• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Feb 18, 2009
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. 90
    While the overall formula could still use some fine-tuning, the current product is one part hypercharged tactical combat, one part streamlined competitive RTS, and entirely worth playing.
  2. Extraordinary online play makes it easy to overlook this strategy sequel's less-impressive single-player campaign.
  3. Dawn of War II is a risky RTS game, but the new RPG elements and streamlined missions are implemented in a way that is engaging for strategy fans and newcomers alike.
  4. Replay value is off the map. It's like two games in one with plenty to go back for.
  5. This is an amazingly visceral title with a second-to-none presentation that delivers some of the best tactical action we’ve seen to date. I applaud the developers for moving the staid RTS genre in a new direction, even if I feel that Dawn of War II stumbles a little bit along the way.
  6. 90
    The overall "feel" of the multiplayer game is terrific and the basic gameplay paradigm works to create a game that's deep, rich and thoroughly satisfying. Combined with a fun and very different-playing single-player component, this is a game that's well worth a look by any strategy fan looking for something fun that breaks the RTS genre's straitjacket.
  7. It doesn't, however, fulfill the task of being absurdly entertaining. The failings in the campaign mean that for all its incredible fireworks and visual splendour, its not interesting enough.
  8. 100
    Some gamers will no doubt hate the new direction they've taken but the game is much improved and definitely deserves its fair share of love. While it still early, I wouldn't hesitate to nominate it for PC Game of the Year honors come December.
  9. For a game that tosses so many RTS conventions out the window, Dawn of War II is a surprisingly solid real-time strategy title that pretty much lays down the gauntlet for any game that follows in its wake.
  10. With shallower gameplay, a dearth of content, and some very distinct repetition, the game feels more like a jumping off point than a complete release.
  11. 91
    The fact that it does something genuinely different than the rest of the genre earns it a lot of goodwill from me; if DOW2 really was just the expected "COH in space" or "DOW with spiffy graphics," then those flaws would be intolerable. So yes, I love it, flaws and all. Besides, watching Assault Marines or Stormboyz fly in the air and slam down onto some fools doesn't get old.
  12. Relic has done a wonderful job with this original and innovative RTS, cleaning away the strategy archetypes we're used to playing with. But sadly there are several deficiencies, starting with the repetitive missions and a difficult to master multiplayer. A must buy for strategic fans but not the perfect title we were looking for.
  13. A lack of maps and repetition mar the single-player, but the multiplayer is brilliantly brutal. [Mar 2009, p.81]
  14. It seems like we will have to wait some time to see more armies, as it happened in the first game. Even though, this is one of the most recommended acquisitions of this year, and one of those titles that no strategy devotee should let escape.
  15. The campaign is surprisingly lengthy, and the unit balance is quite well-tuned. Since most of the changes are beneficial, in my view, I can adamantly recommend Dawn of War 2 to fans of RTS games or Warhammer 40K.
  16. 80
    It’s been a long time coming, but Dawn of War finally has a proper successor. It’s not perfect, as anyone who enjoys the resource management side of strategy gaming will be turned off by the gung-ho style here, but it’s no different than most of the earlier Warhammer 40,000 titles out there.
  17. Dawn of War was a finely tuned game with huge battles and many disposable troops. Dawn of War II is faster, lighter, smaller, in some ways more interesting and in other ways somewhat lacking in its execution. But taken as a whole it’s impossible to not recommend the game to 40K fans and to those who are willing to accept that this is not a linear sequel to an aging franchise.
  18. Relic seems afraid to let any of its ideas meaningfully vary your experience, in case the result isn’t as satisfying as the scenario it has clearly tested so well. [Apr 2009, p.119]
  19. Dawn of War 2's greatest accolade is something that it actually does share in common with its predecessor; it's a game that once again takes the Warhammer 40,000 license and does something truly great with it. As for the rest, time will tell if Relic's gamble pays off or not.
  20. Dawn of War II does not rebuild the real time strategy, but does a fantastic job extending the scope of the genre. The new Warhammer 40,000 is an addictive and violent effort with a campaign that achieves a true sense of progression. The game has also a great cooperative mode and a multiplayer experience that is, again, its main goal.
  21. On one hand it's addictive, polished, satisfying and action-packed. On the other hand the campaign lacks variety and the meta-game has no real bearing on anything. But through it all a tinge of disappointment can't help but be felt - one that nags as you play the game.
