Victoria II PC

Victoria II Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 130 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Created by the developers of Europa Universalis and Hearts of Iron, Victoria 2 is a grand strategy game set during the colonial era of the 19th century and is scheduled for release in Q3 2010. Gamers will guide their nation from the era of absolute monarchies in the early 19th century,Created by the developers of Europa Universalis and Hearts of Iron, Victoria 2 is a grand strategy game set during the colonial era of the 19th century and is scheduled for release in Q3 2010. Gamers will guide their nation from the era of absolute monarchies in the early 19th century, through expansion and colonization in hopes of becoming a truly great power by the dawn of the 20th century. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Saying that it stands head-and-shoulders above all of the scant competition for grand-strategy kingship almost goes without saying.
  2. Victoria 2 proves that "games for brainiacs" can be accessible and fun. It doesn't have enough strength to steal spotlight from Civilization V, but you won't get a better game this year if you prefer more serious entertainment.
  3. PC Gamer
    76
    A few too many minor annoyances gang up to keep Paradox's most polished release from reaching greatness. [Nov 2010, p.76]
  4. PC PowerPlay
    Oct 27, 2010
    70
    Addictive, nerdy and totally epic strategy. [Dec 2010, p.56]
  5. As impossibly complex as it is deep, but running your own empire proves to be hugely engrossing for those that put in the man hours.
  6. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    50
    Extremely patient gamers with a soft spot for 19th Century strategies are welcome here to enjoy the Golden Age. No other human being should try this title – by no means. [Issue#195]

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 34
  2. Negative: 7 out of 34
  1. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    I consider myself well read of history. I love to read about the period which this game takes place and have always done the 'what if'I consider myself well read of history. I love to read about the period which this game takes place and have always done the 'what if' senarios in my head. What if the CSA won the Civil War? What if Germany never unified? In this game I set out to play those what ifs. A veryy good game! A very good Stratgie Game! Expand
  2. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game has lots of depth and really impressed me! But I think it was kind of falsely advertised, as from first glance I thought is was part of the total war series, or at least something similar. When I got it home I had a shock but in many ways a good one! This Game was memorable, but not as good as the total war series. Close though Expand
  3. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    I consider myself well read of history. I love to read about the period which this game takes place and have always done the 'what if'I consider myself well read of history. I love to read about the period which this game takes place and have always done the 'what if' senarios in my head. What if the CSA won the Civil War? What if Germany never unified? In this game I set out to play those what ifs. I played as the House of Lippe (a german province) never unifying with the rest of germany. Instead I conquered it. conquered parts of poland and later became a great power. I ended the game colonizing africa and being a super power. This game is full of those what ifs. Expand
  4. Jun 11, 2012
    8
    Oh, and by the way, the game isn't confusing at all. Most of the little numbers and windows don't really matter; take a liberal marketOh, and by the way, the game isn't confusing at all. Most of the little numbers and windows don't really matter; take a liberal market government if you don't like building factories. Play as France your first time; the game basically plays itself. There's also plenty of hotkeys for most symbols.. Why tell yourself you're overwhelmed? Just decide to learn. Expand
  5. Jan 8, 2012
    7
    This is a game that fits into a very thin niche in the strategy games' market, and as such it either works well for you or it doesn't. What itThis is a game that fits into a very thin niche in the strategy games' market, and as such it either works well for you or it doesn't. What it does it does very well and what it doesn't do...well it just doesn't do it for some people. If you are a huge strategy game fan (especially of other Paradox titles) or a real history buff then you will probably enjoy this game, but if you're more of a Call of Duty fan and looking to get into a different genre while you wait for the next shooter then this game is definitely not for you. The tutorial is rather boring and all text with no hands on experimentation and this leads to a lot of frustration and searching on the forums. I think the devs wanted you to experiment in-game and play with your own style and in this forces you to do so as a lot of the game is learn as you go, but the first few hours can be very frustrating. The interface is very disheartening even for a seasoned strategy player but it soon becomes your best friend and the more information the better. Diplomacy is definitely this game's strong point over competing RTS games, indeed if you wanted you could play the entire game without going to war and still accomplish many of your nations objectives. That's not to say warfare isn't an integral part of the game, but you are presented with many options for working around a rival nation, the Prussian/Austrian Campaign is especially enjoyable in this regard. Warfare is fairly well done, however you take no part in the battle and the strategy is in getting all the right technology, luring an enemy army into unfavourable conditions, maintaining supply lines, and trying to keep your economy running enough to keep your armies moving. It is really focused on the grand strategy where winning a battle takes a back seat to winning the war. The economy is also very well done and it's management is absolutely critical to your success or failure. All in all I enjoyed Victoria 2 and if you have a lot of time and patience on your hands then you probably will too, but know that you get what you put into this game and if you put in little you will get little in return. Expand
  6. Apr 1, 2014
    5
    This game is a great strategy game except for the fact that it is totally broken. I have had to play a shattered game that crashes every 10This game is a great strategy game except for the fact that it is totally broken. I have had to play a shattered game that crashes every 10 minutes, scrambles text and ruins the experience. Not to even mention the fact that if you buy it on steam it is outright unplayable until you go into the game files and delete files which if you mess up will ruin your game.... Expand
  7. Sep 13, 2011
    0
    Paradox games is one of my most disliked game companies. Victoria 2 is a pile of jetsam, the game just don`t got what it takes. I keep askingParadox games is one of my most disliked game companies. Victoria 2 is a pile of jetsam, the game just don`t got what it takes. I keep asking myself why did I buy this game, I will never get another Paradox game again. Expand

See all 34 User Reviews