World of Warcraft PC

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2224 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 19, 2011
    6
    I'll do a short-ish review: At start it was good, after Vanilla it started to go down. Especially after Mists of Pandaria. Blizzard has truly ran out of ideas. If it becomes F2P or they remove monthly fee, I might continue playing it. (Yes I have played it!)
  2. Jun 30, 2013
    5
    I honestly find WoW boring. I mean it's fun for a bit, but I think it really fails as a game. It can be fun, and I'm sure it was back a few years. WoW just isn't good anymore, and can't compare to MMORPGS such as the indie Pokemon MMO, or DCUO.
  3. May 18, 2015
    5
    I've tried so many times over the years to get myself into the MMO scene. It's been a costly and dreaded ambition of mine since I was young. I think I've tried to get into the pinnacle of MMO's (WoW) three times. Each time I just can't get into it and leave after thirty minutes from boredom and whati believe to be outdated graphical design. There are many who love this series, I'm just notI've tried so many times over the years to get myself into the MMO scene. It's been a costly and dreaded ambition of mine since I was young. I think I've tried to get into the pinnacle of MMO's (WoW) three times. Each time I just can't get into it and leave after thirty minutes from boredom and whati believe to be outdated graphical design. There are many who love this series, I'm just not one oftnem. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2014
    5
    If you're looking for a MMORPG today you have four choices:

    Guild Wars 2 (B2P), WoW (P2P Theme Park), ArcheAge (F2P Sand Park), and EVE Online (P2P Sand Box) The above are perhaps the most established at this point, though AA is still questionable due to being a recent release. If you're not interested in any of the above, keep an eye out on Black Desert Online, Everquest Next,
    If you're looking for a MMORPG today you have four choices:

    Guild Wars 2 (B2P), WoW (P2P Theme Park), ArcheAge (F2P Sand Park), and EVE Online (P2P Sand Box)

    The above are perhaps the most established at this point, though AA is still questionable due to being a recent release.

    If you're not interested in any of the above, keep an eye out on Black Desert Online, Everquest Next, Star Citizen, and Elite Dangerous.
    Expand
  5. Dec 31, 2014
    6
    This game is historic due to its popularity. It is by far, the most succesful video game in history accounting for more than $1B a year in profit at its peak. It is a monster of a game that has been around for more than a decade and still has millions of users.

    The good news is that WoW is a good game. There was a lot to do and plenty of classes and quests to keep you busy for months on
    This game is historic due to its popularity. It is by far, the most succesful video game in history accounting for more than $1B a year in profit at its peak. It is a monster of a game that has been around for more than a decade and still has millions of users.

    The good news is that WoW is a good game. There was a lot to do and plenty of classes and quests to keep you busy for months on end. The bad news is that this was a very "casual" game and due to its success, it garnered in a decade of watered down games across all genres in order to capitalize on the less skilled gamers especially from the big companies. The funny part is that young gamers look at games like Demon Souls and think that they are a new concept but they are just pale shadows of great games that came before that required the use of mind and not just memorization. Back to WoW, for the most part, it did everything well but made many things easier. Combat was standard but enemies were very forgiving and exploration was trivial. Crafting was made easier. Class build variety was good allowing for various builds. Exploration was mundane but that is true for all casual style games until Guild Wars 2 added puzzles and random events which made things more tolerable. Quests were similar to other MMO's and raiding was straight forward and much easier than older MMO's. Regardless of ease however, it was still a fun game albeit not my favorite MMO of all time. That honor remains with Everquest with Guild Wars 2 playing runner up.
    Expand
  6. KyleA.
    Nov 28, 2004
    7
    The Game would rock if the LAG didnt suck so much. Former Everquest player and current Final Fantasy 11 player and the graphics arent as good as ffxi but it is a lot more colorful FFXI lag oh wait what lag it doesnt have any. I am a huge fan of blizzard and hope they come up with a solution or else i am wont be playing the game but other then that the game ROCKS!!!
  7. JeremyC.
    Feb 22, 2005
    7
    This is no doubt a very good game, with lots of lands to explore and secrets to discover. By that same token it does get very repetitive and in the end you just work towards levelling up so you can get a certain ability or attack. The game does lack diversity in character though and it often feels like a lot of people playing through the same game, the quests are very linear 90% of the This is no doubt a very good game, with lots of lands to explore and secrets to discover. By that same token it does get very repetitive and in the end you just work towards levelling up so you can get a certain ability or attack. The game does lack diversity in character though and it often feels like a lot of people playing through the same game, the quests are very linear 90% of the time. Also I can't say much for the players, many like to run up and take a treasure while you're busy fighting the boss. People are also uninteresting, they are rarely willing to stop for the minute or two it might take to duel. The occupations are also very bland. While it is very original in that you can make items of real use, unlike in some other games, they are very limited. Depending on your class your occupation is almost certain. The only one of the 5 major occupations which departs from this is the interesting engineering occupation which made it's debut in this MMORPG. Which has cool creations such as goggles, dynamite, and other interesting items. The biggest problem as stated by some of the other reviewers is that the classes often end up getting very repetitive. The warrior classes run up and simply allow their character to auto attack, while the spell casters go through the same routine every time. The only one of these that does not follow this (and believe me as I have tried characters in every class) is rogue which in a true gamers hands can find himself jumping around and using an arsenal of special attacks on the enemies. Also various stealth missions i have undertaken proved lots of fun and very cool. The designers need to work to make every class that much fun. My friends complain about how boring their characters are. Other problems with this game are that the designers seemed to have gotten rather tired in the games creation. Cave after cave are identical in every way except the monsters and the color textures. Identical towers and castles dot the landscape. Also monsters often don't look any different later on, rather they take a monster that you may have fought at lvl 5 and stick it in the new lvl 25 place, make it bigger, and raise it's hp and damage. Also there are exspanses of open land that seem to have no function except as travelling land and space. Though a lot of these traits are probably common in MMORPGs I think that if they expect players to pay $50 to buy in and $15 a month then the designers need to put more effort into their games. Expand
  8. Sep 17, 2014
    5
    Look at the critics review and the only yellow review by AltGaming basically describes the game. Blizzard doesn't care about keeping the players that like to play, Blizzard likes keeping the players that like to pay. Which is why they have had 12 million players in 2010 and now have 6.8 million in 2014. But are now making 4.76 billion in 2014 opposed to the 1.1 billion in 2011.
  9. Sep 21, 2011
    6
    Finally got around to playing this game when Blizzard began the free level 20 trial. I am frankly amazed that this is the game that supplanted Everquest. I can accept that an older game will not be as clean and polished as a newer game. However, this game seems like it must have been outdated almost as soon as it was released. This game is neither as immersive as contemporaries EverquestFinally got around to playing this game when Blizzard began the free level 20 trial. I am frankly amazed that this is the game that supplanted Everquest. I can accept that an older game will not be as clean and polished as a newer game. However, this game seems like it must have been outdated almost as soon as it was released. This game is neither as immersive as contemporaries Everquest and Ultima Online nor is it as ground-breaking. It offers few real character customization options, redundant gameplay, poor music, sugary cartoony graphics and extremely unimaginative quests. PvP is not a clever interplay of positioning, skills and counter-skills but rather a foregone conclusion based on build and gear. The one thing WoW seems to get right is that it is very giving with experience and loot, allowing you to play relatively hassle free in those regards. I assume it also started the now well established trend of marking quest NPCs. Otherwise I really can not imagine what it is about this game, other than the title, that made it so popular. I am giving it a 6. It is certainly better than nothing at all, but better games are out there now, and they are sometimes even free to play. Expand
  10. Oct 26, 2010
    7
    Do not build an idea about WoW from a review : the game is simply too vast and it's unlikely any review will perfectly align with the way you play an MMORPG. How you play the game greatly affects how you enjoy the game. Most every facet of this game is double sided based purely on your personal desired intent with a MMORPG. The graphics are somewhat dated, but very reasonable on slowDo not build an idea about WoW from a review : the game is simply too vast and it's unlikely any review will perfectly align with the way you play an MMORPG. How you play the game greatly affects how you enjoy the game. Most every facet of this game is double sided based purely on your personal desired intent with a MMORPG. The graphics are somewhat dated, but very reasonable on slow computers. The game is vast, offering nearly countless hours of things to do, but can be an enormous timesink. Over time, much of the content becomes accessible, but devalues the achievements of the hardcore gaming crowd. One thing that they certainly did get right is that the game itself is incredibly intuitive, not requiring you to read the manual; It's easy to pick up and play for any skill level of gamer. One downside to WoW is that it is now the established standard of MMORPGs causing the Walmart effect on the market but it's gained its place for a reason. Expand
  11. Aug 15, 2012
    5
    [WOW] I tried playing this game in 2011.08 - 6 years after release: I did not get it, I could not get it or I did not want to get it. There must be something wrong with me. 10 million people cannot be wrong. 10 million people define what good is and what is not - that is what the good book of the free market states. I am clearly mentally deficient and lacking in neurons. I am some genetic[WOW] I tried playing this game in 2011.08 - 6 years after release: I did not get it, I could not get it or I did not want to get it. There must be something wrong with me. 10 million people cannot be wrong. 10 million people define what good is and what is not - that is what the good book of the free market states. I am clearly mentally deficient and lacking in neurons. I am some genetic screw up that should be sent back to the vat. I am an old fart - a has been - a pervert - a loser - the lowest dog in the pack - [insert your culturally pre-determined derogatory racist and morally superior moniker here ]. [My PC] i7-2600K 3.4GHz / ASUS Z68 ProGen3 / 8Gig RAM / Radeon 6870 / 1920x1200 / W7 PRO SP1 / G15 / ExpertMouse / Syncmaster 275T

