Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Soulstorm PC

  • Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Mar 4, 2008
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 222 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 222
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RenegadeW.
    Aug 3, 2008
    4
    I am really fond of the original game and enjoyed playing the two first expansion packs. But the last one didn't bring enough to me: just an air unit for each faction (they've not a great interest) and two new faction, including one that is just a mix of the guard and the space marines.The new campaign is, despite few new possibilities, the same as Dark Crusade's campaign I am really fond of the original game and enjoyed playing the two first expansion packs. But the last one didn't bring enough to me: just an air unit for each faction (they've not a great interest) and two new faction, including one that is just a mix of the guard and the space marines.The new campaign is, despite few new possibilities, the same as Dark Crusade's campaign (especially fortress attacks!).For me, a fan of dawn of war wouldn't get it and prefer playing a still better Dark Crusade. Expand
  2. MarkK.
    Mar 29, 2008
    10
    Its a great game and worth buying to me the multiplayer is fun to.
  3. AndrewM
    Jan 10, 2010
    5
    METAL BOXES! this is the cry of Firraeveus Carron, the champion of chaos as he boldly stikes at the space marines attacking rhinos. the units response lists are limited, reptitive, and overall really annoying. The cutscene scripts are highly laughable ensuring a high humor quality to the game. But unfortunatly thats not what DoW is about. Its campaign mode is ripped from DC and the METAL BOXES! this is the cry of Firraeveus Carron, the champion of chaos as he boldly stikes at the space marines attacking rhinos. the units response lists are limited, reptitive, and overall really annoying. The cutscene scripts are highly laughable ensuring a high humor quality to the game. But unfortunatly thats not what DoW is about. Its campaign mode is ripped from DC and the aircraft is enough to make the Emperor himself break down in tears with how low quality they are. If you plan on buying this game, do it to laugh at the campaign mode (I reccomend chaos for this one) or the multiplayer which is alright, but not as good as Dark Crusade. Expand
  4. Dec 28, 2010
    0
    This game killed Dawn of War, the introduction of flying units (that never really flew they just couldn't be attacked in close combat by other ground units) and the buggy Dark Eldar and Sisters Of Battle, again the campaign was a risk type control all locations on the system map, but you could play as any race again this ruins the story of it overall the worst expansion for Dawn of War andThis game killed Dawn of War, the introduction of flying units (that never really flew they just couldn't be attacked in close combat by other ground units) and the buggy Dark Eldar and Sisters Of Battle, again the campaign was a risk type control all locations on the system map, but you could play as any race again this ruins the story of it overall the worst expansion for Dawn of War and quite possibly the worst game ever made Expand
  5. IvanG
    Sep 7, 2009
    4
    Of all the three I would call it the worst expansion. Really. The campaign is all the same as DC pick your side and pwn everyone non-sense. I wanted a decent storyline for once. Air units are absolute trash. The whole point of air force IRL is to fly by barraging/bombarding and be out of enemy's reach in seconds while in SS they just hover above like some awkward tanks that Of all the three I would call it the worst expansion. Really. The campaign is all the same as DC pick your side and pwn everyone non-sense. I wanted a decent storyline for once. Air units are absolute trash. The whole point of air force IRL is to fly by barraging/bombarding and be out of enemy's reach in seconds while in SS they just hover above like some awkward tanks that can't meleed bringing absolutely nothing new to the game while being buggy as hell. Could as well be a paid DLC. Imo to pricey even for an expansion. Expand
  6. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    Still playing this game on-line. Don't understand why i like it so much, i simply like it regardless of the balance and bugs of game.
  7. Dec 25, 2011
    6
    Soulstorm does not deliver - the campaign is sub-par compared to Dark Crusade, and 40k cannon is pretty much raped (imperial guard general simply 'loosing' one hundred Baneblades - good laugh, though). The game is, like it's precedessors, ok online, though the new races don't seem balanced enough.
