User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 763 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Very veeeeeeery bad expansion. It's here where all the catering to bad players took it pace. Game was so easy even monkey could level to 80 and clear raids. Only thing good about Wotlk was Ulduar, one of best raids ever, everything else was crap.
  2. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    I played this game for a long time and i all ways loved it! I all ways thought that this game easily deserved a 100/100. Sadly the new expansion "Mists of Pandaria" did not turn out as well as i thought but all the other ones were good and i can't wait to see what new expansion comes out next! :D
  3. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    This is arguably the best MMO I have played, the graphics, the story, everything blends together perfectly. A lot of people complain that this game is addictive. All good things are addictive but only if you let them rule your life. There is absolutely no reason why anyone should feel compelled to play this game all day every day, and if they do, its those people who will be addicted toThis is arguably the best MMO I have played, the graphics, the story, everything blends together perfectly. A lot of people complain that this game is addictive. All good things are addictive but only if you let them rule your life. There is absolutely no reason why anyone should feel compelled to play this game all day every day, and if they do, its those people who will be addicted to anything. If you are so bored of your life that you can only find solace in a virtual world, then please by all means avoid this game. World of Warcraft is an amazing game and its an even better experience to share with your friends. Thats why I love this game, I can raid one day, battle in an arena or a battleground on another or just goof around with my friends, and there is no pressure. Relax, and enjoy this great game, make new friends and share some fun adventures with your existing ones, just please stop blaming a game for "ruining your life". Expand
  4. Oct 2, 2010
    7
    Maybe it's nostalgia or just pure burnout but I did not have as much in wotlk as I did in vanilla or tbc. I think the developers went too mainstream and focused to much on the profit model giving players anything they ask for by just putting a price tag on it. While not all that came with this expansion is bad, many things have really irked me enough to take a long break from the game.
  5. Mar 23, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the game I'd like to give a 10, but if I look at Its whole life-time, I simply can't. This was an expansion pack I waited with great fun too. It was really good to catch up with everyone's favorite heros' story from Warcraft 3 and 2, Ner'zhul and Arthas. When I started a Death Knight (Former recruits of the Argent Dawn who got raised as the Scourge's "shock troopers" by the Lich King to serve his needs), I was shocked and not in a negative meaning. The linear and good story, the characters, the phasing and especially, the music was so damn good that I had to play the Scarlet Enclave again. Then I went back to my main character and started leveling. The same could be told here too. Good and linear story, great characters and music. Getting Items felt easier here, though u still needed the time or many gold to do the crafted epics. But it was still hard here. Heroics in the beginning were pretty much hard. But they meant a lot of fun, as did the new Achievement system. Naxxramas and Sartharion were only for really experienced players. This was the time when I was on top in WoW. I had full epic from crafted items and from Sartharion/Naxx. This was my favorite time. Unfortuneatly, It all ended in a damn patch that introduced the finished Argent Colisseum and the new Badge System. This was the Patch that murdered the half of WoW. Unexperienced players with full epics running all around and the only way to know what they MIGHT know was to check their Achievements. This was the time when I was only heroicing, playing on battlegrounds, and doing daily quests because I simply couldn't stand ToC and also didn't need anything from there because I got everything else from crafteds and heroics. You got everything from heroics and didn't even needed to raid! ToC was like standing in one place and killing waves. Great. By Icecrown came out I was barely doing anything beside doing the first daily heroic and getting money