    [MyFavorites] [PC Win7] TheDreamMachine Crysis&Warhead&Crysis2 JustCause2 Rage [PC XP] DeuxExHumanRevolution&TheMissingLink DeadSpace1&2 Fallout3&NewVegas HalfLife1&2 Bordelands BatmanArkumAsylum AssassinsCreed1 Magicka RedFaction Portal1&2 FromDust MrRobot Sam&MaxSeasons1&2 CulpaInnata TheSecretOfMonkeyIsland DreamfallTheLongestJourney Syberia1&2 CrayonPhysicsDeluxe DefenseGridTheAwakening PlantsVsZombies Prototype Bioshock1&2 UnrealTournament3 Quake4 [360] AfroSamurai BrutalLegends [XBOX] HALO KOTOR1&2 Crackdown ArmedAndDangerous AggressiveInline BeyondGoodAndEvil DeadOrAlive1&2&3&ExtremeBeachVolleyball Psychonauts [AppleG4] DeusExMachina ReturnToZork Suspended UnrealTournament TombRaiderSeries [Born] 1964
    Expand
  12. JustinE.
    Nov 18, 2007
    6
    I had an account for about 4 months altogether, and at first I liked it. After playing for a while using multiple characters, I got more familiar with the game. Then I realized to do anything worthwhile in the game, you have to be high level, wasting many hours of your life. This game got boring, and quick. If I could choose to have it again for half of the subscription fee for life, I I had an account for about 4 months altogether, and at first I liked it. After playing for a while using multiple characters, I got more familiar with the game. Then I realized to do anything worthwhile in the game, you have to be high level, wasting many hours of your life. This game got boring, and quick. If I could choose to have it again for half of the subscription fee for life, I still would probably refuse. The game's overrated, and either too complicated or not complicated enough. It feels in-depth, but lacking. That may not make sense, but it feels like that. My friends made fun of me for playing it, it got boring, and I had to pay money. Not worth it! Expand
  13. Feb 25, 2012
    7
    This review considers the fact that WoW was very different in it's early days, relative to itself today, and especially relative to games in general. In it's early days it was outstanding, a very significant game for the industry. But of course nowadays the same cannot be said, from the point of view of other games today, WoW has become so mediocre, so banal and yesterday, and that canThis review considers the fact that WoW was very different in it's early days, relative to itself today, and especially relative to games in general. In it's early days it was outstanding, a very significant game for the industry. But of course nowadays the same cannot be said, from the point of view of other games today, WoW has become so mediocre, so banal and yesterday, and that can only get worse over time. It did deserve Metacritic's 93 when it came out. But if it came out right now, with all expansions and everything, there is no way it would earn a 93, it would score far lower, and that has nothing to do with graphics although the graphics are quite outdated at this point (and they were cartoony to begin with). I played for a couple years, and it did have some great moments. But I can't rate this game very high for one reason: it's lasting impression on me. Games that I truly enjoy, that are truly interesting, they stick with me for a long time after I have stopped playing. The gameplay becomes a memory that I treasure to some degree, that's what a good game does for me. WoW does the opposite; it leaves a nasty taste in your mouth, and for many people, unpleasant withdrawal symptoms. The game is designed to be as addictive as possible, as opposed to intriguing or profound, which is why for so many their relationship with WoW just gets worse and worse over time, like all addictions. The gameplay is quite boring, but the game does everything it can to get you to play through that. But for me gameplay that isn't even interesting will ruin the experience quite thoroughly. I don't care if the maps are nice and there are some fun guilds you can hang with, if the gameplay itself sucks, so does the game, and no amount of lovely landscapes and achievements can obscure this fact from me. An evening of playing WoW becomes a disassociated blur, peaks of fleeting highs scattered among oceans of boredom and a trance-like time-wasting stupor. The game was once great, now I don't think it can die soon enough. My rating of a 7 is a compromise between what I would have rated it in it's early days (9) and what it deserves today (5). Expand
  14. GradC.
    Dec 22, 2009
    6
    What started off as an excellent game has in recent months gone down-hill. End goals are easily obtained through soloable means, and less emphasis is placed on group effort. New end game boss fights have abilities and set-up that seem recycled. I have enjoyed the game and hope it will be worth giving a 9 in the future.
  15. Jun 27, 2011
    6
    WoW has had a great run these past few years. Although the game is getting stale now, along with games such as Guild Wars 2 and The Old Republic on the horizon, it is still an addicting and fun game, though it is still tedious. It's hard not to acknowledge how it has perfected the MMORPG genre, it's now just another MMORPG that is only fun after spending hours on end getting to level 85 toWoW has had a great run these past few years. Although the game is getting stale now, along with games such as Guild Wars 2 and The Old Republic on the horizon, it is still an addicting and fun game, though it is still tedious. It's hard not to acknowledge how it has perfected the MMORPG genre, it's now just another MMORPG that is only fun after spending hours on end getting to level 85 to experience the end-game content. Expand
  16. J
    May 9, 2005
    7
    This was a good game and all, but I eventuall;y returned it to my friend because it just did not spark. The online fees kinda put a dent into my paycheck. Some of the hero skills came right out of Warcraft III and I was hoping for some new and creative ones. Also, I noticed pieces of the Warcraft III story missing. The game is ok and deserves occassional play but I really can't get This was a good game and all, but I eventuall;y returned it to my friend because it just did not spark. The online fees kinda put a dent into my paycheck. Some of the hero skills came right out of Warcraft III and I was hoping for some new and creative ones. Also, I noticed pieces of the Warcraft III story missing. The game is ok and deserves occassional play but I really can't get into it. Maybe Starcraft Ghost will be better, if it ever comes out. Expand
  17. EbbeJ.
    Mar 14, 2006
    7
    World of warcraft have recieved ALOT of good reviews, but the thing is, its not really that good. It have wierd and unreal looking graphics, wich mostly small children like, because of the strong colors. The community must be the worst thing about the game, most of the time you hear som stupid noob shouting something about "OMG LOLZ I WANTZ MONNEY!!!!!".. And that is kind of irritating. I World of warcraft have recieved ALOT of good reviews, but the thing is, its not really that good. It have wierd and unreal looking graphics, wich mostly small children like, because of the strong colors. The community must be the worst thing about the game, most of the time you hear som stupid noob shouting something about "OMG LOLZ I WANTZ MONNEY!!!!!".. And that is kind of irritating. I have played this game for a couple of months, and tried about everything, i got to level 40 at the best char ( yes, i know many people say the fun begins at higher levels, but i couldnt stand it anymore). To say the good things about this game is of course the really nice skill/battle system. And that you dont have to spend 9028309821093 hours playing just to become a good character. Expand
  18. Daniel
    Aug 12, 2009
    6
    GUYS WATCH OUT, this game will totally ruin your life!! No matter what you do you will be unable to stop playing! Don't have a life? IT WILL RUIN THE ONE YOU DON'T HAVE, this game is like some sort of black hole that just sucks up lives and I definately don't know what I'm talking about! Seriously if you let this game take away whatever you do else with your free time GUYS WATCH OUT, this game will totally ruin your life!! No matter what you do you will be unable to stop playing! Don't have a life? IT WILL RUIN THE ONE YOU DON'T HAVE, this game is like some sort of black hole that just sucks up lives and I definately don't know what I'm talking about! Seriously if you let this game take away whatever you do else with your free time then you have serious issues, and it's not just the game's fault. Also, gameplay is pretty shallow. Not a lot of variety in what you do, even after the level cap. Get a bunch of buds together and you can do raids, but most of the fights follow the same cookie-cutter style. PvP is more like an RTS than anything else, stack your team in your favor and hope the other guys don't have better items. Expand
  19. NachM.
    Mar 16, 2008
    6
    Don' tell me Wow is a good game... is a cliched RPG like many outhere. Most of u the doungeons,monsters etc .. are super creative. Do you know a game called runescape? Worst graphics ever, but this game in my opinion is the most creative rpg that i have ever seen. hmm anyways WoW is fine.
  20. C.S.
    Nov 27, 2004
    6
    I played the beta for awhile... The game is a serious level treadmill. You attack a creature by clicking on it, and you just let your character auto-attack, occasionally using a special attack or spell by pressing a number. This boring form of gameplay may have cut it when EQ and DAoC came out, but its starting to really decrease the quality of MMORPGs. The lag, and lack of PVP is also I played the beta for awhile... The game is a serious level treadmill. You attack a creature by clicking on it, and you just let your character auto-attack, occasionally using a special attack or spell by pressing a number. This boring form of gameplay may have cut it when EQ and DAoC came out, but its starting to really decrease the quality of MMORPGs. The lag, and lack of PVP is also disappointing. The PVP is there, but there are no real rewards for it, and the system is really quite stupid. When you're in enemy territory, you have to wait for them to attack you, and vice versa. This takes out any chance of ambush or surprise in battle. Not to mention there is no reward for actually defeating an enemy in PVP. It would be nice if you could maybe take their items, ALA Ultima Online. Expand
  21. Aug 23, 2010
    7
    I have played since the game came out. It still is good in its own way. There are still a diverse amount of quest you can do but will soon become repetitive and not much level grind if you quest and do instances. The endgame is debatable. On one hand the PVE is fun but with a lack of content. While the PVP is all gear based and favors those who play non-stop and spit in the face of the newI have played since the game came out. It still is good in its own way. There are still a diverse amount of quest you can do but will soon become repetitive and not much level grind if you quest and do instances. The endgame is debatable. On one hand the PVE is fun but with a lack of content. While the PVP is all gear based and favors those who play non-stop and spit in the face of the new people. If your expecting something of Blizzard like more content be ready to be disappointed with there new obsession of making money from micro-transactions. There company has become a good personification of greed. With the new expansion coming out hopefully we will see more dedication to the fun game they have created. Expand
  22. Jul 31, 2012
    6
    I really think there is a good reason why this game has done so well over so many years, it is a very solid and well made mmo.
    I think the only negative in my opionion is that the graphics and CC are pretty dated and lacking now. But the world iself is interesting and very detailed, lovely to explore. I love the fishing and the progress of the crafting and other professions. I love to do
    I really think there is a good reason why this game has done so well over so many years, it is a very solid and well made mmo.
    I think the only negative in my opionion is that the graphics and CC are pretty dated and lacking now. But the world iself is interesting and very detailed, lovely to explore. I love the fishing and the progress of the crafting and other professions. I love to do crafting in a game and they have set this up and supported it very well in WOW. I am glad I have spent some hours this summer immersed in the WOW world, its been really nice and smooth levelling. I have found that in many newer mmos the difficulty in reaching level cap or in crafting or in making enough money to get important items just put me off and I left. This game has everything polished and is a very enjoyable and comfortable ride to the top.

