Unreal Tournament III PC

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 519 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 68 out of 519
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 17, 2012
    4
    A major letdown after the previous "Tournament" games because of removed multiplayer modes and a "storyline"-based single player campaign. Feels like a consolified, dumbed down tech demo for the Unreal 3 engine. Not worth playing when UT2k3 & 2k4 are both superior, cheaper, and still have players.
  2. KidClean
    Mar 7, 2009
    2
    Frankly, I as others here have expressed, purchased this game out of loyalty to the brand- and was terribly burned by the result. Part of the brilliance and charm of UT2k4, and UT (and I am sure the rest of the series, though I haven't played them) is the UNREAL appearance. The vibrant appearance was forsaken for a dark, hazy look that just doesn't feel like a UT game. The maps Frankly, I as others here have expressed, purchased this game out of loyalty to the brand- and was terribly burned by the result. Part of the brilliance and charm of UT2k4, and UT (and I am sure the rest of the series, though I haven't played them) is the UNREAL appearance. The vibrant appearance was forsaken for a dark, hazy look that just doesn't feel like a UT game. The maps are indeed beautiful, but that's hardly a consolation when the effort to render them dampens performance. Play feels sluggish, the appearance of everything has been drastically altered, and perhaps most egrigious of all- single player has been forced into a wretched and inescapable storyline [which completely defeats the point of the "Tournament" part of the title. To be consistent with the past, the game should simply be "Unreal 3"- for Unreal and Unreal 2 were both story based like this]. Expand
  3. AlexB
    Dec 27, 2009
    4
    I wonder how many people who gave this "9 or 10" have played UT'99 or 2K3/4. If you have, I don't follow your logic, because I can't find anything much to like about this game. Firstly, the graphics scalability is truly terrible, if that was the only problem, then big deal, sometimes you need an incentive to play a good game, and if UT3 was good, then this would be a I wonder how many people who gave this "9 or 10" have played UT'99 or 2K3/4. If you have, I don't follow your logic, because I can't find anything much to like about this game. Firstly, the graphics scalability is truly terrible, if that was the only problem, then big deal, sometimes you need an incentive to play a good game, and if UT3 was good, then this would be a relatively minor issue. However, the gameplay is not good. For the single player we have the campaign and instant action. If you're prepared to fight through the tournament ladder like every previous installment of UT, then I'm afraid you're going to be disappointed. Instead you're going to be treated to some kind of war, complete with aliens. "But wait" said someone on the committee who were tasked with designing "how on earth does this make any sense with Unreal Tournament?". This person was fired, and development continued. Now, I'm not a developer myself, but I do know something about dictionaries. Just to see if I wasn't mistaking myself, I then looked up tournament on wikipedia. I came up with this definition "A tournament is a competition involving a relatively large number of competitors, all participating in a sport or game." - does this storyline fit that criteria? No. But hey, what do I know. I digress, the "campaign" is basically an angst-driven kid who hates someone because she tried to kill him, so he goes off on a crusade to kill her, will he have successes? Who Knows? Who Cares? Next time, remove the pre-rendered cutscenes and let's just have a tournament. I've spent a good amount of time ranting about this game, and havn't got to the gameplay. Most of the weapons are there from previous titles, you won't find anything new - some have been tweaked a bit, the redeemer and impact hammer are back from UT99, and adrenaline has been removed (a mixed blessing, kill streaks are almost meaningless now, whilst before you were rewarded for doing well). There are more "super powerups" (berserk is now a pickup, for example) and other various things that could probably easily be performed with mutators on 2k4. Nothing feels better, quite a lot feels worse. The bot AI is horrible, on the single player, you often need to get about 4 or 5 times the number of kills than your bot friends to win. Almost certainly - you will be the one pulling the weight, capturing the flag, attacking their base, etc. At launch, UT3 came with 3 gamemodes. There was deathmatch (Including team deathmatch,and duel - which is deathmatch for 2 players at a time), Capture the Flag (most of the maps were vehicle capture the flag, which means hoverboards, which means the worst design choice ever, having a 3rd person view on a first person shooter), and Warfare (a cut down version of onslaught, which is heavily "orb central" - this is not an improvement, apparently it's meant to incorperate elements from assault, but these aren't really noticeable in any way, just an occasional side-objective). 