User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 671 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Very veeeeeeery bad expansion. It's here where all the catering to bad players took it pace. Game was so easy even monkey could level to 80 and clear raids. Only thing good about Wotlk was Ulduar, one of best raids ever, everything else was crap.
  2. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    I played this game for a long time and i all ways loved it! I all ways thought that this game easily deserved a 100/100. Sadly the new expansion "Mists of Pandaria" did not turn out as well as i thought but all the other ones were good and i can't wait to see what new expansion comes out next! :D
  3. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    This is arguably the best MMO I have played, the graphics, the story, everything blends together perfectly. A lot of people complain that this game is addictive. All good things are addictive but only if you let them rule your life. There is absolutely no reason why anyone should feel compelled to play this game all day every day, and if they do, its those people who will be addicted to anything. If you are so bored of your life that you can only find solace in a virtual world, then please by all means avoid this game. World of Warcraft is an amazing game and its an even better experience to share with your friends. Thats why I love this game, I can raid one day, battle in an arena or a battleground on another or just goof around with my friends, and there is no pressure. Relax, and enjoy this great game, make new friends and share some fun adventures with your existing ones, just please stop blaming a game for "ruining your life". Expand
  4. Mar 23, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the game I'd like to give a 10, but if I look at Its whole life-time, I simply can't. This was an expansion pack I waited with great fun too. It was really good to catch up with everyone's favorite heros' story from Warcraft 3 and 2, Ner'zhul and Arthas. When I started a Death Knight (Former recruits of the Argent Dawn who got raised as the Scourge's "shock troopers" by the Lich King to serve his needs), I was shocked and not in a negative meaning. The linear and good story, the characters, the phasing and especially, the music was so damn good that I had to play the Scarlet Enclave again. Then I went back to my main character and started leveling. The same could be told here too. Good and linear story, great characters and music. Getting Items felt easier here, though u still needed the time or many gold to do the crafted epics. But it was still hard here. Heroics in the beginning were pretty much hard. But they meant a lot of fun, as did the new Achievement system. Naxxramas and Sartharion were only for really experienced players. This was the time when I was on top in WoW. I had full epic from crafted items and from Sartharion/Naxx. This was my favorite time. Unfortuneatly, It all ended in a damn patch that introduced the finished Argent Colisseum and the new Badge System. This was the Patch that murdered the half of WoW. Unexperienced players with full epics running all around and the only way to know what they MIGHT know was to check their Achievements. This was the time when I was only heroicing, playing on battlegrounds, and doing daily quests because I simply couldn't stand ToC and also didn't need anything from there because I got everything else from crafteds and heroics. You got everything from heroics and didn't even needed to raid! ToC was like standing in one place and killing waves. Great. By Icecrown came out I was barely doing anything beside doing the first daily heroic and getting money because it gave you 2 Emblem of Frost and from those you could get everything you needed to get on the same level as those who actually went to Icecrown Citadel. About the money, this was the only thing that was still challange to get, much little challange, but still a challange. I was saving the money I got for a Traveler's Tundra Mammoth which was 16000 gold and a Dalaran Signet that cost 6800 gold and the 3 upgrades were 1000 gold (I was exalted with Kirin Tor, which meant 20% discount for repairs and prices). With Miner-farming i got the money for the rings and the mammoth, well, a little trick was needed for the mammoth, but i got them all. It was 22000 gold, but I got it. After this point, I found no other challange, so I started doing 2 alts. A Death Knight and a Paladin. I did some heroic with the DK at lvl 80 but I got bored with it so i leveled the Paladin. It was so overpowered that it was disgusting. I could solo a raid quest with it on lvl 60 and leveling was a laugh, especially when the enemys were undeads. After both alt got their Cold Weather flying skill (1000 gold) and epic mount, I stopped playing this game until Cataclysm. I simply didn't find joy in playing this game and I was hoping Cataclysm would bring back that. I still checked the World of Warcraft Wiki on what happened to the Lich King and I thought that It was really stupid to butcher two of the most popular character from the original Warcraft trilogy. They had put the adventurers in a far larger role they should have. That moment was really a punch in the stomach for those who played Warcraft 3 or 2. So, it was a long review. To sum up: It was the greatest expansion pack until 3.2.0 patch, which completely destroyed challanges in the game. I'd really like to give it a 10, but I have to consider the part which happened after 3.2.0 so with a kind heart it's an 8. Expand
  5. Oct 2, 2010
    7
    Maybe it's nostalgia or just pure burnout but I did not have as much in wotlk as I did in vanilla or tbc. I think the developers went too mainstream and focused to much on the profit model giving players anything they ask for by just putting a price tag on it. While not all that came with this expansion is bad, many things have really irked me enough to take a long break from the game.