    If you are unsure of whether to play this game or not, do the free trial, Im sure you will be hooked by the time you reach level 20 :)
    Expand
  23. Jun 6, 2013
    5
    World of Warcraft is in my opinion highly overrated. with the extremely unpayable price combined with playing against thousands of nerds and boring game play makes a after 20 hours of gameplay a thumbs down to blizzard. 18 dollars a month just isn't okay.
  24. Feb 24, 2014
    5
    This game still has a solid basis back from 2004. Despite all what has been done to this game later, it still is ok more or less. Levelling is very accessible and fun at times. Group play is very accessible too. As the years went, some of the problems the game had were solved while other problems were created. Some things were improved, such as the graphic engine or reducing the number ofThis game still has a solid basis back from 2004. Despite all what has been done to this game later, it still is ok more or less. Levelling is very accessible and fun at times. Group play is very accessible too. As the years went, some of the problems the game had were solved while other problems were created. Some things were improved, such as the graphic engine or reducing the number of people required for raiding. As it is now however, the game is unimmersive, it's atmoshere is gone and the social dimension of it disappeared. Yet the world still has its beauty and under the layers of more recent additions, the genius of the original is still to be felt. The game began as an RPG and headed towards the design of many Facebook games lately. It's very much about achievements and numbers rather than people, persistent world and a story. As such it still appeal to many, but the best times this game had are long gone. Be it shortly after Wrath of the Lich King expansion was released, I would have given this 10 points. The same goes for the game as it was before this expansion. The breaking point for this game has been the first post-Ulduar patch 3.2. Both in terms of the growth of the player-base and in terms of game design decisions. With few exceptions, the game has gone mostly downhill since then. Even though I have many precious memories from this game, I would not recommend it in its current state. Even though it is a subscription based game, a cash shop has made its way into the game, which made the overal feeling even cheaper. Many elements of the current game make it mosly average, but still worth playing if you just want to relax, take it easy and if you like games based on collecting achievements and other things. Expand
  25. Apr 29, 2014
    7
    HOW I RATE: 10-9 score: perfect or near-perfect don't exist; 8 score: one of the best games ever. Top score; 7-6 score: great but not one of the best; 5-below score: serious flaws.
    ===========
    Why I love WoW: music, locations, lore quests/scenarios. It's an overall great & immersive place to be. What I hate about WoW: the monotonous gameplay that becomes apparent with the fetch/go-kill
    HOW I RATE: 10-9 score: perfect or near-perfect don't exist; 8 score: one of the best games ever. Top score; 7-6 score: great but not one of the best; 5-below score: serious flaws.
    ===========
    Why I love WoW: music, locations, lore quests/scenarios. It's an overall great & immersive place to be. What I hate about WoW: the monotonous gameplay that becomes apparent with the fetch/go-kill quests that show up at times.
    Expand
  26. MadG
    Aug 28, 2005
    5
    Well if i havent played Guild Wars too i would have given WoW a 9 cause this is the second best massive right now. But as you can guess it's lightyears behind the first truly best massive game,and that is Guild Wars. Blizzard you are so unlucky!
  27. AnonymousMC
    Aug 2, 2006
    6
    yes i've read the article and understood what it's about but this is probably the best place for this....

