Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Feb 9, 2012
    80
    Unstoppable Gorg's gloriously goofy, brash, and cheerful presentation is some of the most delicious 50s B-movie sci fi cheese since War of the Monsters on the Playstation 2.
  2. Feb 3, 2012
    72
    Unstoppable Gorg combines innovation and tradition in the tower defense sub-genre, featuring a complex single player campaign and paying tribute to the '50s sci-fi movies.
  3. Jan 19, 2012
    80
    Unstoppable Gorgs is a surprisingly satisfying game to play, thanks to its quirky presentation and smart use of satellite placement.
  4. Feb 22, 2012
    80
    Unstoppable Gorg is a wise investment, if you´ve got a knack for the Tower-Defense-genre and prefer your sci-fi a little bit trashy.
  5. Feb 14, 2012
    78
    Stylish, challenging, original, and nice to look at.
  6. Feb 8, 2012
    70
    There's plenty of style to go around, with an excellent foundation. Unstoppable Gorg provides a fresh new twist on the expected system; however, its limited selection of combat mechanics keeps it from truly taking off.
  7. Feb 6, 2012
    80
    Moving defense towers in orbits really is a nifty idea, and the graphics absolutely look right. Combined with the 50s retro charme, Unstoppable Gorg is a tower defense title I can recommend.
  8. Feb 2, 2012
    91
    Unstoppable Gorg is an enjoyable tower defense game, that is a visually entertaining to watch as it is fun to play.
  9. Feb 1, 2012
    76
    The incredible presentation sums up all known UFO-stereotypes and is a treasure trove for trash fans. The game itself is far less spectacular albeit showing some interesting ideas. Plants vs. Zombies still reigns supreme, but Unstoppable Gorg delivers an exciting new look on the genre.
  10. Jan 28, 2012
    70
    Unstoppable Gorg is a surprising tower defense game. The cutscenes are unique and in perfect '50s style. Challenging and interesting.
  11. Jan 27, 2012
    72
    Quotation forthcoming.
  12. Jan 26, 2012
    77
    A twist on the popular genre of tower defense games in which the foundations remain, but adding a major strategic component with the possibility to change the defensive lines in real time. If you like this kind of games and you love sci fi, can not miss in your collection.
  13. Jan 26, 2012
    75
    The tower defense genre has been growing strong and if you're addicted, I suggest you check out Unstoppable Gorg on Steam and give it a try.
  14. Jan 25, 2012
    40
    Even if it does look really cool with its robots, aliens, and model spaceships, Unstoppable Gorg is just an unbalanced mess of a tower defense game. It seems to spend more time setting the player up to fail, than to offer a compelling reason to keep playing.
  15. Jan 24, 2012
    65
    The idea of rotating orbits and fantastic aesthetics make Unstoppable Gorg feel striking and unique to start, but the rest of the game doesn't live up to that great first impression.
  16. Jan 24, 2012
    75
    Unstoppable Gorg is a nice intergalactic tower defense, a tribute to those sci-fi movies from the fifties, with challenging gameplay and funny situations.
  17. Jan 23, 2012
    85
    For ten bucks, you get a pretty enjoyable tower defense game. The cut scenes are unique and full of 1950s goofiness and hot pin-up girls that give off a nice charm. The game itself is rather enjoyable as well, even if the later story levels get rather difficult. If you're into tower defense games, you should really check this game out. It's fun, strategic and really charming.
  18. Jan 20, 2012
    75
    You get a reasonable amount of game for your $9.99. This endearing tribute to the future of the past is a rewarding game that challenges your wits and your reflexes. Despite the game's title, you can stop the Gorg; and although it isn't easy, it's certainly worth doing.
  19. Jan 20, 2012
    80
    Unstoppable Gorg is a challenging, loveable, and interesting take on the tower-defense formula. It may have a somewhat limited appeal for anyone but the genre enthusiast who is tired of building mazes out of turrets, but once you switch your micromanagement mindset from passive to active, you'll find yourself coming back time and time again.
  20. Jan 19, 2012
    80
    Look, Unstoppable Gorg is a pretty good tower defense game. The graphics are flashy, and the mix of towers and enemies are good, but I often found I was playing the game to get to the cutscenes, not to enjoy the game.
  21. May 21, 2012
    75
    In the end, Unstoppable Gorg is a fun tower defense title.
  22. Mar 23, 2012
    73
    The game's later levels get brutally devious, and the trial and error can become tiresome. [Apr 2012, p.113]
  23. Mar 13, 2012
    78
    Nice cinematics, too laborious a game. [March 2012]
  24. Mar 9, 2012
    70
    Unstoppable Gorg provides a new and exciting take on tower defense. It's a much more "active" game than most tower defense games, because you constantly have to work to keep the turrets in optimal positions, and it can be really really tough at times too. But it is highly addictive, and the presentation is lovely.
  25. 60
    Nice try to make an unusual tower defense game with a touch of old sci-fi movies suffers from exaggerated difficulty and lack of online rosters. [Feb 2012]
  26. Feb 14, 2012
    70
    Unstoppable Gorg differs from other tower defense games and offers enough content and variety to provide a couple of fun evenings. [March 2012, p.63]
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Jan 20, 2012
    6
    I like TDs, ive always liked TDs, so after watching the TB "review" of this game i thought this was a no-brainer, i just gotta have it. But, after spending about two hours in the game i get struck by buyers remorse. Its a very neat game in some aspects: The graphics and style of the game with the 40's inspired cutscenes and general laoyt are fun. The dynamic aspect of the game is a great idea and i bet alot of people will applaud the game for just that. But well, i dont like it that much to be honest. You see i hate juggling in TDs, i hate when the game forces me to always replace towers to make it optimal for just that wave, i much more prefer to build a solid defense and watch if kill everything. The dynamic mechanic here where you move around the towers all the time is sorta like juggling, and i just feel stressed and annoyed when i have to "kite" an enemy with my towers. And since i dont like that part, its kinda hard to like the game since its such an major part of the game. I guess i will play thru it, but im not having as much fun as i thought i would. A pricetag of 9â Full Review »
  2. Jan 21, 2012
    9
    Back in the day I used to love TDs. As the genre got more saturated and more and more copies of the same recipe were released, I got bored. It's great to see that recently there have been new titles which introduce new aspects to the already boring "build and wait" mechanics.

    In my books Unstoppable Gorg is a 9. The main story could be a bit longer and as a PC game it could be a little bit flashier. Overlapping enemies are also sometimes a bit annoying, as a bigger creep might hide something else under it. However for me the pro's outweigh the cons. I love the presentation and the oldies sci-fi. There's also a huge amount of replayability, ensuring that even if I get bored after a long session, there's still alot to come back to. The game keeps introducing new interesting stuff as the story goes and especially the last couple of weapons are extremely fun to use.
    I love that the game isn't too casual and offers a real challenge although it's very easy to get into.

    I wish there was a multiplayer mode, like a co-op or something though.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 3, 2012
    8
    Unstoppable Gorg is a great game, in my opinion. It kept the old fashioned tower defense action and excitement while delivering a fresh breath of air to the genre. The music was pretty catchy too, even though it got repetitive after a while, and the stereotypical horrible 50's sci-fi "special effects" made me chuckle along with the narrator. The only problem is that, depending on how you play, some of the towers were kind of superfluous. It was also a pretty challenging game without being crushingly difficult. I'm not gonna lie, I'm kind of addicted to it. Full Review »