  6. Oct 14, 2010
    9
    Wrath of the Lich king is coming to an end with Cataclysm launching December. I can honestly say that the last two years have been great for World of Warcraft. This expansion brought in so many great changes to WoW - dungeon finder, battleground finder, etc. - that were just awesome. Fantastic expansion.
  7. Nov 8, 2010
    10
    World of Warcraft once again manages to astound gamers across the world, bringing it to 12 million active accounts. Rightfully so. Though the graphics aren't great, they still manage to beautifully illustrate the worlds of Azeroth and Outland, and enable a wide range of PCs and Macs to operate the game smoothly. The game play is straightforward and full of funny little parodies of the real world, and professions are fun ways to explore the world make a little extra money. The game may have lost its difficulty over the years, but there is always a place where the hardcore player can enjoy themselves. The music and lore is of very high quality as well. An awesome game that almost anyone can enjoy. Collapse
  8. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    This game this expansion is too easy in my opinion, but overall not a bad expansion... just this expansion was so easy even noobs could do it... Unlike Vanilla and Burning Crusade, If you were a nab then you'd get pvp gear... Not saying that everyone in pvp gear were nabs but that's the way it went.. if you couldn't get yourself into a good raiding guild. I just hope that cataclysm won't be boring like wrath... don't want to get bored for 6 months again just raiding naxxaramas, that was rather boring if i'm honest.. but i guess that's why they bought heroic modes, but then again.. they get rather boring after a while also... i'd give this game a 8/10 Expand
  9. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    World of warcraft review

    World of warcraft is the largest mmorpg (massive multiplayer online role playing game) on the pc it has hundreds of thousands of player it has to groups â
  10. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    best expansion of them all, i didnt like cataclysm so much and hope the mop expansion will be good too
    this expansion had the best story and music and zones, realy nice that arthas showed up in different places
  11. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    Amazing expansion! Blizzard nailed this game so hard! With amazing story, scenery, immersive gameplay, and beautiful music/cutscenes, Wrath of the Lich King is by far one of Blizzards best games. The only issue I had with it was the zone below Dalaran, Crystal forest or something like that. Blizzard cut out its content at the last minute, leaving it empty and unexplained. Other then that, amazing game! Expand
  12. Sep 29, 2012
    8
    For me WoW died with the Lich King so gonna score the whole expansion an 8 out of 10 because during wotlk I was addicted to WoW. Still alot more to do in Wotlk then Cata or MoP, too bad Blizzard was out of ideeas with the lore after Cata
  13. Aug 18, 2010
    9
    I honestly wish some of these reviewers had to take a technical competency test before being allowed to enter a score.
    "Same graphics" I keep seeing. Have you even the slightest idea of how much work would be involved in upgrading the graphics in this game? Please, do your homework before you kick off about 'Graphics'... and incidentally, the graphic quality of Northrend is a very great
    deal better than Vanilla WoW. All in all, WoW is a very solid and engrossing experience.
    There is very much something for everyone now, and the elitism of the old days is only existent in the player base, not in the game itself.
    No-matter what stage you join, you can level up to whatever the current cap is, run some regular 5 man dungeons, and rapidly get yourself into a Raiding situation.
    To appease the Hard Core demographic, there are achievement rewards and hard modes too!
    Little to nothing wrong with this game, although to some, who believe looks are everything... this is possibly looking a little old now.
    It's unlikely Cataclysm's forthcoming graphic improvements will do much to win those people over.
    Expand
  14. Aug 28, 2010
    0
    same sh**, different colors...whatever. fu** WoW and fu** blizzard fo lyfe. I've played this sh** on and off for roughly 4 years, small sacrifice now to get cataclysm...but I feel bad for the poor bastards who will have to buy 3 games before they can get rolling in cataclysm, then the monthly fee. that's pathetic...