    WOW= MORE PLAYERS SLUGGISH PVP SYSTEM BUT ENJOYABLE LONGER WAIT TIMES MONTHLY FEE SERVERS DOWN ALOT MUST HAVE ALL GAME DISC TO INSTALL ON COMPUTER IF ON THE GO LEVEL GRINDING FOR 200+HOURS GUARUNTEED LARGER WORLD THAN GUILD WARS CARTOON BASED GRAPHICS = not
    yes i've read the article and understood what it's about but this is probably the best place for this....

    WOW=
    MORE PLAYERS
    SLUGGISH PVP SYSTEM BUT ENJOYABLE
    LONGER WAIT TIMES
    MONTHLY FEE
    SERVERS DOWN ALOT
    MUST HAVE ALL GAME DISC TO INSTALL ON COMPUTER IF ON THE GO
    LEVEL GRINDING FOR 200+HOURS GUARUNTEED
    LARGER WORLD THAN GUILD WARS
    CARTOON BASED GRAPHICS = not amazing graphics

    GUILDWARS =
    LESS PEOPLE
    VERY SKILLFUL PVP SYSTEM VERY ENJOYABLE
    NO OVERPOWERED PROFESSIONS unless opinionated by 5% or less of gw population compared to 60-70% of a Shaman or other overpowered character in WOW
    NO MONTHLY FEE
    MAX LVL IS ATTAINABLE IN A WEEK OR LESS.
    GAME CLIENT ID DOWNLOADABLE OFF MAIN SITE SO YOU CAN LOG ON EVEN AT A FRIENDS HOUSE OR ANYONE'S HOUSE WITH A COMPUTER.
    GRAPHICS ARE TRUELY AMAZING AS THEY ARE VERY LIFELIKE
    vs
    WOW'S GRAPHICS WHICH PEOPLE WITH OUTDATED GRAPHICS CARDS THINK IS NICE

    IF YOU THINK WOW'S GRAPHICS ARE NICE YOU MIGHTAS WELL GO WATCH JUNGLEBOOK OR LITTLE MERMAID THEN CONTINUE TO SHOVE BOTH THOSE DVDS UP YOUR ASS FOR THE LONG HAUL GRINDING LVLS ON WOW.

