Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Feb 6, 2013
    90
    A true exemplar of intelligent game design, Waking Mars is a compelling and imaginative masterpiece. An absolute must-play. [Feb 2013, p.74]
  2. Jan 18, 2013
    80
    An original simulator of fictitious ecosystem, based on genuine science, that's been attracting the inner explorer in you, well in fact your inner grower. You will experience all of this in an intelligent and in some places a very impressive mature sci-fi.
  3. Feb 8, 2013
    73
    A calming, likeable adventure with an engaging premise, but Waking Mars’s roots could go a little deeper.
  4. Jan 29, 2013
    70
    If the developers were a bit more creative with the concept, they could have turned the game into a great puzzle in a sandbox-style environment with terraforming and freedom of exploration. Alas, Waking Mars as it is now has neither decent puzzles nor sandbox gameplay, although if you're itching to play a god-sim, this one will do nicely.
  5. Feb 6, 2013
    65
    It worked much better as an iOS game than it does on PC. [CD-Action 02/2013, p.69]
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Dec 22, 2012
    8
    Its nice to play a platformer where you're not just shooting stuff up. I enjoyed the fact that it had a science theme. Waking Mars is a relaxing, not too difficult puzzle/mystery game. It took me less than 6 hours to finish. The music is quite good, and the story kept me interested. The graphics have a unique style but could have been better in places. My big complaint was that many of the caverns looked similar and the animation could use help. Though for the price, the game is a good value and there's really not much to complain about. I would recommend it for someone who wants something a little more cerebral... Full Review »
  2. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    Waking Mars is a unique game. It's very diffrent from most games, because instead of killing, shooting, and destroying, your goal is to develop the devestated Martian ecosystem. It does not take long to become immersed, and it becomes difficult to leave the game. I found myself driven to explore, and solve the interesting mysteries that you begin to find. The dialoge is a bit long, but it is very interesting, and I often find myself wishing there were more of it. The characters are very well written, and aren't the sterotypical cast of most games. The most fascinating aspect of the game is that you have to play the scientist, and learn about how the ecosystem interacts. An amazing thing about the development of the game is the effort that the developers went through to make it scientifically accurate. You simply do not find the mumbo-jumble found in other games. The developers spent a lot of effort in this, and it shows. Thus, as long as you immerse yourself (which isn't hard to do), you will love this game. Full Review »
  3. Jul 27, 2013
    7
    I was pleasantly surprised by Waking Mars. It is a fun puzzle-platformer that is (obviously) set on Mars. you play the role of a scientist who is searching a labyrinth of caves on Mars for alien life. The story itself is actually decent and the voice actors portray their characters well, I just found Amani and ART (who seems to be a bit too much like Claptrap from the Borderlands series) to be a bit annoying and I sometimes skipped through their dialogue because of that. The gameplay is quite fluid and fun. You get seeds from various Martian plants and use them to increase the "biomass" of each level. Once each level reaches a certain level of biomass, you can advance to the next level. It doesn't sound very fun, but it actually is. The game falters in its graphics and musical score. You'll be staring at bland, orange graphics for pretty much the entire game. There is very little, if any, interesting set pieces or backgrounds. Some people found the soundtrack to be good, but i honestly found it to be quite bland and repetitive. These shortcomings don't completely detract from the overall experience. Waking Mars remains an enjoyable 2D pluzzle-platformer. Full Review »