  8. BradD.
    Oct 17, 2008
    9
    This would have to be the best RTS on the market. The option to select from 9 different races has never been seen before in a RTS. Not only is the attention to detail superb, but game play is seamless, and with the mix of 9 different races keeps you on your toes. I would recommend this game to anyone wanting to purchase a RTS.
  9. Mike
    Nov 30, 2009
    8
    Great game! The single player campain was kinda cool, but you really had to use your imagination, not a whole lot happens. Great new teams and great usual dow gameplay.
  10. PeterD
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    While not a hugely groundbreaking expansion to the Dawn of War series, you can pick it up cheaply (especially as part of a package deal), it fixes a lot of bugs, balances things out nicely and adds in two more races - which, while not necessary, do add more depth to an already tactically "deep" game. Each race still manages to play differently, the Dark Eldar specialising in early vehicle While not a hugely groundbreaking expansion to the Dawn of War series, you can pick it up cheaply (especially as part of a package deal), it fixes a lot of bugs, balances things out nicely and adds in two more races - which, while not necessary, do add more depth to an already tactically "deep" game. Each race still manages to play differently, the Dark Eldar specialising in early vehicle rushes and mobile troops (in a very different way to the Eldar) and the Sisters of Battle specialising in... Largely inflexible infantry units. Both work surprisingly well, the addition of new maps works wonders, and all together it makes a very nice finale to the series. Dawn of War is probably my favourite RTS of all time because of the balance, the pace and the learning curve, and this does nothing to upset what is already a spectacular game. I would and do recommend this to anybody who hasn't got it, but suggest you look at picking up the earlier editions of the game at the same time (It is an expansion pack after all). Expand
  11. NateG
    May 5, 2009
    10
    I jumped right into the series with Soulstorm, and WOW! Its much different from Warcraft3 and Starcraft, so the learning curve was a bit high. But having such a large variety in races to choose from made it both interesting and fun to play for hours on end.
  12. ArshadS
    Jan 2, 2010
    7
    Ok im a uber big warhammer fan right. DC is good..... but this one is kinda crap. I dont know what went wrong here but the tech trees are just imbalanced imo. campaign is jus like dcs campaign but with planets this time. the new flight units arnt all that cool. And gk pops out when banshees can take em on! lol ok maybe almost. I wouldnt reccomend buying this game all on its own rather Ok im a uber big warhammer fan right. DC is good..... but this one is kinda crap. I dont know what went wrong here but the tech trees are just imbalanced imo. campaign is jus like dcs campaign but with planets this time. the new flight units arnt all that cool. And gk pops out when banshees can take em on! lol ok maybe almost. I wouldnt reccomend buying this game all on its own rather wait for the whole warhammer package. Very disappointed with this one tho. Im hoping in the future they make an uber great horus heresy campaign to make up for this not so grand game. Expand
  13. Stephan
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    This is an amazing expansion! I got all expansions and the original game and I have to say: that the game is finally nearly perfectly balanced, without too strong necrons and stuff like that. The campaign is great, there were a LOT of multiplayer-maps added. This is a multiplayer game, and one of the best ones! So much action, concentrated action due to the territory system (as in Company This is an amazing expansion! I got all expansions and the original game and I have to say: that the game is finally nearly perfectly balanced, without too strong necrons and stuff like that. The campaign is great, there were a LOT of multiplayer-maps added. This is a multiplayer game, and one of the best ones! So much action, concentrated action due to the territory system (as in Company of Heroes)! It is a must have for a RTS-Fan! Expand
  14. KameronR
    Sep 20, 2009
    10
    Dawn of war is and always will be one of the best games i have played in RTS. Was a nice addition to add flying units. Still this game is better than DoW2....
  15. Jan 14, 2014
    8
    This Game for me gets a 8
    Its based on this game as a stand alone and not comparing it to its previous dark crusade game.
