User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 940 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TR
    May 20, 2009
    10
    Graphics: 8.5 There are some really incredible locations and general details around Northrend. People say they don't like the graphics because "they're too cartoony". In my own personal opinion, I'm pretty sure that gritty realism is NOT the way to handle the looks of a fantasy mmorpg. Sound: 9 The music is great and fits the mood near perfectly. Dont like it? Turn it off Graphics: 8.5 There are some really incredible locations and general details around Northrend. People say they don't like the graphics because "they're too cartoony". In my own personal opinion, I'm pretty sure that gritty realism is NOT the way to handle the looks of a fantasy mmorpg. Sound: 9 The music is great and fits the mood near perfectly. Dont like it? Turn it off and put on some music of your own. Gameplay: 9 PVE: 9.5 - If there's anything funner than playing a DK or questing in Northrend in any given MMO, I'd like to hear it. The Northrend quests are fun, and contrary to popular beliefs (read: idiotic reviews) WoW is not, will not be, and never has been all about grinding. Yes, there are kill/collect x of y for ***hole z quests, but those are outweiged by quests themed around things such as large scale battles, aerial combat, bombing the **** out of various locations, and decimating armies of elite troops while riding an enourmous fire/ice breathing dragon. BLOWING. ****. TO. HELL. WITH. A. DRAGON. IS. NOT. THE. SAME. AS. GRINDING. Good, I'm glad that that's settled. PVP: 7- Gyawd I hate Death Knights. Being a caster, there is nothing that I hate more than going into a battleground only to find that 80% of everyone there is a Dk. Blizzard screwed us over that way. Death Knights: Fun to play, not fun when they start to take over servers. Next subject! Also, stop comparing this to Warhammer online etc. This is not warhammer online. Warhammer is a PVP based game, and WoW is a PVE based game with PVP elements. So please, don't b**** about the pvp and give it a 0. World of Warcraft has 12 MILLION players for a reason. *Note: my actual rating for this game is a 9, as no game is perfect, but I'm scoring it to make up for one of the many idiots who wrote "Werld uv Worecraft is dum" "The grafiks are stoopid" etc. - 0 Expand
  2. SebastianJ
    Apr 28, 2009
    8
    Compared to the previous expansion (TBC), this has not met my expectations completely - however, with the recent patches, it has certainly improved, and checking developers notes on their forums, it does not seem that they are going to stop any time soon. The only thing I'm missing with WotLK is the difficulty of the game - it is much easier than the few last months of TBC was, but I Compared to the previous expansion (TBC), this has not met my expectations completely - however, with the recent patches, it has certainly improved, and checking developers notes on their forums, it does not seem that they are going to stop any time soon. The only thing I'm missing with WotLK is the difficulty of the game - it is much easier than the few last months of TBC was, but I am not in doubt that Blizzard is going to do something alike with WotLK. The graphics has improved over the last couple of patches, but I usually consider graphics a bonus and not a requirement to play a game. My recommendation: Buy it. Expand
  3. JaredH
    May 6, 2009
    5
    A Let down for me. I been playing the game for about 3 years and i have to say the expansion is a let down. Mainly raiding content, for example Naxx was just a tuned 80 instance already used in Classic. I was really excited about Ulduar coming out, unfortunately that instance is pretty long and dull, Just another long raiding instance that can take hours to complete, and the only good A Let down for me. I been playing the game for about 3 years and i have to say the expansion is a let down. Mainly raiding content, for example Naxx was just a tuned 80 instance already used in Classic. I was really excited about Ulduar coming out, unfortunately that instance is pretty long and dull, Just another long raiding instance that can take hours to complete, and the only good fight in there is Mimiron. Also the game is tarnished by a bad online community. Some people think there a big deal but to be honest they just need a kick in the head, just another Blizzard Customer. Expand
  4. Mozg
    Nov 25, 2008
    3
    Lets face it - WoW is an old and outdated boring MMORPG, all about grinding mobs and gearing up. There are so many new games that it really bewilds me as to who can play this game today? Even on the day of its release it was worse then EQ2. Even more so now, when there are EQ2, Vanguard:SOH, AOC, WAoR, LOTR. The "King" may be an excellent addition to WoW in its own right, but by the Lets face it - WoW is an old and outdated boring MMORPG, all about grinding mobs and gearing up. There are so many new games that it really bewilds me as to who can play this game today? Even on the day of its release it was worse then EQ2. Even more so now, when there are EQ2, Vanguard:SOH, AOC, WAoR, LOTR. The "King" may be an excellent addition to WoW in its own right, but by the MMORPG standards of today the game itself waggles behind other titles in all aspects, most importantly it lacks non-grinding and non-repetitive gameplay. And I don't even mention the outdated graphics, which would shock anyone more or less acquainted with modern MMORPGs or off-line PC titles. It is only the never ending media hype that keeps this title running. So only a 3 from me. Please forgive me diehard WoW fans, but this game is really past its time. Expand
  5. DalekPrivate
    Jan 10, 2009
    0
    How can you like this game? I was at a lan party and 4 people spent half of the time playing wow instead of playing with the other people. There is alot of bad video's about it and the game just gets super boring after a few months... Come on, xcom or a old pixel game is better than wow. Wow also has way to many players Over 7million.
