User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1699 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    The time when World of Warcraft was THE MMO. It wasn't the down-booted bantha crap that is now. This was the time when the game made you actually think about tactics, professions and others. Hell, if you compare the mounts' level and prices, you should know what I mean: Vanilla: Lvl40: around 100g,normal mount. Cataclysm/WOTLK: Lvl40: less than 100g and EPIC mount. Getting Items was another thing. When I got my first epic item, I was incredibly happy (I still remember which item it was). In newer expansions: Completely unexperienced kids running around in Full Epic because they did a heroic with some other kid who MIGHT had some XP in the game. I even had a full-epic off set from the stupid Triumph badges that dropped from heroics. To sum up, If you feel yourself as a beginner in MMOs, you might wanna try the newer Expansions first, but when you're tired of the no-challanges, you'll defineatly wanna try one of the Vanilla Private servers. Expand
  2. Jul 30, 2011
    4
    It was as good as it gets back in the day. However, that time is gone. Most of the content in the World of Warcraft set the standards for every major mmo to come. Speaking from today.. the content is extremely stale, and very unbalanced due to badly designed expansion packs. If you end up playing or are playing this game keep in mind that the content is focused on PvE and waste your life away raiding schedules. As for PvP, the game has no real PvP focus, it never has, they just offer it. Regarding the future of this game, it's already undergoing a slow painful death. If your willing to purchase 100+ dollars in expansions and a subscription on top of that by all means go ahead. Just keep in mind it's not as good as it was. Expand
  3. Dec 19, 2011
    6
    I'll do a short-ish review: At start it was good, after Vanilla it started to go down. Especially after Mists of Pandaria. Blizzard has truly ran out of ideas. If it becomes F2P or they remove monthly fee, I might continue playing it. (Yes I have played it!)
  4. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    I played this game for a long time and i all ways loved it! I all ways thought that this game easily deserved a 100/100. Sadly the new expansion "Mists of Pandaria" did not turn out as well as i thought but all the other ones were good and i can't wait to see what new expansion comes out next! :D
  5. Nov 5, 2010
    10
    The best MMO i have ever played, the only one that kept me playing, and playing, and playing...
    I would put 6 because no one should ever play such good MMO, you end up in no life! i had to stop play has i was caring much the game than my own business. But Seriously, the atmosphere is wonderful, i could just spend hours fishing in some oasis at night, under a full moon and shiny stars, in
    the desolated barrens... until some sneaky skinny elf hunter unleash his tiger on my back... what are you going to do now little elf? your tiger looks like an ice cube and... you're a sheep! hum where did i set my pyroblast? ha! here we go... KEBAB!!! you have messed with the wrong undead... ho you come again? you think i got lucky? look, i do exactly the same, boum... silence of the lamb... ... ... what was that? i... ho... hum... greyish screen, blurry avatar... hum, i am dead... look like at least... yes yes... now i remember... that guy behind me that just appeared from nowhere, 2 daggers, huge dps... a rouge. i don t like rouge, i am more into the green... and you what's your game? Expand
  6. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    If you are a gamer and haven't played World of Warcraft then you must give it a go. It is one of the most fascinating and engrossing experiences you will have in a game. The world is immense and varied. The classes all offer unique and interesting play styles. The depth of the game mechanics takes months of play to realise its full potential. Be prepared to lose some of your free time because once you are hooked you will want to play every chance you can get. It can be 'turned down' to run on low end systems or 'turned up' to run on high end systems. Don't hesitate if you haven't tried it. If you get really involved in it, you won't be disappointed. I give it a 10 because its is the best game I have ever played for an extended period of time. Expand
  7. Jan 3, 2012
    0
    It's just a terrible terrible game now, and the addition of the Pokemon Kung Fu Panda just makes this game that much more comical. There was a time when the game was a decent game, 40 man raids, a community of people working towards the same goals. Now you get at the most a 10 man raid, and everyone in the raid always pissed off because you can't kill a boss. It got to be a chore to raid rather than a time to have some fun with 24 or 39 other players. There was no reason to do 25 mans when the idiot devs for this game made 10 and 25 loot the same. For shame WOW! You ruined a good game, and now it gets the lowest rating ever. a ZERO! Expand
  8. Feb 21, 2012
    0
    There is a long story that reflects why i score this game so low. However you don't want to hear some guy ranting about how he 'hates wow and all that it stands for'. So let me shorten my reasons to a general feeling. Wow feels, to me - like it was tweaked to perfection. The problem is that it's blizzard's perfection, not ours. What is the one thing that binds you into not leaving a room for 3 hours? Not wanting to be disowned by players who will have their game affected by you leaving. Wow is designed to let the players dictate their own entrapment. Everything, from the farm-like quests to the way people are tied to things - reflects blizzard planning how they can commit you to the game. The thing is, people often don't see these cogs turning. And they believe the feeling of 'place' and 'community' is everything. And it is. In the real world. Don't get me wrong, I am not against games or mmo's. I am against this very specific mmo. Because It's kind of evil. Expand
  9. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    This rating (10/10), goes to the classic WoW, as it was, and still is, best game i've ever played. Its nowhere as good today as it used to, but its still the best MMO currently on the market.
  10. Aug 24, 2011
    9
    This world of warcraft was one of the best blizzard made, with TBC on second place and WOTLK on 3rd, cataclysm was okay till blizzard (and ghostcrawler specificly) deceided to remove items and staring the chain that eventually will lead to the dethroning of a mastergame.
  11. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    Like mentioned by a lot of other reviews todays WoW has pretty much nothing in common with the wow released back in Nov 2004. Ill give 10/10 for the game experience that was released back in 2004 and completely agree to the other reviews that mention that wow got worse with pretty much every content patch or addon, but ill judge these addons seperately.

    What blizzard managed to release in
    2004 was just brilliant. A gigantic world to be explored, full of adventure and challenges and all this in flawless condition pretty much free of any major bugs. It was a completely new gameplay experience, outstandingly good in every single aspect. I still remember the very first time ive met an enemy with a dragon ornament somehow displaying it beeing "special" and how i had to find a group for the very first time in this game to be able to take it down together. It was very satisfying. Leveling a champ to lvl 60 was time consuming, same like getting an epic mount was a serious decision since they were really really expensive. Or epic items... Sure there were few people just beeing lucky to get a krol blade as world drop but that one krol blade was already worth an epic mount and someone actually having 4 or 5 epic items alltogether really meant something. Getting such amount of epic items required to solve serious difficulties. Even beating certain 5 man instances took up to 2-3 hours of concentrated gamplay and taking part at raids for epics was not for everyone. It not only required 40 people but also to do certain preparations.

    Today theres pretty much nothing left of this anymore. There are close to no real difficulties left. items or mounts completely lost their meaning as award. The complete game is only about investing a lot of time and repeatedly doing the same things over and over again every single day until you finally collected enough of whatever you thought you "need" without having real satisfaction about anything at any point in gameplay anymore.
    Expand
  12. Jan 6, 2012
    0
    Once a good game, it has been ruined by FotM, gamebreaking bugs for the classes Blizz doesn't like (ie- pets for hunters spawning with 500 hp and promptly being one shot by an aoe, a bug that's been in almost two years without a fix), as well as a complete change from challenging raids and fun pvp to gear grinding. If you enjoy korean grindfests, this game is right for you. Don't be fooled by the 10 million subs, 80% of those are Chinese that don't pay monthly for the game.