    9 races to play with so u got alot of time to discover and try new tactics. The pros: Number of races, game play The cons: Some people complained about loading times. The game is Buggy so u have to get the 1.2 patch. The AI sucks sometimes, especially your allies
    This Game for me gets a 8
    Its based on this game as a stand alone and not comparing it to its previous dark crusade game.

    9 races to play with so u got alot of time to discover and try new tactics.
    The pros: Number of races, game play
    The cons: Some people complained about loading times. The game is Buggy so u have to get the 1.2 patch. The AI sucks sometimes, especially your allies when you are being eaten alive by the enemy they sit with their relic unit at some point and dont do a thing. Sometimes the games are good. not EPIC. U can only find epic online with good players.

    This review doesnt take into consideration this was a rushed game and disappointed its fans.
    Expand
  16. Sep 24, 2011
    8
    I had a lot of fun with this game, doesn't get old too fast for me which is surprising because there really isn't much diversity in the game, there's only so much you can do each round so that is why the game gets old, not enough customization. It is too close to starcraft (except starcraft actually has a better progressive system for it's units with the technology system, but I also don'tI had a lot of fun with this game, doesn't get old too fast for me which is surprising because there really isn't much diversity in the game, there's only so much you can do each round so that is why the game gets old, not enough customization. It is too close to starcraft (except starcraft actually has a better progressive system for it's units with the technology system, but I also don't like starcraft as much) and I think it should add in elements of the total war RTS system, kind of mix them, and make it one of a kind. Expand
  17. Jun 13, 2012
    6
    Looks nice, chronically average gameplay. Necrons genuinely feel different to play; Tao play like the retarded love-child of the Necrons and the Eldar, and all the other races are basically the same with different, albeit nice looking skins. *Yawn* of War.
  18. Dec 17, 2012
    4
    A major disappointment after how good Dark Crusade was. The two new races add nothing new (there's already 7 from the previous expansions), air units are basically flying tanks that only ranged units can attack (and there's a lot of melee units so this is kind of a big deal), and the campaign is recycled from Dark Crusade with marginal changes. Worst expansion and not worth playing overA major disappointment after how good Dark Crusade was. The two new races add nothing new (there's already 7 from the previous expansions), air units are basically flying tanks that only ranged units can attack (and there's a lot of melee units so this is kind of a big deal), and the campaign is recycled from Dark Crusade with marginal changes. Worst expansion and not worth playing over the previous releases. Expand
  19. JonathanW.
    Mar 10, 2008
    8
    The base DoW game is a fantastic one, but to have to pay for only 2 more factions, some minor tweaks and a handful of new maps?? I'm not complaining too loudly though because the game is rock solid and still totally enjoyable, despite the cost.
  20. MaxD.
    Apr 1, 2008
    6
    Make no mistake, this is a very solid game. This is mainly because it comes from a very solid foundation, though, and aside from two "new" samey-feeling races and some redundant and glitchy new units, Soulstorm offers nothing new, recycling the same campaign and multiplayer styles from Dark Crusade. The addition of some severely game-breaking bugs certainly doesn't help its case.
  21. SamT
    Jul 30, 2008
    9
    This game is heaven for all gamers, including strategy, role-playing and action. The graphics are not the best but meet the mark for what is required in a good game. The attention to detail is quite unique, espcially in battles, and the viewing camera's ability to zoom right in to battles makes this game perfect for most gamers.
  22. [Anonymous]
    Mar 10, 2008
    8
    An exciting fast paced game as ever but with some noticeable bugs.
  23. AdrianL.
    Mar 20, 2008
    0
    Terrible. Deserves a zero purely because its Dark Crusade with two rather bad new races which are essentially clones of Eldar and Space Marines. Despite what the fanboys say 'air units' add no tactical or strategic options and are just land speeders hovering a bit higher
  24. NicoleneT.
    Mar 20, 2008
    0
    Nothing new and definatly not worth the money.