because it gave you 2 Emblem of Frost and from those you could get everything you needed to get on the same level as those who actually went to Icecrown Citadel. About the money, this was the only thing that was still challange to get, much little challange, but still a challange. I was saving the money I got for a Traveler's Tundra Mammoth which was 16000 gold and a Dalaran Signet that cost 6800 gold and the 3 upgrades were 1000 gold (I was exalted with Kirin Tor, which meant 20% discount for repairs and prices). With Miner-farming i got the money for the rings and the mammoth, well, a little trick was needed for the mammoth, but i got them all. It was 22000 gold, but I got it. After this point, I found no other challange, so I started doing 2 alts. A Death Knight and a Paladin. I did some heroic with the DK at lvl 80 but I got bored with it so i leveled the Paladin. It was so overpowered that it was disgusting. I could solo a raid quest with it on lvl 60 and leveling was a laugh, especially when the enemys were undeads. After both alt got their Cold Weather flying skill (1000 gold) and epic mount, I stopped playing this game until Cataclysm. I simply didn't find joy in playing this game and I was hoping Cataclysm would bring back that. I still checked the World of Warcraft Wiki on what happened to the Lich King and I thought that It was really stupid to butcher two of the most popular character from the original Warcraft trilogy. They had put the adventurers in a far larger role they should have. That moment was really a punch in the stomach for those who played Warcraft 3 or 2. So, it was a long review. To sum up: It was the greatest expansion pack until 3.2.0 patch, which completely destroyed challanges in the game. I'd really like to give it a 10, but I have to consider the part which happened after 3.2.0 so with a kind heart it's an 8. Expand
  6. Oct 14, 2010
    9
    Wrath of the Lich king is coming to an end with Cataclysm launching December. I can honestly say that the last two years have been great for World of Warcraft. This expansion brought in so many great changes to WoW - dungeon finder, battleground finder, etc. - that were just awesome. Fantastic expansion.
  7. Nov 8, 2010
    10
    World of Warcraft once again manages to astound gamers across the world, bringing it to 12 million active accounts. Rightfully so. Though the graphics aren't great, they still manage to beautifully illustrate the worlds of Azeroth and Outland, and enable a wide range of PCs and Macs to operate the game smoothly. The game play is straightforward and full of funny little parodies of the realWorld of Warcraft once again manages to astound gamers across the world, bringing it to 12 million active accounts. Rightfully so. Though the graphics aren't great, they still manage to beautifully illustrate the worlds of Azeroth and Outland, and enable a wide range of PCs and Macs to operate the game smoothly. The game play is straightforward and full of funny little parodies of the real world, and professions are fun ways to explore the world make a little extra money. The game may have lost its difficulty over the years, but there is always a place where the hardcore player can enjoy themselves. The music and lore is of very high quality as well. An awesome game that almost anyone can enjoy. Expand
  8. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    This game this expansion is too easy in my opinion, but overall not a bad expansion... just this expansion was so easy even noobs could do it... Unlike Vanilla and Burning Crusade, If you were a nab then you'd get pvp gear... Not saying that everyone in pvp gear were nabs but that's the way it went.. if you couldn't get yourself into a good raiding guild. I just hope that cataclysm won'tThis game this expansion is too easy in my opinion, but overall not a bad expansion... just this expansion was so easy even noobs could do it... Unlike Vanilla and Burning Crusade, If you were a nab then you'd get pvp gear... Not saying that everyone in pvp gear were nabs but that's the way it went.. if you couldn't get yourself into a good raiding guild. I just hope that cataclysm won't be boring like wrath... don't want to get bored for 6 months again just raiding naxxaramas, that was rather boring if i'm honest.. but i guess that's why they bought heroic modes, but then again.. they get rather boring after a while also... i'd give this game a 8/10 Expand
  9. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    World of warcraft review

