Wanderlust: Rebirth Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Wanderlust: Rebirth is an online four player co-op arcade-action RPG set in the uniquely crafted fantasy world, Valandria. The heroes are summoned to Westhaven Arena to prove their worth as heroes of old legend.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Aug 20, 2012
    88
    Wanderlust: Rebirth blends classicism and innovation, resulting in a truly excellent cooperative RPG.
  2. Aug 23, 2012
    60
    Wanderlust has few redeeming moments and is ultimately hard to recommend.
  3. PC PowerPlay
    Oct 11, 2012
    60
    Has its pieces of heart in the right place, but its unholy retro-modern mechanics will leave you unsatisfied. [Oct 2012, p.79]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 7 out of 11
  1. Aug 1, 2012
    8
    A wonderful old school RPG.
    Good Points:
    Nostalgic overload - You liked the Mana games? Or Chrono Trigger? Wanderlust: Rebirth is a game for
    A wonderful old school RPG.
    Good Points:
    Nostalgic overload - You liked the Mana games? Or Chrono Trigger? Wanderlust: Rebirth is a game for you
    Easy to learn: The tutorial is easily understood and well made, IF you are not afraid of READING.
    Fun to play: The single player mode is fun, the gameplay is fast and the combo mechanics are great. spend hours to find out all the combos and I'm not done! The spell system is quite unique and fun, combine runes of a runecircle to create spells and cast them with left or rightclick. You are never alone! So often used phrase...But you really are never alone, despite you want to be. In singleplayer you get a npc party to aid your quests, you can toggle them off via menu if the game seems to easy for you.
    The Multiplayer: Gather with up to 4 people and let the carnage begin! The multiplayer is just awesome me and my friends can't stop playing! Our Tank has a freaking lot to do keeping us away from the enemy or the other way round ;)
    Crafting: The crafting is easy understood, simply select the blueprint and every needed part...finished. Even if the crafting itself is easy most of the ingredients are rare and crafting a weapon becomes a real challenge...I like it this way, you build up an relationship to your crafted things.

    Negativ: The music can be annoying, as it is kinda repeatativ.
    The menu: It would have been better if you could use your mouse for other things than simply aiming.
    The graphics: You NEED to like the oldschool rpgs. If you don't the game looks crappy to you.
    (I personally enjoyed the graphics and the details given at many points)

    If you liked the good old times, you will like Wanderlust: Rebirth. The class system, the rune system...Everything about this game.
    Collapse
  2. Dec 1, 2013
    8
    This game is an old school rpg inspired by various 16 bit games.

    The controls take sometime to get used to, and this game from the start
    This game is an old school rpg inspired by various 16 bit games.

    The controls take sometime to get used to, and this game from the start tries to teach you the basics, but then you are on your own.

    If you are one of those players that expects the game babysit you from the start till the end, then don´t pick this game up, this is game aimed at people who play the game several times till they get used to the controls and they find a character class they like.

    The game difficulty also gets increasingly harder as the game goes on, so don´t judge it it on the first chapters and make sure to make use of the block key.

    The user interface is not the best, but it does it job and it provides with enough information to the player.

    Overall, I think the greatest strength of this game is combat, it can be hard at times and unforgiving, but once you understand the monster combat patterns and each monster does, you should be able to do well.
    Expand
  3. Dec 9, 2012
    8
    A lot of what some of these reviewers have posted is actually incorrect or misleading information. All 4 character classes can be played withA lot of what some of these reviewers have posted is actually incorrect or misleading information. All 4 character classes can be played with a controller. People who say there is no strategy to the game is obviously only playing on normal mode and completing chapters at 50% ratings. If you want to get 100% on chapters, you must use strategies to get a lot of awards to hit that high %. Epic mode is ruthless, and all the players that just hack-n-slash their way through normal mode gets stopped instantly once they hit epic mode.

    There is a fix for the memory issues, and it is detailed in the FAQ; simply run Steam as admin to resolve these issues.

    Port forwarding is an issue in nearly all online games that do not run through one large central server. Rating a game down because it requires port-forwarding knowledge is a bit unfair considering port-forwarding has been a necessity in online games for years. If there was some easy/magic way around it, then that would defeat one of the purposes of routers.

