User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 755 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    I played this game for a long time and i all ways loved it! I all ways thought that this game easily deserved a 100/100. Sadly the new expansion "Mists of Pandaria" did not turn out as well as i thought but all the other ones were good and i can't wait to see what new expansion comes out next! :D
  2. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    This is arguably the best MMO I have played, the graphics, the story, everything blends together perfectly. A lot of people complain that this game is addictive. All good things are addictive but only if you let them rule your life. There is absolutely no reason why anyone should feel compelled to play this game all day every day, and if they do, its those people who will be addicted to anything. If you are so bored of your life that you can only find solace in a virtual world, then please by all means avoid this game. World of Warcraft is an amazing game and its an even better experience to share with your friends. Thats why I love this game, I can raid one day, battle in an arena or a battleground on another or just goof around with my friends, and there is no pressure. Relax, and enjoy this great game, make new friends and share some fun adventures with your existing ones, just please stop blaming a game for "ruining your life". Expand
  3. Oct 14, 2010
    9
    Wrath of the Lich king is coming to an end with Cataclysm launching December. I can honestly say that the last two years have been great for World of Warcraft. This expansion brought in so many great changes to WoW - dungeon finder, battleground finder, etc. - that were just awesome. Fantastic expansion.
  4. Nov 8, 2010
    10
    World of Warcraft once again manages to astound gamers across the world, bringing it to 12 million active accounts. Rightfully so. Though the graphics aren't great, they still manage to beautifully illustrate the worlds of Azeroth and Outland, and enable a wide range of PCs and Macs to operate the game smoothly. The game play is straightforward and full of funny little parodies of the real world, and professions are fun ways to explore the world make a little extra money. The game may have lost its difficulty over the years, but there is always a place where the hardcore player can enjoy themselves. The music and lore is of very high quality as well. An awesome game that almost anyone can enjoy. Expand
  5. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    This game this expansion is too easy in my opinion, but overall not a bad expansion... just this expansion was so easy even noobs could do it... Unlike Vanilla and Burning Crusade, If you were a nab then you'd get pvp gear... Not saying that everyone in pvp gear were nabs but that's the way it went.. if you couldn't get yourself into a good raiding guild. I just hope that cataclysm won't be boring like wrath... don't want to get bored for 6 months again just raiding naxxaramas, that was rather boring if i'm honest.. but i guess that's why they bought heroic modes, but then again.. they get rather boring after a while also... i'd give this game a 8/10 Expand
  6. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    World of warcraft review

    World of warcraft is the largest mmorpg (massive multiplayer online role playing game) on the pc it has hundreds of thousands of player it has to groups â
  7. Aug 17, 2014
    10
    So there are several reasons why this expansion was, and still is, the greatest of all of the World of Warcraft expansions, including the original release.

    - Difficulty: While WotLK's content was quite difficult, it was not remorselessly so like in previous incarnations of the game. It still had room for the raiding elite to show off their swag whilst simultaneously allowing more of the
    broader audience of the game to access the end-game content they had previously been denied.

    - Plot: Wrath of the Lich King addressed a FANTASTIC villain and story in the form of Arthas Menethil, one of the greatest villains in video gaming history as well as approaching many other, brand-new plot elements such as the Nexus War against the Blue Dragonflight and the secrets of Ulduar.

    -Music: The soundtrack to Wrath of the Lich King managed to capture the perfect balance between epic orchestral scoring and subtle, ambience, something I personally feel has been lost in subsequent expansions.

    -Environments: Wrath of the Lich King introduced Northrend, which had a variety of fantastically emersive environments for us to explore.
    Expand
  8. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    best expansion of them all, i didnt like cataclysm so much and hope the mop expansion will be good too
    this expansion had the best story and music and zones, realy nice that arthas showed up in different places
  9. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    Amazing expansion! Blizzard nailed this game so hard! With amazing story, scenery, immersive gameplay, and beautiful music/cutscenes, Wrath of the Lich King is by far one of Blizzards best games. The only issue I had with it was the zone below Dalaran, Crystal forest or something like that. Blizzard cut out its content at the last minute, leaving it empty and unexplained. Other then that, amazing game! Expand
  10. Aug 18, 2010
    9
    I honestly wish some of these reviewers had to take a technical competency test before being allowed to enter a score.
    "Same graphics" I keep seeing. Have you even the slightest idea of how much work would be involved in upgrading the graphics in this game? Please, do your homework before you kick off about 'Graphics'... and incidentally, the graphic quality of Northrend is a very great
    deal better than Vanilla WoW. All in all, WoW is a very solid and engrossing experience.
    There is very much something for everyone now, and the elitism of the old days is only existent in the player base, not in the game itself.
    No-matter what stage you join, you can level up to whatever the current cap is, run some regular 5 man dungeons, and rapidly get yourself into a Raiding situation.
    To appease the Hard Core demographic, there are achievement rewards and hard modes too!
    Little to nothing wrong with this game, although to some, who believe looks are everything... this is possibly looking a little old now.
    It's unlikely Cataclysm's forthcoming graphic improvements will do much to win those people over.
    Expand
  11. Jan 28, 2012
    9
    This is where game started to get easy. That being said it had good story and end game, wintergrasp was also great when it didn't lag.

