Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Jun 24, 2014
    73
    Seen purely as a game Valiant Hearts is average at best. But it's not just a game, but an interactive and therefore sustained-history lesson about one of the darkest chapters in human history.
  2. CD-Action
    Oct 22, 2014
    70
    It would have been nice if the developers could decide what game they want to make. On one hand, we have a failed attempt to tell an engaging story. On the other hand, series of puzzles would benefit from a higher difficulty level. Valiant Hearts is disappointing, but still not bad. [Sept 2014, p.56]
  3. Jul 12, 2014
    70
    A game with its fair share of strengths and weaknesses invites us on a trip inside the WW1 trenches to see the real heroes of the war.
  4. Jun 25, 2014
    70
    Valiant Hearts works from a novel concept, and is loaded with brilliant ideas — hell, it's great just to see a war from the perspective of a country other than America—but Ubisoft's lack of self-control ultimately makes it less impactful than it should have been. It's still a worthwhile experience, though it could have been so much better if Valiant Hearts left us wanting more.
  5. Jun 24, 2014
    70
    The subject material is ghastly, but Valiant Hearts has the right mix of emotion and entertainment to make enduring the Great War worthwhile.
  6. Jun 24, 2014
    70
    While Valiant Hearts struggles to make sense of itself as a game, in its odd, playful innocence and in its focus on four friends (and a dog) it at least offers a fleeting human perspective on a new kind of war that turned out to be far, far worse in its mechanised violence than anybody was quite expecting.
  7. Jun 24, 2014
    65
    Visually stunning but mechanically lacklustre, Valiant Hearts gets in the way of its own storytelling.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 560 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 80
  2. Negative: 4 out of 80
  1. Jun 26, 2014
    10
    Saw the trailer, bought the game, and I'm delighted with it.
    Graphic is top of the line. I can't remember when I was last time so amazed by
    Saw the trailer, bought the game, and I'm delighted with it.
    Graphic is top of the line. I can't remember when I was last time so amazed by 2D. It really fits the setting, mixing and changing of colors depending of situation is stunning. Sound effects, while not overwhelming, are done at right times, and done right way.
    Gameplay is also very good, this is a casual game with not too difficult puzzles and arcade sections. Just right. It reminds me a bit of "lost vikings", and I loved that game. Hours of fun on day one :).
    And with a price of 15 euros (live in Serbia) for top product, on day one!!!??? It's a steal :).
    Overall, I'm one (very) happy camper with this buy. Pure 10
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 29, 2014
    0
    Another mediocre game brought to you by Ubisoft. It is just like Child of Light, which is advertised as a special genre, but just ends upAnother mediocre game brought to you by Ubisoft. It is just like Child of Light, which is advertised as a special genre, but just ends up boring, repetitive and bring nothing new to the table. After the epic failure of Watch Dog, you can now understand games with nothing special are kept on published by the same company again and again, just for one simple purpose. Full Review »
  3. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    Valiant Hearts: The Great War jest gra która ma ładna oprawę graficzna graficzną , jak się zacznie grac to trudno przestać. Wciąg z butamiValiant Hearts: The Great War jest gra która ma ładna oprawę graficzna graficzną , jak się zacznie grac to trudno przestać. Wciąg z butami POLECAM !!!!!!! Full Review »