  6. OwenO
    Nov 6, 2009
    5
    I started Wow, when The Burning crusade was released, and i thouraghly enjoyed it. i loved the PVE, the 25 mans, karazhan runs, PVP. it was pretty well balanced and thought out quite a bit. I had high hopes for Wotlk, but it never materialised. Leveling in Northrand was boring as it was repetitve, the character changes we're quite outlandish and had too many things wrong about them, I started Wow, when The Burning crusade was released, and i thouraghly enjoyed it. i loved the PVE, the 25 mans, karazhan runs, PVP. it was pretty well balanced and thought out quite a bit. I had high hopes for Wotlk, but it never materialised. Leveling in Northrand was boring as it was repetitve, the character changes we're quite outlandish and had too many things wrong about them, finally when you reach 80 - it was EASY, i meean extremely easy, you could complete Naxxramas in leveling gear , and do it in 3 hours. the Music was teribly composed, giving the game a cheesy ambiance. once you had completed evetything, you were stuck with this mundane content for months. Blizzards intention was to make it easier, so they didnt spend time developing worthwile hard content. They made the game extremely casual and hard for any Vanilla or TBC raider to enjoy. i have no delusions of nostalgia when it comes to WOW, overall it was an amazing experiance, but WOTLK caused that expirance to end abruptly. 5/10 Expand
  7. JosephS.
    Jan 7, 2009
    9
    Not a perfect game, but what game is? This new expansion keeps me entertained for minutes or hours, whatever amount of time I have to play. Makes me very happy some times, other times it pisses me right off (more like other players *cough pvp cough*) All the new stuff will keep old players entertained, and if your just starting, you will have plenty of people to run you through instances Not a perfect game, but what game is? This new expansion keeps me entertained for minutes or hours, whatever amount of time I have to play. Makes me very happy some times, other times it pisses me right off (more like other players *cough pvp cough*) All the new stuff will keep old players entertained, and if your just starting, you will have plenty of people to run you through instances and all the lowbie mobs you want, not to mention a game that will last you a while since the level cap is now 80 (watch it on pvp servers though, level 80 death is lurking everywhere heh heh heh) --However--, if you are in school, are nursing or pregnant, or have heart conditions I would not suggest playing this game. You'll get bad grades, forget about your kids, and / or die. It is that engrossing. But seriously, either try the trial first or play at a friends house, this games isn't for everyone and we don't need more bad reviews because a few people are mad they lost a measly $15 (assuming they only paid for a month since it was so bad for them :) Expand
  8. NickD
    Mar 12, 2009
    2
    I have played WoW since pre-BC times and i have to say it was pretty good then. But seriously this expantion just put me off. Yet again another grind to a higher lvl and then what? Raiding? From what i've heard the raiding isn't that great. At all. And yet again the xpac is very expensive. Just don't bother imo.
  9. BrianM
    Mar 2, 2009
    5
    Very well put together game, but with a very short game life. Having played it for 8 weeks, and completing almost all the content it was back to sitting about doing nothing for hours, or completing achievements, which are really for those who if not playing WoW, have nothing else to do.