    The game was good once, now it's not. But, at least we have pokemon and pandas to look forward to.
    Expand
  13. Dec 22, 2011
    0
    Dangerously old. Good back in the day but at this point it, it's washed up endless recycled content. A washed up old has been of an MMO that ripped off every MMO before it.
  14. Jan 17, 2012
    1
    WoW is a beautiful game love dungeons, raids and pvp a superb in general.
    My only problem with WoW is how over priced it is for what you get, as a male gamer i of course use XbL and i get the same amount of fun for half the price of WoW (give or take a few £) over a wide variety of games.
    i recently played wow after receiving a month free and one of the first things i heard
    was "WoW is on the chopping block and about to be executed by one time payment MMO 's such as rift and guild wars (i think it was these games :S)" and to be honest i agree, if Blizzard doesn't lower those prices or make it a one time payment game (i mean the expansion packs alone are over £30 each) then it is the chopping block for WoW :( Expand
  15. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    World of Warcraft holding in a mixed rating is not even close to be fair, most of the negative rating you can see here are raging players that would never leave the game anyway, they just don't like the way it is changing and it can be understandable but the best MMO out-there can't receive such a poor rating.. I'm putting 10, because World of Warcraft brought me the best online experience I've ever had, belonging to the ones that started at the very beginning, and I'm totally objective about my next sentence despit I tried a lot of online games: WoW is the most epic game you can experience out there it takes social, brain and good playing skills to master the game, its the most complete game ever produced and if no MMO ever did as good it's because no MMO proposed such a great and opened playstyle with an awesome universe.

    when you see franchise like Star Wars, LoTR or Warhammer Online failing crappily, you understand how Blizzard game is a true work of art in it's category and changed forever the face of MMORPG games.
    Expand
  16. Feb 9, 2011
    0
    Warps the concept of video gaming and rpgs into a dull, lifeless, never ending mess. The game is designed to help the player forego the traditional concepts of quality video game storytelling and progression in rpgs in exchange for the illusion of community and the shameless cycle of quests, grindin more »g, and treasure simply for the sake of itself. Additionally eschews the healthy concept of moderation by tapping into that horrible little part of our minds that far too many give in to; an endless and easy alternative to an otherwise boring life. World of Warcraft and it's numerous counterparts terrify me because I've seen the behavior of those addicted to it, leading me to conclude that WoW is the ultimate example of exactly how video game(r)s can sometimes go too far. And these are clear implications on where the human race is undoubtedly headed: To a delusional fantasy facade covering a pit of isolation, depression, neglect, and fear. I don't care how good of a game it is, World of Warcraft is stands higher on its achievements as a detriment to video games and the human race as a whole. Expand
  17. Apr 19, 2013
    8
    One of the better MMOs its pretty good and stands strong. Sure it takes time to get into but its worth that time! Its rewarding but very user friendly, if your new to the game then every kill feels like the same extremely repetetive compared to other MMOs but........... Then you actually get used to grinding and repetetiveness you unlock more join a guild, and meet new friends. Which is kind of cool right.

    It has flaws like its a bit too easy, PVP is not difficult if you have Hairlooms but you will piss new players off.

    PVP we are talking about a 700 hours of playtime before you should start playing PVP.

    Pros
    -Tons of spells
    -Nice Combat
    -Good Missions
    -Good PVP
    -Balanced Classes
    -Beautiful areas
    -Dungoens
    -Responsive gameplay
    -High levels are fun!

    Cons
    -Alot of bugs
    -Not very challenging
    -User Friendly
    -Extremly repetetive
    -Copy and pasted areas
    -Low levels Arent too fun
    Expand
  18. Feb 1, 2012
    4
    It was a good game for its time in past. Now it just turned into reward/hour with daily/weekly caps grindfest, where developer makes a plan of the week for all players and expect players to blindly grind according to his plan of the week or just stay behind the rat race. Add to this old, old graphics and the last cataclysm expansion with ARROGANT voice acting wannabe, made by one ninja dev who thinks he is multitalented (ok 2 people - one male and one female). It ended up the way that puts each player in the place of grandson listening to grandpa's fairy tale with grandpa modulating voice for each character in his tale. Its just insulting for monthly subscription and expansion's price. Some says: it doesnt matter how you start - it matters how you finish. WoW's finish is disgusting. Expand
  19. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is in my opinion, the best MMORPG ever created, and still is today. People may often say the game is bad because of "unbalance", but in reality, it's the best it can be and the most high quality MMO on the market. I highly recommend this game for anybody who has ever had the slightest interest in RPGs. Expand
  20. Jan 23, 2012
    0
    Used to be fun. Now its just dumbed down and boring. Where it stands now i feel as though you could name 5 or 6 other mmo's better. The thing they did was made a game so easy any moron could play it, and they do. You run into people who rarely speak, but also typically don't even respond when you ask them a question. I often imagine them not even having a keyboard. The dungeon que system seemed great at the beginning, but then you realize now you get linked with more people you don't know and they can be from any server, so why bother making friends. You can level up just by spamming dungeons if you wanted. The biggest problem i had with this game will always be the lack of real skill required, i understand it's a video game and all, but when your job endgame as a DD is the spam the number 1 2 3 4 on your keyboard over and over cuz that produces the best DPS, thats just lame. If you didn't follow that guideline, people got angry with you, cuz the difference between 3000dps and 3050dps is apparently the end of the world. People were so obsessed with max everything, swapping new gear cuz it gave you 2 more str, when the old one was giving 250 and the new was giving 252. At one point wow had it, and then they just let it slip away with patch after patch nerfing the last best class, and then nerfing the new best one, and with expansion after expansion, adding more crap and diminishing the actual good things about the game. Expand
  21. Jun 20, 2012
    8
    I literally just jumped on the WoW wagon last week with a few friends. I have to say the games been fun! I have great internet though I do encounter Ip disagreements so sometimes I cant get online but when I do it's overall enjoyable. I was very anti-WoW for a long time but all you out there who haven't tried it, it's free to play, so why not!
  22. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    Still the best game out there. After 8 years nothing can top it. Guild Wars 2 may have a chance to do it but the other pretenders can't match the interface, addictive reward and advancement systems, and tremendous variety of things to do in this game.
  23. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    I don't see how someone could hate this game. Sure it may be $15.00 a month but its worth it! For all of the haters that say its too easy, its really not. When you finish the game why don't you just restart! Also for the people who say that the end is boring? If you do everything then there will probably be another expansion out. I cant see how people could hate this. Its a beautiful game with so much content. Expand
  24. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    The greatest MMO of all time. The often mocked graphics of WoW actually have pretty good design. Models, animations and the overall style is very beautiful and similar to Warcraft 3. Character mechanics are not too complicated or simple. The music, sounds and voices are top-notch.
    But the truly wonderful thing about WoW is its social aspect: making guilds with friends, raiding, chatting,
    making awesome guild events, levelling in groups or just messing around and doing silly stuff. This game really created fond memories that will not be forgotten. Expand
  25. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    WoW was a fantastic game in the past. It was filled with adventure, discovery, and most importantly, teamwork. However, the game has been going downhill recently with the release of the new expansion, the Mists of Pandaria. It has become too simplistic, and plays like a console game. There is no sense of accomplishment and adventure anymore. Clearly, Blizzard is now targeting a different demographic - the game is now for kids. If you enjoy paying a monthly fee AND playing with (other) children, this game might be for you. Expand
  26. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    World of Warcraft is by far the best video game I've played in my life, and will play. I feel so much nostalgia for this game and so do the people who played back then. Blizzard truly HAS made a WORLD, a real, palpable, world.
  27. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    Still the best MMORPG, and I hope it always will be... You can't find find the fun you have while doing RBG's or Arenas in any game but WoW. In PvE, there may be better games but talking as a PvP player; BEST!
  28. Oct 13, 2010
    10
    This game is easily the greatest MMO ever made and firmly deserves a 10/10, engaging, value for money and a must for any gamer. Simply put - The best computer game I have ever played in my life.
  29. Oct 13, 2010
    10
    Simply the best MMO ever released, and unfortunateley, it still is.