  25. NeilC.
    Mar 10, 2008
    4
    The other games in this series, from the original Dawn Of War to Dark Crusade, are brilliant, if now a little dated looking; Soulstorm, however, is just rubbish. From the unbalancing of the original game mechanics, to the shabby, amateurish graphics and sound, this botched expansion pack feels like a cynical attempt to squeeze just a little more cash from the series' fans before the The other games in this series, from the original Dawn Of War to Dark Crusade, are brilliant, if now a little dated looking; Soulstorm, however, is just rubbish. From the unbalancing of the original game mechanics, to the shabby, amateurish graphics and sound, this botched expansion pack feels like a cynical attempt to squeeze just a little more cash from the series' fans before the arrival of Dawn Of War 2. Expand
  26. JimP.
    Mar 10, 2008
    3
    I was unimpressed with the newest expansion thus far. The Dark Eldar are an interesting addition to the playable factions, but the Sisters of Battle were disappointing. The Sisters were little more than Imperial Guardsmen with Space Marine-type weaponry and an affinity for flamethrowers. The multi-planetary conquest idea was intriguing at first but after playing it, it was very I was unimpressed with the newest expansion thus far. The Dark Eldar are an interesting addition to the playable factions, but the Sisters of Battle were disappointing. The Sisters were little more than Imperial Guardsmen with Space Marine-type weaponry and an affinity for flamethrowers. The multi-planetary conquest idea was intriguing at first but after playing it, it was very disappointing. Using the "take and hold" victory requirement made the capture of waygates near impossible when attacking a high-number defended area. Trying to deflect two armies with standing bases while capturing at least 3 of the 5 critical locations was overwhelming. Not to mention you have to build a base from the ground up (unless you are the Sisters of Battle who can construct their own base, which usually means the buildings are scattered all over the place and the turrets are located in usually useless locations). Also I noticed that after you win a battle in a territory you do NOT get to keep your base when someone attacks again. This was a feature of Dark Crusade that I liked. This might be a bug linked to the Sisters of Battle, but as far as I know the bases were reset, a frustrating thing (especially when you spend a lot of time building up a territory expecting it to be there when someone invades again). Also I noticed that computer opponents were able to build up the strength of their territories while mine (on the same planet next to my main base) stayed at a level of 1 and 2, unless I added reinforcements or built the "forward base structures" on the location. This cripples your resources for other battles and it makes the game even worse. Overall, I expected a lot when starting Soulstorm for the first time. But, I was let down. I'm hoping for some patches that may correct and balance out some of the game's issues but until then, I think I'll just stick with skirmishes and playing Dark Crusade for single player. Expand
  27. KevinS.
    Mar 20, 2008
    0
    Killed the game too many bugs campaign sucks theres no story and multiplayer is just like DC except for SOB exploits.
  28. MarcoR.
    Mar 8, 2008
    9
    Splendid RFS gaming! I recommend this game to anybody that loved Starcraft and Warcraft as much as I do!
  29. GRooveL
    Apr 6, 2008
    0
    The boardgame "Risk" meets "Battle Chess" and on a nice-sized screen doing 1080p, this game looks pretty slick! The characters are awesome and if you can combine the right ones within the same area on the map, they'll interact through very humorous dialogue and sometimes they'll even get together! At the start, your options (available "Policy Cards") are very limited and this The boardgame "Risk" meets "Battle Chess" and on a nice-sized screen doing 1080p, this game looks pretty slick! The characters are awesome and if you can combine the right ones within the same area on the map, they'll interact through very humorous dialogue and sometimes they'll even get together! At the start, your options (available "Policy Cards") are very limited and this hinders gameplay somewhat, but once you start to expand your empire, you get access to new policies such as "Provoke Enemy" into defecting certain key figures or breaking off completely from their ruling clan and joining your side. It's satisfying to coax an enemy state's major officers into joining your side, taking their armies with them, then attacking their former state and maybe using the policy "Capture" to snap up any officers that were not willing to be bribed earlier. I've only yet explored the "Empire Mode" of the game... and managed to unite all of Japan under a single clan... it's probably the most fun I've had on the xbox360 to date... I am impressed by the thoughtfulness that has gone into the creation of this title... especially with the subtle interactions between the main characters -- the stuff they say to each other is hilarious! 10/10 rating, no doubts! Expand
