Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 217 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It is ten years since the events of Chaos Rising and Sub-Sector Aurelia has been in a constant state of warfare with the Imperium struggling to retain control. The apparent betrayal of the chapter by Gabriel Angelos and his Space Marines has shaken the Blood Ravens and now the ImperialIt is ten years since the events of Chaos Rising and Sub-Sector Aurelia has been in a constant state of warfare with the Imperium struggling to retain control. The apparent betrayal of the chapter by Gabriel Angelos and his Space Marines has shaken the Blood Ravens and now the Imperial forces are beset on all sides by hostile aliens. Retribution allows the player to select the race of their choosing in a battle to determine the very survival or destruction of the entire sector. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Apr 11, 2011
    92
    It's nothing revolutionary as far as Dawn of War II goes, but six excellent campaigns and great gameplay make this a must for both Warhammer 40K and RTS fans.
  2. Mar 11, 2011
    87
    Mixes up the series' gameplay fundamentals in interesting ways without fouling up what makes it unique, reinvigorating the multiplayer game in process. It's a remarkably ambitious standalone expansion, and at a mere $30, it's a great introduction to those who've yet to take up arms.
  3. Mar 22, 2011
    85
    The combination of the RTS and action RPG elements into a new, hybrid game work beautifully here, making this the most successful (so far) iteration of the experiment Relic began with DoW II. It wonʼt appeal to hardcore strategy enthusiasts, but then itʼs not trying to.
  4. Mar 14, 2011
    80
    The best Dawn of War II expansion and an excellent value. For $30, you get a solid campaign, tons of multiplayer maps, and the so-much-fun-it-should-be-illegal Last Stand mode, all wrapped up in a beautiful package.
  5. Mar 31, 2011
    80
    This is the expansion pack that Chaos Rising should have been, and essential strategy gaming! [Apr 2011, p.58]
  6. Apr 23, 2011
    79
    Worth grabbing when the price drops. [May 2011, p.92]
  7. Mar 1, 2011
    60
    But the bottom line is that buying Retribution is just paying for a new faction and not much else. It's a great faction, to be sure, but beyond that, it's a damn shame that Relic squanders their energy on frippery like the silly campaign when important issues like the AI remain unresolved.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 56
  2. Negative: 8 out of 56
  1. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    Unlike a RTS such as Starcraft, Dawn of war is better because of it is affordable for it's content ($30 USD and $35-ish in Canadian in storesUnlike a RTS such as Starcraft, Dawn of war is better because of it is affordable for it's content ($30 USD and $35-ish in Canadian in stores I believe). It has a great re-playable campaign with six different races (Imperial Guard, Blood Ravens, Tyranids, Orks, Eldar and Chaos). So far I have only played Imperial Guard and Eldar campaigns and have finished neither in the time I have had to play it. The DLC Last Stand adds a unique twist the multiplayer making you manipulate your individual heroes rather then small armies and using teamwork to achieve victory. The micromanagement of your armies is way more challenging than RTS involving mass-Spam/Suicide *Cough Cough* Starcraft 2. If you're new to the game series you will have to get used to things like Unit facing, the easy to use cover system, and the tech-up system. Another more important thing is the immense strategy involved, if you have a sniper and they have a lot of infantry it willl help you win fights, However if they have armoured vehicles and you do not you are most likely finished. If you are finishing off the series like I am and all three, one of the most notable differences is the generals added into multiplayer game play that and not more windows live (The loss of xbox achievements makes me a bit sad). If you are still reluctant to get it, I think you will be missing out. Relic took a new approach on this game in hopes of picking up first time buyers and I hope more people will be willing to play this great RTS. Note: Please first time buyers do not get this mistaken as a spin of starcraft, The 40K had the concept of space marines way before starcraft was even created. Overall I think this RTS deserves a 10/10 for affordiblity, graphics and gameplay. Expand
  2. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    One of the best RTS games I have ever played, it's so good I even bought some of the DLCs, which are generally rip-offs that aren't worth theOne of the best RTS games I have ever played, it's so good I even bought some of the DLCs, which are generally rip-offs that aren't worth the trouble. One of the best features is the game mode , "The Last Stand" which has great replayability and near endless character setups. Expand
  3. Nov 4, 2011
    9
    This is how an expansion is done.