    World of warcraft is the largest mmorpg (massive multiplayer online role playing game) on the pc it has hundreds of thousands of player it has to groups â
  10. Aug 17, 2014
    10
    So there are several reasons why this expansion was, and still is, the greatest of all of the World of Warcraft expansions, including the original release.

    - Difficulty: While WotLK's content was quite difficult, it was not remorselessly so like in previous incarnations of the game. It still had room for the raiding elite to show off their swag whilst simultaneously allowing more of the
    So there are several reasons why this expansion was, and still is, the greatest of all of the World of Warcraft expansions, including the original release.

    - Difficulty: While WotLK's content was quite difficult, it was not remorselessly so like in previous incarnations of the game. It still had room for the raiding elite to show off their swag whilst simultaneously allowing more of the broader audience of the game to access the end-game content they had previously been denied.

    - Plot: Wrath of the Lich King addressed a FANTASTIC villain and story in the form of Arthas Menethil, one of the greatest villains in video gaming history as well as approaching many other, brand-new plot elements such as the Nexus War against the Blue Dragonflight and the secrets of Ulduar.

    -Music: The soundtrack to Wrath of the Lich King managed to capture the perfect balance between epic orchestral scoring and subtle, ambience, something I personally feel has been lost in subsequent expansions.

    -Environments: Wrath of the Lich King introduced Northrend, which had a variety of fantastically emersive environments for us to explore.
    Expand
  11. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    best expansion of them all, i didnt like cataclysm so much and hope the mop expansion will be good too
    this expansion had the best story and music and zones, realy nice that arthas showed up in different places
  12. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    Amazing expansion! Blizzard nailed this game so hard! With amazing story, scenery, immersive gameplay, and beautiful music/cutscenes, Wrath of the Lich King is by far one of Blizzards best games. The only issue I had with it was the zone below Dalaran, Crystal forest or something like that. Blizzard cut out its content at the last minute, leaving it empty and unexplained. Other then that,Amazing expansion! Blizzard nailed this game so hard! With amazing story, scenery, immersive gameplay, and beautiful music/cutscenes, Wrath of the Lich King is by far one of Blizzards best games. The only issue I had with it was the zone below Dalaran, Crystal forest or something like that. Blizzard cut out its content at the last minute, leaving it empty and unexplained. Other then that, amazing game! Expand
  13. Aug 31, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wrath of the Lich King was a slight dissapointment for me. The questing and dungeons seemed to be tuned to be way too easy. Some things were improved, 5 mans and raids no longer had an hour's worth of trash that you had to go through to get to the bosses, they just had a couple of groups of minions you had to quickly kill before you got to the important boss which I liked. I did not like the vehicle fights in this expansion, they had the potential to be really fun but they were tuned to be way too difficult so even if you were pro at playing your class, you would die repeatedly while using a vehicle in a quest or in an instance which was not fun. Naxx was remade to be the entry level raid for this expansion since not many people experienced it in the original Vanilla release (myself included). It was tuned to be very easy and most bosses were loot pinatas with the exception of 1 or 2. It was alright but too easy to be that exciting.

    Ulduar was the next level raid in this expansion, that was a fun instance. The first time my guild and I engaged XT-002 and heard it speak in a whiney teenage voice we all cracked up laughing and completely wiped, that was my favourite part of the whole expansion. I loved how Blizzard takes this mean looking robot and then gives it the voice of a whiney teenager, who came up with that? It was great. The patch which brought out Trial of the grand champion (I think it was called that, I'll refer to it as Totgc) and the LFD tool (I think it was the same patch, it was around the same time) is where things started to go downhill a bit. Totgc was released a bit too soon when most guilds were still progressing in Ulduar, so it kind of ruined my guilds progression since it had better gear we never bothered to finish Ulduar despite being on the 2nd last boss. Now I think what really started to lead to the demise of WoW was the introduction of the LFD tool and the 5-man heroic dungeons being tuned to be too easy. Tanks who played in Vanilla and the Burning Crusade would start to set up the pull and give CC instructions while the new players who just started playing in Wrath would just yell "gogogogo" and then force you to chain pull the whole instance. But the instance was tuned so easy that you could actually chain pull the whole instance and survive so the heroics just became a zerg fest instead of a place you needed to use skill. Activision purchased Blizzard shortly before this patch so I am not sure if that had anything to do with the game being tuned too easy or not. All I know is that WoW was at its peak of subscribers just berfore this patch was released and it started bleeding subscribers from this patch on.
    I figure it was either LFD or the Activision purchase or a combination of both that caused this, those were the only things that changed around that time.

