User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 970 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AnonymousMC
    Nov 21, 2008
    7
    its basically more of the same if thats all you wanted then it meets all your expectations however if wow is getting a little stle or you were hoping to seee somthing new and exciting then am afraid this aint it i feel that blizzard could have done more the landscapes have been recycled from previuos ideas and that everything feels kinda samey the dungeons as well suffer from that beenits basically more of the same if thats all you wanted then it meets all your expectations however if wow is getting a little stle or you were hoping to seee somthing new and exciting then am afraid this aint it i feel that blizzard could have done more the landscapes have been recycled from previuos ideas and that everything feels kinda samey the dungeons as well suffer from that been here before feelin dont get me wrong it looks pretty and the music is suberb but ground breakign it aint to be honest it all feel kinda lazy. Expand
  2. AndrewB.
    Nov 6, 2008
    9
    This is A Decient game At The looks so far alot effort and determination have made this epic game a reality, New level and game type on the otherhand have givin first time gamers a week to reach the highest level to play along with the lich king, Well dont Blizz
  3. JoeTheUnemployed
    Nov 13, 2008
    9
    7.5 for 39 votes on Day 1? Sorry Metacritic, but it's time to close the User portion of the game rating. Obviously, there's abuse of the system here, when a game that is a must buy for millions worldwide is not properly reflected. User scores have no accountability, have not established credibility, and can easily be manipulated through anonymous voting. Time to get rid of this 7.5 for 39 votes on Day 1? Sorry Metacritic, but it's time to close the User portion of the game rating. Obviously, there's abuse of the system here, when a game that is a must buy for millions worldwide is not properly reflected. User scores have no accountability, have not established credibility, and can easily be manipulated through anonymous voting. Time to get rid of this system for something that will hold users responsible for their opinion. Expand
  4. AlasdairCannon
    Nov 17, 2008
    9
    World of Warcraft Wrath of the Lich King is great. Not only do the visuals look beautiful, Blizzard have outdone themselves, and improved almost every gameplay aspect. I'm giving this a well deserved 9/10.
  5. KentL.
    Nov 18, 2008
    7
    Outstanding expansion! I fully agree with all of the reviews on all but one point, a point severe enough to drop the rating considerably. It seems that WoW has become a victim of it's own success and now resorts to using queue's to put paying customers in line to play the game. I've seen people over 1k in que with wait times nearing an hour. I've got time to write this Outstanding expansion! I fully agree with all of the reviews on all but one point, a point severe enough to drop the rating considerably. It seems that WoW has become a victim of it's own success and now resorts to using queue's to put paying customers in line to play the game. I've seen people over 1k in que with wait times nearing an hour. I've got time to write this review because I'm in one for 45 minutes. By my calculations, with nearly 12 million users, assuming 11 million actually pay (aren't free users), at let's say an average of $10 per month (to make the math easy), Blizzard is raking in $1.3 Billion per year. Doesn't seem like a no brainer that they could spend a few thousand of that on a few more servers that can handle the capacity? Sorry Blizz...you lose some points when you force people to be unable to play. Sure, you offer free server transfers but what good would that do when the heart of your game is social networking? We can't socially network with people on different servers and unless 100% of our friends and people we've met over time move with us, causing over population on that server, we still have the same issue. Great expansion, mediocre capacity planning. Expand
  6. JonB.
    Nov 24, 2008
    9
    Dear John D, It may be interesting for you to hear that over 50% of players that left WoW to play WAR have returned for WotLK. It should also be mentioned that the retail game is a very different experience from the beta, because the retail game is a finished product, whereas the beta is meant for testing, balancing and bug removal. Also, gear replacing is not as rampant in the early Dear John D, It may be interesting for you to hear that over 50% of players that left WoW to play WAR have returned for WotLK. It should also be mentioned that the retail game is a very different experience from the beta, because the retail game is a finished product, whereas the beta is meant for testing, balancing and bug removal. Also, gear replacing is not as rampant in the early levels in WotLK compared to TBC. In closing, perhaps playing the finished product, in conjunction with keeping an open mind and not being a fanboy of a WoW competitor will help you craft a more sensible, reasonable and overall credible review. Expand
  7. MikeA
    Nov 24, 2008
    9
    If you don't like WoW, don't buy this game. If you already enjoy WoW, there is a lot that's good about this expansion. New vehicle based missions can be really fun. New Wintergrasp battleground is a lot of fun. Characters keep getting stronger, which is always fun I think lol. The game really does look a lot better than it used to if you turn your graphics to highest. They If you don't like WoW, don't buy this game. If you already enjoy WoW, there is a lot that's good about this expansion. New vehicle based missions can be really fun. New Wintergrasp battleground is a lot of fun. Characters keep getting stronger, which is always fun I think lol. The game really does look a lot better than it used to if you turn your graphics to highest. They did a good job on the shadows and the zones have great architecture. You don't replace your epics as fast as some people would have you believe. I'm nearing level 75 and haven't replaced nearly half of my gear. There's a lot of content that's going to be released in the upcoming patches to meet the needs of die hard gamers. Oh yeah, read the quests! Expand
