Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 203 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Warface gives you extensive and addictive multiplayer options. A vast and constantly updated PVE universe complete with dramatic co-op missions that reward teamwork and individual skill, and a full set of class-based PVP games for unmatched competitive play.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Nov 1, 2013
    80
    Warface, the first experience of Crytek in the free-to-play field, is a very nice competitive online FPS, with a lot of well-known game modes and fast gameplay. The visuals are pure Crytek quality, and even if it’s not an original game, it surely deserves a deep look.
  2. Nov 6, 2013
    73
    Warface is a solid but pretty standard online first person shooter, packed with the usual range of game modes, classes and weapons. That said, it's also very nice looking and completely free to play.
  3. 70
    Warface succeeds in keeping the player immersed and on his toes, and it does that for free. It doesn’t feel that unique though, and the co-op mode can’t hold its own against the death matches.
  4. Nov 18, 2013
    64
    An uninspired coop-shooter, developed with a reduced cryengine 3. It’s ok for playing some matches with friends, but the game is missing longtime motivation. Unfortunately it is implemented in the very uncomfortable designed gaming-platform, named Gforce. At least, the game is free2play and offers some kind of entertainment.
  5. May 19, 2014
    60
    Warface isn't very well-balanced: players who've been playing for very long or are paying money for their items have a noticeable advantage. The structure gets on your nerves and is very de-motivating for new players.
  6. Oct 28, 2013
    60
    This is just another shooter, that won't give you anything you haven't seen before. Yes, it's free and it does have some entertainment, but there are plenty of better options out there.
  7. Dec 18, 2013
    50
    The action never inspires. [Issue#142, p.124]

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 44
  2. Negative: 29 out of 44
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    The best MMOFPS actually, good graphics, good gameplay, good game modes, etc. It's not the most original game ever, but it includes the best of another MMOFPS games. I also tried a lot of MMOFPS games and I can tell you that Warface is the best until now! Expand
  2. Oct 27, 2013
    7
    So this game right now is between a 7 and 8 for me. The cost of entry is low, it's free and browser based so all you have to install is a plugin. The graphics are good on medium and my standard laptop can run it fine. Warface is fun and worth a shot.

    So basically the game is split into 2 parts: versus and co-op. The Versus is pretty lack-luster in my experience, the objectives are all very simple and nothing in the versus forces players to take advantage of the team-based classes of the game. The maps are all so small and tight that it just turns into a grenade-spamming, corner-camping brawl. There's no regenerating health or armor in this game, however, so you tend to be worthless after a kill as your health and armor will stay low. Now, it can be repaired by team-mates of course, but it won't, because everyone there are only 2 classes that can repair you and the odds of both of them getting to you before someone sullies your face with buckshot is quite low. In fact, the game is so campy that medics are simply not played right now. That's right, the versus takes such low advantage of the class system that they basically made the most important class obselete. Frankly, the versus isn't worth your time.

    However this game shines in co-op. The co-op missions force the use of all 4 classes, and after you play for a while, you begin to appreciate how it's designed. All 4 classes in the game are support classes and going through any mission without one of each class is incredibly difficult. The engineer gives armor which protects you from burst damage like grenades, missiles, and sniper rounds; whereas the medics protect people from the sustained damage of going through extended battles. The soldier replenishes team ammo and sniper is the most prolific at taking down high priority targets that the other classes don't have the range to shoot. When playing the coop, anytime a single class dies the mission becomes incredibly difficult; forcing your squad to play smart and get to know each other.

    The game forces you to depend on your teammates which is a blessing to the coop and the bane of the versus

    Leveling up is kind of a grind, like in most f2p's, but the way you unlock things is kind of interesting. There are 3 types of "vendors" that you can switch between at any time and whichever one you have selected you will get progress toward unlocking that item. It randomly selects what your reward will be by picking from a pool of variably rare items. It's not too bad, since unlocking things isn't too slow and once you unlock something it is always unlocked. The attachments for guns are quite numerous and can be swapped out in-game which is very cool. The game gives you 2 ways to buy things, you can rent things temporarily or buy it permanently. The rent option is basically there to try something out before you buy it. If you buy something, you will have to pay to upkeep it but the cost is not overly grievous. To be honest, I'm not sure what the point of it is, it seems like an unnecessary tax. You only have to upkeep the equipment you use so if you buy something and don't use it right away, it won't degrade. Basically, the f2p system isn't as flawed as the early reviews make it out to be.