  30. RupertC.
    Mar 10, 2008
    9
    Pros: Great new unique races, inventive new campaign, new strategies to incorporate flying units, multi player awards, great soundtrack/ voice acting and hardcore combat/ deaths Cons: old engine
  31. JamesS
    Mar 16, 2008
    10
    Great both for Dawn of War fans and fresh players. Great gameplay, interesting and well planned commander upgrades, fortress battles far more challenging than in Dark Crusade. Enemies seem smarter, or at least more effective. Graphics are on a good level, some things seem to have improved. Doesn't look like Crysis but it's far more interesting than that playable benchmark. Too Great both for Dawn of War fans and fresh players. Great gameplay, interesting and well planned commander upgrades, fortress battles far more challenging than in Dark Crusade. Enemies seem smarter, or at least more effective. Graphics are on a good level, some things seem to have improved. Doesn't look like Crysis but it's far more interesting than that playable benchmark. Too bad there are some bugs, but i hope next patch will fix them all. Expand
  32. UnknownCritic
    Mar 16, 2008
    9
    Whilst keeping it's normal Rts gameplay SoulStorm may seem like another expansion. But new races, a new unit, and some new maps, pretells a day of fun for any Rts fan. A new race to battle against will hold some challenging combat, for me I just can't wait to see how the SoB stand up to my mighty Basilisk. =] Also adding a little Dark Eldar as a twist.
  33. blahblah
    Mar 17, 2008
    9
    Awesome balance and much better gameplay than Dark Crusade, but still has a lot of bugs. Patch will solve that hopefully, though.
  34. RussG.
    Mar 24, 2008
    2
    absolutely poor. air units are weak and add no new gameplay, the voice acting is poor and inconsistent(e.g. Gorgutz has a new actor and the eldar are some strange american / scouser accents), the player models are weak (capt. Boreale is just Capt. Thule with a bald head). there is no story whatsoever, even Dark crusade had a bit of pre-battle banter between the heads of each faction. the absolutely poor. air units are weak and add no new gameplay, the voice acting is poor and inconsistent(e.g. Gorgutz has a new actor and the eldar are some strange american / scouser accents), the player models are weak (capt. Boreale is just Capt. Thule with a bald head). there is no story whatsoever, even Dark crusade had a bit of pre-battle banter between the heads of each faction. the details are non-canonical e.g: the necron lord can now talk. in short this game gives a sense of being rushed through and recycled for a quick buck. What would've made a far better game would have been a sequel to Dawn of War 1, with e.g. Angelos destroying the chaos god once and for all. oh and by the way, the fact that the campaign is spread over an entire star system does not make it any 'bigger'. Dark Crusade was spread over one planet with a lot of territories. typically a planet on this game consists of about 4-5 territories, making it the same damn size as dark crusade but with less playability and more time wasting. this game was a waste of my time and money, a huge disappointment as I've played all from start to finish - this game sucks. Expand
  35. SomeoneE.
    Mar 30, 2008
    0
    A terrible game. I feel so bitterly gyped. Do Not Get It! Unless you are a diehard warhammer 40k fan or u never played the game before. but i can very safely bet a lotta money you'll eventually come to hate it anyways.
  36. JoshL.
    Mar 5, 2008
    9
    The two new races are amazing, and the campaign is very engrossing. Excellent gameplay and incredible factions.
  37. CmronB.
    Mar 6, 2008
    10
    Another great expansion.