    I have played wow untill about 8months ago and have tried numerous other MMO's, with a group of friends, since. Sadly there have only been 2 games that even come close to knocking this giant from its throne. The simple fact of the matter is that the game evolved with the player basis, they asked people what they wanted,
    and gave it to them. No other company seems able to do that. Just look at the drivel the asian MMO market has given us in the last few years. Anyway the game still has fault as Blizzard now seem to be reaching out to the more casual audience handing out none heroic loot and making encounters easier and easier. At the same time this does allow even the lowest denominator of players to experience the content before the new expansion hits stores at the end of the year. Expand
  30. May 25, 2011
    3
    This game is SEVERELY overrated. The same premise (kill this, obtain this, etc.) gets very old. I have no idea why this game sells so much. Even as an MMO, Minecraft TROUNCES this game.
  31. Aug 18, 2011
    10
    I loved this so much, it's definitely the best game in the universe. It offers MONTHS upon MONTHS of content you will end up with wanting to do nothing but play this game for your entire life. Blizzard are truly geniuses.
  32. Sep 18, 2011
    9
    WoW Vanilla, during it's inception was the best of the best. It was fun, challenging and it really opened up a lot of the story from the originally Warcraft games for PC. It was something truly inspiring to behold and for all intensive purposes still is. For how long may be another story. While I cannot particularly recommend it anymore, you can always try the free-to-play until level 20 version. This will give you a good idea of what you'd be doing until level 85, if you choose to go that far. Now you can get this and the Burning Crusade expansion for $20. So, if you want a 70 twink, it's wonderful. Otherwise you'll have to purchase the other two expansions (around $40.00 each or $80 and 10% off with a current special from the Blizzard Online Store) to get the newer content. It really depends on your person if you should do that. I would recommend trying before you buy. This is not the World of Warcraft we knew years ago. Hopefully they will drop the insane prices on subscriptions and expansions, that might make this more desirable. I think they need to stop treating this as their money horse or they are going to end up losing a lot of business in the future. Just my two cents. Expand
  33. Sep 21, 2011
    6
    Finally got around to playing this game when Blizzard began the free level 20 trial. I am frankly amazed that this is the game that supplanted Everquest. I can accept that an older game will not be as clean and polished as a newer game. However, this game seems like it must have been outdated almost as soon as it was released. This game is neither as immersive as contemporaries Everquest and Ultima Online nor is it as ground-breaking. It offers few real character customization options, redundant gameplay, poor music, sugary cartoony graphics and extremely unimaginative quests. PvP is not a clever interplay of positioning, skills and counter-skills but rather a foregone conclusion based on build and gear. The one thing WoW seems to get right is that it is very giving with experience and loot, allowing you to play relatively hassle free in those regards. I assume it also started the now well established trend of marking quest NPCs. Otherwise I really can not imagine what it is about this game, other than the title, that made it so popular. I am giving it a 6. It is certainly better than nothing at all, but better games are out there now, and they are sometimes even free to play. Expand
  34. JnD
    Oct 2, 2011
    8
    Coming from an old-school through Cata WoW player, I'd say this game is hard to give a flat rating because it's gone through so many changes. If you're new to WoW on the lvl 20 cap, you must understand leveling and the content you see while in trial is not what the games about. The game, for you will change drastically once you hit level cap. Once at level cap the game is about achievements, gear, mounts, PvE, PvP, and just getting skilled at what you like to do. What can help is doing some 5 man dungeons, and battlegrounds. However your character is still lacking most skills and doesn't feel like it will at cap. Level 40-70 will give you a much better idea on what things are about. Having said that, some of the complaints here are true which is why I gave it an 8 instead of a 10. If we could only relive The Burning Crusade forever... Expand
  35. Dec 9, 2011
    4


    If you haven't played Wow before, you should definitely try it. Since Cataclysm's release, Wow has become the friendliest it has ever been to new players, and at first, it will be a lot of fun. The developers have a knack for taking the best aspects of other prominent MMOs and incorporating them into Wow.



    Starting in Wrath (possibly in TBC too, though I didn't play for most of it), the game's target audience has gotten younger, leading to streamlined gameplay and dumbed down, repetitive mechanics. Too difficult to talk to other players and find a group? Add an automatic tool that does it for you! Too hard to pick talents? Lets reduce and simplify!



    The main issue with this is when you reach the maximum level (85) and discover that not only have you met no one in game to play with (after all, who needs to befriend that exceptional tank/healer/DPS when you can just queue up and be antisocial?), but your choices are between sitting in the auction house waiting for your queue to pop and doing repetitive daily quests for reputation and gold, Wow gets old pretty quickly.



    To be fair, the devs are aware of the issues. In an effort to balance out the reduced human contact in finding dungeon groups and repetitive game play, Cataclysm implemented guild levels to encourage players to join massive, active guilds. Though I haven't tried any of the smaller, tight-knit raiding guilds, I have tried huge, high-level ones and tiny, brand new ones, and it seems like you must choose between a guild that is as impersonal as Wow itself or a guild that can't get the XP to level up because no one wants to join a guild that is level 1.



    Finally, regarding the player base: there are friendly players who are willing to help you and take the time to explain game and fight mechanics if you ask them, and then there are elitists who will spew venom at you because they see you as an easier target than the tank. It is a mixed bag, and unfortunately you take the good with the bad.



    tl;dr Starting out is fun, but endgame is a grind. Don't stick around.

    Expand
  36. Aug 28, 2012
    10
    The following statement is just as true today as it was seven years ago: every RPG must be compared to WoW. Otherwise, why would you play it? World of Warcraft does an excellent job of keeping players coming back, again and again. Just when you think you're out, it pulls... Well, you get the picture. People will say it's lost its edge or its greatness, and they're right. It's still better than 99% of games being released today, though. Considering it's nearly 8 years old, that's saying a ton. Expand
  37. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    Spent countless hours in PVP, one of the most addicting and unbalanced mmos out there. Still fun though. If you want to have fun, be sure to have friends on the same server as well.
  38. Jun 10, 2012
    9
    World of Warcraft is the best MMO I have played. Its pvp, dungeons, and classes are all fantastic. However, I feel that character customization should be improved. Also, once you get to the point where you can raid it requires a lot of time and effort to be allowed to raid by other players.
  39. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    The classic WoW is simply the best MMO of all time, a game never struck me so hard that i was litterly stopping my school just to play this game, simply great MMO!
  40. Aug 31, 2012
    10
    *This review is for World of Warcraft "Vanilla" and in general. I'll make separate reviews for each expansion. *World of Warcraft of course is still "king" of mmos and for many it was there first experience playing an MMO, myself included. World of Warcraft gave me 6+ years of satisfying gaming entertainment before I started to become bored of it about a year ago. *Blizzard is always adding new content to the game, adding new features to the game for better quality of life for the players and polishing and improving the features already in the game. Blizzard is always experimenting with new technologies to improve the game (phasing, cross-server grouping, etc.) and is not afraid to take risks. Many times new things they add are successful, occasionally they are not, but Blizzard is not afraid to admit mistakes and take actions to fix things later. *Blizzards customer service has treated me like a King on the few occasions that I have had problems. I can count on one hand the times I've needed to contact technical and customer support so that's quite an achievement when I've been playing the game for 7 years, 6 years full time that I've only had a few issues over the years.