    Ice Crown Citadel was kind of a meh raid instance for me but people seemed to like it alright, probably because the Lich King was such a loved character by the lore fans. Really the game got kind of boring for me after Ulduar was no longer the highest expansion, but I still kept playing, I was still having a decent time raiding with my guild. I'll give this expansion a 7/10.
    Expand
  14. Sep 29, 2012
    8
    For me WoW died with the Lich King so gonna score the whole expansion an 8 out of 10 because during wotlk I was addicted to WoW. Still alot more to do in Wotlk then Cata or MoP, too bad Blizzard was out of ideeas with the lore after Cata
  15. Jun 5, 2014
    8
    The game starts with reused raid content, regardless of their reasoning, minus 1 point.
    The quality of life changes to the game are fantastic (crafting, materials, secondary skills)
    Ulduar is one of the best raids every made and VERY awesome looking. From here on the raids redeem the game's initial mistake if redone NAXX. People start dropping their subs and the influx of new, younger
    The game starts with reused raid content, regardless of their reasoning, minus 1 point.
    The quality of life changes to the game are fantastic (crafting, materials, secondary skills)
    Ulduar is one of the best raids every made and VERY awesome looking. From here on the raids redeem the game's initial mistake if redone NAXX. People start dropping their subs and the influx of new, younger players begins to shift the mmo community into a toxic downwards spiral. =(
    Expand
  16. Sep 7, 2014
    7
    Ok expansion, Vanilla 10 BC 8 Wrath 7 Cata 6 Panda 4 . Even if wrath had atmosphere, the lich king fight was amazing, this expansion was the beginning of casual play. they had dumb down every raid to let even the dumbest raiders to be able to do a given raid !!!
  17. Aug 18, 2010
    9
    I honestly wish some of these reviewers had to take a technical competency test before being allowed to enter a score.
    "Same graphics" I keep seeing. Have you even the slightest idea of how much work would be involved in upgrading the graphics in this game? Please, do your homework before you kick off about 'Graphics'... and incidentally, the graphic quality of Northrend is a very great
    I honestly wish some of these reviewers had to take a technical competency test before being allowed to enter a score.
    "Same graphics" I keep seeing. Have you even the slightest idea of how much work would be involved in upgrading the graphics in this game? Please, do your homework before you kick off about 'Graphics'... and incidentally, the graphic quality of Northrend is a very great deal better than Vanilla WoW. All in all, WoW is a very solid and engrossing experience.
    There is very much something for everyone now, and the elitism of the old days is only existent in the player base, not in the game itself.
    No-matter what stage you join, you can level up to whatever the current cap is, run some regular 5 man dungeons, and rapidly get yourself into a Raiding situation.
    To appease the Hard Core demographic, there are achievement rewards and hard modes too!
    Little to nothing wrong with this game, although to some, who believe looks are everything... this is possibly looking a little old now.
    It's unlikely Cataclysm's forthcoming graphic improvements will do much to win those people over.
    Expand
  18. Feb 11, 2014
    8
    Since the standalone World of Warcraft release, I was hooked hard into the game and its expansions. Though I still remember the wonder and freshness of WoW and the level 60 cap that it started with, I think I really spent more time digging into the high level content in Burning Crusade. There is no denying it: World of Warcraft is the true blueprint to MMORPGs and is why games like TheSince the standalone World of Warcraft release, I was hooked hard into the game and its expansions. Though I still remember the wonder and freshness of WoW and the level 60 cap that it started with, I think I really spent more time digging into the high level content in Burning Crusade. There is no denying it: World of Warcraft is the true blueprint to MMORPGs and is why games like The Old Republic and Guild Wars sit in its shadow instead of standing out both as critical and profitable successes. Wrath of the Lich King actually furthered WoW a bit in the quest department. Cool cutscene bits were introduced for larger quest story lines and the raid content began to get more varied and unique than the more standard approaches from previous end game content. The only real problem with Wrath was the inevitable simplification of classes and the nerfs that came along with it. Blizzard have had a nightmare trying to balance classes, but their answer to balancing was just to slowly strip away or consolidate class skills and advantages, dumbing down some of the mechanics and mastery required to be a great player. That doesn't ruin WoW, but it definitely took some of the pride out of PvP matches. That being said, Wrath definitely serves as a great WoW expansion. Expand
  19. Mar 31, 2012
    0
    Even more terrible pvp design choices, some of the dullest raids in the history of mmos, and complete removal of any challenge and instead a leap towards 'gear+class=win'. The only positive thing about this xpac is that it wasn't Cataclysm
  20. Mar 10, 2012
    0
    Like many others have already said....it's insulting how much they've dumbed-down everything. Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible.
  21. Jan 28, 2012
    9
    This is where game started to get easy. That being said it had good story and end game, wintergrasp was also great when it didn't lag.