    What a lot of these reviews fail to mention is that Wanderlust sports several game modes: PvP (team deathmatch and relic rush modes), story mode (normal, hard, and epic modes), and crawl mode (with lots of goodies). It also includes 3 different endings, bunch of items to collect/craft/and socket, 4 character classes that all play differently from each other. 44 different types of enemies that fight differently from each other, as well as 4 secret boss encounters.

    All in all, if in doubt jump on the main website and grab the demo for yourself.
    Expand
  4. Feb 20, 2013
    1
    I'll update this when I have the heart to bother with this game again. The game play is interesting enough so far and is in a style I likeI'll update this when I have the heart to bother with this game again. The game play is interesting enough so far and is in a style I like but so far the execution seems like a joke.

    I run this game through steam from launch it took upwards of 2 minutes to actually load. This is on a machine that loads Borderlands 2 in a minute or less. No biggie but feels weird.

    The game prompts me to press 'A' to start the game a big green button that should look familiar to anyone who has ever seen an X-Box. However the game does not recognize my controller. I play 5+ games on the PC on my controller (borderlands 2, super meat boy, braid...) all of em work. First time every time no hassle. Maybe I'm pampered or maybe I think indie company shouldn't offer features they can't support. I don't mind playing games on the keyboard and mouse, but when I picked the game up to play on a controller, and the game says it uses a controller and IT JUST WON'T WORK, I honestly can't think of much else. The game kinda goes right by me not a lot of fun.

    Quit wasting my time with your technical problems.
    -A note from gamers everywhere.
    Expand
  5. May 29, 2017
    1
    I know, I know, five years late to the party. This is just one that has stuck out in my mind years after the fact for how absolutely mediocreI know, I know, five years late to the party. This is just one that has stuck out in my mind years after the fact for how absolutely mediocre and frustrating it was. Among dozens of bad Steam library titles that quietly recede into the night, this one just frustratingly refuses to leave my memory, and that's probably because I really wanted it to be great.

    It promises: old-school Secret of Mana hack and slash fun

    It delivers: a series of tiny little maps, each with a group of enemies who desperately rush you as soon as you appear on screen as if to say, "Please! Kill me and release me from this hell!" Mercifully, you can deliver on your promise, as they don't respawn once dead.

    I jumped in with three remote friends for a night of online gaming, only to be thwarted by poor controller support, then poor networking support, then poor controls, then just blah gameplay. Good friends have a way of mitigating even the most disappointing game nights, but I think it's fair to say we all felt shorted over paying the full price tag.

    The negative reviews here and on Steam highlight exactly what's wrong with the game, while the positive reviews spout fluff and gloss over the very real problems. Due perhaps to some suspicious damage control, even the quite descriptively written negative reviews get quickly downvoted while the positive ones get propped up. Fortunately there's enough of a reviewer base at Steam to overwhelm these attempts and let buyers know exactly what they're taking on before they commit to purchase.
    Expand
  6. Aug 19, 2013
    1
    Avoid at all costs. The tutorial is confusing, the GUI is bare, the music is painful, the chat system archaic, controller support awkward, andAvoid at all costs. The tutorial is confusing, the GUI is bare, the music is painful, the chat system archaic, controller support awkward, and most of the features go unexplained. If a player doesn't feel like playing past the awkward start, it's a poor excuse for a simulation, not a game. Before attempting to sell this game for 8 dollars, try creating a clear tutorial (Ex. Super Meat Boy), A familiar GUI (Ex. Dragon Warrior/Quest 4, NES), high fidelity music (Ex. Rogue Legacy), an up-to-date chat system (Ex. WoW), Mindfulness of controller context (Ex. GTA4), and maybe some in-game help system or documentation (Ex. Civilization 4). Widescreen support wouldn't hurt, and having options and other menu items available at the start screen is a requisite on consoles for a reason. The basic idea is nice though, in theory. Expand
  7. Dec 18, 2013
    0
    Crap. Crap. Moar Crap. I will not be purchasing the full game. Save yourself the time and effort on what is obviously a complete and total dudCrap. Crap. Moar Crap. I will not be purchasing the full game. Save yourself the time and effort on what is obviously a complete and total dud of a game. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews