VVVVVV Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 182 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: VVVVVV is a retro styled 2D platformer by Terry Cavanagh, creator of dozens of free games. You play as the fearless leader of a team of dimension exploring scientists who inadvertently crash, and are separated. The game involves exploring the strange world you've found yourself in, andVVVVVV is a retro styled 2D platformer by Terry Cavanagh, creator of dozens of free games. You play as the fearless leader of a team of dimension exploring scientists who inadvertently crash, and are separated. The game involves exploring the strange world you've found yourself in, and reuniting your friends.

    VVVVVV explores one simple game mechanic: you cannot jump - instead, you reverse your own gravity at the press of a button. The game focuses on playing with this mechanic in a variety of interesting ways.

    The game is designed not to artificially gate your progress. In VVVVVV there are no locks, no power-ups, no switches, nothing to stop you progressing except the challenges themselves.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Sep 12, 2011
    100
    It's Terry Cavanagh's best game to date, and one of the best platformers I've ever played. If you have any interest in challenging platformers whatsoever, you'd be doing yourself a disservice not to pick up VVVVVV.
  2. Sep 12, 2011
    100
    It's just too bad VVVVVV didn't come out 25 years ago.
  3. Sep 12, 2011
    90
    A game that expertly treads the thin line between frustration and satisfaction. [Issue#31, p.52]
  4. 80
    It's as if a time machine puts you in the year 1984. Stylish retro platformer offers fast and variable playability, especially for all speed runners who like to push the limits. [Feb 2010]
  5. Sep 12, 2011
    80
    Look past its lo-fi style and you'll realise its production values are hardly stingy, with unlockable time trials and other Easter-egg modes, and generally slick presentation. More to the point, it's excellent for its entire length. How many big-budget developments can say that?
  6. Sep 12, 2011
    80
    VVVVVV's fusion of styles is exactly what lends it its endless playability; there's not a dull moment to be had in this tight, rewarding and above all blisteringly fun package.
  7. Sep 12, 2011
    68
    Nothing VVVVVV does is actually new or different. [May 2010, p.91]

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 58
  2. Negative: 7 out of 58
  1. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    Very Fun Game! The retro-esque gravity defying platformer VVVVVV takes one back to the days of better gaming -- where skill actually mattersVery Fun Game! The retro-esque gravity defying platformer VVVVVV takes one back to the days of better gaming -- where skill actually matters because the reward is worth it. You'll find the game-play difficult but not overly so and the payoff of finding new areas or making an "impossible" maneuver worthwhile. The music gives me goosebumps and fits in quite well with the game -- that of exploring space in an strange and unknown dimension to find your crew-mates. Precision platforming -- retro style -- at its best! 10/10 Collapse
  2. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    A short but unforgettable retro platformer adventure. Although it is short, this game was the only 8-bit style game to actually touch meA short but unforgettable retro platformer adventure. Although it is short, this game was the only 8-bit style game to actually touch me emotionally. It wasn't the story that did it, it was the music. Sometimes i argue that this game is actually 3D, for the music adds the third dimension. It is the best chiptune music i have ever heard, and it is what motivates you to keep playing onward no matter how difficult the situation. Best platformer ive played in years. Expand
  3. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    I was very impressed with this game. The main game is low-medium difficulty and the extra medals are medium-hard so you can go as hardcore asI was very impressed with this game. The main game is low-medium difficulty and the extra medals are medium-hard so you can go as hardcore as you want to. When I was near-finished I thought the game felt a tad short but I think it was more that I just wanted to keep playing which is obviously a good thing. At the end with 100% completion I had racked up 6 hours of game time, which I'd think is fairly average for the price. Expand
  4. Jan 7, 2011
    8
    My initial reaction to this game was "No jump? What do you mean no jump?" but the original gravity switching concept works seamlessly andMy initial reaction to this game was "No jump? What do you mean no jump?" but the original gravity switching concept works seamlessly and makes for a fun and challenging experience. For its price you get a decent amount of playtime, especially with the 20 Shiny Trinkets to collect. It's worth playing just to try the "Doing things the hard way challenge". The sense of achievement when you do it is unreal. All in all, a fun cheap, interesting game. Well worth the money. Expand
  5. NLS
    Jan 21, 2014
    8
    VERY nice platform game. Has a distinctive Commodore 64 feeling (duh!) and works well.
    I really feel I am on my C64. This can only be good.
    VERY nice platform game. Has a distinctive Commodore 64 feeling (duh!) and works well.
    I really feel I am on my C64. This can only be good.
    Not much else to say. Pure arcade fun.
    Expand
  6. May 8, 2012
    7
    VVVVVV is a solid retro-PC styled platformer with some clever writing and some clever puzzles. The soundtrack is great, and there's a lot ofVVVVVV is a solid retro-PC styled platformer with some clever writing and some clever puzzles. The soundtrack is great, and there's a lot of replaybility if you like the mechanics, with user created levels and other options. My primary complaint is that the controls were a bit touchy for my liking, and in a game of this difficulty, that can be the difference maker. Not for everyone, as this will test the patience of gamers of less than lightning quick reflexes or puzzle solving skills - But for even the talented finger mashers, there will be a lot of trial and error. Expand
  7. Jun 1, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't know why i can't save!?? This game makes my steam window shaking all the time!!! And when i'm using T-Chinese input method the captain becomes crazy!!! That small man can't stop going left!!! Yes the plot is great but it should be able to be played. Expand

See all 58 User Reviews