  10. FF
    May 20, 2009
    3
    I really liked the Classic WoW ( Pre-TBC ) , i had raid geared 60 lvl warrior, then the TBC came out and it took ages again to get good gear at 70's , then when u have geared up at 70's there comes WotLK , All work which took months must do again ??? Soon there will come more and more expansions and everybody must work again and again to get max lvl and good gear. Game has gone I really liked the Classic WoW ( Pre-TBC ) , i had raid geared 60 lvl warrior, then the TBC came out and it took ages again to get good gear at 70's , then when u have geared up at 70's there comes WotLK , All work which took months must do again ??? Soon there will come more and more expansions and everybody must work again and again to get max lvl and good gear. Game has gone very very bad after the expansions , i hope the expansions haven't come and there would be the Classic WoW.... It was the best , the expansions ruined the game. Expand
  11. BB
    Sep 7, 2009
    0
    I'm suprised no one has really acknowledged it...but the overall principal of WoW that has become almost its foundation following the first six months after its initial release is Gold and Gear. I hardly see any real gameplay beyond constant chatter of individuals seeking one or the other of the aforementioned. Most peolpe sit in capital cities stagnant looking to Buy or Sell.I'm suprised no one has really acknowledged it...but the overall principal of WoW that has become almost its foundation following the first six months after its initial release is Gold and Gear. I hardly see any real gameplay beyond constant chatter of individuals seeking one or the other of the aforementioned. Most peolpe sit in capital cities stagnant looking to Buy or Sell. Effectively WoW has become a virtual eBay. Expand
  12. TitiWiti
    Jan 19, 2010
    2
    It's just more of the same, where is housing, minigames, ships to own, dance styles, etc....? just more dungeons, more levels, more boreness
  13. TaylorB.
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    One of the most polished games I've ever played. The terrain and other visuals are amazingly detailed and beautiful. Blizzard also did a terrific job at varying up the types of quests they give you, with amusing vehicle based quests, etc. The world phasing feature is also quite entertaining; it's fun to be surprised with how a zone has changed as the result of you having One of the most polished games I've ever played. The terrain and other visuals are amazingly detailed and beautiful. Blizzard also did a terrific job at varying up the types of quests they give you, with amusing vehicle based quests, etc. The world phasing feature is also quite entertaining; it's fun to be surprised with how a zone has changed as the result of you having completed a certain quest, etc. Expand
  14. VoqarN.
    Nov 18, 2008
    10
    Best expansion to a MMORPG ever. It's beautiful, impeccably designed, and tons of fun. Everywhere you go there are "wow" moments, and at this stage of the MMORPG game, that's not easy to pull off anymore. Just when you though questing had become routine, Blizzard introduces a boatload of variety and twists to refresh quest-driven leveling.
  15. AnonymousMC
    Nov 21, 2008
    7
    its basically more of the same if thats all you wanted then it meets all your expectations however if wow is getting a little stle or you were hoping to seee somthing new and exciting then am afraid this aint it i feel that blizzard could have done more the landscapes have been recycled from previuos ideas and that everything feels kinda samey the dungeons as well suffer from that beenits basically more of the same if thats all you wanted then it meets all your expectations however if wow is getting a little stle or you were hoping to seee somthing new and exciting then am afraid this aint it i feel that blizzard could have done more the landscapes have been recycled from previuos ideas and that everything feels kinda samey the dungeons as well suffer from that been here before feelin dont get me wrong it looks pretty and the music is suberb but ground breakign it aint to be honest it all feel kinda lazy. Expand