    SIMPLY PUT GW>WOW
    NO MONTHLY FEE
    NO FED EX MISSIONS
    NO SECOND LIFE REQUIRED (OR REPLACING OF YOUR LIFE)
    NO REACHING LVL 60 = FTL(FOR THE LOSS)
    NO REPETITIVENESS
    OH BTW WOW = 50 BUCKS INITIALLY + 15 X 12 COMING TO A GRAND TOTAL OF $230.00 A YEAR + 180.00 EACH YEAR AFTER vs GUILD WARS 50.00 AND IF COUNTING EXPANSIONS AN ADDITIONAL 50.00 PER YEAR.
    GUILD WARS: $50.00(100 if you choose to buy factions) VS WOW: $230.00
    AND FINALLY GUILD WARS HAS AN ACTUAL FUCKING STORY LINE WHICH IS SEMI-TRUE ABOUT WOW, IF THAT EVEN.

    with all that said there is no argument for how WOW could be as good.
    SERIOUSLY OWNED.
    Expand
  28. AlexM.
    May 6, 2007
    5
    A game, that does not end. Hangon, that's not a game. So what is it you ask. Well, I dunno. It steals your money and your life. I have seen friends play it for up to and beyond 16 hours a day. Unless you have absolutly no life, then don't get this game. instead go out and buy C+C3 or HL2. Much more fun.
  29. SlyEnemy
    Feb 24, 2008
    7
    It's difficult to break a habit, but after a solid year of playing, it's finally happened. It's not that the game is wonderful, it's extremely generic, it's not that the game draws you back with high end graphics - it's looking rough round the edges, though it's filled with chunky character. The game is a tutorial for 69 levels, and level 70 is simply a It's difficult to break a habit, but after a solid year of playing, it's finally happened. It's not that the game is wonderful, it's extremely generic, it's not that the game draws you back with high end graphics - it's looking rough round the edges, though it's filled with chunky character. The game is a tutorial for 69 levels, and level 70 is simply a mass of clickables that amount to 10 hour dungeon dives for armour griding, so it's not that the gameplay is particularly drawing. I really don't know what it is, but some people just seem to be infected by it, it drags you in and keeps a hold until you simply decide that you've had enough. I wouldn't even recommend trying it to be honest. As much fun as I had with it, I've paid over £150 for the privilege. Expand
  30. EnderW.
    Feb 20, 2005
    6
    I honestly don't get it. This one does not deserve the tag of RPG. Want to powergame, sure go ahead, but it wont last very long. Want to roleplay, go somewhere else. Where is the devirsity? Where is the options? Roleplaying is not only leveling your character, it is living it. Sure the world looks magnificent, but come on, everybody living in it look alike.
  31. Al
    Jun 13, 2005
    5
    Frankly, its not the game that's to bad (damn quests are all the same, instances are okay though)... it's Blizzard. They, meaning the people currently working there, have ruined this game for me. Basically, cold responses to complaints, cryptic and almost always unfulfilled promises, and simple stupidity are the bane of this company. More later... now: I rolled a paladin, Frankly, its not the game that's to bad (damn quests are all the same, instances are okay though)... it's Blizzard. They, meaning the people currently working there, have ruined this game for me. Basically, cold responses to complaints, cryptic and almost always unfulfilled promises, and simple stupidity are the bane of this company. More later... now: I rolled a paladin, because I had heard they were a great class, I hit 40 and all hell broke loose. Blizzard ripped out the class' guts and let them rot in the sun! Still, I continued to play until I hit the level cap - 60. I was then redueced to a mobile potion, practically useless in any situation. I rolled a Warrior, and found out that I had drunk the Kool-Aid... this game blew, I found out by level 20 this time. While this happened, I noticed the same thing slowly happening to mages and hunters. Why now? Blizzard simply can't focus. First of, there's still horrible lag and Blizzard doesn't care. They're to concerned about making Shamen and Rogues unbeatable (yea, they all play em, find a Blizzard rep who doesn't) and getting Battlegrounds up and running (it's capture the f--king flag!). Fix this horrible problem, we're tired of dying due to LAG! Secondly, they have they're own agenda it seems, they focus on what they want to do rather than what the people want... BS. Never once have I seen a Blizzard rep actually impliment a fan suggestion in a fan supported game. Thirdly, the game is repetative and boring without any sense of continuity or direction. It boils down to who can hit 60 the quickest and who has that uber armor. THATS IT! It's not about fun, I eventually found myself feeling dissatisfied with my own gaming once I saw every other paladin in Lightforge (you'll find out...). So, basically, this game is flawed horribly because of the lack of concern coming from the higherups. It seems they got so carried away in presenting Battlegrounds and amazing loot that they stopped caring about originality and fun... By the way, why do I have to pay $13 bucks a month? Time to cancel... To think, a month ago I would have given this game a 8 or higher... HA. PS: Guild Wars is probably the best option for people looking for FUN. Expand
  32. PatrickB.
    Nov 30, 2006
    7
    Quite a god game, but way toooo less support (ingame and forum). The bugs also disappoint very much, cause the game is now almost 2 years old, and there are bugs from the beginning without being fixed.
  33. btk
    Jul 26, 2006
    5
    no I'm not playing the game anymore becuase of 1. poor customer service nice but ineffectual game masters - who's replies seem to be(4 out of 5 replies) either "not our problem" or "it's your own fault you must have modified the game" 2. time killing watses of time heavily padded game play - lot's of time spent waiting for respawns/ppl to arrive/transport - basically no I'm not playing the game anymore becuase of 1. poor customer service nice but ineffectual game masters - who's replies seem to be(4 out of 5 replies) either "not our problem" or "it's your own fault you must have modified the game" 2. time killing watses of time heavily padded game play - lot's of time spent waiting for respawns/ppl to arrive/transport - basically just seems to keep you on-line rather than in action 3. lack of an equal and "fair" design focus too much focus on carebear PvE - as many people have pointed out PvE is the most boring and repetitive aspect of the game but there's no way to just play PvP all the time - while you can level up and get nice rewards either through reputation or rank from PvP yopu CAN'T skill up - you have to grind in PvE to gain more skill 4. confused and poor new ideas Lack of clear direction - yes they have an expansion pack coming out but they come up with lame ideas like PvP in remote zones for short term rewards(buffs to your character rather than loot or skill) - basically NO-ONE wants to play sand castles 5. lack of direction for new player character creation Unless you check the third party websites you'll very likely end up as an alliance human character - which means double the wait time for PvP becuase of the the 2:1 or more ratio of Alliance to Horde characters There's no character limits so there are a lot of one type of character(warriors) and very few of others(priests/shamans) which means trying to set traditional groups up (tank, dps, dps, hunter, healer) is difficult when everyone is trying for the same healers in that bracket 6. weak/ineffectual grifing policies Small server size so you can end up with the same griefers every time you play - yes, there is an ignore feature and you can report them (see the first part) but you only have a limited number of ignore slots while griefers can effectively just create a different character to get around the ignores 7. no focus on casual players No diminishing returns policy as promised - basically if you want to you could play the game indefinitely (as many people do by botting with a macro) - this is a disadvantage for casuals but does mean that there's an incentive to stay on as long as possible - social life? friends? recreation time? 8. small population size The small server size does mean that they can fill up rapidly resulting in queue times and also a single person can dominate the auction house easiyl(i know i've done it - grinding is over-rated) 9. Lag can be very high servers lagging badly (especially at peak times on older servers) and one time events (AQ gates) crashing the server every time it happens - i suppose it's easier to pay someone to reboot than to fix/upgrade the server anyway that's pretty much it - thx for listening Expand
  34. WilliamT.
    Jan 28, 2008
    5
    Fun, boring, varied, repetitive, vast, cramped, social, lonesome, cool, stupid, short and long. Pick whichever you want and there'll be people there to back you up.
  35. JS
    Feb 23, 2008
    5
    Played this game since release, yet still cannot say many positive things about it in its current state. For starters, the leveling process is magnificent, probably the only really good thing about the game these days. It has been recently changed to minimize the time needed to achieve max level (from level 1), though the game starts to get old once you get there, as the only options you Played this game since release, yet still cannot say many positive things about it in its current state. For starters, the leveling process is magnificent, probably the only really good thing about the game these days. It has been recently changed to minimize the time needed to achieve max level (from level 1), though the game starts to get old once you get there, as the only options you have for game play are to either grind honor points or arena points (which is a currency used to buy weapons and armor) in a PvP environment, grind the (quite literally) same quests each day, or find a guild willing to accommodate you in their raiding endeavors. It wasn't always this lackluster, though. Previously, WoW focused largely on end-game PvE encounters (raids), and thus gave a wealth of development time to these areas of the game. However, the focus has since shifted to a very PvP oriented world, namely the addition of the arena system, and has left the glory days of World of Warcraft in the dust. The community is not at all receptive to new members, nor will it look kindly upon any form of role playing (even on specially tagged RP realms). All in all, don't come to World of Warcraft in search of a good, friendly group of dungeon crawlers - those days are, sadly, long gone. Expand