2 more were added later, Greed (a toned-up version of a custom gamemode for 2k4), and Betrayal (Instagib death-match with a small twist, you can "betray" allies to claim a "pot" of shared kills, fun - but not much to write home about). That's it, notice that there's no Bombing Run, Domination (of either kind), Assault, Invasion or Last man standing. Whilst there are some good new maps, most of the maps that you know and love are gone (there's no Facing Worlds, the Deck remake doesn't really feel like any of the other Deck maps, and I actually felt offended when I started to play Torlan, due to what they'd done to it). The AI in this title are horrible, I was hardly able to use the rocket launcher in 2k4, because of the fact that most of the AI dodged the projectiles, and therefore other weapons were more effective. In UT3, the rocket launcher makes it's triumphant return, as you blow enemies to smithereens who can't dodge at all. Friendly AI is just as bad, with your teamates dying whilst trying to regroup in TDM, and causing you to lose as a result (when you are forced to lower your difficulty settings even though you're scoring 5 times as much as any of your team members, we have a problem). Overall, do not buy this game, instead - have a look at the exceptionally good Unreal Tournament 2004. There are plenty of good mods and maps for it, and you'll have a game that uses a colour palliate that is better than "grey, brown and brown disguised as red". An unfortunate departure for the series, and I'm truly sorry if this is your first UT game. Expand
  4. LeroyJ
    Apr 5, 2008
    0
    UT3 is garbage straight-out-of-the-box. It's a rushed release that only seemed good because of the hype. It lacks a lot of content and does not offer anything new or revolutionary. The servers lag and are scarcely populated. It is loaded with bugs and issues. The new approach to making the setting a dark and gritty place is only because of the trend, and does not feel very "Unreal" UT3 is garbage straight-out-of-the-box. It's a rushed release that only seemed good because of the hype. It lacks a lot of content and does not offer anything new or revolutionary. The servers lag and are scarcely populated. It is loaded with bugs and issues. The new approach to making the setting a dark and gritty place is only because of the trend, and does not feel very "Unreal" as it was before. I regret purchasing my copy of UT3 and wish that Epic would compensate for their failure and create a finished and polished UT sequel and reimburse those who bought a copy of UT3. In conclusion, compared to its predecessors, UT3 is a steaming pile of crap. Expand
  5. BrandonF
    Apr 8, 2008
    3
    UT3 is very disappointing -- it's pretty much the biggest disappointment ever! Good graphics are pretty much its only merit. For everything Epic fixed in regards to UT2004 (ie no shield gun, no adrenaline, more close-quarter maps, etc.), they screwed up or left out 10 other things. The player counts are TERRIBLE! There's about 300 people playing at peak times on the weekend and UT3 is very disappointing -- it's pretty much the biggest disappointment ever! Good graphics are pretty much its only merit. For everything Epic fixed in regards to UT2004 (ie no shield gun, no adrenaline, more close-quarter maps, etc.), they screwed up or left out 10 other things. The player counts are TERRIBLE! There's about 300 people playing at peak times on the weekend and only about 100-200 otherwise (in the US). The majority of the available players will be spread across 2-4 servers with player limits too high for proper gameplay, so you can pretty much forget about normal TDM/CTF games. GameSpy integration is the most pointless and stupid thing Epic has done. Oh, and for single-player people, the campaign is an absolute joke with terrible voice acting! VCTF and ONS were made worse with their changes. Warfare is nothing but Orbfare and both gametypes are less fun compared to UT2004's versions. All focus in the new ONS is on the orbs and it really screws things up. The lack of Assault really annoyed me. The weapons and mouse input system feel off somehow, the sniper and shock especially. As usual Epic's netcode fails completely in comparison with other companies' and it really makes the game a spamtacular "Where's the ammo?!?" festival. After being very into past UTs, I uninstalled UT3 and I can't imagine reinstalling it for any reason. I have never uninstalled a UT game before this one; they have always provided me with fun and enjoyment. UT3 did not. I wish I could get my money back. Don't waste your time with this one! UT and UT2004 both still have more players! Expand
