Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Wasteland Angel takes place after World War III where most of the world’s population has been wiped out and the ones that survived were the unlucky ones. Now, survivors live in constant fear of being murdered or enslaved by violent gangs, renegade military units and horrific mutants. But out amongst the gangs and mutants roams our heroine – the Wasteland Angel cruises the radioactive deserts in her turbo-charged vehicle, traveling from town to town to eliminate those that prey on the weak. From a top-down isometric view, players pilot the Wasteland Angel’s overpowered vehicle as its dual machine guns cut a swath across the terrain. To handle whatever the gangs, muties and renegades throws her way, Wasteland Angel has upgradeable ammo that can rip enemies from this life and toss them into the next. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 3
  2. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. Sep 29, 2011
    60
    Wasteland Angel won't blow anyone away and you'll likely just feel like you're just going through the motions on an autopilot and never really engaged in all the action and chaos that ensues. Its few flashes of fun are derived only from the frantic pace and the neat special weapons, but it's all bogged down a general lack of variety and it's over before you know it, resulting in a game that's average at best.
  2. Sep 16, 2011
    45
    Wasteland Angel brings old-school arcade action to the PC. Outfitted with a heavily armored car called Gipsy, unlimited firepower and a thirst for vengeance, the game is a nostalgic throw-back to the era of arcade shooters. The game is however way to repetitive, easy and lacks a multiplayer mode.
  3. Oct 20, 2011
    16
    Wasteland Angel should be steered clear of primarily for its lack of both value and innovative gameplay. With the game lasting at most about 3 to 4 hours depending on difficulty and endurance to achieve better scores, your money can be spent better elsewhere on titles with more content.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 13
  2. Negative: 7 out of 13
  1. Sep 15, 2011
    8
    Cute game. It's in the later levels that it gets good; when you actually unlock a decent set of special weapons. The controls get a bit stubborn at times, mostly because my antiquity of a CPU couldn't handle the graphics. Other than that it was a good weekends worth of fun. Slightly more serious than 80% of my relationships. :) Expand
  2. Oct 7, 2011
    8
    Wasteland Angel which is developed by Octane Games and released by Meridian4 on 01/09/2011. It is an arcade style car combat themed shooter which was distributed through Valveâ Expand
  3. Sep 8, 2011
    8
    Not sure why the game was rated so harshly. I enjoyed playing it. It took me a while to get good at controlling the car, but once I got that down the levels are pretty challenging. The game plays like a driving shooter. Graphics are nice so are the guns. I also paid $7 and I feel like I got well worth my dolla bills. Enjoy. Expand
  4. Sep 19, 2011
    4
    I must say I didn't do much research before buying it. I liked the wasteland-theme and I'm always willing to give an indy title a shot so being dissapointed was mostly my fault as I was expecting this to be Quarantine revisited with an open-world and RPG-gameplay Instead, I was given an arena fighter where you drive circles around objects while keeping the mouse button pressed most of the time. There's no exploration, no interaction and the upgrading that you will be doing happens purely by chance as you have to drive over (or near) 'power-ups' dropped by destroyed hostiles that make you shooter faster, shoot differently, repair your vehicle or give you a special weapon. Sounds aren't very exciting. There are a lot of annoying comic-like noises when you hit something and there's a constant wailing alarm whenever the enemy steals civilians from the towns that you are tasked with defending. The driving is done through the WASD controls and you'll mostly be drifting and ramming into obstacles because the car steers like a cheap RC toy car. There's no turret involved, your primary weapon is attached to the hood of your car so you'll be aiming with the keyboard. Yes, that's right, this game plays like Doom without a mouse. I found this game to be repetitive even before I finished the tutorial. Its redeeming qualities are the ease at which you can win any of the game modes (even on higher difficulties) , the cars that remind me of Micro Machines and it has a cool wasteland theme going for it with some decent comic-style sketches and voice-acting. Expand
  5. Feb 24, 2012
    3
    It surely falls in the similar category as Zombie Driver... but Zombie Driver was fun and Wasteland Angel is not. Simple as that. The idea might seem fine and the introduction cutscene is promising. Well, there's no real expectations, but maybe this game it's at least not **** As i said, cutscenes are nice and comic-styled with some cheesy voice acting. But that's fine, it's not so bad. Then - the gameplay. It's just plain BORING. If you want to keep me engaged, you need to offer something more than generic arena shooter... without any story or interesting hooks in gameplay. To beat the game, you need to get through 7 chapters, all containing the same objectives. Areas differ, but only slightly. First task is to defend the city (or cities) from wastelanders/mutants, second is the same but at night, then you've got the boss battle and bonus stage. Rinse and repeat 'till you beat them all. It wouldnt be a big complain if the actual gameplay was fun enough... but it's not. Doing the same things over and over again, makes you wanna quit the game after 30minutes. Controls feel awkward, your car is like a plastic rc model. You'll need some time to master it, but then again - you'll get bored before that happen. In conclusion, i got the game in a bundle, so im not really bothered with losing my money. But i can't find any reason to buy it for the full price. One point for comic-styled cutscenes, one point for decent music, one point for trying at all. Full score: 3/10. Expand
  6. Aug 7, 2013
    2
    This game is bad from the beginning till the end. Poor graphics, annoying sounds and terrible gameplay. The only bright side of this game are achievements which are easy to obtain. I suggest you to avoid this game. Expand
  7. Feb 19, 2012
    0
    This is really bad game. Even if I shoot, enemy doesn't get my bullet exactly. Sometimes got hit, sometimes not hit.
    I don't know how to
    destroy enemy vehicles, when they don't get my shooting bullet. So I quit.

    And about controlling my car, VERY slow. Avoid it at any cost!
    Expand

See all 13 User Reviews