Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 108 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Created by the developers of Europa Universalis and Hearts of Iron, Victoria 2 is a grand strategy game set during the colonial era of the 19th century and is scheduled for release in Q3 2010. Gamers will guide their nation from the era of absolute monarchies in the early 19th century,Created by the developers of Europa Universalis and Hearts of Iron, Victoria 2 is a grand strategy game set during the colonial era of the 19th century and is scheduled for release in Q3 2010. Gamers will guide their nation from the era of absolute monarchies in the early 19th century, through expansion and colonization in hopes of becoming a truly great power by the dawn of the 20th century. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Saying that it stands head-and-shoulders above all of the scant competition for grand-strategy kingship almost goes without saying.
  2. Victoria 2 proves that "games for brainiacs" can be accessible and fun. It doesn't have enough strength to steal spotlight from Civilization V, but you won't get a better game this year if you prefer more serious entertainment.
  3. A few too many minor annoyances gang up to keep Paradox's most polished release from reaching greatness. [Nov 2010, p.76]
  4. Oct 27, 2010
    70
    Addictive, nerdy and totally epic strategy. [Dec 2010, p.56]
  5. As impossibly complex as it is deep, but running your own empire proves to be hugely engrossing for those that put in the man hours.
  6. Extremely patient gamers with a soft spot for 19th Century strategies are welcome here to enjoy the Golden Age. No other human being should try this title – by no means. [Issue#195]

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 32
  2. Negative: 7 out of 32
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    I consider myself well read of history. I love to read about the period which this game takes place and have always done the 'what if'I consider myself well read of history. I love to read about the period which this game takes place and have always done the 'what if' senarios in my head. What if the CSA won the Civil War? What if Germany never unified? In this game I set out to play those what ifs. I played as the House of Lippe (a german province) never unifying with the rest of germany. Instead I conquered it. conquered parts of poland and later became a great power. I ended the game colonizing africa and being a super power. This game is full of those what ifs. Expand
  2. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game has lots of depth and really impressed me! But I think it was kind of falsely advertised, as from first glance I thought is was part of the total war series, or at least something similar. When I got it home I had a shock but in many ways a good one! This Game was memorable, but not as good as the total war series. Close though Expand
  3. Dec 5, 2010
    9
    The other reviews have said it all Yes, version 1.0 was buggy, but version 1.2 has made this a remarkable game - and Paradox doesn't stopThe other reviews have said it all Yes, version 1.0 was buggy, but version 1.2 has made this a remarkable game - and Paradox doesn't stop adding to their games for long after their release, so prepare for it to get even better! Expand
  4. Jun 11, 2012
    8
    Oh, and by the way, the game isn't confusing at all. Most of the little numbers and windows don't really matter; take a liberal marketOh, and by the way, the game isn't confusing at all. Most of the little numbers and windows don't really matter; take a liberal market government if you don't like building factories. Play as France your first time; the game basically plays itself. There's also plenty of hotkeys for most symbols.. Why tell yourself you're overwhelmed? Just decide to learn. Expand
  5. Aug 7, 2013
    7
    everyone giving 10 is out of there mind, even 9 is too much, I'd say 8 or 7 and I'm being generous here, the game is too tedious and lackeveryone giving 10 is out of there mind, even 9 is too much, I'd say 8 or 7 and I'm being generous here, the game is too tedious and lack imagination, pride of nations did everything better, too bad it suffer from long turn processing problem Expand
  6. Apr 26, 2013
    5
    A step back from its predecessor in terms of depth and immersion. Many mechanics have been added that replicate existing mechanics, such asA step back from its predecessor in terms of depth and immersion. Many mechanics have been added that replicate existing mechanics, such as spheres of influence and social movements, and many have been rendered largely pointless, like consciousness. Much of this seems to have stemmed from the inclusion of a libertarian on the development team: as an overtly political game which attempted to portray the world according to Marxism, the overall vision has suffered. Expand
  7. Sep 13, 2011
    0
    Paradox games is one of my most disliked game companies. Victoria 2 is a pile of jetsam, the game just don`t got what it takes. I keep askingParadox games is one of my most disliked game companies. Victoria 2 is a pile of jetsam, the game just don`t got what it takes. I keep asking myself why did I buy this game, I will never get another Paradox game again. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews