Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 668 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Several years have passed since the Burning Legion's defeat at Mount Hyjal and the races of Azeroth have continued to rebuild their once shattered lives. With renewed strength, the heroes of the Horde and Alliance have begun to explore new lands and broken through the Dark Portal toSeveral years have passed since the Burning Legion's defeat at Mount Hyjal and the races of Azeroth have continued to rebuild their once shattered lives. With renewed strength, the heroes of the Horde and Alliance have begun to explore new lands and broken through the Dark Portal to investigate the realms beyond the known world. Will these heroes find friends or foes? What dangers and rewards lie in wait beyond the Dark Portal? And what will they do when they discover that the demons they thought vanquished have returned to renew their terrible Burning Crusade? New Player Races: New allies will join the game, expanding the story line and allowing players to develop powerful new characters within the world. Higher Level Limit: The game's level cap is being raised to 70, and with these new levels will come meaningful spell, ability, and talent upgrades for each character class. New Lands and Battlegrounds: Explore the magical realms of the Blood Elves and Draenei, journey through the Dark Portal into untamed Outland, and visit dungeons and battlefields previously inaccessible to players.
    Flying Mounts: In Outland, players will gain access to unique airborne mounts that will allow for smoother travel over some of that region's more hazardous terrain. [Blizzard]
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. 100
    The new locations, characters, items, and monsters are nothing short of awesome. The voice acting is perfect, the sound effects spot-on, and the score at times both ominous and uplifting.
  2. 100
    One of the most solid expansion packs I have ever seen for any game. While you may find a few bugs here and there, it's a thoroughly polished package. It simply delivers where many don't, and it's easy to see why its already having so much success.
  3. The overall quality of The Burning Crusade is simply astounding.
  4. With The Burning Crusade, Blizzard has yet again raised the standard by which all MMORPGs will be judged. [Mar 2007, p.112]
  5. New areas and races are well thought out and there is tons of stuff to do. Some hardcore raiders will not love the new 25 player raid cap, though, and the guild aspect of the game could have used more improvements. [Jan 2007]
  6. The Burning Crusade is a must-have, both for ongoing players of World of Warcraft but also the players who got bored at level 60 and stopped playing.
  7. Sure, you get a new continent, ten levels to gain, and hundreds of quests, but compared to "EVE Online’s" upcoming free expansion (which includes a total graphical overhaul) it’s easy to be a bit under-whelmed, and feel a bit overcharged.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 120
  2. Negative: 29 out of 120
  1. LoganH.
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    Great story, ALOT of new content added, and the two new races are AMAZING! A MUST BUY IF YOU OWN World of Warcraft!
  2. Apr 17, 2013
    10
    A lot of sequels and expansions fall short, because it is just of the same old thing. Maybe that is exactly what BC is considering it justA lot of sequels and expansions fall short, because it is just of the same old thing. Maybe that is exactly what BC is considering it just added more of the same thing. Vanilla WOW is clearly the best, but this expansion took it even further. All of vanilla WOW's potential was made active through this new set of dungeons, far bigger raids, and more factions and rewards. The world truly came to life, and the things you did really impacted what happened around the fantasy world. Expand
  3. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    I played this game for a long time and i all ways loved it! I all ways thought that this game easily deserved a 100/100. Sadly the newI played this game for a long time and i all ways loved it! I all ways thought that this game easily deserved a 100/100. Sadly the new expansion "Mists of Pandaria" did not turn out as well as i thought but all the other ones were good and i can't wait to see what new expansion comes out next! :D Expand
  4. Darkslayer
    Jan 29, 2007
    9
    Lots to do, beautiful music, pretty much 0 bugs and server disconnects, Blizzard has delivered the goods with their latest expansion pack. Lots to do, beautiful music, pretty much 0 bugs and server disconnects, Blizzard has delivered the goods with their latest expansion pack. While the graphics are aging, they remain stylish and clean. And yes, the quests can becoming boring after a while, but any fighting you do (esp from a Warlock's perspective) is challenging and fast paced. Plus, the game community (at least on my server) is very good. Lots of friendly players, very few a******s. Bottom line is; I'm not sure why so many endusers aren't that pleased with this expansion pack. Blizzard has given us WoW players everything we could want plus even more. Expand
  5. Feb 13, 2012
    7
    I joined in the midst of the BC expansion so a comparison to Vanilla would be impossible.
    I remember trying to level up, it was hard at the
    I joined in the midst of the BC expansion so a comparison to Vanilla would be impossible.
    I remember trying to level up, it was hard at the time and by the time i was leveling everyone else was in the 70's doing HC's, Raiding and PVP'ing.
    It is not the game you want to play if you are a hermit, despite what people may think, it's a very social game in which players must coordinate in many situations and friendships are built in your guilds.
    Kara, Sunwell Plateu, The Black Temple... FANTASTIC!
    Expand
  6. ZapB.
    Jan 18, 2007
    5
    More, but strangely, less.. I played the beta and was so turned off that I managed to break free of my WoW addiction.. It's kind of hard More, but strangely, less.. I played the beta and was so turned off that I managed to break free of my WoW addiction.. It's kind of hard to pinpoint exactly what it is about the BC that turned me off to WoW, but prior to playing the beta I was playing 20-30 hrs a week :(. Something about the expansion just feels vacant, soulless.. The content feels far more contrived than the original. The immersion effect just isn't there like it was in the original. Somehow the content feels noticeably man-made and less organic. Maybe it's just me, maybe I just played too darn much of the original, but to me the expansion feels forced and awkward. I never had any of those OMG moments like in the original the first time you fly into IF. Btw, I have 3 60s, but only played my mage. I got to him to 63 before getting tired of the game. I haven't played the game since. Another thing that drove me nuts, I worked for months collecting epics in the original to get 7/8 tier I gear and was really angry to discover that I could pretty much replace all my epics by level 62. That totally blew. Oh yeah, and the flying mounts look kinda lame. I never got to fly one, but they just look fake the way you hover in place.. Overall the game was a disappointment, but hey I got my rl back and still have a gf :). Expand
  7. JoeJok
    Jan 17, 2007
    0
    This game is laughable. It's amazing what people will pay just for an upgrade that really should be downloadable. Blizzard will keep on This game is laughable. It's amazing what people will pay just for an upgrade that really should be downloadable. Blizzard will keep on sucking the money out of all of you fools. Expand

See all 120 User Reviews