  16. PaulC.
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    Can't see the point of telling people that you are bemused that they like the game. That's not criticism, that's banging your head against a wall. Really, if that's all you've got to say, then you'd be better off not saying anything (Better to remain quiet and be thought a fool, than to open your mouth and remove all doubt), WoW is massively popular. It Can't see the point of telling people that you are bemused that they like the game. That's not criticism, that's banging your head against a wall. Really, if that's all you've got to say, then you'd be better off not saying anything (Better to remain quiet and be thought a fool, than to open your mouth and remove all doubt), WoW is massively popular. It swallows the membership of the next 3 biggest MMORPG's for breakfast. The people who play WoW COULD play one of these other games..they dont. There's a reason for this...have a guess what that might be ... WotLK is a good addition. Many many quest trees (those who criticise the game for grinding only can't be playing the same game..It's possible to get 75% or more through every level without Mob grinding at all. I've gone from 69 to 74 without a single minute outside of quest lines. The new instances are very good, the GFX are improved (only slightly though). The game is very well balanced. DK's seem overpowered to begin with, but at level 60+ (when the blues they start with at 55 are beginning to look a bit tired) it begins to level out..and hey ANYONE can become a DK at 55 (one per server) so why bitch ? All in all a superb addition to a game that, like it or not, is soooo far ahead in terms of content and balance that LotR, WAR, Conan etc seem primitive by comparison (yes they have slightly better GFX than WoW - but that's where thet ends) 10/10 Expand
  17. DanielBourdon
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Lich King is everything I hoped it to be and more. The quests are actually fun to do. Yes there are still the staple kill quests and gathering quests thrown in there, but overall leveling has been a blast. The worlds are beautiful, wait till you see crystalsong forest it is truly beautiful. A great game that is well worth the 40 bucks.
  18. MatthewC.
    Nov 30, 2008
    0
    World of warcraft is psychologically destructive, but this is a games review section so I
  19. AndrewB.
    Nov 6, 2008
    9
    This is A Decient game At The looks so far alot effort and determination have made this epic game a reality, New level and game type on the otherhand have givin first time gamers a week to reach the highest level to play along with the lich king, Well dont Blizz
  20. JohnD.
    Oct 17, 2008
    1
    Blizzard is stuck behind in the past with this one... with Warhammer destroying the foundation of MMORPG's WoW is highly out-dated, and it shows heavily after the best mmorpg to date was released. WoW is now out-dated, old news, can't save itself from the grind it started and now continues, come on blizzard innovation much? I used to be a die-hard WoW addicted, just like in 99 I Blizzard is stuck behind in the past with this one... with Warhammer destroying the foundation of MMORPG's WoW is highly out-dated, and it shows heavily after the best mmorpg to date was released. WoW is now out-dated, old news, can't save itself from the grind it started and now continues, come on blizzard innovation much? I used to be a die-hard WoW addicted, just like in 99 I was a diehard everquest addict, now I am a WAR addict and if you want to get your mmorphg fix go for war, your not going to impressed when this launches as anyone like me in beta can tell you. hope all that time spending on raiding for gear pays off when the first green you get at 71 is better than your uber epic. War has amazing gear but will never have this problem in the same way. Expand
  21. DudemanGuy
    Dec 1, 2008
    9
    The expansion is very good. The new Siege Vehicles are great fun, once you get the hang of them. They're alot better than just having pets all the time! But hey. If you want to try WoW, start with the trial. Theres no reason for you to even think about this if you havent played it yet, so yeah. I'm giving it an 9 because its very easy. I enjoy the fact that I havent replaced The expansion is very good. The new Siege Vehicles are great fun, once you get the hang of them. They're alot better than just having pets all the time! But hey. If you want to try WoW, start with the trial. Theres no reason for you to even think about this if you havent played it yet, so yeah. I'm giving it an 9 because its very easy. I enjoy the fact that I havent replaced more than 4 of my items from The Burning Crusade (Yay!), but of course, thats at the expense of not getting anything new...and not upgrading. Course, not everyone's path is going to go like this. In my opinion, none of the zones have felt alike, making this game not very repetitive, I enjoy the return to azeroth, and the lore here is much better than that of The Burning Jokesade (haha). Far too easy(79 from 70 in less than a month), loads of fun. If you play, you must buy. If you dont..Its an expansion people. Why would you buy it anyway? Free trials be there for a reason~! Expand