  15. Feb 11, 2014
    8
    Since the standalone World of Warcraft release, I was hooked hard into the game and its expansions. Though I still remember the wonder and freshness of WoW and the level 60 cap that it started with, I think I really spent more time digging into the high level content in Burning Crusade. There is no denying it: World of Warcraft is the true blueprint to MMORPGs and is why games like The Old Republic and Guild Wars sit in its shadow instead of standing out both as critical and profitable successes. Wrath of the Lich King actually furthered WoW a bit in the quest department. Cool cutscene bits were introduced for larger quest story lines and the raid content began to get more varied and unique than the more standard approaches from previous end game content. The only real problem with Wrath was the inevitable simplification of classes and the nerfs that came along with it. Blizzard have had a nightmare trying to balance classes, but their answer to balancing was just to slowly strip away or consolidate class skills and advantages, dumbing down some of the mechanics and mastery required to be a great player. That doesn't ruin WoW, but it definitely took some of the pride out of PvP matches. That being said, Wrath definitely serves as a great WoW expansion. Expand
  16. Nov 21, 2010
    7
    Compared to my experience pre Wrath of the Lich King, less fun. With that said, having played since release it was a great deal of fun, though all content as far as raids go felt "nerfed" especially in early tiers - while they were 'current content'. The player vs. player aspects of the game are quite fun as always. This expansion also introduced the achievement system (implemented pre wrath release). Overall decent, but it is no Burning Crusade as far as 'epic feel' and difficulty. Expand
  17. Dec 26, 2010
    7
    Its nice that random heroics, heroic difficulty for raids, and some effort to balance classes so that you can pick and choose between different ones for the same buffs came along, but this was the casual expansion. All the bad players that got 12/12 because there wasn't much to worry about are now wiping on trash that you have to cc because they don't know any better. Need to spam >1 heal spell? Too difficult. Need to get used to a priority system for dps in heroics? Too difficult. Thanks to this, Blizzard will have to nerf everything hard they come out with for a long time since you just can't take anyone outside of a good guild. Expand
  18. Apr 8, 2012
    7
    Frosty region , cool DeathKnights, nice missions and a lvl cap up to 80. Face it, WOTLK may not be the most intriguing addition, yet more of the same, but it still a nice force to the WOW formula keeping it alive a bit longer.
  19. Nov 3, 2011
    7
    This expansion was very good at first, but got old very quickly. It was on a downhill since 3.2, and raiding Lich King for an entire year, was the most boring and stale era in history of WoW. The only thing that kept it alive was the hype generated by Cataclysm.
  20. Sep 18, 2011
    7
    So far this expansion is very enjoyable. In fact I may rate this up a couple of more points, if, and only if the endgame with the Lich King lives up to the hype. I can already tell that not enough changed in Cataclysm to make it worth the money. Namely that there are so many unpopulated areas that many of us veteran players love. There just isn't reason to even go to any of them. I think they need to spread it out and increase their fan base again, but it might be too late. World of Warcraft is showing signs of aging but is still fun overall. The only thing not fun about the game is the price, which hasn't changed since it first came out. As much as I love the game it simply isn't worth the $15 a month and with as many subscribers that they had you'd think they would be giving more to them. That's not the case, after Blizzard was bought it seems that their new owners capitalized on the success and what it feels like, somewhat downgraded it. Glad the instances work right because I quit playing right before I finished Burning Crusade and only came back with the free 10 days for coming back. I saw leveling had become easier and now want end game content for personal reasons. If I stay really depends on motivation to stay and if they finally drop that monthly price. I wouldn't count on it soon. Expand
  21. Jan 1, 2012
    7
    There were some very enjoyable raid encounters in this addon but overal it was far too easy and honestly wow started to get dumbed down and get boring with this addon. Took only a few days to reach max level. While leveling up the "normal" difficulties of instances already felt like pure waste of time and the "heroic" versions were very easy to finish first time playing them soon becoming absolutely obsolete. Gold had no value anymore. Any player not beeing fully equipped with epic items after like one week at max level got called noob. The complete gameplay changed to repeating boring quests in boring instances on daily base to collect for pointless item updates. Well and once you were half finished collecting your items blizzard just released a new content patch with new items, nerfed old icontent and made all your past "efforts" regarding items and achievements wortless. Expand
  22. Mar 31, 2012
    0
    Even more terrible pvp design choices, some of the dullest raids in the history of mmos, and complete removal of any challenge and instead a leap towards 'gear+class=win'. The only positive thing about this xpac is that it wasn't Cataclysm
  23. Mar 10, 2012
    0
    Like many others have already said....it's insulting how much they've dumbed-down everything. Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible Terrible.
