• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Jun 9, 2003
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. I haven’t had this much FUN playing a game in a long time. The twitch nature of the gameplay is great for short spurts of addictive action between those other more serious titles. Check your brain at the door and let the Force flow through you.
  2. Yes, it's formulaic - creep forward, trigger an onslaught of attackers, circle-strafe, save, flip a switch, and repeat - but the gameplay captivates in short bursts due mainly to inventive level design. [Sept 2003, p.86]
  3. I found a few bizarre control and collision hiccups that furrowed my brow, but by and large this is a game that starts with a bang and doesn't quit. [Aug 2003, p.103]
  4. Combat frustrations, silly switch hunts, and a barebones multiplayer all combine to make this one somewhat disappointing to play.
  5. 72
    If you're one of the those who routinely played Serious Sam, swore a lot, died a lot and then found yourself doing it again, here's a Rock you just might want to crawl under for a while.
  6. It mimics "Serious Sam," but without any apparent understanding of the subtle particulars that made Sam more than just another generic shooter.
  7. Will Rock can be fun and at times, but the designers screwed up the gameplay pace with the poor layout of the levels and their lackluster design, and, at times, awkward frequency of the spawning baddies.
  8. I absolutely love the graphics. The character models are excellent. They're not only imaginative but appear to have depth and personalities. Too bad the game doesn't have much depth.
  9. The problem: I've played Serious Sam. I've seen Serious Sam. And this, sir, is no Serious Sam. [Nov 2003, p.131]
  10. 40
    For a budget title, Will Rock will paralyze you with excitement and is a true test for the first-person shooter hard core. No thinking allowed.
  11. The problem is that it's not very good action. The whole game has a tired feel to it. [Oct 2003, p.84]
  12. Every texture repeats over and over again until your eyes cry out for something different. Even the artificially produced skies are bland and generic, possibly so the clouds don’t upstage the boring enemies you fight again.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 3 out of 8
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    9
    A game with beautiful locations like big castles. great big outside environments. Only problem is that there are too much enemies running to you just like in the Serious Sam-games and that will hurt your eyes after a while. Enemies are real funny and interesting though. I like this game! Full Review »
  2. Aug 4, 2013
    8
    I like the action an the shooting games have that. It's a little bit repetitive you know with all these shots but the enemies you encounter are just insane. Pure adrenaline, and a very underrated game. I think this deserved a nice sequel or something with a great multiplayer. Will be nice, Will ROCK. Full Review »
  3. ErsinK.
    Oct 24, 2004
    7
    Very fast and hard action game.