User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 697 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 97 out of 697

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MaxD.
    Apr 9, 2007
    5
    This expansion pack adds a nice addition to Wow but i am disappointed in it. The two new races and the Outlands are cool but other than that it doesn't really help characters from lvls 1-40 it is a waste of $30
  2. DerickC.
    Apr 2, 2007
    6
    I was expecting the expansion to be nothing short of a major improvement of the World of Warcraft such as the Frozen Throne expansion for Warcraft 3. This was sadly wrong, as this expansion had not, in my opinion added enough content into the original to make it more appealing to new players then it was before. The game still has the same repetitive gameplay and features. Even something I was expecting the expansion to be nothing short of a major improvement of the World of Warcraft such as the Frozen Throne expansion for Warcraft 3. This was sadly wrong, as this expansion had not, in my opinion added enough content into the original to make it more appealing to new players then it was before. The game still has the same repetitive gameplay and features. Even something like a minor graphic update would have been welcomed. Despite these points, the expansion is still very effective in terms of giving current World of Warcraft players more things to do and run around for. However, I don't think that wasting 40 dollars is worth it as they should have given the content for free. Expand
  3. RobertC.
    Jul 20, 2007
    5
    The end game ruins the game grind grind boring as hell. pvp is ok but too unbalanced especially the classes that fear you over and over and over wow fun.
  4. MikeP.
    Aug 30, 2007
    6
    A lot of new material that isn't necessarily a good thing, once you get to 70 you realize that the only thing to do is grind to get the materials for Items, for rep to get items and instances to get items. With that all said it's fun to explore everything and get new powers, but I think it kinda broke it's fan base. I had just gotten to 60 when the expansion came out, but I A lot of new material that isn't necessarily a good thing, once you get to 70 you realize that the only thing to do is grind to get the materials for Items, for rep to get items and instances to get items. With that all said it's fun to explore everything and get new powers, but I think it kinda broke it's fan base. I had just gotten to 60 when the expansion came out, but I would feel that for the people who had spent like 400 hours raiding before the expansion came out and had everything would be annoyed as hell that you can get better items just from playing the expansion for an hour. It's really well decorated grinding when it comes down to it. Furthermore, with the news of another expansion in the works it makes 30-40% of the content in this game pointless because the most powerful items in this game will be overshadowed in the first hour of the next one most likely. Expand
  5. ZapB.
    Jan 18, 2007
    5
    More, but strangely, less.. I played the beta and was so turned off that I managed to break free of my WoW addiction.. It's kind of hard to pinpoint exactly what it is about the BC that turned me off to WoW, but prior to playing the beta I was playing 20-30 hrs a week :(. Something about the expansion just feels vacant, soulless.. The content feels far more contrived than the More, but strangely, less.. I played the beta and was so turned off that I managed to break free of my WoW addiction.. It's kind of hard to pinpoint exactly what it is about the BC that turned me off to WoW, but prior to playing the beta I was playing 20-30 hrs a week :(. Something about the expansion just feels vacant, soulless.. The content feels far more contrived than the original. The immersion effect just isn't there like it was in the original. Somehow the content feels noticeably man-made and less organic. Maybe it's just me, maybe I just played too darn much of the original, but to me the expansion feels forced and awkward. I never had any of those OMG moments like in the original the first time you fly into IF. Btw, I have 3 60s, but only played my mage. I got to him to 63 before getting tired of the game. I haven't played the game since. Another thing that drove me nuts, I worked for months collecting epics in the original to get 7/8 tier I gear and was really angry to discover that I could pretty much replace all my epics by level 62. That totally blew. Oh yeah, and the flying mounts look kinda lame. I never got to fly one, but they just look fake the way you hover in place.. Overall the game was a disappointment, but hey I got my rl back and still have a gf :). Expand
  6. CarlC.
    Mar 1, 2007
    7
    A little disappointing but it does add new content. Not what I expected.
  7. Jeff
    Apr 12, 2007
    6
    Perhaps the most boring expansion pack ever released.
