Wolfenstein: The New Order Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1810 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 1946: Europe. World War II rages on across Europe. Where the Allies once pressed advantage, the Nazi forces have turned the tide in dramatic fashion behind the technologically advanced war machine of General Wilhelm Strasse, aka Deathshead. When a final Allied assault on Deathshead's1946: Europe. World War II rages on across Europe. Where the Allies once pressed advantage, the Nazi forces have turned the tide in dramatic fashion behind the technologically advanced war machine of General Wilhelm Strasse, aka Deathshead. When a final Allied assault on Deathshead's compound fails, the Allies’ greatest hope falls with it. 1960: Europe. The war is over. And the Nazis are triumphant victors. Using unrelenting force and brutal intimidation, the Nazis have brought even the most powerful nations to their knees. The Nazi regime now rules the globe with an iron fist. You are Captain B.J. Blazkowicz, the American War Hero. After delving into this world of darkness, you must launch an impossible counter-offensive against the monstrous Nazi regime. Only you dare stand up against an unstoppable army of Nazi robots and hulking Super Soldiers. Only you can stop Deathshead. Only you can rewrite history. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Wolfenstein: The New Order - Train to Berlin Gameplay
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. May 28, 2014
    100
    Wolfenstein 3D changed how we looked at first person games in 1992 and The New Order, while not as big of a step, may be just as important of one for the future of the genre.
  2. May 26, 2014
    90
    To put it briefly: The New Order deserves a sequel. And to make sure this dream comes true, I can do only one thing: convince you to buy the new Wolfensten game. Perhaps great trailers boosted expectations too high, perhaps fanatical Return to Castle Wolfenstein players won't be as amazed, as I am, but I'm sure of this: all FPS fans will have a great time and after finishing the game they'll want more.
  3. Jun 9, 2014
    90
    While the story never reaches the level of Bioshock or Portal 2, Wolfenstein: The New Order is a great experience both narratively and gameplay-wise, and has way more heart than it has any right to.
  4. May 22, 2014
    80
    Who was expecting such a big Wolfenstein return four years after the previous title? Not many, but MachineGames has developed a very good shooter with mixed gameplay (shoot&stealth), an interesting plot and great characters.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jul 8, 2014
    80
    If you've enjoyed shooters of old, you'll love how freshly packaged this one is.
  6. Jun 8, 2014
    80
    Wolfenstein: The New Order is an electric veg-o-matic of FPS gaming bits and pieces set thrown into the hopper and set for puree. It lacks some stuff that we’re sort of gotten used to seeing in our FPS games these days and adds, a thousand collectable widgets aside, not much that we haven’t seen elsewhere before.
  7. CD-Action
    Jul 25, 2014
    50
    The only thing in the new Wolfenstein that turned out really well is music. Shooting is decent and some weapons give proper sense of power, but developers failed to build an interesting game on these foundations. It has some good moments but none of them lasts long enough to be satisfying. Plus the writing is terrible and the way the game constantly forces all that ‘war is evil!’ preaching and Blazkowicz’s moral dilemmas down your throat is ridiculous. I actually couldn’t decide whether the game is being serious or not. [07/2014, p.56]