  6. HowardC.
    Feb 24, 2008
    3
    This game fell far, far below expectations for UT 2004 fans. I was waiting breathlessly for this game for more than two years, but when it came out, we -- in the UT 2004 gamer community -- we're totally shocked at how EA had essentially gutted one of the best PC games in history, had seemed to arrogantly ignore all of the best game play aspects of UT2004 in order to appear cool at This game fell far, far below expectations for UT 2004 fans. I was waiting breathlessly for this game for more than two years, but when it came out, we -- in the UT 2004 gamer community -- we're totally shocked at how EA had essentially gutted one of the best PC games in history, had seemed to arrogantly ignore all of the best game play aspects of UT2004 in order to appear cool at launch... trading amazing gameplay, great team collaboration and true excitement for a clotted, massively over-designed and under-thought clone of Gears of War. UT3 has many great things in it Expand
  7. chrisb
    Jul 21, 2009
    1
    Do not trust the meta score for this one (currently 83). no way, this game is horrendous. its time to be honest epic, this game is one of the worst possibly ever created and will likely go down in history for that.
  8. Sep 7, 2011
    3
    In comparison with it's predecessor, Unreal Tournament 2004, Unreal Tournament III is extremely disappointing. Yes, it's visually stunning, but removing most of the greatest game-play features from 2004 was like putting a bolt in a calf's brain. Where is Assault, Bombing Run, and Double Domination? Those were staples of the last iteration. Playing this game makes me sad.
  9. ShaunD
    Apr 11, 2008
    0
    The worst by far of the Unreal Tournament series. Epic promised to bring innovation in this game. Specifically talking about an elaborate in game stats system like UT99 had and a new warfare mod that would mix assault and onslaught aspects together. CTF continued to be a disaster with the limited trans and missing fundamentals that made UT99 CTF so great. The interface, in game browser, The worst by far of the Unreal Tournament series. Epic promised to bring innovation in this game. Specifically talking about an elaborate in game stats system like UT99 had and a new warfare mod that would mix assault and onslaught aspects together. CTF continued to be a disaster with the limited trans and missing fundamentals that made UT99 CTF so great. The interface, in game browser, and hundreds of bugs made the play experience of this game a negative memory. The game only sold 33,000 in it's first month... and there's a reason for that. The critics who gave this game an 83 are being generous. Expand
  10. Jun 11, 2011
    3
    This game installed an AMD K8 driver in my PC, the driver downclocked my CPU's multiplier from 9x to 5x, so my PC's CPU ended up with a real CPU clock of only 950Mhz (it's an AMD Sempron). I needed to use System Restore to remove the damn drivers to fix the CPU problem! I ain't going to install this game in the AMD PC ever again. But I could get this game to work all fine in my other PCThis game installed an AMD K8 driver in my PC, the driver downclocked my CPU's multiplier from 9x to 5x, so my PC's CPU ended up with a real CPU clock of only 950Mhz (it's an AMD Sempron). I needed to use System Restore to remove the damn drivers to fix the CPU problem! I ain't going to install this game in the AMD PC ever again. But I could get this game to work all fine in my other PC with an Intel CPU. No leaning left/right, can crouch but no prone. Nothing much new from UT2004 may be? Except the graphics and models looked more nicer. The bots are running very very fast and I hates it when they're doing it real close up like a fast forward video at play! So without a fast rig you ain't going to enjoy this game. I don't like the old familiar weapons, so much alike to the Halo game's projectiles, well most of them are based from UT2004! No remote bombs or mines like the ones from the other game F.E.A.R. or flashbangs and smoke grenades from Rainbow Six Vegas 2. When they name the difficulty levels, they better name them as difficulty level 1 to 9, please do not utter words such as ExperienceD. Expand
  11. Jun 12, 2011
    4
