, or should you keep playing UT2004 instead? Let's find out. The gameplay of this game is insanely fun! After all, it is a multiplayer shooter with several game modes. It has all three of the game modes that you have come to expect from shooters. It has deathmatch (just keep killing everyone, and in the end, the person with the highest score wins), team deathmatch (the same thing, but with teams fighting for points instead of a free-for-all), and capture the flag (capture the enemy flag while defending your own). While these modes have appeared in several other shooters before, including the previous games in the series, that doesn't stop them from still being insanely fun to play. Plus, it has no kill streak rewards like Call of Duty, it is just classic versions of all of these modes, and I'm happy with that. This game also has original modes. There is warfare, in which two teams must compete for control points. Once a team has enough points, they can attack the enemy prime node. The team that manages to destroy the other team's node first wins. There is also betrayal, which is basically deathmatch but with a twist: you have rifles that can kill anything in just one hit. You also have to temporarily work with a partner that you can betray at any time in order to get bonus points. The player with the most points in the end wins. Finally, there is greed, which is basically a mode where you have to get kills, and collect the skulls the kills drop for capture at the enemy base for points. Just the first three modes alone would probably have been enough to make this game fun, but with these other modes, the game becomes even better. The game is also very fast-paced, making it even more fun to play. It plays a lot like any other old shooter game from the 90s like Doom or Quake, but considering that there aren't many of those shooters out there these days, that's actually a very good thing. Overall, the gameplay of this game is about is fun as a video game can get. As for the graphics, while they aren't the best graphics I've ever seen in a video game, I will still say that they are fantastic. This game manages to use the Unreal Engine to its full potential in the graphics department. The game's environments all look very beautiful, and the character models also look stunning. As a matter of fact, I once thought that I would never play an Unreal Engine game that looked better than this, but then I played Mass Effect 2, which also managed to astound me in every possible way it could with how amazing the game was. There are also games on the CryEngine that look better, but I will admit, Unreal's graphics are pushed to the limit with this game. Overall, the graphics are also quite good in this game. As for the presentation, it is also great, but not quite as good as the gameplay and graphics. There are a few problems with the settings, such as making it impossible to get rid of certain bot types once you add them, but otherwise it is still great. The menus work properly, and the game even allows you to create your own character, that you cannot see until after a match ends, or your friends see it. Still though, it is nice that they have this feature. Overall, this presentation is great, but not as amazing as it could be. Overall, all I can say is this: don't buy this game if you are looking for a good story! Buy it for everything but the story! The story of this game is crap, but everything else is amazing! I can easily recommend this game to anyone who wants to play a good multiplayer shooter, wants a throwback to the 90s with a modern twist, or just wants to play an insanely fun game. Just not for people who love stories in games.
    Gameplay: 10/10
    Graphics: 9/10
    Presentation: 8/10
    Overall: 9/10
    Expand
  23. Mar 5, 2014
    10
    Unreal Tournament III is the best part of series. A plot was never strong part of the game, but it isn't the most important thing. Thanks to the induction new graphic engine named Unreal Engine 3, the game looks unbelievably. Sounds and sounds effects are similar to prequel, but they have become legendary. Now, they are borrowing in other games. Weapons have larger damages, so thanks toUnreal Tournament III is the best part of series. A plot was never strong part of the game, but it isn't the most important thing. Thanks to the induction new graphic engine named Unreal Engine 3, the game looks unbelievably. Sounds and sounds effects are similar to prequel, but they have become legendary. Now, they are borrowing in other games. Weapons have larger damages, so thanks to this, in both singleplayer and multiplayer are furiously fast gameplay. Artificial Intelligence is excellent. I extremely recommend this epic game!! Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. The game's A-ticket attractions are the massive, ornate battlegrounds where opponents compete in objective-based clashes. Gorgeous alien landscapes play host to massive turf battles between factions vying for power nodes. These mêlées come stocked with a mind-boggling variety of weapons and vehicles, greatly reducing the rinse, lather, repeat burnout that comes in online shooters with less to do and smaller places to do it.
  2. Drop into servers, start killing people, it's so natural to habitual gamers these days that it's hard to quantify how familiar and welcome these experiences are. With the sheer range of death-mongering that UT3 provides, it's hard not to get into the spirit of things. So yeah, Unreal Tournament pretty much remains The Daddy: consistent, meaty, and just weird enough to survive.
  3. The game excels at everything from simple deathmatching to complex objective-driven campaigns. [Dec 2007, p.154]