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 370
  1. Aug 31, 2014
    10
    Great game, awesome story, superb comeback to old school while adding modern tweaks. The alternative timeline of history is engaging and hasGreat game, awesome story, superb comeback to old school while adding modern tweaks. The alternative timeline of history is engaging and has many nice subtleties, like German recordings of well known English hits.
    I also didn't notice texture loading bug from Rage when spinning around, so for me this is improvement over the Tech 5 engine.
    Expand
  2. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    Finished Single Player Campaign in 22 hours. Awesome game, loved it, better than I expected it to be. The game just kept getting better as IFinished Single Player Campaign in 22 hours. Awesome game, loved it, better than I expected it to be. The game just kept getting better as I played it. I will definitely play this again. Played on PC with GTX 780ti 3GB. Graphics are great and the game runs fast at 60 fps at 1440p. If you love id shooters, then you will love this game. Expand
  3. May 20, 2014
    10
    Although not bringing masses to the fps market, Wolfenstein is propped up by successful writing, plot and graphics. The characters areAlthough not bringing masses to the fps market, Wolfenstein is propped up by successful writing, plot and graphics. The characters are relatable and Wolfenstein is an overall very good game. Expand
  4. Apr 13, 2015
    9
    Return to Castle Wolfenstein and Wolfenstein are two great titles and so is Wolfenstein: The New Order. The graphics aren't something uniqueReturn to Castle Wolfenstein and Wolfenstein are two great titles and so is Wolfenstein: The New Order. The graphics aren't something unique but are well done. The Nazi killing is fun. Unlike the other games in the series, The New Order has a really great story. The missions are clever and well designed. The game is fun to replay and I had even more fun replaying with an Enigma code mode. The only thing I didn't liked about the game was the loading times when you die - they are too long for me. Despite that Wolfenstein: The New Order is wonderful first-person shooter and a wonderful addition to the series. From 2 to 6 I give in VERY GOOD 5. Expand
  5. May 26, 2014
    8
    Отличнейший шутер! Правда на PC есть некоторые проблемы перешедшие от движка Кармака ID Tech 5 и собственно первой игрой на этом движке Rage.Отличнейший шутер! Правда на PC есть некоторые проблемы перешедшие от движка Кармака ID Tech 5 и собственно первой игрой на этом движке Rage. На PS4 как мне говорят товарищи все гораздо лучше, к лету возьму Playstation и обязательно будут обзоры на эксклюзивы: Knack, Killzone Shadow Fall, inFamous Second Son. Expand
  6. Sep 7, 2014
    7
    First, let me start off by saying that I am not "really" a big FPS fan. I've played a lot of shooting games back in the days (quake, unreal,First, let me start off by saying that I am not "really" a big FPS fan. I've played a lot of shooting games back in the days (quake, unreal, F.E.A.R, battlefield, CoD and many more...) but have been hooked to aRPG / MMOs for years now.

    Now, I have played many of the "recent" FPS titles but always ended up leaving the games aside for a reason or another. CoD: Ghost got me bored after only 3 hours of gaming, Crysis 3 was graphically stunning but kinda got repetitive and more like a chore to play for me.

    The problem with many new titles these days (not only FPS) is that they try to be "unique" and sometimes focus too much on "new" gameplay features rather than the actual content of the game. Wolfenstein: The New Order is not original in that regard and offers a rather traditional game play, so no surprises there.
    Progressing through the waves of enemies can be a bit dull in the way that there is not a huge variety of them but the AI is not the worst I've seen in a FPS game.

    All of that aside, Wolfenstein: TNO kept me hooked until the very end. The strongest point of the game is clearly the story, and more precisely the way it is integrated to the game play. Some people might not like the "lack of originality" when it comes to controls but after finishing the game, I thought that the play through was rather "natural" and intuitive.

    The graphics are not "next gen" but pretty good. Crysis 3 did a bit better in that regard but people who rate the game 0 because they are not satisfied with the textures are a bit silly. (But hey, it's the internet!)
    I didn't find that controls were a problems in any way ("finger gymnastics" as mentioned by some people) and experienced one minor bug only through the whole game (went through the floor while trying to jump where i wasn't supposed to). There are occasionally however as mentioned by a few people collision issues with bigger sized enemies that basically make them harmless.

    I had no expectations and knew nothing about this title before actually playing it. I felt that some parts were a bit over the top but overall it had been a while since I enjoyed a FPS game like this. I liked the characters and their development through the game.

    Despite being a bit linear, I feel that the game should keep most people interested until the end.

    Gameplay / controls: 6/10 (because a bit linear / not innovative)
    Graphics: 8/10 (It's not next gen, but it's good)
    Story: 8/10 (It's not perfect, but it does the job well)

    I give it a 7 out of 10.
    Expand
  7. Apr 2, 2015
    0
    I really can't explain myself why this childish game need 64 bit. When I was hit in the face with those white-ish poor textures, I've lost allI really can't explain myself why this childish game need 64 bit. When I was hit in the face with those white-ish poor textures, I've lost all interest in playing this simple run and gun. No buy from me! I've tried the game at a friend... Expand

See all 370 User Reviews