    Lack of mini zoom view at all the times. Need at least a 17 inch monitor or even bigger, as the bots are too small to shoot at from a far fart away distance, but they has no problems shooting at me from that distance without using a sniper scope? Hate to drive those vehicles, so bored of them, look and feel so toy like, yes it's rated R16+ too perfect for that! Hot fast action shooter, ILack of mini zoom view at all the times. Need at least a 17 inch monitor or even bigger, as the bots are too small to shoot at from a far fart away distance, but they has no problems shooting at me from that distance without using a sniper scope? Hate to drive those vehicles, so bored of them, look and feel so toy like, yes it's rated R16+ too perfect for that! Hot fast action shooter, I love it! But there's nothing more to it, I might go back playing UT2004 instead of getting used to the newer gun models & much more faster running speeds (much harder to kill bots). Buy this game if you want more new maps to play on. Some maps now has the brighter (bloom) and darker shaded spots here and there all in a small area, or almost everywhere with those super bump mappings and post filterings of sun-glowing foggings (I feel sea sick already), I could barely taget the super fast running bots with all those effects on. Some game settings does not stick after quiting the game to Windows' desktop, needed to set and change them on every start of the game (is this a free demo game?). It also nags me to login online on on every start of the game, can't they just give the option of loading the game into the offline game menu each time? This game told me that my AMD Sempron 3100+ does not met the minimum CPU requirement, why can't they just shut up and ask me if it's been overclocked from 1.8Ghz to 2.16Ghz? And it's performance is at least as good as a 2.8Ghz Pentium IV on all the games released from year 2005 to 2009 even if the CPU isn't overclocked. How many games installs a CPU driver for you without asking you first? Or not asking you if you're happy with your CPU clock or not after getting the new driver installed? Expand
  12. SeanW
    Nov 16, 2009
    1
    a good game but because of how many bugs it has and the fact Epic is no longer doing updates for it, i give it a 1 because if the compnay who made the game won't support it, why should any one else.
  13. JonO
    May 17, 2008
    3
    One aspect not covered by previous comments is that the other versions of Unreal Tournament play well with mid and even low-end hardware. I was totally duped, and despite that my system well-exceeded the minimum specifications, the game was simply unplayable online. Looking out into any open area yielded frame rates in the single digits. Oddly enough, it didn't matter what resolution One aspect not covered by previous comments is that the other versions of Unreal Tournament play well with mid and even low-end hardware. I was totally duped, and despite that my system well-exceeded the minimum specifications, the game was simply unplayable online. Looking out into any open area yielded frame rates in the single digits. Oddly enough, it didn't matter what resolution or other settings I modified. I spent a couple evenings tweaking settings and looking for answers on the forums, until I realized many, many others were complaining of the exact same thing on Epic's own forums. Bottom line, don't bother with this game without a dual core processor and mid to high end graphics card. Yes, as others have stated, the servers are empty and that's a very big problem. UT lives and dies with the online experience. I think by cutting out the low end and move-up gamers, they killed half their player base from day 1. You simply can't make an online game that doesn't include the mid-low end as potential players. And the only chance they had to get away with a move like that would have been to deliver something so groundbreaking that people couldn't help but upgrade (like oh, Call of Duty 4). Yet as has also been beaten to death, UT 3 feels like a face-lift for the most part. Bottom line, the combination of stiff hardware requirements, a really bad interface (which I didn't even address since it's been covered so extensively) and a whole lot of nothing when it comes to online participation and you quickly get to the point of "why bother". Expand
  14. JustinS.
    Feb 21, 2008
    4
    I like that they attempted to go back to the original Unreal Tournament, but this is just another "save the world" shooter game, and it's a bad one at that.