    *The game is very fun to play. The quests and the characters are often very humorous and are also often parodies of real pop culture people and events. It's nice that the game does not take itself too seriously. I think it is the light-hearted humour that has made me feel most at home in the world of Azeroth for my years of spending time there.

    *The original "Vanilla" World of Warcraft was not perfect, but it was excellent for the time when it was released and it has set the standard for what other MMOs need to aim for so for that I must give it a 10 rating.
    Expand
  41. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    WoW has been considered one of the best online games ever created it takes you to a whole different world full of strange stuff. You can personalize your character and upgrade his gear by the time you level up.
    But the only bad thing is that it is addicting as hell you can spend there 3-4 hours without noticing it , i'll recommended only in vacations for your own good.
  42. Aug 18, 2013
    10
    World of Warcraft. This game is just fantastic. When i started playing this game i did not have a clue what was happening however after a few hours everything came to me. It has a truly beautiful and massive world filled with millions of other fellow gamer's. If you have never tried an MMO check this one out as it is the best one going.
  43. Feb 10, 2014
    10
    This is the best game ever. You may get people saying, "Oh, this game's graphics are terrible, and dated!" I say that the game is almost ten years old and is ageing surprisingly well. Some may say, "Oh, the mechanics are old and boring!" To you I say, 7.9 million people believe that these mechanics are entertaining and fun, and have kept them playing to this day. This game is the perfect blend of humour, epic moments, teamwork, and all around fun that any gamer could ask for. WoW, I salute you, old friend. Expand
  44. Apr 17, 2013
    10
    Let me start this review as a message towards other reviews. THIS IS A PAGE FOR VANILLA WOW REVIEWS. Stop reviewing its expansions, there are separate pages for that. I read reviews that said it was great during vanilla (which means original essentially, or before the expansions) but bad when expansions came in. Uhhhh hello? Then review the expansions and give it a low review.

    This
    review may be useless, considering it no longer exists, but the original WOW was amazing. This game defined the MMORPG. Everything about it has been reused and mimicked by other MMORPGS because, lets admit it, this is as good as it gets. I understand that it sucks the life from you (it did for me) but in order to be able to do that, or to get people willing to put up to 8 hours a day into it means that it is good right? Who would put that much time voluntarily into something they don't like? Expand
  45. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    This is the most epic and fun game in the world!!! if you don't want to buy you can play FREE on starter edition ( play to level 20 ) ( you can do quest or dungeon etc ) the standard edtion is not expensive so what do you waiting for.....
  46. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    Definitely the best Mmorpg out there. It keeps me entertained for hours and I never get bored of it. The new patches and expansions always add new content to keep me playing for hours. Graphics don't look that amazing, but they were never a factor to me. WoW Ftw!
  47. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    Giving this game low score for other reason than this game's age I think, is complete nonsense or as in my country's tongue, 'hunger for some public attention'. This game first released on what, 2004? 5? Since then, I couldn't find a SINGLE replacement for the online MMORPG genre. And I'm from Korea, a country made out of online games. I agree that the game is no more enjoyable than the previous WOW titles. Half or quarter value at best. But c'mon... This game is beyond the boundary of legendary. Show some respect. Rawrr Expand
  48. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    World of Warcraft is simply an amazing game that features endless innovation and growth. Additional content and ever changing character balance tweaks keep players challenged. Each expansion introduces new character classes and changes. Players that want to "Finish" the game are missing the point. World of Warcraft is a sandbox game there is no end. You are never forced to do anything in the game, you can even level cap and tweak your character at a particular level. Leveling options are expansive to say the least with at least 7 that I am aware of; 1. Follow Quest Chains and do quests. 2. Farm Mobs without regard for quests. 3. Play PVP Battlegrounds. 4. Do Mining or Herbalism to gain experience. 5. Do dungeons and raids. 6. Engage in Pet Battles. 7. Complete seasonal quests.

    The game has a wide range of Professions that can be followed and levelled and features a very active trading community via the Auction House or in-game trade.

    Although deployment of expansions or occasional content updates usually have some bugs or glitches, up until now Blizzard has always fixed or removed content that causes problems.

    Given the choice between paying for World of Warcraft subscription or buying a new game each month the choice is an easy one for Millions of World of Warcraft players.

    For those who claim "Vanilla WOW was the best", they are ignoring the occasional upgrades to the graphic engine, innovation to skill trees, quest assistance which eliminates the need of quest helper add-ons.

    Most regular players play for a few to several hours a week, however there are some players who simply have to be the best and end up sacrificing disproportionate time for rewards gained. This is not a game issue though, it is a player issue.

    World of Warcraft creates an illusion of a living, ever changing environment and has generated a backdrop of Lore entrenched in ageless conflicts and subterfuge and betrayals.

    Trying to level as fast as possible is almost futile and detracts from the enjoyment that can be derived from just exploring everything the game has to offer and enjoying level appropriate content and challenges.

    Because the game is massively multiplayer with a strong interaction focus players may experience both good and bad interactions in the game and each guild will have a different feel based on the Guild master's guild design choices, morals, ethics and of course the general membership in the guild. Some guilds are helpful, while others exploit their members, so players may need to do quite a bit of guild hopping to find a guild that suits their game focus and social requirement.

    Players who respond negatively are most likely experiencing "Resistance to Change", however the one thing this game does expect from players is to constantly respond to continuous change and progression.

    Blizzard also regularly re-balance the game creating subtle imbalances which shift advantages and disadvantages between classes of character or talent specializations within a class. The deck gets shuffled more or less with each expansion or new PVP arena season.

    Players can expect to get many years of top notch interactive enjoyment as Blizzard devotes a lot of resources to keep changing, updating and enhancing the game. How many more expansions there will be is difficult to assess, but it is certain that players have at least one or two more to look forward to after Mists of Pandaria.