  36. PhilipD.
    Aug 21, 2009
    7
    This is a very good MMORPG, but i'm afraid the gameplay has stopped being "new". I myself have enjoyed many hours on this, but i just can't stand playing more then a few hours straight. I don't really get what people are getting addicted tot - it's a fun game, but in the end it is just as much as an MMORPG as others. WOW has nothing too special, except the big This is a very good MMORPG, but i'm afraid the gameplay has stopped being "new". I myself have enjoyed many hours on this, but i just can't stand playing more then a few hours straight. I don't really get what people are getting addicted tot - it's a fun game, but in the end it is just as much as an MMORPG as others. WOW has nothing too special, except the big userbase, but all-in it's a fun game. Expand
  37. ChezH.
    Jan 17, 2006
    6
    WoW may have been a 10 at release, although most beta testers would tell you differently; however, now it's hard to argue that this game is anything beyond mediocre to tepid. Many of it's alluring features have fallen through, just like the guild houses that EQ promised and never delivered for 5+ years. What's most harrowing is that WoW was billed as the EQ-killer because WoW may have been a 10 at release, although most beta testers would tell you differently; however, now it's hard to argue that this game is anything beyond mediocre to tepid. Many of it's alluring features have fallen through, just like the guild houses that EQ promised and never delivered for 5+ years. What's most harrowing is that WoW was billed as the EQ-killer because it had methods that prevented powergaming from completely overshadowing the casual gamer who can invest 1-2 hours per night after they come home from work. What we have seen, though, is that the playing field between powergamers and casual gamers (who, coincidentally, pay the same price to play) is still very uneven. While anyone would agree that time should, somehow, correlate to "success," most people would also agree that one of EQ's biggest failures was the fact that you had to invest so much time to get things done. WoW is headed down the very same path, instead of veering on a course which is less focused on time investment, and more focused on gameplay. For example, try getting exalted faction with Thorium Brotherhood, Timbermaw Furbolgs, Argent Dawn, Zanzalar Tribe, etc. and you will find that, with precious few exceptions, there is no way that someone who plays 4 hours per day will ever come close to half the "success" that someone who plays 8 hours per day will. With the release of Guild Wars, WoW may be the fad, but it's quite obvious that someone, somewhere, sat down and thought long and hard about how to make a game where thought and strategy account for more success than time played, and where the exp curve is more linear than exponential - meaning that going from level 19-20 takes approximately the same time as going from level 4-5, unlike WoW where levels 1-20 can be done in 1 in-game day, and 21-60 take an additional 7-8 in-game days for a powergamer, 15-20 for a casual gamer. Expand
  38. WorldofWarcraft
    Feb 21, 2006
    6
    Great game for the first month or two, but after awhile you realise this is a MMO on easymode, you can reach end game without much effort and once you get there you're expected, almost, to devote 4 hours+ of your time for a single item, otherwise your character is uselss in every aspect of the game, which is annoying if you picked up the game for an easy-going ride. The game has a Great game for the first month or two, but after awhile you realise this is a MMO on easymode, you can reach end game without much effort and once you get there you're expected, almost, to devote 4 hours+ of your time for a single item, otherwise your character is uselss in every aspect of the game, which is annoying if you picked up the game for an easy-going ride. The game has a huge fanbase of ex-counter-strike players who are completey new to the genre, which explains why its so successful and getting such rave reviews. This game has to be one of the best games I've played on the PC however and the artwork in it is great. Expand
  39. BobB.
    May 29, 2007
    5
    This game lacks any in-depthness at all...if you enjoy easy mode, then Play WoW.
  40. AnonymousMC
    Sep 12, 2007
    6
    As much as it is thrilling and fun at starting levels (where majority of reviewers will stay) it's so boring and repetitive at top level, where it tries to keep players busy (and paying) with the same content again and again and again... Even in expansion a lot of ideas, monsters and items is reused.
    The PvP element cant really stand on its own, because the classes are not balanced
    As much as it is thrilling and fun at starting levels (where majority of reviewers will stay) it's so boring and repetitive at top level, where it tries to keep players busy (and paying) with the same content again and again and again... Even in expansion a lot of ideas, monsters and items is reused.
    The PvP element cant really stand on its own, because the classes are not balanced well and raiding players will get advantages with PvE gear.
    Expand
  41. DomP.
    Sep 24, 2008
    5
    I can't explain this game. I'm not having fun , running around aimlessly, killing a certain numerical amount of foes to receive a dumb reward, but yet I keep doing it. This game is cocaine.
  42. MelvinK.
    Dec 6, 2004
    6
    Hmmm.. rather quite disappointed. I feel the game is being released too early, hence i have no doubt huge patches are going to be released real soon. I feel the lighting could use a lot more dynamics, and the game should offer higher graphical settings for higher end systems, because currently even with everything set towards best graphics, i gotta say blizzard is really underperformingHmmm.. rather quite disappointed. I feel the game is being released too early, hence i have no doubt huge patches are going to be released real soon. I feel the lighting could use a lot more dynamics, and the game should offer higher graphical settings for higher end systems, because currently even with everything set towards best graphics, i gotta say blizzard is really underperforming here. the world designs are good though, but it could be improved a lot without pasting textures flat onto 3d forms. also, for the first time in blizzard history, the game play is nothing unique or special, but very typical mmorpg, and this is something that really made me feel remorseful for buying the collector's edition. hmmm.. ambience sounds are quite average in quality, the in-game voices and sound effects sounds like compressed sounds for some reason on my audigy2 and klipsh 6.1 system. but i think this is something wc fans would like, to be on a unit level than be a hand pointer cursor. lol... have fun guys, i don't think i'll be paying for another month though. =p oh and yes, there are lots of big trees everywhere! Expand
  43. AnonymousMC
    Dec 27, 2005
    5
    This is Something I have posted elsewhere. I'm not going to tailor it to every forum etc I post in so here you go.
    Everyone here and beyond has thier opinions, I know, but I believe GW is the best MMORPG on the market. I have had a little experience with Ever Quest, and a WHOLE lot of experience with World of Warcraft. Guild Wars should continue to be better with updates, fixes,
    This is Something I have posted elsewhere. I'm not going to tailor it to every forum etc I post in so here you go.
    Everyone here and beyond has thier opinions, I know, but I believe GW is the best MMORPG on the market. I have had a little experience with Ever Quest, and a WHOLE lot of experience with World of Warcraft. Guild Wars should continue to be better with updates, fixes, balances, and expansions, just like every other persitent online game. Guild Wars sets itself apart in a few good respects:
    -The updating is painless. No need to download huge patches. It patches small parts of the game as you load different areas. Very nice. Nothing worse than jumping on to play a little of your game to realize that you have to spend the next 30 - 60 mins downloading and patching before you can jump on and play like in WOW.
    -The gameplay is fun and tailored more toward skill. You do have to spend some time leveling up your character if you want the best of the best, but it is the same in ANY MMO out there, it's the whole point of giving you something to keep doing and goals to achieve. One of my favorite things is the rewards for completing quests. You actually get skills for completing quests. This to me helps get rid of the desire to "grind" for levels. As in WOW, it is actually quicker to just "farm" or "grind" in a specific area for experience to level than to do the quests. All you get from the quests in WOW is weapons , armor, or items that are most likely (%90 of the time) worse than what you already have. Also with GW it is nice not knowing when or where you will actually be getting your next skill from. I know that sounds wierd, but in WOW you get "new" skills ("new" is usualy just upgrades for the skills you already have, you will have %60 of all the skills you will ever learn by lvl 20, %80 by lvl 30, and %95 by lvl 40) every "even" level. And it could take a good 3 hrs to get to the next level, if all you do is grind. So you play for about 6 hrs killing the same thing over and over again to get small upgrades. And you keep doing it cause you know you have to to get that new item, armor, skill, etc. With GW since you don't have that whole level crunching to get what you want thing, you are enticed to explore the world.