  22. DanielB.
    Dec 13, 2008
    10
    I've been playing the xpac since it came out and honestly I love it so far. I leveled to 80 pretty fast because I've had a lot of free time lately and it's been so cold. The new pvp zone Wintergrasp is a lot of fun, but it only runs every 3 hours, which is pretty lame. There are a lot of DK's running about, but it's new and expected, I'm sure it will die down I've been playing the xpac since it came out and honestly I love it so far. I leveled to 80 pretty fast because I've had a lot of free time lately and it's been so cold. The new pvp zone Wintergrasp is a lot of fun, but it only runs every 3 hours, which is pretty lame. There are a lot of DK's running about, but it's new and expected, I'm sure it will die down in time. The zones are gorgeous and quests this time around are awesome. It's just fun to do them. The 5 mans are beautifully done and fun as well. I'm not in an endgame guild, so I can't comment on the content in that area, but I'm sure harder content will be available in upcoming content patches. All in all I think it's been a great xpac. Expand
  23. ZachB.
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    WotLK, in my opinion, is a great expansion to WoW. I have been playing WoW ever since its release and unfortunately got quite bored with it through the original release and the BC expansion. However when Blizzard started the patch to ready WoW for WotLK I was instantly hooked. Although I found it hard to play until WotLK, I have been a big fan of the mystical world the WoW takes place in WotLK, in my opinion, is a great expansion to WoW. I have been playing WoW ever since its release and unfortunately got quite bored with it through the original release and the BC expansion. However when Blizzard started the patch to ready WoW for WotLK I was instantly hooked. Although I found it hard to play until WotLK, I have been a big fan of the mystical world the WoW takes place in which causes me to find it humorous on some reviews on here saying things such as "WoW is an old and outdated boring MMORPG, all about grinding mobs and gearing up." When they dont realize that WoW is more about a mythical world that you can take a part in and experience and while you can ignore that aspect, it's still fun to do the many quests, group with others to run instances or raids, and to just play the game. I know many people won't agree with me and I know I cant change that but in my opinion WotLK is a great expansion. Expand
  24. SteveL.
    Dec 8, 2008
    2
    I love this game.
  25. AdamW.
    Dec 9, 2008
    10
    A superb expansion to an even better game! For those of you who say that WoW is just a massive grind fest, no wonder you hate the game! Best way to level is to quest, group up with your pals, and do some dungeons, this is where the "King" really shines. This game IS NOT a repeat of past expansions. There are so many new quests from hopping on a mammoth and goring a boss to taking flight A superb expansion to an even better game! For those of you who say that WoW is just a massive grind fest, no wonder you hate the game! Best way to level is to quest, group up with your pals, and do some dungeons, this is where the "King" really shines. This game IS NOT a repeat of past expansions. There are so many new quests from hopping on a mammoth and goring a boss to taking flight in an air plane and getting into dog fights with gargoyles. Basically, the people who give this a low score know nothing about lore. People who give this a hi score are the ones that read the quests, know there lore, and is wondering what is going to happen next in one of the greatest and detailed stories ever, Warcraft. (I'd like to see one of those 0 rating people tell me who and where illidan is and where he came from, and how he came to be evil). Also, the graphics are upgraded by alot. Better textures and lighting and effects. Those of you still playing on the same system during the release of the original game are not going to see an upgrade. (The old pentium 4, 512 mb ram, ati 9800 beast just isn't going to cut it anymore) Play the game on an HD LCD Monitor and get a graphics card that can handle WoW on all max settings (ati 2600 XT or better) and has pixel shader 3.0 and the game really shines. For those of you who complain about queues and how blizz should make more servers, you all need to switch servers. There are about 10 servers that are full constantly, the remainder 40 some odd servers are sitting there.... waiting..... waiting for someone else to finally log on before the server forgets its on. Blizzard also made 3 new servers to compensate for the Northrend Blitz. One last note. Warhammer is still on its knees begging to be worthy of even thinking about World of Warcraft, for it lacks depth story and most if all..... a community of over 1000 players ;-) WoW 11 million....AND COUNTING! Expand
  26. doodman
    Dec 9, 2008
    8