    This game has a lot to offer, and Blizzard have done a fine job maintaining a steady growth of new content and challenges. This game is overwhelming in that there is always something new to do and often not enough time to do it all. However for the many years of quality and dedication this game deserves the highest score possible.
    Expand
  49. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    Pre expansion WoW was possibly the best game I've ever played. It felt like a living world, so immersive. It may not have been perfect but perhaps those less convenient things only added to the experience. I have only good memories of those days and I still listen to the soundtracks and think back to a time where life was so simple and carefree hanging out in westfall, goldshire, stormwind, ironforge and the bonding time with my brother and friends. It just had so much to offer and so many different environments. What I really like is that the world was so big that there were places that were just there. Unfortunate that the expansions lost touch somehow and that they are dragging this game out still. But for what it was back then, it deserves a solid 10. Expand
  50. Jan 29, 2014
    10
    Amazing game, fun classes, great missions, great bosses, a huge variety of spells attacks, melee attacks, and ranged attacks. Fun market, and shops, however there is a crappy community in WOW.
  51. May 30, 2014
    9
    An amazing game I put many of hours into this game. It got too expensive and I wasn't able to keep playing it for that reason. If only things in life were cheaper I would still be playing it everyday. There was tones of stuff to do and could keep you bust for hours on end.
  52. Jun 3, 2014
    10
    This is the best video game (by far) of the many our family has played and owns. There are so many different ways this game can be played that the possibilities are nearly endless. I have adult and teenage children and we all play together and work to accomplish common goals. We are able to stay in touch and spend time together in 3 different states!
  53. Nau
    Aug 25, 2010
    9
    I've played this game for around 3 years during the vanilla and TBC period. It's unbelievable fun. It's was quite competitive for my guild at the time. The best thing about it is guild life. If you find a nice guild, you can spend few years with them, having loads of fun.
    I always loved the Warcraft lore, so the story for me it fairly good also. Besides many people saying PvP sucks - it
    doesn't. Maybe the mechanics aren't the best, but battlegrounds, attacking cities is very enjoyable. This game has a lot of haters, for sure, but nonetheless it's still the best MMO on the market, and I played a lot of them and none beats WoW on flexibility, fun factor. The only thing with it - it's outdated. Still doesn't hurt my eyes, like the games from this period, thanks to unique Blizzard style graphics. Expand
  54. Aug 28, 2011
    9
    Having tried all the MMO that came out over the past few years, there is still nothing that offer even an equal experience to WoW, despite being from 2004. let's see what Guild Wars 2 and TOR will bring but at the moment WoW is still by far the top of the pack. The lone game out there that offer such a deep experience coupled with Blizzard's attention to perfect details.
  55. Sep 12, 2010
    10
    Very few games give me such pleasure and memories. I have made permanent friends on this game from when I started 3 years ago until I finished in spring of 2009. This game may addict you, but if you have the willpower to know when to stop, you will be perfectly fine. World of warcraft is a revolution and it gets alot of bad publicity. Basically the way I see it is, if your addicted, its your own fault for not having the mental power to just end your subscription. All in all a great rpg, unlike anything I had ever played before and I havent quite played anything like it since. If I was being accurate I would probably give this game between a 9.5-9.7 Expand
  56. Oct 26, 2010
    7
    Do not build an idea about WoW from a review : the game is simply too vast and it's unlikely any review will perfectly align with the way you play an MMORPG. How you play the game greatly affects how you enjoy the game. Most every facet of this game is double sided based purely on your personal desired intent with a MMORPG. The graphics are somewhat dated, but very reasonable on slow computers. The game is vast, offering nearly countless hours of things to do, but can be an enormous timesink. Over time, much of the content becomes accessible, but devalues the achievements of the hardcore gaming crowd. One thing that they certainly did get right is that the game itself is incredibly intuitive, not requiring you to read the manual; It's easy to pick up and play for any skill level of gamer. One downside to WoW is that it is now the established standard of MMORPGs causing the Walmart effect on the market but it's gained its place for a reason. Expand
  57. Aug 15, 2012
    5
    [WOW] I tried playing this game in 2011.08 - 6 years after release: I did not get it, I could not get it or I did not want to get it. There must be something wrong with me. 10 million people cannot be wrong. 10 million people define what good is and what is not - that is what the good book of the free market states. I am clearly mentally deficient and lacking in neurons. I am some genetic screw up that should be sent back to the vat. I am an old fart - a has been - a pervert - a loser - the lowest dog in the pack - [insert your culturally pre-determined derogatory racist and morally superior moniker here ]. [My PC] i7-2600K 3.4GHz / ASUS Z68 ProGen3 / 8Gig RAM / Radeon 6870 / 1920x1200 / W7 PRO SP1 / G15 / ExpertMouse / Syncmaster 275T

    [MyFavorites] [PC Win7] TheDreamMachine Crysis&Warhead&Crysis2 JustCause2 Rage [PC XP] DeuxExHumanRevolution&TheMissingLink DeadSpace1&2 Fallout3&NewVegas HalfLife1&2 Bordelands BatmanArkumAsylum AssassinsCreed1 Magicka RedFaction Portal1&2 FromDust MrRobot Sam&MaxSeasons1&2 CulpaInnata TheSecretOfMonkeyIsland DreamfallTheLongestJourney Syberia1&2 CrayonPhysicsDeluxe DefenseGridTheAwakening PlantsVsZombies Prototype Bioshock1&2 UnrealTournament3 Quake4 [360] AfroSamurai BrutalLegends [XBOX] HALO KOTOR1&2 Crackdown ArmedAndDangerous AggressiveInline BeyondGoodAndEvil DeadOrAlive1&2&3&ExtremeBeachVolleyball Psychonauts [AppleG4] DeusExMachina ReturnToZork Suspended UnrealTournament TombRaiderSeries [Born] 1964
    Expand
  58. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    Quite possibly the best game of the last decade. It's pure, fun, visceral gameplay hasn't been matched yet by any MMO. Unfortunately, as with everything mainstream, some people who got bored with this game decided to attack it furiously, mostly due to frustration that their game X or Y didn't kill it as they predicted it would.
  59. Jun 27, 2011
    6
    WoW has had a great run these past few years. Although the game is getting stale now, along with games such as Guild Wars 2 and The Old Republic on the horizon, it is still an addicting and fun game, though it is still tedious. It's hard not to acknowledge how it has perfected the MMORPG genre, it's now just another MMORPG that is only fun after spending hours on end getting to level 85 to experience the end-game content. Expand
  60. Feb 25, 2012
    7
    This review considers the fact that WoW was very different in it's early days, relative to itself today, and especially relative to games in general. In it's early days it was outstanding, a very significant game for the industry. But of course nowadays the same cannot be said, from the point of view of other games today, WoW has become so mediocre, so banal and yesterday, and that can only get worse over time. It did deserve Metacritic's 93 when it came out. But if it came out right now, with all expansions and everything, there is no way it would earn a 93, it would score far lower, and that has nothing to do with graphics although the graphics are quite outdated at this point (and they were cartoony to begin with). I played for a couple years, and it did have some great moments. But I can't rate this game very high for one reason: it's lasting impression on me. Games that I truly enjoy, that are truly interesting, they stick with me for a long time after I have stopped playing. The gameplay becomes a memory that I treasure to some degree, that's what a good game does for me. WoW does the opposite; it leaves a nasty taste in your mouth, and for many people, unpleasant withdrawal symptoms. The game is designed to be as addictive as possible, as opposed to intriguing or profound, which is why for so many their relationship with WoW just gets worse and worse over time, like all addictions. The gameplay is quite boring, but the game does everything it can to get you to play through that. But for me gameplay that isn't even interesting will ruin the experience quite thoroughly. I don't care if the maps are nice and there are some fun guilds you can hang with, if the gameplay itself sucks, so does the game, and no amount of lovely landscapes and achievements can obscure this fact from me. An evening of playing WoW becomes a disassociated blur, peaks of fleeting highs scattered among oceans of boredom and a trance-like time-wasting stupor. The game was once great, now I don't think it can die soon enough. My rating of a 7 is a compromise between what I would have rated it in it's early days (9) and what it deserves today (5). Expand
  61. Jan 4, 2012
    0
    Fail, Blizzard. Been playing the game on and off since release, and you still dont listen to the fanbase. Further, you go down for maintenance, say that you fixed something, and, hey! its not fixed.... Thank the makers that a real MMO in the form of SW:TOR came out. Hey Blizzard, kiss my money goodbye!
  62. Jul 8, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. warning you get herpes and dreads and glasses by playing this **** game bad controls boring boring gameplay,it look like it could be made in the 80`s Expand
  63. Nov 30, 2012
    1
    The game as it stands now is just plain pathetic.