    -And the world is nicely detailed. It could use a little more fleshing out, but over all it is nice. It really is no different than any other MMORPG. The land is vast with small pockets of towns, and is sparsely populated with NPCs. The same with WOW. But what is nice with GW is that once you get to a main town/outpost, you can teleport thier instantly. In WOW you might spend 20 mins just flying/running to get to where you need to be, and that is only once you hit lvl 40 and buy a mount (wich is no small feat or small amount of cash). With WOW before you are lvl 40 you could easily spend 30 - 60 mins. Depending on whether or not you have gotten the right "Flight Paths" to get to where you need to be.
    -The Quest sytem is nice in GW. It's easy to understand, and you get a friggin green arrow that tells you where you should be going next, what instance to go into, and where on the map you need to be. In WOW, good luck, you will probably be looking it up in an Online Database, or asking around. Wich is not such a big deal, but you will be amazed at how much more time is spent actually playing instead of runing around looking for stuff, and how more efficient you can plan your questing adventures. A few mins spent in GW you can see how many quests are in a certain area and plan to do those so that you can kill more birds with one stone. Thank you for that Anet.
    -Once you get to the lvl Cap and have gotten all your skills (there are "elite" skills which you can only get by learning them from enemies) you can do the PvP portions of the game, wich are fast paced and action packed. I've read a lot of things about how hard it is to compete in PvP because you can't find a good group of people to play with. Well it's the same in ANY online game RPG or FPS or RTS. It takes some time to find good people to play with, but once you do it can be a lot of fun. At least in GW you have the options to join a PvP game by yourself, or with a group you're with, or do guild vs guild. And the system matches you up with like experienced/leveled/Rank people. You can kind of do the same thing in WOW, with the battle grounds addition (wich was just added about mid year 2005), but the long que waits (about 20 - 45mins depending on server population) might be kind of tedious for you. Especially if your lvl 60 with not a whole lot to do otherwise. And with GW if you don't want to do the questing part of the game you don't have to. You can imediatley create a PvP only character. Your PvP only character will not have all the perks of a character that got to lvl 20 by questing, but you can still have a lot of fun, you just won't be the best of the best. At least you have the option.
    -As far as GW not being considered a MMO: GW in my opinion is more MMO than any other MMORPG. With WOW you pick a specific server to build your characters on. You can have many characters on several different servers, but if they are on different servers you can't play with people on other servers. Wich might not be a big deal, but if you find you like the people better on a certain server or want to play on the RPG servers or PvP servers, you have to be lucky enough for them to offer transfers from your server to those servers. Wich they don't seem to do until a specific server is being over populated. Where as with GW you are automatically logged on to a specific "district" and at your whim you can change districts. Even internationally. This way ANYONE that plays GW can hook up with ANYONE else that is on at the time. That to me is closer to "Massively Multiplayer" than the server specific variety of MMO's.
    -In relation to the whole MMO thing. Everything outside the main towns/outposts is instanced for every specific group. I love this. As in all MMORPG's there is a lot of quests that require you to spend time traveling in the unknown wilderness to get something, kill something, etc. Few things are more bothersome than going to do such a quest and finding several like powered individuals doing the exact same thing. I thought I was supposed to be unique, I thought my quest was uniqe. WOW fails misrabley here. You will always be on the same quest as someone else, if not many people. You might even have to wait around while the enemy critter(s) respawn, or even fight with someone else over who gets to kill what, or just get ganked. This is not an epic experience to me. So what if I'm a powerfull "Hero" there are going to be thousands of the exact same type of hero out there with you. The "World" of Warcraft is populated more by "heroes" than normal peole. In GW it may be the case as well, but at least you don't have to see them all the time.
    -There is not a lot of emphisis on item collection for other than profit/sales. This I know a lot of people dislike, but in my opinion it adds to the gameplay. Instead an endless struggle to get a new axe with a +2 to strength instead of a +1, it doesn't really matter in GW. You will be just as effective, and they are there for the item needy person, but the game doesn't revolve around it. It's all WOW is about really, getting a better version of what you had before.
    -The skill system is really nice in GW. You only get to take 8 skills into battle. Wich can be frustrating at times, where you wish you would have taken another skill instead, but over all it forces you to be specific on what type of character you are playing. Wich is also nice because there are more than one use/roll for your character now. The duel class system is cool, you get to choose from two sets of skills, but only the first class you choose lets you alter thier main attribute, wich does make a difference in you character. And the abillity to change you attributes at will is very nice. Now you can only change skills/spells and attributes in main towns/outposts, but the frustation is minimal for the freedom to tailor your character so many ways.
    -The rank system for new items is nice to me. It gives the long term player something to shoot for. And it is no better or worse than WOW in my opinion, both are a pain for the casual gamer and a pain for the consitent gamer. It rewards time spent gaming. Same with WOW.
    -I really like the story of GW. It could be a little deeper, but it's nice. I also like you the land changes with the story. Right now there is only the two settings, or time periods, but at least I felt that I went a long with a change in time for the game. I also like how the main characters of the story are also interactive with most of the main quests. When you are called to help the prince with pushing back the enemy, he is there with you fighting along side. Also seen in many of the "side" quests with the everyday folk. Or when you complete a quest that called you to kill a Leader or find a group and lead them back, if you go back to the same spots later the people or leader are gone. Giving you a sense of actual accomplishment. Good luck in WOW to see any of this in WOW. Very few NPC characters actually physically come along with you, and if they do then that means someone else can't interact with them, and vise versa for you. Not one time in my whole WOW career did I ever see any piece of land change or NPC character good or bad change, wether or not I completed a specific quest 10 times. How epic is that. The biggest reason for this is because there isn't a whole lot to do than the same thing over and over again in WOW, that's why so many people have logged in so many hours in WOW. They took half a game, spread it out over twice as many levels as they should have, and charged people for it. Wich leads into my biggest rant.
    -GW is free to play online. They update it regularly, with new content as well as fixes. WOW charges you $13 - $15 per month to play (depending on whether you pay monthy or in 6 month blocks, both reacuring automatically), wether you play at all or all day everyday. And that's not the worst part. WOW was released before it was complete. So you payed $50 for half a game, I already said that I know, but one of the biggest reasons Blizzard said the cost was so high per month was because they would be updating it constantly for free. Well guess what, a year later they are finally to the point the game should have been when it was released. This is not an opinion. You can't honestly tell me that such big things like the PvP ranking/honor sytem was something they just came up with, or the battle grounds addition. These where things they had planned that just didn't get in to the release. And there is more updates comming. Now for some numbers. 5 million people have active accounts on WOW, most are paying accounts, some are trial accounts. Lets go back a bit and cut the number in have just to be conservative. Lets say 2 million people have been playing and only half of those were paying customers, and lets say they all payed in 6 month blocks at $13 a month. 1 million times $13 a month = 13 million dollars a MONTH, with equals 156 million dollars a year. If that isn't absurd to you then you have a bigger problem than what video game to play. There is no way that it cost that much to keep WOW servers running or fix bugs. And that number is not including the original profit from the sales of the game, (remember each paying active account also bought the game) or the profit from the merchandise they sell, and there is a whole lot of merchandise to buy and or being bought. So with all that cash they are just finishing a game and guess what, they are going to charge you another $20 - $50 to buy the expansion 1st quarter 2006. This is the main reason I quit WOW, I can not support such a greedy company for a product that is lower in quality than one that is of higher quality from a company that does just as much if not more for thier game.
    -On some less positive notes for GW: Jumping would be nice. I know it doesn't really do anything for you and would mess up the PvP arenas (they could disable it there) it is just nice to jump, small con in my opinion. A little more content on the RPG side of the game would be nice. More scripted quests with NPC's would be nice. Over all just small cons that could be or will be changed/fixed with updates and expansions.