    Definitely an improvement from BC is some areas, but also a step backwards in others. The new abilities for each class make them much more interesting and original (not to mention fun to play) but that's basically where the really good stuff ends. Much of the end game content is more shallow, offering less to shoot for. My guess is this will be changed with patches though. There have Definitely an improvement from BC is some areas, but also a step backwards in others. The new abilities for each class make them much more interesting and original (not to mention fun to play) but that's basically where the really good stuff ends. Much of the end game content is more shallow, offering less to shoot for. My guess is this will be changed with patches though. There have been small improvements all around the board, making it worth while to play. I think the only major downfall of this game is the players. A sadistic crazed addiction to get more stuff for no real ultimate reason other than to get more stuff shoots this game into the shitter. This game is made to be enjoyed by DOING those things which give you the cool stuff. stupid, stupid people. Expand
  27. CoryG
    Dec 9, 2008
    7
    Wrath of the Lich King is more of the same though polished from previous incarnations and with a new class added on. WoW defines player vs. environment gameplay. No one does it better. Unfortunately the innovative quests are starting to become repetative and, like all MMOs that broaden to this scope and depth, it seems like no one in all the Outlands and Azeroth can help themselves. The Wrath of the Lich King is more of the same though polished from previous incarnations and with a new class added on. WoW defines player vs. environment gameplay. No one does it better. Unfortunately the innovative quests are starting to become repetative and, like all MMOs that broaden to this scope and depth, it seems like no one in all the Outlands and Azeroth can help themselves. The questing modle is feeling dated but the team manages to string together quests as they have done before to take you across the continent in an orderly fashion. The graphics are the same but the presentation has been improved. There is a difference but I wonder how much more this engine can be improved upon. In terms of difficulty...it's not. Since the beginning WoW has been the definition of an MMO set on easy difficulty. The quests tell you where to go. Key figures in each quest are (usually) there. The only thing they didn't put in is a trail of bread crumbs for you to follow. This has opened the doors to people who didn't particularly enjoy the less than descriptive questing in other MMOs or the grinding required to get to the next level. It also helps that everyone is here. Once the population has chosen an MMO it is very hard to pull them away. EQ1 was the champion for a long time and WoW came out at the right time to pull them away from an aging model that was transitioning to a sequal. This all adds up to most people will continue to play WotLK even if they don't particularly enjoy it anymore. While it is still the king I believe WoW is aging. PvP is done better in Warhammer...one aspect of MMOs. PvE-wise...you can't do better than WotLK for now. Expand
  28. Luke
    Nov 10, 2009
    4
    My sister introduced me to WoW and I've been playing on her PC for about two months. I have had fun during this experience. This game has been addicting, though, more than anything else. But, after getting a warlock into upper 60s and an over-powered death knight to the mid 60s, I'm saying enough. I've realized that through the modest amount of gaming I have done, I have My sister introduced me to WoW and I've been playing on her PC for about two months. I have had fun during this experience. This game has been addicting, though, more than anything else. But, after getting a warlock into upper 60s and an over-powered death knight to the mid 60s, I'm saying enough. I've realized that through the modest amount of gaming I have done, I have never had as unsatisfying of a gaming experience as WoW. Other types of games reward you when you personally gain skill; it is satisfying to use that skill to defeat the computer or human opponent. With WoW, you only become better by playing more because you rank up and getting better gear. So there is the constant desire and EXPECTATION of killing monsters and completing quests to level and gear up. Because this is an expectation, you never truly enjoy it, you are always thinking about the next level or piece of equipment. With other games, I can sit down for half an hour or an hour and be satisfied by my exercise of skill and the result of such and walk a way and not have a need to play for a few days. With WoW, I've spent a couple hours here, a couple there, trying to find this same feeling. I thought I was having fun, but never had the sense of enjoyment or accomplishment like other games. Again, this is because you don't get better at the game, you just spend time to make your character better, and you don't gain satisfaction from doing so, rather you only expect your character to get better because of your time commitment. Overall, I feel like I had fun with WoW, but understand that I fell victim to Blizzard's design. I'm fortunate to only have spent a couple of months sucked in when others have spent years. It was a good lesson to learn, but one that I hope not many more people will not waste too much time finding out for themselves. Expand
  29. MarshallL
    Jan 28, 2009
    3