    I remember this game when it first came out--you felt immersed, like you were in the world. You were the character. EVERYTHING you did affected the outcome, but it was still too linear--it still is. You only have ONE choice in the storyline. You can NEVER deviate from it. That makes the immersion and storytelling of WoW's storyline
    really bland, boring and extremely bad.

    Next, the gameplay. The game was using a talent system where you got talents and then as you levelled up, you'd put points into them. It was a complicated system but it worked for WoW. Now they introduced this 'faceroll easymode' setting into the game where you now have to wait 15 levels between each talent point.

    And it's obvious Blizzard favors certain specs and classes over the rest. Arcane magi were the best mage spec in Cataclysm, but now with MoP? It's about as useless as trying to fling mudballs at a dragon and hoping it'll die from being dirty. Rogues are now 100% useless in all situations. Every other class can out-damage them, can out-endure them, and can even find ways to make your CCs even more useless.

    And oh and don't forget the grinding. Blizzard's 'attempt' at making this game compete with others by trying to make it challenging? Failed. The game, for the most part.. is boring as hell, and you spend 99% of your time in PvE just grinding. There's no real thing about this game which gives it that 'unique' feeling. There is no immersion, there is no satisfaction, certain classes are useless in all regards, and they made the game more attuned to some stupid 5 year-old mindset rather than to the MAJORITY of the game's populace, which are 18+ individuals who want a good story, a good immersion, and good gameplay.

    Against other games such as Guild Wars 2, which is focused primarily around hard as hell challenges to force you to get better or stay as you are; or games like Star Wars: The Old Republic, where you are FULLY immersed into it and every decision in a questline is decided by YOU, the player, not pre-coded by a developer... WoW just falls short. Diablo 3 fell short. Starcraft 2 fell short.

    Blizzard has to come to terms with reality that they just can't do whatever they feel like doing, and expect it to all work out. And since they don't really -listen- to their players anymore, there's not much the populace can do for the game.

    In my honest opinion? Go find a different game, this one isn't worth your time or your money. World of Warcraft is nothing more than a money sink and a time-waster.
    Expand
  64. Jun 30, 2013
    5
    I honestly find WoW boring. I mean it's fun for a bit, but I think it really fails as a game. It can be fun, and I'm sure it was back a few years. WoW just isn't good anymore, and can't compare to MMORPGS such as the indie Pokemon MMO, or DCUO.
  65. Aug 14, 2013
    4
    Although interesting to begin with, World of Warcraft soon gives way to excessive grinding which is tedious to say the least. The endgame quickly becomes boring after completing all the raids and no matter how many times Blizzard try to flog the dead horse with new expansions, in the end it becomes the same scenario and players soon have to turn to PvP for fun which in turn becomes a race for the best gear.

    World of Warcraft may have been the glamorous mansion of MMOs, but is now becoming abandoned as new, more inventive ones are being released. It has become apparent that Blizzard are attempting to grab as much money as they can before the doors close for good.
    Expand
  66. Feb 3, 2014
    8
    World Of Warcraft is one of my fav mmo games that i played
    i enjoyed playing as a horde or alliance in the game
    it one things that game improve is more easyer on story and quest side of the game
  67. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    i still cant belive being 9 years old this is still my fav RPG experiance ever id honestly say put whatever you are playing down and come play this wonderfull game its givin me so many memories that i will tresure for ever this game is amazing in the shear content and i think this is better then guildwars 2 in my opinion the best MMO and will always be in this gereration anybody that gives this game a low score must be a jockstrapp or somthing any RPG player would lose weeks in this loot grabbing 40 man raid fantasy epic must buy an easy 10/10 from me Expand
  68. Jun 5, 2014
    10
    Looking back ten years I would say this game was hands-down one of the best things to every come along. I really cannot find anything to hold against it that isn't petty sounding (to me). I had a core group of 10 real life friends who all played this game at the same time and that really made this game amazing to me. I can't get those gaming years back!
  69. Jun 5, 2014
    0
    The definition of dropping the ball, World of Warcraft is as of today the biggest misguided MMO I've ever seen. Class & race balances are shuffled around with the same kind of care and thought as a rabid wolf trying to eat a bloody stake and I don't mean any puns with that due to the ongoing balance right now having hunters be the masters of DPS, burst and manouverability all at once.

    All that is left of this soulless game is meaningless grinding in the form of laughable "daily missions" which was Blizzard's trumphcard to try and make people come back to the game but ultimately only served to reinforce the notion that blizzard priorities income>fun instead of making genuinely fun and enjoyable products.

    I can only hope that they will not also screw up Heroes of the Storm.
    Expand
  70. Jul 1, 2014
    1
    I played it's a constant scam from being DC'd at the auctioneer only to re log and find whatever you were looking at to be marked up dramatically in the few moments it took to change IP and relog,to being DC at every "point of interest" to being able to do entire dungeons unscathed then DC and not be able to survive it's soo obvious it's being controlled by blizzard when you send a ticket I say good riddance to crooks,wow is a bunch of petty little cliques selling each other to the hacks each harbor,no use in playing go give ur money to a schoolyard bully you'll have twice as much fun Expand
  71. Aug 23, 2010
    7
    I have played since the game came out. It still is good in its own way. There are still a diverse amount of quest you can do but will soon become repetitive and not much level grind if you quest and do instances. The endgame is debatable. On one hand the PVE is fun but with a lack of content. While the PVP is all gear based and favors those who play non-stop and spit in the face of the new people. If your expecting something of Blizzard like more content be ready to be disappointed with there new obsession of making money from micro-transactions. There company has become a good personification of greed. With the new expansion coming out hopefully we will see more dedication to the fun game they have created. Expand
  72. Nov 25, 2010
    8
    Ok, face it, World of Warcraft as a whole is a TON of grinding, boss battles, or PvP. The entire game focuses around Combat, and combat only. There are no diversions from it unless you want to level your professions. Blizzard makes this work. Back in 2004, this style of game was amazing, however, with our advances in game design, World of Warcraft is not the same perfect game it used to be. Complete newbies to this game will experience a bit of a difficulty getting on their feet, but after that first hurdle, its the same gameplay throughout the entire game. At the time of this writing, Cataclysm is only a couple weeks away, which should effectively rid the game of overwhelming monotony. Expand
  73. Feb 11, 2014
    10
    This is the gold standard of MMORPGs and is the foundation to which all other MMORPG games will be built upon in the years to follow. World of Warcraft is a vast yet tight game experience that only gets better with friends and perfect strangers playing together. The amount of content to play through and all of the things you can do, competitively and cooperatively, is unparalleled. Add in the fact that you can play this game through several times as different classes and get a very unique experience every time and you have a game that can steal all of your free hours without remorse or regret. Though it has now been a while since the game launched, there's still a slight allure to World of Warcraft. Should Blizzard ever follow up on it with a new iteration of it, say a World of StarCraft entry, there's sure to be a repeat of history. Expand
  74. Oct 2, 2010
    9
    When the original WoW came out it revolutionized the genre and brought it to mainstream gaming. Like it or not modern MMOs owe it to Blizzard for many of the innovations and improvements on the genre. The one downside to this is for the people still clinging to the old ways of MMOing where players are punished, this kind of player is really left behind with no new options duo to 95% new MMOs coming out follow the WoW model. Expand
  75. Jan 12, 2011
    10
    Everything in the trailer of this game you can do and more! This game is so addictive and fun. If your a mmorpg fan then play it! If your a newbie at mmorpg's i'd suggest taking this out for a spin first. It has a few bugs but it doesn't get in the way of how fun it is!
  76. Mar 18, 2011
    10
    Let's be honest: WoW is the best MMORPG ever made. Some people will get jealous of that fact but 11 /million/ players are not wrong. Most of the people who complain about this game either should not be playing an MMO to begin with or they just don't like RPGs.