  15. MedievalMischief
    Jul 24, 2009
    1
    Unstable, half-hearted attempt of a console to PC port. Buyer beware. Be prepared for random freezing and frequent system lockups. Unresolved stability issues plague this game and have become even more unbearable since the 2.0 patch, 2.1 patch, and Titan Map Expansion. Bot AI is far below the standards of the Unreal Tournament 2004 release. The campaign mission briefing screen still has Unstable, half-hearted attempt of a console to PC port. Buyer beware. Be prepared for random freezing and frequent system lockups. Unresolved stability issues plague this game and have become even more unbearable since the 2.0 patch, 2.1 patch, and Titan Map Expansion. Bot AI is far below the standards of the Unreal Tournament 2004 release. The campaign mission briefing screen still has known unresolved sound stuttering and popping issues. Online play is even more unstable hence server populations are incredibly low save for bots. An Epic failure to resolve these issues lingers to this day over 20 months after release. Although the textures and models of this game look stunning the color palate is very bland and dull. Be advised the Unreal Tournament 2004 Editors Choice release is by far the best ever of the Unreal series and a far nicer looking and stable game. UT2004 still holds the title of the best FPS of all time. Expand
  16. VegardR.A
    Oct 24, 2009
    3
    Bad game... Its pretty sad. You just get owned by they who have played before
  17. JasonP.
    Nov 20, 2007
    0
    This is the worst version of UT to date, this game may well sound the death nell for the UT series. Many, Many people are not happy with it. Sure it will sell well, they'll make there money, but will it get the play time? Any game can sell well, look at the Sims, but sales figures don't make a good game, like UT2004, this will flop on the servers after a short time. R.I.P UT
  18. Monty
    Feb 14, 2008
    3
    I know Gears Of War uses the same engine as UT3 but does it need to look identicle to it. Good points. plays like other UT games : Pretty looking game. Bad Points at any given time when going into the server list only 3 servers have a ping below 100 and they are 98% of the time full the other 300 servers either have pings of above 300 or are just empty. UT3 was made for the Consols first I know Gears Of War uses the same engine as UT3 but does it need to look identicle to it. Good points. plays like other UT games : Pretty looking game. Bad Points at any given time when going into the server list only 3 servers have a ping below 100 and they are 98% of the time full the other 300 servers either have pings of above 300 or are just empty. UT3 was made for the Consols first and just ported over to the PC. this means that the menus are just awful. Its a real shame as this could have been a great online game but they allowed Gamespy to host the servers. Expand
  19. BarryS.
    Nov 27, 2007
    0
    The new features totally ruin the game and the character designs look like they have been ript of from gears of war crap game to be honest.
  20. PaulK
    Feb 19, 2009
    0
    This game is console tards.. should never have come to the PC, pretty much everything but the GFX is MORE sh.t than UT2004.. I'm giving it a 0 just for the simple fact there are nubtards who think this pile crap is worth a 10!. .pff nubs "Epic, you sold out. You make crap with Gears of War for console brainless twits and then you bring your 'experience' from that to UT3. This game is console tards.. should never have come to the PC, pretty much everything but the GFX is MORE sh.t than UT2004.. I'm giving it a 0 just for the simple fact there are nubtards who think this pile crap is worth a 10!. .pff nubs "Epic, you sold out. You make crap with Gears of War for console brainless twits and then you bring your 'experience' from that to UT3. You need to ask yourself again, who are the people that got you where you are today. There is a good game here, cant help to be with the UT formula still somewhat intact, but your rubbish menu;s, yes even after your 250mb patches, and GoW inspired character models (cant stand them) show that you have sold out to the console crowd. For some reason you thought big sales in consoles meant you made a good game so you could do the same on PC. Unfortunately for those more particular in their choice of game this is not enough." Expand