  22. Although it lacks in mission variety, Dawn of War II skips the pleasantries of base-building and gets right to the point: action-packed, bloody warfare (with loot!) [Mar 2009, p.62]
  23. Warhammer 40.000 Dawn of War II is an interesting hybrid between strategy and action in its single player campaign, but shows a completely different face on the multiplayer side, strategically deep and less frantic. Several flaws, like the repetitive gameplay and missing modes and maps from the multiplayer don't allow a full marks promotion. Strategy newbies and casual gamers will love it, but RTS hardcore fans should try before buying.
  24. A strong RTS/RPG outing into the rich Warhammer 40,000 universe. Real-time strategy purists might find a bit to grumble about, but those wanting some real-time tactical RPG-lite goodness are in for a treat.
  25. So, in short, Dawn of War II is not Dawn of War, nor is it like a traditional RTS game. What it is, though, is a fast-paced, tactics-focused game that's a lot of fun to play.
  26. An interesting attempt to re-invent RTS genre. It does many things right, like reward system, and is generally fun to play. As a game it feels like a prequel to Dawn of War -series: Bit too simplistic combat without any real threat of defeat and too many generic missions with, my God, end bosses! Those are yesterdays news even on Japan. Hopefully 0-day patch reakly makes things better and more varied. [Feb 2009]
  27. DoWII is so unique that it could just as well co-exist with the other traditional RTS games, as it has a focus in places that the others don’t. That said, there still needs to be some new additions and fixes to the multiplayer, as sooner or later the same 6 or so maps will get boring and stale.
  28. A really fantastic game that will be able to fascinate old fans and also newcomers in the genre! Go on Relic!
  29. 85
    The single-player mash-up of RTS and RPG elements works really well, and the multiplayer is fast and exciting. Relic's reinvention of the Dawn of War brand is a breath of fresh (or possibly fetid, Tyranid infested) air.
  30. Despite not being the long-awaited revolution in the RTS genre, the game still offers tons of gameplay. Multiplayer is a very solid addition to the genre and same goes for the single player. Despite the fierce competition, the game will probably attract its share of followers.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1443 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 67 out of 296
  1. AndrewM
    Jan 10, 2010
    4
    Good quality campaign mode, it was accurate to how space marines would do things, not giant assaults out of nowhere. However, I was appalled Good quality campaign mode, it was accurate to how space marines would do things, not giant assaults out of nowhere. However, I was appalled at the lack of detail in multiplayer and single player scenarios. All the races were almost exaclty the same as the ones next to it and the playstyle was far from how they are supposed to be played, orks dont use tactics, they rely on numbers as do tyranids (although they probably use more than orks). Furthermore being forced to get a windows live account to play the game is a huge waste of time if you will almost never use it. Full Review »
  2. Jul 28, 2012
    9
    Okay, I'll be honest with you. At first, having tried the demo and a taste of what DoW2 has to offer, I was sorely disappointed by the drasticOkay, I'll be honest with you. At first, having tried the demo and a taste of what DoW2 has to offer, I was sorely disappointed by the drastic change from the gameplay of the original game. HOWEVER, I still decided to give it a shot and I'm so glad that I did. The game plays differently, (there's no building, and more about squad abilities and tactics) but this is by no means bad. The campaign is quite engaging and you're given a number of varied squads to improve and upgrade throughout the game, and that is by far my favourite part. There is choice involved in missions, outfitting and strategy, making an overall flamboyant single player campaign. The co-op is just as sweet. But wait there's more. The cream of the crop is the multiplayer and The Last Stand where you take on hordes of monsters with 2 other heroes. Great additions all way round. Long story short, yes it is a massive departure from DoW1's style but it is fortunately just as good in its own right. I certainly have respect for the devs for changing things up and trying out something new, and I'm glad that they've still kept the strength of this series and its ability to constantly impress me. Full Review »
  3. JamesW
    Jan 22, 2010
    6
    Due to the overwhelming positive review and the good experience from the first Dawn of War, I bought this game without much hesitance. After Due to the overwhelming positive review and the good experience from the first Dawn of War, I bought this game without much hesitance. After having tried the single player and multiplayer mode, I am hugely disappointed. Frist of, the single player campaign is boring. It is the first time in my life that I fell a sleep while playing an RTS (literally). All you do is just looking at your same tiny Squad, moving them around the map, setup a good position, let them do automatic shooting, heal, then occasionally use their special ability, and repeat that throughout the game. Multiplayer is almost unplayable. Most of the time the match will be disconnected due to somebody's slow internet or computer. However, the new mode, The Last Stand, was pretty fun to play once in a while. I really try to like Dawn of War II, I have install and uninstall the game more than 4 times, but every time I started playing, it bores me. It is great that Relic try new approach on DOW2, but it lost a lot of the charm from the first game while doing so. Full Review »