  8. fatdog
    Jan 5, 2008
    5
    The Burning Crusade lacks the magical atmosphere of the original WoW. I was addicted to the original despite all its flaws, faulty concepts, bugs, lag... I was simply immersed in the world. I loved it. But TBC killed it. I find it boring. Half of it doesn't even belong to the Warcraft universe. So I've found a much better MMORPG, EVE Online. For which an expansion rivaling TBC The Burning Crusade lacks the magical atmosphere of the original WoW. I was addicted to the original despite all its flaws, faulty concepts, bugs, lag... I was simply immersed in the world. I loved it. But TBC killed it. I find it boring. Half of it doesn't even belong to the Warcraft universe. So I've found a much better MMORPG, EVE Online. For which an expansion rivaling TBC in size, including a new graphics engine, was made completely free. I wish I could take the money I spent on WoW and throw it in the face of WoW's lead designer. Bubblegum for the masses, mediocrity at its finest hiding behind a well-known title. Expand
  9. Nov 16, 2011
    5
    I've played this WOW game a long time ago with my uncle, and I gotta say it's not that fun at all. The gameplay mechanics are copied off from Starcraft, only with third person perspective. Too muc laging as well as glitiches. I'm not a WOW nerd, so I don't give a **** about this game. If you like WOW, buy it at your own risk!!!
  10. Feb 13, 2012
    7
    I joined in the midst of the BC expansion so a comparison to Vanilla would be impossible.
    I remember trying to level up, it was hard at the time and by the time i was leveling everyone else was in the 70's doing HC's, Raiding and PVP'ing.
    It is not the game you want to play if you are a hermit, despite what people may think, it's a very social game in which players must coordinate in many
    I joined in the midst of the BC expansion so a comparison to Vanilla would be impossible.
    I remember trying to level up, it was hard at the time and by the time i was leveling everyone else was in the 70's doing HC's, Raiding and PVP'ing.
    It is not the game you want to play if you are a hermit, despite what people may think, it's a very social game in which players must coordinate in many situations and friendships are built in your guilds.
    Kara, Sunwell Plateu, The Black Temple... FANTASTIC!
    Expand
  11. JamesS.
    Aug 30, 2007
    7
    The gap is astonishing within the user ratings, it's like half 10's and half 0's. Such emotional responses to this game, it seems to me that the people who gave it 0's are people who just hate it because of what others have said about it or playing another game and violently insist it's over-rated; and the people who say it's 10 are people who are addicted to The gap is astonishing within the user ratings, it's like half 10's and half 0's. Such emotional responses to this game, it seems to me that the people who gave it 0's are people who just hate it because of what others have said about it or playing another game and violently insist it's over-rated; and the people who say it's 10 are people who are addicted to the game play. I was really addicted to this game for a while, I would never turn down another activity to play it however. I have a level 70 Mage in this game. In the time I've played it's been really fun, what really captivates me about it is just how complete much of the world seems. The world as a whole is very unified and filled with very diverse creatures, items and environments; the plot is continuous, compelling and epic in scale; the graphics are stylized but work flawlessly with the intent of the game world. From a technical standpoint I haven't experienced any networking issues that cause me anything more than mild annoyance every two months or so. I feel that Blizzard has pulled off a technical marvel in having as little errors as they have had on the scale they are building on. The negative traits of the expansion are the negative traits of the original game but magnified. For everybody who hasn't reached level 70 yet, the game play changes completely after you reach level 70, the only things you can do after that point is grind, and it's magnified remember, so it takes almost four times as long as it did in the original to make progress. so to create a mid-high range level 70 item finding all the materials by yourself will require you to keep track of your cool-downs for anywhere from 4-28 days unless you want it to take longer, and a good 10-20 hours of grinding for other materials unless you want to pay a huge amount of game currency to get them faster. So the devotion required to get one of those items requires you to spend 8-26 hours grinding if you accomplish this in a month as I did, you will have spent 1/30th of your time that month getting an item in a video game. Since I got that hard won object I have had no desire to play that game since, I canceled my subscription eight days later. In addition to that, the news of another expansion pack will mean everybody who grinded for 200 hours in the original WoW to get the best items and found in the Burning Crusade those items can be replaced in an hours time, and also the people who will have grinded for 400 hours in the the Burning Crusade will probably find that their items can be replaced in as little as 4 hours time in the next expansion pack. The fact that there will be another expansion reduces the playability of this expansion and makes all that grinding for rep, gold and items that much more pointless. I paid $100 for this experience including four months subscription fee, before you buy this game, think of other forms of entertainment with an equivalent price tag, I'm not saying don't buy it, I had an enormous amount of fun with it till the event I mentioned. Expand