  24. Jan 28, 2012
    9
    This is where game started to get easy. That being said it had good story and end game, wintergrasp was also great when it didn't lag.

    What I do not like is the fact that now with reduced XP you skyrocket to level 80 but you still need to pay for that expansion. I think it should be merged with Starter Edition.
  25. Jan 12, 2014
    8
    That's the last expansion that had something to do with the original trilogy of Warcraft. The rest is a try to avoid unavoidable death that is near each passing day... That' s just too bad...
  26. Feb 13, 2012
    3
    Truly awful.
    I liked the features, such as the new achievements and SOME of the dungeons, but i hated the expansion.
    After the falling in love with the BC, this came and replaced it.
    Music was brilliant, Graphics were the same, the quests were bland and the dungeons were dull.
    A real disappointment.
  27. May 15, 2012
    10
    WoW will forever be known as 'THAT MMO'. The first MMO to make MMORPGs a mainstream game. It was and forever will be the biggest game of it's generation and forever to come.
  28. Aug 8, 2012
    9
    Best expansion of WoW so far. Introduced great features like Looking for Dungeon tool, dual spec and phasing.
    The leveling was very immersive and the story well told. The new continent was really beautiful too as were the 5 man dungeons.
    All in all I immensely enjoyed leveling, running dungeons and raiding in this expansion.
    The only downside I can see is Icecrown Citadel not really
    feeling epic as far as the setting goes (in comparison to Ulduar or Naxxramas for example). Expand
  29. Jun 10, 2012
    8
    A good expansion. The addition of Death Knights was very clever. However, I wish there was more content to them. They have they're starting zone and then Boom! Your in the faction. I feel that Death Knights should have been somewhat different. Northerend was quit a nice area though. I enjoyed the music and the scenery. The new dungeons were pretty weak in my opinion.
  30. Jul 8, 2012
    0
    again same crap in different wrapping,the game should be called wrath of the players,i feel sorry for every soul that buyed this piece of **** must be against some law to release this.
  31. Aug 31, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wrath of the Lich King was a slight dissapointment for me. The questing and dungeons seemed to be tuned to be way too easy. Some things were improved, 5 mans and raids no longer had an hour's worth of trash that you had to go through to get to the bosses, they just had a couple of groups of minions you had to quickly kill before you got to the important boss which I liked. I did not like the vehicle fights in this expansion, they had the potential to be really fun but they were tuned to be way too difficult so even if you were pro at playing your class, you would die repeatedly while using a vehicle in a quest or in an instance which was not fun. Naxx was remade to be the entry level raid for this expansion since not many people experienced it in the original Vanilla release (myself included). It was tuned to be very easy and most bosses were loot pinatas with the exception of 1 or 2. It was alright but too easy to be that exciting.

    Ulduar was the next level raid in this expansion, that was a fun instance. The first time my guild and I engaged XT-002 and heard it speak in a whiney teenage voice we all cracked up laughing and completely wiped, that was my favourite part of the whole expansion. I loved how Blizzard takes this mean looking robot and then gives it the voice of a whiney teenager, who came up with that? It was great. The patch which brought out Trial of the grand champion (I think it was called that, I'll refer to it as Totgc) and the LFD tool (I think it was the same patch, it was around the same time) is where things started to go downhill a bit. Totgc was released a bit too soon when most guilds were still progressing in Ulduar, so it kind of ruined my guilds progression since it had better gear we never bothered to finish Ulduar despite being on the 2nd last boss. Now I think what really started to lead to the demise of WoW was the introduction of the LFD tool and the 5-man heroic dungeons being tuned to be too easy. Tanks who played in Vanilla and the Burning Crusade would start to set up the pull and give CC instructions while the new players who just started playing in Wrath would just yell "gogogogo" and then force you to chain pull the whole instance. But the instance was tuned so easy that you could actually chain pull the whole instance and survive so the heroics just became a zerg fest instead of a place you needed to use skill. Activision purchased Blizzard shortly before this patch so I am not sure if that had anything to do with the game being tuned too easy or not. All I know is that WoW was at its peak of subscribers just berfore this patch was released and it started bleeding subscribers from this patch on.