    What I do not like is the fact that now with reduced XP you skyrocket to level 80 but you still need to pay for that expansion. I think it should be merged with Starter Edition.
  12. May 15, 2012
    10
    WoW will forever be known as 'THAT MMO'. The first MMO to make MMORPGs a mainstream game. It was and forever will be the biggest game of it's generation and forever to come.
  13. Aug 8, 2012
    9
    Best expansion of WoW so far. Introduced great features like Looking for Dungeon tool, dual spec and phasing.
    The leveling was very immersive and the story well told. The new continent was really beautiful too as were the 5 man dungeons.
    All in all I immensely enjoyed leveling, running dungeons and raiding in this expansion.
    The only downside I can see is Icecrown Citadel not really
    feeling epic as far as the setting goes (in comparison to Ulduar or Naxxramas for example). Expand
  14. Apr 17, 2013
    10
    This game just keeps getting better and better. Although raids were vastly improved for the hardcore gamer, they were now more accessible for those who like to play WOW casually, and now it doesn't take as much to reach a nice position among your guild. This expansion also keeps that hardcore group intact by adding difficult battles and intricate raids that last a long time, and take a lot of effort and strategy to progress, and should you succeed, you will be heavily rewarded. To me that was the biggest feature. I was a raider, and this just made it that much better. ICC was also a blast, and probably the most fun I have ever had in a game. Expand
  15. Sep 27, 2014
    9
    Very good expansion.Heroic difficulty for raids,Good story,cool dungeons,new map,new animations,perfect new musics...To conclude:Northrend and Death Knights!!!
  16. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    Many would say Wrath of the Lich King is and always will be the best expansion in the history of WoW. Personally it is my 2nd favorite. TBC gets first in my book. WotLK was without a doubt a great expansion. Had I had the time to be a full-time raider during this game's prime it might have taken my number 1 vote.
  17. Aug 4, 2014
    9
    World of Warcraft: Wrath of the Lich King is another incredible expansion for World of Warcraft. Just like the previous expansion, this expansion's environment is absolutely stunning. The atmosphere here goes for a more snow covered, demonic like presence, which I like and the land is very wide and open. The new monsters are well designed and there are giant elites roaming in certain areas, which can make a person be cautious at times. The new class, Death Knight, is a very cool class and fun to play. This is a great expansion and you'll have a blast exploring the new land of Northrend. Expand
  18. Nov 11, 2014
    10
    This is the best expansion the game had. They lowered the difficulty to appeal to more players and also left in a challenging version in PVE for the more experienced and hardcore players. Ulduar is one of the best raids in the entire game and is my personal favorite. It was great to play through back when it was brand new and the top tiered content. The story in this expansion was very linear and didn't stray from the story like they did in Cataclysm and Mists of Pandaria. The focus was the Lich King from the beginning to the end and everything you did in Northrend had something to do with the Lich King and it felt like it all belonged there. The addition of the Death Knight class was also pretty spectacular. Although I am disappointed they never continued on with the line of hero classes, this one was a great addition. Northrend is beautiful and the music score is amazing. The boss fights are all very creative and unique. I hope Warlords of Draenor is more like this and the Burning Crusade than the most recent two expansions. Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 47
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 47
  3. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. It’s brilliant, inspired and will easily secure their supremacy as the leader in the MMOPRG market.
  2. Seeing the innumerable changes and tune-ups to the game engine and the rules, you get the sense that World of Warcraft is a finely-tuned machine that its makers just can't stop tinkering with in an obsessive effort to keep it fresh, relevant, and above all, fun. For now, mission accomplished.
  3. 100
    Wrath of the Lich King takes the best-of-breed MMO and improves everything about it. It's a work of supreme confidence and quality that is twice as fun and ten times as beautiful as classic WOW, not to mention anything else in the genre. But above all else - in the breathtaking sweep of Northrend, in the assured, epic storytelling, in the constellation of brilliant quests - it is a grand adventure. Perhaps the grandest adventure in all gaming.