  38. JamesM
    Apr 28, 2008
    5
    Not a big fan of sisters of battle dark eldar are kool tho. reason i give it 5.... 1. same campaign nothing interesting about it. 2. flying ships aren't pushed far enough maybe some bigger ships like sm cruisers like the ones that drop buildings in the game. 3. major bug issues with the sisters of battle and the sisters of battle relic unit is just way too unbalanced 4.NO TYRANIDS!!! Not a big fan of sisters of battle dark eldar are kool tho. reason i give it 5.... 1. same campaign nothing interesting about it. 2. flying ships aren't pushed far enough maybe some bigger ships like sm cruisers like the ones that drop buildings in the game. 3. major bug issues with the sisters of battle and the sisters of battle relic unit is just way too unbalanced 4.NO TYRANIDS!!! 5. Just simply nothing new in tactis or gameplay at all so its definetely not worth that amount of money. I'll stick with DC thanks online and single player. Expand
  39. CalleF.
    Feb 27, 2008
    9
    Wicked game, loved all the others in the series.
  40. Jon
    Mar 15, 2008
    8
    Soulstorm delivers the same sort of blood-and-guts RTS experience that makes its predecessors so engaging. The big draw is the two new factions, both of which are well balanced and convey the gothic darkness appropriate to their tabletop equivalents. The sisters of battle are superficially similar to the space marines, particularly when it comes to teching up, but their reliance on Soulstorm delivers the same sort of blood-and-guts RTS experience that makes its predecessors so engaging. The big draw is the two new factions, both of which are well balanced and convey the gothic darkness appropriate to their tabletop equivalents. The sisters of battle are superficially similar to the space marines, particularly when it comes to teching up, but their reliance on commander units and strategic emphasis on breaking morale give them flavors of imperial guard and chaos marines. As if that weren't enough, they have a building-based vulnerability similar to the orks. The dark eldar emphasize speed and striking power. Toward this end, they have quite a number of vehicles available and can even have infantry squads fire from their transports. The downside is their fragility, which renders them probably the purest glass-cannon army in the game. The campaign mode is a small step above Dark Crusade's. The principles are the same, but splitting the provinces between planets reduces clutter and confusion. The decision to make special planet-level powers faction specific is a good one; it gives each faction's campaign a unique strategic tempo and incentivizes capturing faction strongholds. The trade-off is that we lose out on the special missions to capture those powers that we had in Dark Crusade. The campaign also shares many of the weaknesses of the previous outing's; namely, there's no plot to speak of, lackluster enemy a.i. and a bit of tedium in fighting over and over again on certain maps. Soulstorm feels rushed in a few areas. Foremost, the added air units don't do anything that Starcraft's didn't do ten years ago, and they even do less in some cases. (Pathing is an issue.) There are two game-breaking issues relating to multiplayer for the new factions: an infinite resource trick for the sisters and observers being able to control the dark eldar's soul powers. Add in strangely long loading times and a frustrating squad-cap issue hitting sisters armies from time to time, and there's enough lack of polish to take the shine off the game. For those players looking for more Dawn of War action and more of the tabletop galaxy, Soulstorm does the job; those who want something radically different will be disappointed. Expand
  41. Nitro
    Mar 16, 2008
    8
    It's nice add-on to the real big multiplayer game. But anything like SoB bug just can't happen ... especially with SC2 on it's way ...
  42. Alex
    Mar 22, 2008
    9
    I give this a nine because it really helps bring the computer game closer to the table-top, it also balances out the gameplay more but unfortunately still has bugs, and a severe cse of "no tyranids" for now
  43. Xocrates
    Mar 23, 2008
    7
    If you've came this far as DOW expansions, you might as well pick this one. The new races are fun, particularly Dark Eldar (which play nothing like Eldar, at all), Sisters of Battle are pretty standard but still fun (think cheap space marines with flamethrowers). Air units are useful if nothing else. The single player campaign is pretty weak and is at best a fun timekiller. However If you've came this far as DOW expansions, you might as well pick this one. The new races are fun, particularly Dark Eldar (which play nothing like Eldar, at all), Sisters of Battle are pretty standard but still fun (think cheap space marines with flamethrowers). Air units are useful if nothing else. The single player campaign is pretty weak and is at best a fun timekiller. However it also includes a significant amount of new skirmish maps which is always a good thing. On the other hand, the game is in dire need of a patch. You may wish to pick the game only after the patch is released (right now one is confirmed, but it may take a while) or once it hits discount. It may be the worse DOW expansion so far, but it is still a lot of fun. Expand