    I figure it was either LFD or the Activision purchase or a combination of both that caused this, those were the only things that changed around that time.

    Ice Crown Citadel was kind of a meh raid instance for me but people seemed to like it alright, probably because the Lich King was such a loved character by the lore fans. Really the game got kind of boring for me after Ulduar was no longer the highest expansion, but I still kept playing, I was still having a decent time raiding with my guild. I'll give this expansion a 7/10.
    Expand
  32. Aug 16, 2012
    7
    The quests were not my personal favorite... But it surely beats Cataclysm or the Burning Crusade. It wasn't the Lich King that made it great, nor the Death Knights. But, the music, glyphs, class changes and the nordic environment made it the greatest WoW expansion for me.
  33. Sep 29, 2012
    6
    WOTLK content wise was a nice expansion but with it blizzard start the philosopy "all things for all" at the expense of quality,not forgetting a whole year without content after the lich king.
  34. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    WoW was a fantastic game in the past. It was filled with adventure, discovery, and most importantly, teamwork. However, the game has been going downhill recently with the release of the new expansion, the Mists of Pandaria. It has become too simplistic, and plays like a console game. There is no sense of accomplishment and adventure anymore. Clearly, Blizzard is now targeting a different demographic - the game is now for kids. If you enjoy paying a monthly fee AND playing with (other) children, this game might be for you. Expand
  35. Sep 29, 2012
    5
    Though WOTLK gave us some fine additions such as Achievements that gave non-hardcore players an alternative way of enjoying the game, WOTLK was a mixed bag. It was the expansion that began to chip away the magic and wonder of a game that I had previously loved. I didn't hate WOTLK - there were many things I really liked about it. However, many of the added races such as the Vrykul, Tuskarr, Taunka and Gorloc and Wolvar ranged from superfluous (like the Taunka) to out of place (the Vrykul) to ridiculous (the Tuskarr, the Gorloc and the Wolvar). The ridiculous races gave the game a puerile quality that eroded the dark tone that WOTLK was trying to set by introducing slapstick, childish humour with these new races. This created a sense of dissonance with the feelings of impending doom caused by the return of the Lich King and the accompanying scourge threat to the world. There were also zones in Northrend that seemed redundant (ie: Borean Tundra is the same zone level as Howling Fjord) and there was too much overlap in terms of zone levels, so players didn't get to experience Northrend in its entirety because they often had to choose between zones, whereas Burning Crusade had a more balanced approach in this way. Other zones such as Crystalsong Forest seemed to have little to no function or relevance at all except for housing the city of Dalaran. I also want to say that I wasn't fond of how they handled the Death Knight class, which are GOOD, but they're not great and are still seen as a bit of a joke among the core classes because they're somewhat redundant - they're not the best tank (unless the player is really skilled - and many I've played with too many who aren't), their DPS is sketchy (again, it depends on if they player really knows this class inside out, as DKs seem to be less forgiving of mediocrity than other classes) and they really haven't found a useful place among the base classes. I think they would have been more functional as a hybrid class (tank/DPS/heals), and they could have done something interesting with them as a healer, using weird demonic spells to heal (because lore-wise, I think makes sense that healers would have been converted to DKs). Among things I liked: Achievements, the expanded lore of the DKs and the fall of Arthas, the coupe attempt against the Undercity, the beautifully crafted city of Dalaran and easter eggs like Higher Learning that encouraged players to explore and rewarded them with pets, mounts or titles. I really loved that Blizzard brought back titles, something they seemed to briefly touch upon and abandoned without explanation in Vanilla WoW, as well as the addition of the Inscription profession, which felt far less painful than Jewelcrafting, a profession introduced in BC that I still hate with a passion for reasons I can't explain. I loved the addition of Wintergrasp and the use of siege vehicles. The introduction of BoA gear was an idea I was somewhat warm to at first, but as the game has progressed, BoAs have proven to be a scourge in low-level PvP BGs/zones. BoAs give players without it an unfair disadvantage and I feel it's broken the lower-level PvP aspect of the game as they've added BoAs in subsequent expansions. Though I don't hate WOTLK, I didn't like the precedent it set for later expansions with ridiculous races, a redundant new class, overlapping zone levels that prevented the player from fully experiencing the new content and the introduction of BoAs that later resulted in a broken low-level PvP experience for new players (or players who didn't feel like grinding). WOTLK did a LOT of things right and they did them well. Though the mistakes they made in this expansion didn't break the game for me, it started to show cracks that subsequent expansions shattered, irrevocably changing a fantastic game into a mediocre experience that I no longer enjoy. Expand
  36. Oct 1, 2012
    8
    For me, it was the best expansion of WoW, the problem with it, was that it was really easy to beat. Even a 12yo boy could kill the lich king with no problem at all. But at least WOTLK had an interesting story line with epic raids like Ulduar, ICC and Malygos
  37. Jul 29, 2013
    8
    The expansion where things started to go worse, really worse with World of Warcraft. It still was a playable and rather fun game back then. Actually this was the expansion where my WoW addiction was most intense.