  21. MikoS.
    Nov 23, 2007
    0
    The recipe for Unreal Tournament 3: Take the previous installment in the series. Take out all the good game modes. Add more bad game modes. Add a painfully stupid and unnecessary plot. Make the difficulty balancing awkward and the multiplayer clunkier. Result: The first game I've ever met that has no reason whatsoever to exist. I would love to find every person who worked on this and The recipe for Unreal Tournament 3: Take the previous installment in the series. Take out all the good game modes. Add more bad game modes. Add a painfully stupid and unnecessary plot. Make the difficulty balancing awkward and the multiplayer clunkier. Result: The first game I've ever met that has no reason whatsoever to exist. I would love to find every person who worked on this and kick them in the crotch. I had genuine love for Unreal Tournament, and they've smashed it with a hammer and thrown every piece into a fire. Expand
  22. SimonB.
    Dec 25, 2007
    3
    I've owned every title in the unrel series from the orginal unreal up to unreal tournament 2004, having purchased this i can honestly say i wish it hadn't been made. OK so lets run through the game and see why i've come to this conclusion. Good Points: - VERY GOOD graphics (think BIOSHOCK sytle) - Nice new weapon design, and kept the favourites (sniper rifle, flack cannon, I've owned every title in the unrel series from the orginal unreal up to unreal tournament 2004, having purchased this i can honestly say i wish it hadn't been made. OK so lets run through the game and see why i've come to this conclusion. Good Points: - VERY GOOD graphics (think BIOSHOCK sytle) - Nice new weapon design, and kept the favourites (sniper rifle, flack cannon, etc.) - Cool new vehicles Bad Points: - Rubbish single player campaign, some god awfull story about the killing of your family and a race called the Necris (FTW). - Lost weapons (lightning gun, grenade launcher, spider-mine gun, etc.) - Lost game modes (Assault, bombing run, domination, etc.) - Nothing to do with the "tournament", your team is actually a rebel army, theres no money, prizes or fans involved. - Theres about 8 charecters in total in the game - Your team is non-negotiable - There is vertualy no customisable elements within the game, aside from your user name - The charecter graphics and world graphics look like theyve been copy'd and paste'd from gears or war (how fu*king cheap) - Online play and stats system is terable - Outslaught has been turned in to a pile of sh*te now known as "warfare" I don't petend to know it all, however these things lead me to give it this score. UT2004 any day. Expand
  23. MikeM.
    Jan 13, 2008
    3
    Its a decent engine with lots of holes. The game is horribley the same old stuff we;ve had for years, nothing dramatically different. After seeing how Epic Games has treated their fans and other businesses using the Unreal Engine, I've decided to give Epic a 3 on this game. They could have done a heck of a lot better.
  24. Mr.51
    Nov 23, 2007
    4
    I had an absolute blast with the previous versions of UT, but UT3 does not even come close to being as fun. While the game has pretty graphics and all these neat little features to show off the new Unreal Engine, it is almost like this was all at the sacrifice of the balanced, fun game play of UT versions past. I get the impression that Epic was so obsessed with making the game look like I had an absolute blast with the previous versions of UT, but UT3 does not even come close to being as fun. While the game has pretty graphics and all these neat little features to show off the new Unreal Engine, it is almost like this was all at the sacrifice of the balanced, fun game play of UT versions past. I get the impression that Epic was so obsessed with making the game look like Gears of War that they may have forgotten about everything else. It is great that there will be mods and everything that might introduce some improvements, but the core game itself should have been better than this. I have owned the game for only 4 days and I am already sick of it. By far the most disappointing game of the season, in my eyes. Expand