  8. JamesH.
    Nov 25, 2008
    9
    Queues? What queues? I'm on a fairly low population server, and haven't been queued once. You do know that Blizzard offers free character transfers for people on high pop servers, yes? Bottom line, Lich King is more WoW. The graphics have been improved a bit and the new quests are more fun and inventive than anything that's come before, but it's still the same game. If Queues? What queues? I'm on a fairly low population server, and haven't been queued once. You do know that Blizzard offers free character transfers for people on high pop servers, yes? Bottom line, Lich King is more WoW. The graphics have been improved a bit and the new quests are more fun and inventive than anything that's come before, but it's still the same game. If you like WoW, you'll love this expansion. If you're a WoW hater, there's nothing here to change your opinion. Expand
  9. ScottC
    Nov 30, 2008
    7
    I like the expansion but I will have to agree with some people, while its no where near a 0 or a 3, its the same old stuff, and Blizzard just doesnt seem to really keep areas that transcend to other areas, like you wouldnt find a desert or a wasteland right next o a forrest, you would hit scrubland between. yet cold and warm are right next to each other a few stories above or below. The I like the expansion but I will have to agree with some people, while its no where near a 0 or a 3, its the same old stuff, and Blizzard just doesnt seem to really keep areas that transcend to other areas, like you wouldnt find a desert or a wasteland right next o a forrest, you would hit scrubland between. yet cold and warm are right next to each other a few stories above or below. The first few dungeons were worse than TBC, while they look sweet, they are boring runs. the vehicle combat seems out of place in a fantasy realm, thats were the warhammer theme did it better, at least it was gnome powered or some animal. yes I know that dorfs had tanks and stuff but they werent being used and you didnt see them in use. its a fun expansion but its no 10. Expand
  10. AnonymousMC
    Nov 23, 2008
    7
    Just more of the same great stuff. WoW is a great game...no question... but they refuse to fix the same problems they've always had. PvP is unbalanced and gear dependent. A few bad (ie. immature) players tend to ruin the game for others, and with the recent expansion (and tech problems) the in-game GMs are about 6 hours away. Why bother reporting players, bots or other cheaters?Just more of the same great stuff. WoW is a great game...no question... but they refuse to fix the same problems they've always had. PvP is unbalanced and gear dependent. A few bad (ie. immature) players tend to ruin the game for others, and with the recent expansion (and tech problems) the in-game GMs are about 6 hours away. Why bother reporting players, bots or other cheaters? Nothing is ever done about it. Expand
  11. Leonleon
    Nov 24, 2008
    9
    Great expansion to a great game. Still improving gameplay mechanics and story. Music keeps up with previous good work, making you dive in Northrend like a real epic story. Didn't vote 10 cause there's no perfect game. It can still be improved.
  12. Nov 21, 2010
    7
    Compared to my experience pre Wrath of the Lich King, less fun. With that said, having played since release it was a great deal of fun, though all content as far as raids go felt "nerfed" especially in early tiers - while they were 'current content'. The player vs. player aspects of the game are quite fun as always. This expansion also introduced the achievement system (implemented preCompared to my experience pre Wrath of the Lich King, less fun. With that said, having played since release it was a great deal of fun, though all content as far as raids go felt "nerfed" especially in early tiers - while they were 'current content'. The player vs. player aspects of the game are quite fun as always. This expansion also introduced the achievement system (implemented pre wrath release). Overall decent, but it is no Burning Crusade as far as 'epic feel' and difficulty. Expand
  13. Dec 26, 2010
    7
    Its nice that random heroics, heroic difficulty for raids, and some effort to balance classes so that you can pick and choose between different ones for the same buffs came along, but this was the casual expansion. All the bad players that got 12/12 because there wasn't much to worry about are now wiping on trash that you have to cc because they don't know any better. Need to spam >1Its nice that random heroics, heroic difficulty for raids, and some effort to balance classes so that you can pick and choose between different ones for the same buffs came along, but this was the casual expansion. All the bad players that got 12/12 because there wasn't much to worry about are now wiping on trash that you have to cc because they don't know any better. Need to spam >1 heal spell? Too difficult. Need to get used to a priority system for dps in heroics? Too difficult. Thanks to this, Blizzard will have to nerf everything hard they come out with for a long time since you just can't take anyone outside of a good guild. Expand
  14. Apr 8, 2012
    7
    Frosty region , cool DeathKnights, nice missions and a lvl cap up to 80. Face it, WOTLK may not be the most intriguing addition, yet more of the same, but it still a nice force to the WOW formula keeping it alive a bit longer.