  38. Dec 10, 2012
    8
    The final arc in the Warcraft III story fails to disappoint, returning to see old characters and the final chapter in the tale of Arthas. Best expansion to date and adding many enjoyable new features.
  39. Mar 28, 2013
    8
    I used to enjoy World of Warcraft. I played every single day, one hour on weekdays, two on weekends. This was the best expansion. I really want it back. There were very few bad things about this. The Death Knights were very fun to play, and Northrend looked very beautiful. If I wrote this a few years earlier, I probably would have given it a 10/10, as I thought WoW was "the best game EVAR" up until Cata, but looking back now, I probably won't enjoy it as much as I did back then. It was a good expansion, and I don't understand how it has such a bad user score. I really want to play this again, but Blizzard changed WoW so much, it's not the same as it was in WotLK. Expand
  40. Apr 17, 2013
    10
    This game just keeps getting better and better. Although raids were vastly improved for the hardcore gamer, they were now more accessible for those who like to play WOW casually, and now it doesn't take as much to reach a nice position among your guild. This expansion also keeps that hardcore group intact by adding difficult battles and intricate raids that last a long time, and take a lot of effort and strategy to progress, and should you succeed, you will be heavily rewarded. To me that was the biggest feature. I was a raider, and this just made it that much better. ICC was also a blast, and probably the most fun I have ever had in a game. Expand
  41. Feb 3, 2014
    8
    Story: 7 out of 10, Graphics: 8 out of 10, Fun: 9 out of 10, Controls: 8 out of 10, Ease to Learn: 7 out of 10, Length: 8 out of 10, Re-play: 5 out of 10, Value: 7 out of 10
  42. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    Many would say Wrath of the Lich King is and always will be the best expansion in the history of WoW. Personally it is my 2nd favorite. TBC gets first in my book. WotLK was without a doubt a great expansion. Had I had the time to be a full-time raider during this game's prime it might have taken my number 1 vote.
  43. Nov 8, 2010
    0
    World of Warcraft once again manages to astound gamers across the world, bringing it to 12 million active accounts. Rightfully so. Though the graphics aren't great, they still manage to beautifully illustrate the worlds of Azeroth and Outland, and enable a wide range of PCs and Macs to operate the game smoothly. The game play is straightforward and full of funny little parodies of the real world, and professions are fun ways to explore the world make a little extra money. The game may have lost its difficulty over the years, but there is always a place where the hardcore player can enjoy themselves. The music and lore is of very high quality as well. An awesome game that almost anyone can enjoy. Collapse
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 47
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 47
  3. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. It’s brilliant, inspired and will easily secure their supremacy as the leader in the MMOPRG market.
  2. Seeing the innumerable changes and tune-ups to the game engine and the rules, you get the sense that World of Warcraft is a finely-tuned machine that its makers just can't stop tinkering with in an obsessive effort to keep it fresh, relevant, and above all, fun. For now, mission accomplished.
  3. 100
    Wrath of the Lich King takes the best-of-breed MMO and improves everything about it. It's a work of supreme confidence and quality that is twice as fun and ten times as beautiful as classic WOW, not to mention anything else in the genre. But above all else - in the breathtaking sweep of Northrend, in the assured, epic storytelling, in the constellation of brilliant quests - it is a grand adventure. Perhaps the grandest adventure in all gaming.