  25. SeamusB.
    Nov 28, 2007
    2
    Being a long-term fan of the Unreal series, I was very much looking forward to playing this latest entry. However, the gameplay is totally broken. Everything has been dumbed-down and generally ruined for anybody apart from the casual player. Assault is gone, and Onslaught has been streamlined to the point of being almost unplayable. The levels are smaller, more cramped and more confusing. Being a long-term fan of the Unreal series, I was very much looking forward to playing this latest entry. However, the gameplay is totally broken. Everything has been dumbed-down and generally ruined for anybody apart from the casual player. Assault is gone, and Onslaught has been streamlined to the point of being almost unplayable. The levels are smaller, more cramped and more confusing. There is less choice on almost every front. This has to be the only game Epic have done that is actually WORSE than UT2003. Simply put, I utterly hate this game, and wish I had downloaded it. At least then I wouldn't have spent 30 pounds. Expand
  26. May 20, 2012
    0
    I love-loved Unreal-Unreal 2-Unreal Tournament-Unreal Tournament 2004 and I hated this "Unreal Tournament III" I must say that I am a fan of unreal engine, engine is so beautiful and can work on low spec pcs and compatibility with windows xp and windows 7 is godlike, what I did not like in "Unreal Tournament III" is I could not see anything and I am not talking about engine I am talkingI love-loved Unreal-Unreal 2-Unreal Tournament-Unreal Tournament 2004 and I hated this "Unreal Tournament III" I must say that I am a fan of unreal engine, engine is so beautiful and can work on low spec pcs and compatibility with windows xp and windows 7 is godlike, what I did not like in "Unreal Tournament III" is I could not see anything and I am not talking about engine I am talking about design, colors, blurs, like all put in a blender I could not bear my self and torture my eyes with this game I played it for 1 hour and deleted it Fun - 0/10
    Gameplay - 0/10
    Controls - 0/10
    Graphics Design - 0/10
    Story - 0/10
    All Time Graphics - 10/10
    Sound - 4/10
    Music - 7/10
    Replayability - 0/10
    Graphics for its time - 10/10
    31/100
    Expand
  27. Dec 20, 2012
    2
    Good game for FPS players. Bad game for Unreal Tournament fans. This isn't a "real" UT, it is definetly a Gears of War FPS. Same concept, world design with Geow.
  28. Jun 28, 2013
    2
    A train wreck of a game and basically dead on release.

    Based on the incredibly good UT99 and 2004 games, I, like others, bought this on "day one". Within a couple hours of playing realized I'd been had in the worst way: a console controller had been jammed firmly up my crack. It exemplified the "lazy console port" trend which was popular at the time (and is thankfully finally
    A train wreck of a game and basically dead on release.

    Based on the incredibly good UT99 and 2004 games, I, like others, bought this on "day one". Within a couple hours of playing realized I'd been had in the worst way: a console controller had been jammed firmly up my crack.

    It exemplified the "lazy console port" trend which was popular at the time (and is thankfully finally starting to recede). Capped framerates, dumb-downed menus, wildly inconsistent performance, missing multiplayer modes, and one of the worst multiplayer connect menus ever. I remember a week into this game's launch there were one or two players per server basically server admins playing bots hoping someone would join.

    In the face of the avalanche of performance issues, EPIC's response was basically to blame PC gaming. What an incredibly stupid move.

    Eventually these issues were addressed and by the Titan patch it was finally worth playing. Still, without a critical mass of players there was no online community. No players no game.

    The colossal failure of Unreal Tournament 3 should be required reading for game developers and distributors.
    Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. The game's A-ticket attractions are the massive, ornate battlegrounds where opponents compete in objective-based clashes. Gorgeous alien landscapes play host to massive turf battles between factions vying for power nodes. These mêlées come stocked with a mind-boggling variety of weapons and vehicles, greatly reducing the rinse, lather, repeat burnout that comes in online shooters with less to do and smaller places to do it.
  2. Drop into servers, start killing people, it's so natural to habitual gamers these days that it's hard to quantify how familiar and welcome these experiences are. With the sheer range of death-mongering that UT3 provides, it's hard not to get into the spirit of things. So yeah, Unreal Tournament pretty much remains The Daddy: consistent, meaty, and just weird enough to survive.
  3. The game excels at everything from simple deathmatching to complex objective-driven campaigns. [Dec 2007, p.154]