  44. MangoP.
    Mar 26, 2008
    10
    Starcraft? What's that? Dawn of War Soulstorm is where the real action is. THIS, by nature, is the definition of what a GAME truly is. This is an exceptional game and it keeps on giving. Its a french kiss from kate beckinsale, in a box full of flaming swords and holy fire. It's the one $40 purchase which you can make that will outlast just about any other game available Starcraft? What's that? Dawn of War Soulstorm is where the real action is. THIS, by nature, is the definition of what a GAME truly is. This is an exceptional game and it keeps on giving. Its a french kiss from kate beckinsale, in a box full of flaming swords and holy fire. It's the one $40 purchase which you can make that will outlast just about any other game available anywhere. Worth buying just to play as the Badass Holy Seraphim Sisters of Battle, but you get 9 races total and more weapons than I could count. This is the judgment of the righteous. Stop reading and Buy this game. Right now. Expand
  45. AndyL.
    Mar 29, 2008
    5
    Its an ok game. But I feel that it was somewhat rushed. Its like DC all over again just longer with two new races and some shotty at best air units thrown in. They could have done way better with this but sadly feel way short of the mark. I was really looking forward to this but after only like afew hours play I could already see that there was nothing much new to this game then DC. And Its an ok game. But I feel that it was somewhat rushed. Its like DC all over again just longer with two new races and some shotty at best air units thrown in. They could have done way better with this but sadly feel way short of the mark. I was really looking forward to this but after only like afew hours play I could already see that there was nothing much new to this game then DC. And its too long with no real goals or anything to look forward to after you get all you wargear except honor guard units. I was very surprised to see this considering how good DC was. Expand
  46. RG
    Mar 29, 2008
    5
    Not worth $40, by any stretch of the imagination. It is just 2 new armies, and some crappy "air units" which was a lame and pathetic attempt to add something new to the game. The single player campaign is the same as Dark Crusade, just with bottlenecks. The gameplay hasn't changed, but is still a fun game. Sure it may have more races than any other RTS, but DoW added races to make of Not worth $40, by any stretch of the imagination. It is just 2 new armies, and some crappy "air units" which was a lame and pathetic attempt to add something new to the game. The single player campaign is the same as Dark Crusade, just with bottlenecks. The gameplay hasn't changed, but is still a fun game. Sure it may have more races than any other RTS, but DoW added races to make of for lack of true strategy and originality. If you are a fan of DoW this is a necessity as an addition to the DoW 40k universe. But in reality it is Iron Lore Entertainment and Relic Entertainment just milking the loyal fans for money with an overpriced expansion pack. Currently, there are free DoW mods out there that are more deserving of your hard earned cash. Expand
  47. AdamD
    May 25, 2008
    9
    Since when is "only 2 new races" a negative for an rts? If what 1up says about all the races being like a taco bell menu is true, then I dare you to play online (or on hard mode) as a race your not familiar with. You will be destroyed. Now to wait for Starcraft 2's recycled gameplay to get a 10/10.
  48. MiniG
    Feb 17, 2009
    0
    Whatever you do .. do NOT buy this game over steam while visiting a german friend of yours. At least not when you are not fluent with the german language. Steam will do what it does best and give you the choice between a full german version (which I cannot use) and a crippled english version that is missing nearly all of it's ingame texts as well as voice overs and cut-scene Whatever you do .. do NOT buy this game over steam while visiting a german friend of yours. At least not when you are not fluent with the german language. Steam will do what it does best and give you the choice between a full german version (which I cannot use) and a crippled english version that is missing nearly all of it's ingame texts as well as voice overs and cut-scene voices/subtitles. While not actually being the games fault .. I still cannot play it and will walk a very big circle around THQ and any of their games in the future. Expand
  49. Jun 19, 2014
    9
    Play It Now Because IT'S a Kickass Strategy Game And if You Don't You're A Tool Kbye
    -NOOOOOO , wait , PLAY THE DOW 2 - its even better and more fans online!