  15. Sep 18, 2011
    7
    So far this expansion is very enjoyable. In fact I may rate this up a couple of more points, if, and only if the endgame with the Lich King lives up to the hype. I can already tell that not enough changed in Cataclysm to make it worth the money. Namely that there are so many unpopulated areas that many of us veteran players love. There just isn't reason to even go to any of them. I thinkSo far this expansion is very enjoyable. In fact I may rate this up a couple of more points, if, and only if the endgame with the Lich King lives up to the hype. I can already tell that not enough changed in Cataclysm to make it worth the money. Namely that there are so many unpopulated areas that many of us veteran players love. There just isn't reason to even go to any of them. I think they need to spread it out and increase their fan base again, but it might be too late. World of Warcraft is showing signs of aging but is still fun overall. The only thing not fun about the game is the price, which hasn't changed since it first came out. As much as I love the game it simply isn't worth the $15 a month and with as many subscribers that they had you'd think they would be giving more to them. That's not the case, after Blizzard was bought it seems that their new owners capitalized on the success and what it feels like, somewhat downgraded it. Glad the instances work right because I quit playing right before I finished Burning Crusade and only came back with the free 10 days for coming back. I saw leveling had become easier and now want end game content for personal reasons. If I stay really depends on motivation to stay and if they finally drop that monthly price. I wouldn't count on it soon. Expand
  16. Jul 30, 2017
    8
    PvP choices were horrible during this xpac, but as far as story and raids go this was a massive step forward for the game.

    This probably was the height of WoW- for hardcore raiders in particular this was the top point, and for casuals it also marked the beginning of decisions that would make the game more accessible for all.
  17. Apr 12, 2016
    10
    De lo mejor en lore de wow, buen pvp y en cuanto a pve de los mejores diez niveles a subir del 70-80 y unas raids muy logradas para la época , esta es la mejor expancion de wow junto con burning y wow clasic
  18. Dec 6, 2016
    10
    is part of me, part epic, part friendly, part madture, part creative, part artistic, part entertainment... Blizzard thanks for this product, thanks for your epics cinematics, raids, heroics... I always remeber as the best moment front me PC!
  19. Dec 30, 2016
    6
    Dungeon finder optimized dungeon finding but it removed alot of the social immersion of exploring. The token system to get items was good. Didn't finish the expansion. Not really worth the $15 a month. PvP was still horrendously bad. World PvP was where it was at back in the day.
  20. Apr 8, 2017
    0
    i feel like WOTLK started the death of warcraft, primarily by destroying it's balance, which got even worse by adding a hero class, crappy new zones, and for the most part awful dungeons. people started moving to private servers to enjoy the content that was actually good, and the more balanced PvP of burning crusade. every expansion has made the game worse. im not excited about the newi feel like WOTLK started the death of warcraft, primarily by destroying it's balance, which got even worse by adding a hero class, crappy new zones, and for the most part awful dungeons. people started moving to private servers to enjoy the content that was actually good, and the more balanced PvP of burning crusade. every expansion has made the game worse. im not excited about the new level cap or the new grinding. there have to be better ways to add content to a game. Expand
  21. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    WoW was a fantastic game in the past. It was filled with adventure, discovery, and most importantly, teamwork. However, the game has been going downhill recently with the release of the new expansion, the Mists of Pandaria. It has become too simplistic, and plays like a console game. There is no sense of accomplishment and adventure anymore. Clearly, Blizzard is now targeting a differentWoW was a fantastic game in the past. It was filled with adventure, discovery, and most importantly, teamwork. However, the game has been going downhill recently with the release of the new expansion, the Mists of Pandaria. It has become too simplistic, and plays like a console game. There is no sense of accomplishment and adventure anymore. Clearly, Blizzard is now targeting a different demographic - the game is now for kids. If you enjoy paying a monthly fee AND playing with (other) children, this game might be for you. Collapse
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 47
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 47
  3. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. It’s brilliant, inspired and will easily secure their supremacy as the leader in the MMOPRG market.
  2. 90
    Seeing the innumerable changes and tune-ups to the game engine and the rules, you get the sense that World of Warcraft is a finely-tuned machine that its makers just can't stop tinkering with in an obsessive effort to keep it fresh, relevant, and above all, fun. For now, mission accomplished.
  3. 100
    Wrath of the Lich King takes the best-of-breed MMO and improves everything about it. It's a work of supreme confidence and quality that is twice as fun and ten times as beautiful as classic WOW, not to mention anything else in the genre. But above all else - in the breathtaking sweep of Northrend, in the assured, epic storytelling, in the constellation of brilliant quests - it is a grand adventure. Perhaps the grandest adventure in all gaming.