    Pros: Voice acting is great Long time to complete for an expansion (12-14 hours) Graphics may not be much
    This is how an expansion is done.

    Pros:
    Voice acting is great
    Long time to complete for an expansion (12-14 hours)
    Graphics may not be much different from Dawn of War 2 but it is still great
    Get to choose alot of races
    Multiplayer is awesome
    Brings back Requisitions & Power (from Dawn of War 1 but no base building to an extent)

    Cons:
    No matter what faction you choose, the single player campaign maps are the same.

    Overall a gem of a game and one of the best games I've played in 2011
    Expand
  4. Nov 30, 2012
    8
    Having played all DOW1 and DOW2 plus DLCs in sequence, Retribution started to get old and downhill. All six race campaigns shared same mainHaving played all DOW1 and DOW2 plus DLCs in sequence, Retribution started to get old and downhill. All six race campaigns shared same main story and it gets boring and repetitive. I finished and enjoyed the Space Marine and Chaos Marine campaigns, but I will not be doing third play-through any time soon, let's say a year or two. I hope Relic Entertainment by now realized it was brilliant to add six races, but what good are they when I am reluctant to go through same map again on third and more play-throughs. Expand
  5. Mar 10, 2011
    7
    This is my first 40k game and from a fresh eyes looking at it, it does have a lot of positives. First the price. Second the items/skills 3rdThis is my first 40k game and from a fresh eyes looking at it, it does have a lot of positives. First the price. Second the items/skills 3rd the characters personalities. The finding cover aspect seems very intuitive. The combat is nice. But I did not enjoy the way the game loads, it seems to be a black screen right up till the game scenario started. Combat consistency seemed lacking when it came to control, I couldn't put my finger on it but I was not able to get certain units to do what I wanted and was left wondering why. That might be a buggy aspect because it was not always the case, just at certain times, hard to pinpoint because I was not willing to take the time to do so as so much action is always going on. I love the character regeneration of HPs and energy, gives you the ability to retreat. That is also a feature I like. All in all I love most of the detail in this game, it just feels a need to be refined and polished. Map layout bothered me personally, they do mix it up but i felt constrained to a very narrow corridor at all times, zig-zaging up the map in a tunnel like fashion till the end of the scenario. I love the choice of races but I could never repeat the maps over and over in order to experience each race and its abilities, thus it seemed like a lost feature for me in terms of re-playability Expand
  6. Aug 5, 2011
    6
    After playing DOW II I was very disappointed with the repetitive maps and travel to one end game play fight a boss, it put me right off theAfter playing DOW II I was very disappointed with the repetitive maps and travel to one end game play fight a boss, it put me right off the games. Thankfully this has been resolved and the missions keep you wanting to complete the game up to a point, I still enjoy the wargear upgrades and they have added the ability to field armies instead of just hero's allowing you play the game in different ways. Two things that are really irritating me about these games though. The 1st is their complete lack of tactics involved once your characters are level 5 or above. So although the missions vary the invunrerability of your characters kills the motivation, [I played it on very difficult]. The second is the storylines, since dark crusade they have been pretty much none existant. Replayablity is so so. You do the same campaign but with different races, some are amusing such as the orks. Tyrannids are annoying to listen to but forces you to play a different way [army rather than heros] and the eldar just make you want to punch them. Co-op was enjoyable, but your playing it with a friend then, and multiplayer is fresh compaired to other RTS as they have a completely different system. Graphics are good when you consider how much is on screen, but the whole invunrable characters and lack of story wont push this above a score of 2 kittens for me or a plate of doughnuts, gamesworkshop have been around since the 80's and there background fluff puts dungeons and dragons to shame sometimes so why with that much material at hand can they not generate something that grips the player. Buy it if you enjoy multiplayer and like kicking bottoms, but don't bother if your looking for a deepish RTS like starcraft. Expand
  7. Jan 18, 2015
    0
    Very bad game, one of the worst I've ever played, do not play it if you live, the game sucks, graphics 0, 0 gameplay ..... one word crap
    I'm
    Very bad game, one of the worst I've ever played, do not play it if you live, the game sucks, graphics 0, 0 gameplay ..... one word crap
    I'm a bit disappointed with this one.
    Expand

See all 56 User Reviews