  12. AnonymousMC
    Jan 29, 2007
    5
    For 40$, the expansion gives new high level content, one new profession, some increased PvP options, and two new races with starting areas. The high level content includes new items, new zones, new music, and new monsters. If you're up by 60, this is awesome for you. The new races have brand new starting areas, story, and quests for low levels. Everyone from level 20-40 will For 40$, the expansion gives new high level content, one new profession, some increased PvP options, and two new races with starting areas. The high level content includes new items, new zones, new music, and new monsters. If you're up by 60, this is awesome for you. The new races have brand new starting areas, story, and quests for low levels. Everyone from level 20-40 will experience little change, unless they start a new character or begin jewelcrafting. Content for players from 20-59 has remained for the most part unchanged, so players in that bracket get little if any benefit from this expansion. Expand
  13. JA
    Feb 1, 2007
    5
    As much as I am floored by the beauty of the new sci-fi influenced zones and impressed by the cool new races and profession, I can't help but feel disappointed because The burning Crusade fails to really add any depth to the game. It just adds more space. In a month players will be in the same position they were at level 60 - running instances over and over and wasting $15 a month As much as I am floored by the beauty of the new sci-fi influenced zones and impressed by the cool new races and profession, I can't help but feel disappointed because The burning Crusade fails to really add any depth to the game. It just adds more space. In a month players will be in the same position they were at level 60 - running instances over and over and wasting $15 a month (which feels more and more like a rip off as WoW's subscribers break 8 million +) until the NEXT expansion lets them level a little more. I do not blame anyone who chooses to quit. Expand
  14. BrendanB.
    Jul 12, 2007
    7
    It's an okay expansion, but with endless gridning and almost the exact same things but with different looks(except the flying mounts which are fun for about 5 minutes) it could of been much better.
  15. GabrielU
    Nov 15, 2009
    7
    Well... I had various felling about this expansion. At first, I was deeply disappointed by total change of atmosphere, adding Blood Elves and Draenei... Blood Elves still suck a BIG ONE for me, especially for its look (I really don't know why they gave us bunch of gays in both sexes?), but Outlands... Man, it's other planet (or it was), but it's not Azeroth! I got used to Well... I had various felling about this expansion. At first, I was deeply disappointed by total change of atmosphere, adding Blood Elves and Draenei... Blood Elves still suck a BIG ONE for me, especially for its look (I really don't know why they gave us bunch of gays in both sexes?), but Outlands... Man, it's other planet (or it was), but it's not Azeroth! I got used to it and it was enjoyable play for me. Little nerfed from WoW, but still changeling. Expand
  16. Jul 21, 2012
    5
    I suppose when I started playing this Expansion set, I felt annoyed by the sci-fi and futuristic scenarios, the super-mega-coloristic weapons and armors everywhere, and the loss of credibility in general (yeah, let's assume that there was some in the original WoW). The fact that 95% of the players at this point of the game (level 50+) are normally focused (only) on empower their characters didn
  17. Dec 10, 2012
    7
    A solid and enjoyable expansion further expanding the vanilla game and adding to the story. Not quite the same feeling as Vanilla but enjoyable none the less.
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. New areas and races are well thought out and there is tons of stuff to do. Some hardcore raiders will not love the new 25 player raid cap, though, and the guild aspect of the game could have used more improvements. [Jan 2007]
  2. 100
    The new locations, characters, items, and monsters are nothing short of awesome. The voice acting is perfect, the sound effects spot-on, and the score at times both ominous and uplifting.
  3. Launch issues aside, there's absolutely no reason why any World of Warcraft player should hesitate to pick it up. Consider it essential.