    I really enjoyed TBC and I have a 70 rogue and a 70 warlock who were both really fun to level up and play at end game pvp and raiding. When I heard the new x-pac was coming out I was like oh this should be cool. So I got the 10 day free trial to test it out. One of my old end game raid guildies messaged me and showed me how excited he was, he was level 80, had all these epics, was talking I really enjoyed TBC and I have a 70 rogue and a 70 warlock who were both really fun to level up and play at end game pvp and raiding. When I heard the new x-pac was coming out I was like oh this should be cool. So I got the 10 day free trial to test it out. One of my old end game raid guildies messaged me and showed me how excited he was, he was level 80, had all these epics, was talking about how fun it was to get gear, ect . . . and I could think about was man I already went through this before. I have fully a full epic rogue in pvp and pve and a decently geard warlock and I was thinking whats the point in working for this all over again. I really busted my butt leveling my guys and getting them all kinds of cool stuff. I mean it was fun then, but no I just can't go through all that hard work all over again. I mean raiding and pvp was fun when it was new but I have done that stuff to death and am sick of it. It's just going to be the same process work work work get something work work work get something else. If you have never played wow I would say you will really enjoy this game, but if you have played this before and did all the end game raiding and pvp I say forget it. It's just the same crap with a few new features, zones, monsters, raids, ect . . . Expand
  30. MooreJ
    Jan 4, 2009
    9
    To get some of the pointless comments out of the way i'll sum them up for you: "Im a war fanboy" After playing warhammer online and WOTLK i decided to go with WOTLK for several reasons. Firstly being that this game is just more fun to play, there's no two ways about it. It's called world of warcrack for a reason, it's addictive and YES it will remove all your spare To get some of the pointless comments out of the way i'll sum them up for you: "Im a war fanboy" After playing warhammer online and WOTLK i decided to go with WOTLK for several reasons. Firstly being that this game is just more fun to play, there's no two ways about it. It's called world of warcrack for a reason, it's addictive and YES it will remove all your spare time from you, but when your paying monthly to play something surely you'd expect to get the most from it. Secondly i wanted to play as a death knight. Upon release they're clearly overpowered however at 80 any skilled player can deal with them if specced correctly. Finally i was already playing burning crusade and had a level 70 character so i figured this would be the logical step to take to continue my enjoyment of the game. I now have 9 characters to 60 or above and one at 40. Reviewing this as a standalone title is just stupid, "Same graphics" well yeh it's an expansion and sorry to put you down but the graphics engine has changed quite a lot. People complaining about queues are just upset they couldn't get on to play the game... you obviously want to play it so why throw a tantrum when you can't. There's a reason the other games don't have massive queues, because they don't have half as many players (Hell even 1/10th) as WoW does. One thing the game doesn't mention is that you need to have burning crusade to play this game, but i suppose common sense may provail here... hopefully In the end it's a simple descision wether you buy this game or not. If you have burning crusade, and have a character above level 55 then you should buy this game, you'll have access to the deathknight and you'll start with all blue gear when you get to outland. And if you havn't seen all the outland content then the deathknight is probly the best character to do it with due to gear advantages, a free epic mount, and being pretty overpowered at 60-70. If you don't like WoW then don't expect an expansion pack to change your mind, it's high level content and considering you didn't like the game to begin with then you're never gonna see this content anyway. Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 47
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 47
  3. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. It’s brilliant, inspired and will easily secure their supremacy as the leader in the MMOPRG market.
  2. 90
    Seeing the innumerable changes and tune-ups to the game engine and the rules, you get the sense that World of Warcraft is a finely-tuned machine that its makers just can't stop tinkering with in an obsessive effort to keep it fresh, relevant, and above all, fun. For now, mission accomplished.
  3. 100
    Wrath of the Lich King takes the best-of-breed MMO and improves everything about it. It's a work of supreme confidence and quality that is twice as fun and ten times as beautiful as classic WOW, not to mention anything else in the genre. But above all else - in the breathtaking sweep of Northrend, in the assured, epic storytelling, in the constellation of brilliant quests - it is a grand adventure. Perhaps the grandest adventure in all gaming.