Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Nov 25, 2013
    80
    If you miss those old-school games where beating just a stage was already an achievement, where you'll die if you don't pay all the attention it deserves, this is the experience you're looking for.
  2. PC PowerPlay
    Oct 28, 2013
    80
    Volgarr does difficulty really well - but there's nothing here for anyone who doesn't like the taste of their own tears. [Nov 2013, p.87]
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    80
    Volgarr The Viking is a very difficult but enjoyable platform game. You have to try it if you have loved Rastan Saga or another platform arcade game from the eighties/nineties.
  4. Sep 23, 2013
    80
    Like a drill sergeant, Volgarr the Viking is here to yank us out of our comfort zone and put us through hell unending. If you survive, you'll feel like the biggest badass of all time.
  5. Sep 19, 2013
    80
    Volgarr the Viking is a brutal throwback to classic game design. Those wanting a challenge and who don’t mind repetition should not miss this.
  6. Sep 16, 2013
    80
    Despite the lack of leniency, this game is definitely worth losing your hair over. It’ll kick you in the ass several times, but that’s honestly the best part about it.
  7. Pelit (Finland)
    May 11, 2014
    77
    Völgarr the Viking is challenging, which is nice, but there are too few checkpoints. Repetition is never, ever fun. [Feb 2014]
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 30
  2. Negative: 7 out of 30
  1. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    It does exactly what it's supposed to do!

    It's an homage to the difficult hardcore platformers of the 90's. If you aren't familiar with
    It does exactly what it's supposed to do!

    It's an homage to the difficult hardcore platformers of the 90's.
    If you aren't familiar with any snes or nes platformer, then you might as well give up before starting the game.
    The controls are reminiscent of the old Castlevania games.
    There's really not much else to say other than that it's well designed in an old-school kind of way.

    There are no instructions in the game other than an intro level that's a lot like Megaman X's intro level, so you're forced to learn all the mechanics while playing. This is not a bad thing at all and it just strengthens the old-school feel.

    So, to sum up gameplay: It's perfect.

    I wish the music was a little more energetic, though. I know what it's inspired by, but at times I feel it just doesn't fit what's going on in-game.

    The graphics are great, but seem a little muddy. Hopefully, they could add some kind of filter option to turn of that muddiness and keep the sprites pixelated.

    If you plan to buy this game; beware its insane difficulty. It honestly hurts my face.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 14, 2013
    6
    I get it: Back in the good old days, games were hard and it took skill and dedication to beat, while today's gaming landscape of save pointsI get it: Back in the good old days, games were hard and it took skill and dedication to beat, while today's gaming landscape of save points and auto-regenerate baby players toward the end of the game. And today, there are many excellent games that hark back to the difficulty of early gaming, such as Super Meat Boy, Spelunky, Teleglitch, and Rogue Legacy. Volgarr the Viking, however, revives some of the most frustrating game elements of the time.

    First, a lack of checkpoints mixed with long levels means that players have to replay the parts of the levels that they've already mastered again and again before reaching the really difficult parts. Better games tend to avoid this repetitiveness with shorter levels or random elements.

    Second, Volgarr's jumps cannot be controlled mid-air. Some people might not mind this, but I found it frustrating, especially when there are nearly blind jumps onto small platforms (I'm looking at you, third level).

    Finally, and this one is minor, but there is no way to attack upward. The game design loves to have enemies jump on top of you, and when they do, there is no way to defend. Even Rastan had upward attacking!

    Ultimately, I would have played this game for a lot longer than I did if only my first complaint were addressed. If you loved Ghosts n' Goblins, Karnov, or any other of the old-school platformers that no one ever beat, you'll probably like this one, but I just don't feel like playing the same mostly-boring levels over and over.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 23, 2013
    1
    If ripping off awful, outdated games is a good thing, well done Volgarr. The graphics are a mess, with no real style or consistency, theIf ripping off awful, outdated games is a good thing, well done Volgarr. The graphics are a mess, with no real style or consistency, the controls are not fit for purpose and as mentioned, perhaps the worst part is that it's just unoriginal.

    Retro gaming is about the best parts of gaming heritage, but Volgarr is just the worst. To be avoided.
    Full Review »