Waveform PC

  • Publisher: Playism
  • Release Date: Jan 25, 2013
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 37
  2. Negative: 6 out of 37

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 23, 2012
    7
    On trailers and screenshots Waveform looks very impressive. So i tried it, expecting really magnificent gameplay. I was a little-little-little bit disappointed, because in my opinion the game is "only" good. The idea is clever, developed perfectly (Waveform is beautiful and really fresh, uncommon), but when playing I quickly realised that I can't find in it anything that keeps me playingOn trailers and screenshots Waveform looks very impressive. So i tried it, expecting really magnificent gameplay. I was a little-little-little bit disappointed, because in my opinion the game is "only" good. The idea is clever, developed perfectly (Waveform is beautiful and really fresh, uncommon), but when playing I quickly realised that I can't find in it anything that keeps me playing for more than 2-3h (despite I really like games of this kind). Expand
  2. Jul 8, 2013
    6
    This game for me is fun in small doses, but it's hard for me to give it more than a 6 due to built in frustration and overall experience. It's not bad, it can be fun actually, but it's a frustrating kind of fun that makes me play a few levels and stop before I get grumpy. A highlight is the very good soundtrack and sounds that add to the overall relaxed ambiance. Little visual touchesThis game for me is fun in small doses, but it's hard for me to give it more than a 6 due to built in frustration and overall experience. It's not bad, it can be fun actually, but it's a frustrating kind of fun that makes me play a few levels and stop before I get grumpy. A highlight is the very good soundtrack and sounds that add to the overall relaxed ambiance. Little visual touches give the game a nice polished feel. The game mechanics are simple, no bugs that I saw. Gameplay consists of lining up your waveform-based trajectory/path and you vary only the amplitude and frequency of that path to collect items on screen/avoid others. Nice game mechanics. Again in summary. Fun game in small doses. Be prepared to be frustrated though if you're perfectionist and want to ace a level. Expand
  3. Jul 29, 2013
    0
    Had given a bad review due to a mouse bug making the game simply unplayable for me, but they saw the review and fixed it, hehe! Can give it a proper rating now

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. May 31, 2012
    85
    All in all, Waveform is a fantastic casual game which revels in both frustration and addiction. And best of all, this extreme enjoyment will only set you back the tidy sum of USD $7.
  2. PC Gamer UK
    May 11, 2012
    81
    It's a formula that works surprisingly well, and, at such a small price, Waveform is a bargain. [June 2012, p.95]
  3. Apr 5, 2012
    75
    Waveform is created out of a unique concept and is mostly made for casual gamers. The gameplay can be difficult though, making it interesting for the hardcore as well. This game will frustrate you at times though. It's also a shame that the music gets boring after a while.