    I almost didn't write a review because the idea that WoW cares about reviews is laughable. They are beyond review. That's what
    being the most commercially successful game ever made does for you. Besides, if you really want to get an idea of what the game is like there is a 10 day free trial. Or play your bother/sisters/friend/neighbors account. Someone you know within two degrees of separation plays this game. Expand
  77. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    Your soul will be trapped in this dimension that you won't be able to escape. The highly addiction, time consuming and hack and slash will never stop my friend. And discovering new areas is more even more spend of hours. I highly recommend you to play this big world, but keep in mind what i said at the beginning of this review.
  78. Apr 20, 2011
    7
    I've been playing World of Warcraft on and off since it was released. Initially, I found it incredibly boring after getting to level 20. It's slowly grown on me through the years, and I suspect it has to do with my patience and the Blizzard developers getting better at making MMOs more accessible. Normally, I'm against "accessibilty" for a larger audience, but this is one of the few times I think accessibility actually makes the game better.

    Quests, especially those released with Cataclysm are less focused on gathering this or killing ten of that, but doing actual interesting things. Another aspect that has made the game better by far is friends. When I first started I didn't talk to anyone or try to join any guilds, but when I started again a year ago I did with my girlfriend who has friend that play WoW. I have to say playing with other people increases the entertainment value by a lot. All in all I can say that World of Warcraft is a very solid game and while not my favorite, I will eventually pick it up again when I have the time and I will enjoy it.
    Expand
  79. Apr 27, 2011
    7
    World of Warcraft is indeed an awesome title, but there are some things that make this game not worth the time. Let me start with the pros: This is a great continuation of the Warcraft universe, the areas are awesome and there are a few recognizable characters. The game is very easy to learn with some really simple controls. The graphics are nice adds a little of the cartoony feel you got in the original strategy games. Now the cons: Game play is a little repetitive until you start hitting the higher levels (50+) which would take about a month or so to get to. The community is really rude sometimes, only caring about themselves and shunning upon the lower levels. Sometimes it feels like there is no mature people online ever. Usually the two factions are highly unbalanced and theres always different kinds of people that play on them on each server. All in all this is a good game that has some minor set backs. But if you are looking for a mature game then this isn't for you. Expand
  80. May 8, 2014
    3
    I suppose those that find like minded players with which to play these MMORPGs may enjoy the camaraderie of working together to level up and customise their characters but, as a game, World of Warcraft is just downright dull. Now a decade old the gameplay simply requires the player to go to location X, kill Y, and collect a set number of Z over and over until you gain enough XP to level up your character.

    There is no nuance to the combat or skilful platforming required with the game only rewarding the player for the amount of time they spend glued to their screen. Virtually every game in the genre has copied World of Warcraft but that is down to its sales success not the quality of its gameplay I'm afraid.
    Expand
  81. Jul 31, 2012
    6
    I really think there is a good reason why this game has done so well over so many years, it is a very solid and well made mmo.
    I think the only negative in my opionion is that the graphics and CC are pretty dated and lacking now. But the world iself is interesting and very detailed, lovely to explore. I love the fishing and the progress of the crafting and other professions. I love to do
    crafting in a game and they have set this up and supported it very well in WOW. I am glad I have spent some hours this summer immersed in the WOW world, its been really nice and smooth levelling. I have found that in many newer mmos the difficulty in reaching level cap or in crafting or in making enough money to get important items just put me off and I left. This game has everything polished and is a very enjoyable and comfortable ride to the top.

    If you are unsure of whether to play this game or not, do the free trial, Im sure you will be hooked by the time you reach level 20 :)
    Expand
  82. May 24, 2011
    8
    World of Warcraft gives most of what can be asked for in a Massive Multiplayer Online Role Playing Game (MMORPG). It's customizable, provides game play that can be taken to different levels, a quick learning curve, stunning graphics, various types of gameplay, and a dynamic community. It is also one of the very few MMORPG's I've played that is able to preserve the feeling of being a vast world without going too far. Leveling in the game is also quite quick and quite fun which is also appreciable. The game does sport a few problems. The quest system in the game does not have much of a plot line unlike other games. Quite a few of the quests are repetitive kill x number of y's. While the quests are quite easy and completable, this repetitiveness is quite a drawback. At the moment, there is also an annoying glitch still to be resolved at the moment which causes the game to crash when entering highly populated areas. While Blizzard has promised to fix this glitch quite soon, it is still a shame to pay such a high subscription fee to still have to deal with this problem. In my opinion, the game is worth the subscription rate if you have the time to play it and are willing to pay. Expand
  83. Jun 11, 2011
    5
    I personally hate online games like this, but I suppose this is better than the rest - though with the monthly price I could probably buy a lot of things more worth while. It's clear that a lot of work went into creating this and making it very accessible, but after a while it becomes repetitious and you'd think they would cheapen up the monthly price now that they're pretty much billionaires. Then again, it really depends on who plays it. I tried it out for about a year and got a lot of pretty awesome things that you can do, but traveling is very tedious to get those things, and you have to have a lot of time on your hands (or you'd have to be extremely bored or have no life - as South Park suggests) to even consider doing half of what is available to do in the game. And they keep adding on, which is great for frequent users, but for everyone else it's only so-so. I guess it really depends on what kind of person you are, and what you enjoy - for me it's just okay. Sadly 'okay' isn't worth $15 a month. Expand
  84. Jun 14, 2011
    8
    It's difficult to review a behemoth of a game like World of Warcraft. The game has something for everyone and your experience will vary greatly depending on what you choose to do in the end-game and the amount of effort you put into it. The developers have gone out of their way over the years to provide a ridiculous amount of polished content to every type of player. PvP is fast-paced, exciting, and competitive. Raiding can be casual or hardcore depending on how you approach it. The random casual players can hop into a quick dungeon or battleground, level tradeskills, participate in the holiday-based world events, or just level another character. Combat can be simple or complex depending on how deeply you choose to delve into the math behind the numbers. The graphics are dated but have aged well thanks to its cartoon-like aesthetic. The music is top-notch. UI modification is excellent. I don't have many bad things to say about World of Warcraft, but I gave it an 8 because I preferred the game when it was more difficult and catered to a more hardcore audience. Expand
  85. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    This is by far the greatest game of all time, yes it is addicting, and yes there are elitist jerks on it, but as far as MMORPG's go this game is the King to never be dethroned. The only people saying it sucks are baddies, who could not defeat any raid bosses.
  86. Jun 28, 2011
    9
    If I were to write a full review on this game it would be far past the 50000 character limit. The only thing you should know is not to trust the negative user reviews, they are mostly filled with those kind of people who like to hate on "everything popular" to try and be different from the rest of the crowd and other's who are fanboys of other MMO's and just come on here to write a negative review of the game to promote the game they are playing.