    What I do not like is the fact that now with reduced XP you skyrocket to level 80 but you still need to pay for that expansion. I think it should be merged with Starter Edition.
  22. Jan 12, 2014
    8
    That's the last expansion that had something to do with the original trilogy of Warcraft. The rest is a try to avoid unavoidable death that is near each passing day... That' s just too bad...
  23. Feb 13, 2012
    3
    Truly awful.
    I liked the features, such as the new achievements and SOME of the dungeons, but i hated the expansion.
    After the falling in love with the BC, this came and replaced it.
    Music was brilliant, Graphics were the same, the quests were bland and the dungeons were dull.
    A real disappointment.
  24. May 15, 2012
    10
    WoW will forever be known as 'THAT MMO'. The first MMO to make MMORPGs a mainstream game. It was and forever will be the biggest game of it's generation and forever to come.
  25. Aug 8, 2012
    9
    Best expansion of WoW so far. Introduced great features like Looking for Dungeon tool, dual spec and phasing.
    The leveling was very immersive and the story well told. The new continent was really beautiful too as were the 5 man dungeons.
    All in all I immensely enjoyed leveling, running dungeons and raiding in this expansion. The only downside I can see is Icecrown Citadel not really
    Best expansion of WoW so far. Introduced great features like Looking for Dungeon tool, dual spec and phasing.
    The leveling was very immersive and the story well told. The new continent was really beautiful too as were the 5 man dungeons.
    All in all I immensely enjoyed leveling, running dungeons and raiding in this expansion.
    The only downside I can see is Icecrown Citadel not really feeling epic as far as the setting goes (in comparison to Ulduar or Naxxramas for example).
    Expand
  26. Jun 10, 2012
    8
    A good expansion. The addition of Death Knights was very clever. However, I wish there was more content to them. They have they're starting zone and then Boom! Your in the faction. I feel that Death Knights should have been somewhat different. Northerend was quit a nice area though. I enjoyed the music and the scenery. The new dungeons were pretty weak in my opinion.
  27. Aug 16, 2012
    7
    The quests were not my personal favorite... But it surely beats Cataclysm or the Burning Crusade. It wasn't the Lich King that made it great, nor the Death Knights. But, the music, glyphs, class changes and the nordic environment made it the greatest WoW expansion for me.
  28. Oct 1, 2012
    8
    For me, it was the best expansion of WoW, the problem with it, was that it was really easy to beat. Even a 12yo boy could kill the lich king with no problem at all. But at least WOTLK had an interesting story line with epic raids like Ulduar, ICC and Malygos
  29. Jul 29, 2013
    8
    The expansion where things started to go worse, really worse with World of Warcraft. It still was a playable and rather fun game back then. Actually this was the expansion where my WoW addiction was most intense.
  30. Dec 10, 2012
    8
    The final arc in the Warcraft III story fails to disappoint, returning to see old characters and the final chapter in the tale of Arthas. Best expansion to date and adding many enjoyable new features.
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 47
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 47
  3. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. It’s brilliant, inspired and will easily secure their supremacy as the leader in the MMOPRG market.
  2. Seeing the innumerable changes and tune-ups to the game engine and the rules, you get the sense that World of Warcraft is a finely-tuned machine that its makers just can't stop tinkering with in an obsessive effort to keep it fresh, relevant, and above all, fun. For now, mission accomplished.
  3. 100
    Wrath of the Lich King takes the best-of-breed MMO and improves everything about it. It's a work of supreme confidence and quality that is twice as fun and ten times as beautiful as classic WOW, not to mention anything else in the genre. But above all else - in the breathtaking sweep of Northrend, in the assured, epic storytelling, in the constellation of brilliant quests - it is a grand adventure. Perhaps the grandest adventure in all gaming.