    The games biggest problem is simply a lack of content. The versus modes are limited and all lacking in depth, the maps are also limited in number in very lacking in depth. The co-op missions are very deep however, but also lacking in quantity. There are 3 new missions every day, but that gives you a very harshly limited time to complete the hardcore missions and also they just recycle the same 6 or 7 maps each day. The paths are always the same and the spawns vary slightly so there's just a flat out lack of content. Also, the player base (at least in NA) is small atm, and can make finding groups difficult when your not playing during prime time. Just convince your friends to download it and try, it's free and a ton of fun with some friends.
    Expand
  3. Oct 8, 2014
    6
    I'm giving this a marginally good score because - as with most multiplayer games sometimes it's the players themselves that **** it up for everyone. This, sadly, is no exception to the rule.

    There are some things to like about this game, there are certainly things to NOT like about the game, but that hasn't stopped me racking up over 200 hours of gameplay in less than 2 months (for a grown man, that's a lot of hours on a game).

    Things you might not like that I know I certainly don't:

    The ridiculous loading time - and the godawful "name not supported" glitch.
    Not only does it take an insanely pointless waste of time to load, what's more grinding on my gears is that the screen only has to go ****ing black before my relatively high end PC starts kicking up a fuss about having to use a lot of memory and almost instantly, the highly paid hamsters turning the wheels in my system (I am being silly here of course) start pegging like mad trying to get the thing to stay at a relatively comfortable temperature so they aren't sweating their bollocks off.

    The Noob/Hater bandwagon.

    As you'd expect, there's noobs here. There's noobs in every game and everyone at some point or other is a noob. The term in this sense is not used in a derogatory fashion - even though I hate the word "noob" myself. However, and thankfully, there aren't too many noob/noobhater people in the warface community, it tends to be pretty friendly so it's easy enough to enjoy a good game and give and receive either bullets to the face or pats on the back for a job well done.

    Teamkillers:
    Teamkillers are a pain in the ass, always have been always will be.
    There are a significant number of ranks on Warface, if you are playing warface and you happen to have a rank sufficient to warrant having four yellow stripes next to yer name, claiming "I didn't know friendly fire was on" is not a ****ing excuse when playing on the "hardcore" levels. It doesn't matter too much about the other levels of "Initiate", "Regular" or "Skilled" because friendly fire is an afterthought, HOWEVER it is good practice in not aiming at your own team during those levels to accustom to the rule of "no friendly fire". It annoys people no end, and only gets you kicked from matches.

    Renamed and rehashed levels
    Speaks for itself. The levels are somewhat different, but it soon becomes obvious to tell that they are essentially all the same with just a little twist to them.

    The damn wallhackers/auto-aimers and cheaters in general:
    Yes this game still gets those, despite claims it's improved in recent times to accommodate for no cheating, however this is to be expected.

    It may well be in Beta til the end of the world. I have never once seen this released from Beta, it is ALWAYS beta.

    I don't know what exactly they're hoping to achieve by having a constant beta status on the release, but hey that's the way it goes for them so keep on moving I guess. It would be nice to see this final released, but it will never happen realistically. Think on that, and on why it's been beta for so many years!

    That said:

    It has good sound, fairly passable graphics, a somewhat rewarding level of....rewards for successfully winning a match or passing a level in PvE. It is NOT all that bad, though it does need a lot of work in places.
    Expand
  4. Nov 7, 2013
    3
    Meh. That pretty much describes Warface in a nutshell. It's not really good or unbelievably bad. Just Meh. It's the epitome of mediocrity.
    What really drags it down is clunky movement and implementation of free to play ideas a weapon maintenance mechanic, renting/buying of weapons with either real or in-game money, an xp and in-game money grindfest if you actually try to play for "free"). The co-op is completely unremarkable, with a blend of distinct classes a la Battlefield or Team Fortress 2, the whole problem is that the game FORCES you to work together. This wouldn't be an issue if you could switch classes mid-game if you accidentally end up with 3 snipers, but as of now you can't. I can't say much about the PVP because it didn't interest me at all and I haven't played it.
    Expand
  5. Oct 27, 2013
    1
    Sadly this piece of software is a shameful ripoff of every other "Free-to-play" shooter, Crap attempts at money that give players chances at weapons early on. Graphically this game is a beauty but once you try and play PVP get ready to grab your ankles, bend over and welcome the hackers into your rear. This is sad being that this game barely just came out. Expand
  6. Mar 17, 2014
    0
    The game is literally DEAD. I only wanted to try it because I got a $50 game cred for free, but nope it's not even worth trying. I tried to do a co-op mission but there's either no one doing one or that the host is afk. In versus mode, there are around 6 servers only and I got killed by high level characters. There's no balance in PVP because no one plays this game and they need to round up all the players. Collapse
  7. Jan 29, 2014
    0
    With pay-to-win equipment unlocks, infuriating regional restrictions and bland gameplay, Warface does an excellent job of reminding us why free-to-play games are rarely worth our time. Expand

See all 44 User Reviews

Trailers