    Or veteran WoW players who got butthurt of the changes the developers have made since the games release. World of warcraft has over 11 million subscribers and IS the best MMO currently to ever be released of the date of this review. It set the bar for other MMO's that have went out of their way to copy a lot of the things that this game did well. I''ve been playing on and off for about 4 years now and haven't found a MMO that's on the same level as this game.
    Expand
  87. Jul 16, 2011
    8
    This game consumed my life for like 5 years, 5 years ill never regain, but then again, its not a video games job to make sure you play it in moderation so i give it a kudos for being so fun and addicting that i literally couldn't stop playing it..if you're looking for a good game to get attatched to for a very long time, this is a extremely good MMORPG to pick up, but beware, you might end up playing it alot more than you hoped, sometimes this game can be a trap! Expand
  88. Aug 21, 2014
    10
    I just started playing WoW again after 5 years and the game i still just as addictive as it was back then.

    WoW outshines every other MMORPG out there. I've played them all, Rift, Tera, GW2, GW, Wildstar, Elder Scrolls Online etc. all of them were no where near WoW in terms of content and quality.

    I'm not trying to sell WoW here, but I think it's better to pay a monthly subscription
    for a great game that never gets dry, due to new content that gets released pretty frequently. Also, many different aspects of PVP and PVE to keep you entertained for a long time. As mentioned before, I would rather pay a monthly subscription for a great game, instead of buying new games all the time, because you finish them too fast or you've done everything it has to offer (looking at you GW2). Actually, since I started playing WoW, I've saved money, because I haven't randomly bought new games all the time.

    Honestly, I think WoW is just as good as when it launched. There have been made changes and some of them work better than others. But change needs to happen or else WoW would hit the F2P model as the other contenders, which isn't quite as succesful as one might think, due to low quality, lack of content and pay to win models. (there are of course exceptions in some F2P games mostly MOBAs though like LoL, Dota 2, SMITE etc.) WoW is still unbalanced, some classes rule PVE and some classes rule PVP. Some classes rule one specific class and gets ruled by another. I don't think Blizzard will ever solve that issue, but have any MMORPG ever solved that? I haven't seen it yet. But again, if one class wouldn't rule the other and every class were equally good at almost everything - Then what seperates them, what is the meaning of classes, if they don't have certain strong advantages, as well as disadvantages?

    My point is; it's still a great game, I believe the price is high but it is justified through the amount of content and the quality it has, which I haven't found in any other game yet, counting both single-player titles as well as multi-player titles.

    10/10 - I've not seen my girlfriend for weeks, since I started playing. It has consumed EVERYTHING (hope you get the reference from the latest trailer) ;)
    Expand
  89. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    WoW at it's best, before it was destroyed by catering to bad players, showering them with dumbed down mechanics and free epix. Sadly Blizzard fired most of their passionate designers and we are left with bunch of retards like Kalgan and Ghostcrawler. Bill Roper and Blizzard North are probably enjoying downfall of Actiblizz.
  90. Nov 7, 2012
    3
    This game was brilliant ... 10 years ago. Today it is just a tire rehash of the same old button mashing grind. The graphics are terrible. The only thing keeping this game alive is a dedicated group of players who have been paying monthly for years. It is a financial investment. Yes WoW was a great game, but it is like the 40 year old, former high school quarterback that just can't seem to understand that the glory days of his youth are only in his own mind. R.I.P. WoW Expand
  91. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    What a wonderful leather of assemblage Admiring the naming and activity you put into your diary and elaborated substance you substance ! I give marker your diary and bespeak my children canvas up here oft. Thumbs up jeux de casino en ligne
  92. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    One of the greatest games of all time, although it's losing it's shine little by little. The game used to be great and may still be for certain types of gamers. I personally have lost my interest in this game completely, but I sure did have fun playing this for at least 5 years.
  93. Nov 21, 2011
    5
    Not bad game, but it gets boring quickly. Level upping is slow and boring when you are low level there's almost nothing funny to do. I also hate how much money does Blizzard want for being able to play on official server. Wasn't the damned game expensive enough.
  94. Dec 1, 2011
    7
    Every gamer should try World of Warcraft because it is a major milestone in gaming history. It is a high quality game and provides endless entertainment, thus the high rating. The game can require logic and a strategic mind, skill and creativity, but it will most likely teach you to kill monsters rapidly for virtual gold and experience. In my opinion, most gamers and people will find a game like this to rapidly occupy more and more of their life, and this can be expected because of its similar dopamine releasing effect of many drugs. Expand
  95. Aug 29, 2012
    0
    no...just no. this game was good (in 2003) and deserved the high subscription fees because of lack of technology propelling the internet. Most people ran on dialup! moden days, everyone is basically unlimited and now it is very cheap to keep servers up, but blizzard continues to charge full price on subscription on this abomonation of a game. play any other mmo for a good time, especially gw2 (no subscription fees) Expand
  96. Dec 24, 2011
    5
    The game has normal missions (like an other MMORPG),sound track its enjoyable,the controls are normal (like an other normal MMORPG)...Battle mode sucks compared to other games like Metin 2 (MMORPG) etc...
    The Game is just over rated by nerds and people that have no life, i played the to LVL 7 or 8 and its just a normal online game, if you want a real good gameplay on a MMORPG play metin 2.
  97. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    It's incredible seeing people hate this game so much... I know why... WoW Classic was a monster. I give it 10. But I'm going to rate Chataclysm later... I'm going to give that one a 1 because it ruined everything... changed the whole game from start to scratch!

    But this game is a monster and no one will forget it. Incredible gameplay style and story. I LOVE IT. But now we will never see
    the old WoW anymore. So sad. Best game ever. **** Chataclysm. Expand
  98. Jan 28, 2012
    10
    Over 7 years and there is still nothing better in MMO world. This is game that stole more of my life than any other game - and for that I give 10.

    Yes it is not perfect but it is surely one of the best games ever made.
  99. Feb 1, 2012
    6
    Very nice game, but Blizzard could do better. The game lacks the atmosphere found in Diablo and other games from this company. Also the graphics don't seem as good as they used to when the game launched. The mechanics are also much too repetitive for my taste.
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Combines not only technical prowess and fine-tuned gameplay, but pleasure as well, making this the new standard for the competition. Word to the other companies: this is the reason your registered users are dwindling.
  2. 90
    The game isn't flawless, nor is it technically finished - a good many quests fall into a "kill 20 of enemy X and collect 9 of item Y" pattern, a lot of promised end-game content still isn't in, and there are still bugs being squashed - but it's easily the closest MMORPGs have yet come to perfection. If this one doesn't hook you, nothing will.
  3. Although it's not as technologically proficient as "EverQuest II," World of Warcraft has a more pronounced sense of style...If you're looking for a new MMORPG, then the World of Warcraft is the very first place you should visit.