  50. Nov 18, 2014
    9
    I play the table top version as well, but love these DOW games! Love making a huge Waaaagh! Of Orks. This game lets you fulfill that vision of the Green Tide taking over!
    Graphics appear to be the same, which is good since they looked stunning since the game was first introduced. You still see certain models do super kills and special kills(Bloodthirster I think it is with the giant
    I play the table top version as well, but love these DOW games! Love making a huge Waaaagh! Of Orks. This game lets you fulfill that vision of the Green Tide taking over!
    Graphics appear to be the same, which is good since they looked stunning since the game was first introduced. You still see certain models do super kills and special kills(Bloodthirster I think it is with the giant axe, picking some one up, and smacking them like a baseball)
    Gameplay, totally recycled from Dark Crusade, which is a good thing! If it isn't broken, don't fix it.(Unlike DOW2 which sucks cause you can't build huge armies any more)
    Storyline, as much as there was in DC, which for this style works. It isn't about Group A vs Group B, it is about Group A taking over every thing.

    The only reason I give it a 9/10 and not 10/10 is because... NO TYRANIDS! How do the Sisters get in but not Tyranids?!?!?!?!?! AAAAAA!!!!!

    Anyways, great game if you like RTS games. Better than Starcraft in my opinion because of the more graphic fighting/kills and less crystal mining and more killing!
    Expand
  51. Jun 15, 2014
    10
    This game is more fun than having sex with my pets. aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
  52. Dec 13, 2015
    10
    Best game i have ever played, fantastic multiplayer and campaign game , soo god damn good game at all best strategy game ever i have ever player and this is my favorite game
  53. Mar 24, 2015
    9
    Several years later, it's still one of my most cherished RTS games.
    This is the most complete videogame based on the warhammer 40k setting to date.
    While I would have prefered it to have a campaign similar to Winter Assault, it is nevertheless an exceptional single-player experience.
  54. Mar 16, 2017
    6
    A nice addition to the original Dawn of War but it's still poor in comparison to the changes from Winter Assault and Dark Crusade. Planetary expansion is quite long and sometimes demanding but not satisfying enough. The only interesting thing in the campaign is attacking the enemy's main base, fortunately multiplayer is much more fun.
    Sisters of Battle and Dark Eldars were maybe good in
    A nice addition to the original Dawn of War but it's still poor in comparison to the changes from Winter Assault and Dark Crusade. Planetary expansion is quite long and sometimes demanding but not satisfying enough. The only interesting thing in the campaign is attacking the enemy's main base, fortunately multiplayer is much more fun.
    Sisters of Battle and Dark Eldars were maybe good in theory - on the battlefield they are no match for the rest of the armies. It's fine that we got the air-forces too even if they're not changing that much.
    And I know, this is a RTS game but dialogues could be more matching and interesting for this story. Games from W40k deserve engrossing script.
    Expand
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. In adding to the weight of maps and playable factions, as a collection, Dawn of War with Soulstorm alongside it sets itself apart from a lot of the more youthful games out there. [Apr 2008, p.66]
  2. Soulstorm, like its predecessors, does a great job of providing an intense, war-torn, battlefield for you to play with. But the most important thing is that the game is great fun, and will surely touch the soul of every RTS geek who's ever dreamt of being a Space Marine.
  3. Despite providing the thrilling and series-established RTS gameplay, Soulstorm seems recycled and worn out. Dawn of War fans or RTS players will feel deja vu when playing this game the first time.