• Publisher: Playism
  • Release Date: Jan 25, 2013
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    Waveform is fun for casual gamers and hardcore gamers alike. I have been enjoying this game a lot and surprisingly it has dragged my wife away from her gaming consoles to compete with me for high scores. The soundtrack is excellent and there is a lot of variety in the game mechanics over the course of the game .Easy to play , hard to master its a great addition to anyone's Steam library .I'm giving it a ten based on value for money. Check out my earlier gameplay preview http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tRK-OqJnOe4 Expand
  2. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    Waveform has you flying a particle through various space-themed levels, collecting little orbs of 'light', among other things. The catch is, the particle will only travel along a sine wave - of which the player can manipulate the amplitude and frequency, providing the primary way to control the particle's position. While the levels are rarely difficult to complete on the most basic level, completionists and those looking for a challenge will enjoy attempting 100% completions of the levels.

    With a well developed, intelligent mechanic, challenging gameplay for those who seek it, and a relaxing atmosphere, Waveform is an excellent game well worth checking out.
    Collapse
  3. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    Indie games don't get better than this! Waveform launches you into space on sine wave which you can increase the amplitude and frequency by means of travel. Ride the wave while avoiding objects and collecting light particles is what it's all about. There are at least eight stages around a planet, plus the ability to post your high scores on the leaderboard. Each stage of the game gets progressively harder as you strive to unlock achievements and complete each 'wave' perfectly. The developers check the Steam forums on a regular basis and listen intently to everyone's suggestions and are constantly improving gameplay. There is even downloadable content available. It's reasonably priced and a great game to own. Expand
  4. Mar 25, 2012
    9
    Certainly one of the most hypnotic games to be released this year. "Easy to pick up, hard to master" defines the surprisingly intuitive mouse controls. It doesn't take much effort to complete each stage (at least initially), but you'll nevertheless find yourself pushing for that elusive 100% completion. The joys here are similar to those of shmups or other lightshow puzzlers. It's a sublime feeling when hand and waveform enter harmony, color combos explode, and numbers ascend. Shooting aliens in the face doesn't quite compare. Priced at $6.99--the cost of an upscale meal at McDonalds--this is an absolute steal. Expand
  5. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    This game should be nominated for Indy game of the year, not to mention action or puzzle game of the year.

    It's polished, fun, challenging and all around excellent. Never had so much fun when I was bad at a given level, knowing it was just about refining how I did it for next attempt. Totally un-frustrating yet challenging fun.

    So far whirlys are my favorite obstaclefeature as they
    really create some cool moments to plan your move to score well.

    Thank you for a fun game that's not the same old same old!
    Expand
  6. Apr 23, 2012
    7
    On trailers and screenshots Waveform looks very impressive. So i tried it, expecting really magnificent gameplay. I was a little-little-little bit disappointed, because in my opinion the game is "only" good. The idea is clever, developed perfectly (Waveform is beautiful and really fresh, uncommon), but when playing I quickly realised that I can't find in it anything that keeps me playing for more than 2-3h (despite I really like games of this kind). Expand
  7. Jul 29, 2013
    8
    Had given a bad review due to a mouse bug making the game simply unplayable for me, but they saw the review and fixed it, hehe! Can give it a proper rating now
  8. Jul 8, 2013
    6
    This game for me is fun in small doses, but it's hard for me to give it more than a 6 due to built in frustration and overall experience. It's not bad, it can be fun actually, but it's a frustrating kind of fun that makes me play a few levels and stop before I get grumpy. A highlight is the very good soundtrack and sounds that add to the overall relaxed ambiance. Little visual touches give the game a nice polished feel. The game mechanics are simple, no bugs that I saw. Gameplay consists of lining up your waveform-based trajectory/path and you vary only the amplitude and frequency of that path to collect items on screen/avoid others. Nice game mechanics. Again in summary. Fun game in small doses. Be prepared to be frustrated though if you're perfectionist and want to ace a level. Expand
  9. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    The most enjoyment I've had playing an abstract real-time puzzler since I first got Tetris for Gameboy in 1992. The trailer might make it look like it's just another simple, boring and repetitive indie game, and sure, the only reason I bought it was because it was on offer on Steam, but once I'd had a few tries and got a feel for how to use the mouse to manipulate the wavepattern, I was hooked, and I can't get enough of it. The only way I can find of explaining the gameplay experience is somthing like that of Guitar Hero, only 10 times more interesting. Might not be for everyone though, but if you're into challenging and intelligent casual games like Tetris, you might want to try this one. Expand
  10. Mar 25, 2012
    0
    Waveform has you flying a particle through various space-themed levels, collecting little orbs of 'light', among other things. The catch is, the particle will only travel along a sine wave - of which the player can manipulate the amplitude and frequency, providing the primary way to control the particle's position. While the levels are rarely difficult to complete on the most basic level, completionists and those looking for a challenge will enjoy attempting 100% completions of the levels.

    With a well developed, intelligent mechanic, challenging gameplay for those who seek it, and a relaxing atmosphere, Waveform is an excellent game well worth checking out.
    Collapse
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. May 31, 2012
    85
    All in all, Waveform is a fantastic casual game which revels in both frustration and addiction. And best of all, this extreme enjoyment will only set you back the tidy sum of USD $7.
  2. May 11, 2012
    81
    It's a formula that works surprisingly well, and, at such a small price, Waveform is a bargain. [June 2012, p.95]
  3. Apr 5, 2012
    75
    Waveform is created out of a unique concept and is mostly made for casual gamers. The gameplay can be difficult though, making it interesting for the hardcore as well. This game will frustrate you at times though. It's also a shame that the music gets boring after a while.