    All in all this is a very good game and has shown it is impoving. It is the best MMORPG out there in my opinion, but that doesn't mean it will satisfy everyone out there. And another game is sure to come alone to take your time elsewhere. At least with GW when the time comes for that other game you will still have some cash in your pocket :)
    Expand
  44. Kolchak
    Jul 12, 2006
    5
    With millions of subscribes, there is no doubt that World of Warcraft is an amazing commercial success. That said, if you're thinking about getting in on the action, remember this. While World of Warcraft has dominated the MMORPG market, it is still an MMORPG. Blizzard is no doubt one of the great kings of video game making, right up there with the likes of Valve and Bioware. Its for With millions of subscribes, there is no doubt that World of Warcraft is an amazing commercial success. That said, if you're thinking about getting in on the action, remember this. While World of Warcraft has dominated the MMORPG market, it is still an MMORPG. Blizzard is no doubt one of the great kings of video game making, right up there with the likes of Valve and Bioware. Its for good reason - Blizzard makes games that are both entertaining and accessible. Their games run on surpisingly old systems and usually are ported to the mac, as well. They're all about making sure anyone can play. They are also all about making improvements rather than innovations. Starcraft did nothing new - it simply did it better - and the same can be said for all their titles except, perhaps, Diablo. World of Warcraft has done nothing to break that trend. In some ways this has worked brilliantly. World of Warcraft only had 9 classes, which isn't many compared to the likes of Everquest 2, which boasts something over twenty. But Blizzard also knows the more classes you add, the less defined each one gets - and so the classes in World of Warcraft are very well defined in their roles, and also in the artistic style of their magic and gear. When you play a Paladin you really feel like a bringer of justice, and as a high-level Paladin you'll have the nifty do-gooder horse and the shiny clean plate-mail to prove it. World of Warcraft tries to make sure players occupied and is loaded with quests to complete. PvP is easy to access yet also easy to stay away from. Yet World of Warcraft does stumble in some areas. Blizzard has never been good at interfaces, and this isn't any different in World of Warcraft. Why doesn't the map lable almost anything, or have a built in coordinate system? Why does the default set-up only show damage done to me in the very upper left corner of the screen? Why arn't the timers that show me when a spell or ability is useable again clearer? Why, why, why, indeed. The group interface is similarly annoying. It's clunky, the colors arn't bright enough, and its very easy to have someone die on you before you even notice they're under attack unless you constantly stare at the group section of the screen. In addition, there is no good way to create groups. Finding a meeting stone doesn't give you a pop-up menu showing everyone currently looking for a group for that instance - instead it simply throws you into a group with whoever else is currently wanting to go. Which is, of course, a horrible way to create a well balanced group. The looking-for-group channel is no better, since is global and is getting spammed constantly. Luckily, many of these interface short-comings can be fixed with a few user modifications. But the biggest problem with World of Warcraft is it's most subjective - its still a MMORPG, and its really just Everquest with the biggest frustrations taken out of it. Note I said biggest. Leveling to sixty only takes a few months for casual player. But thats still a pretty long time to play one video game. There are many travel routes, but there are still times when you have to spend twenty minutes walking somewhere, doing nothing. Quests are there, but most are still uninteresting. And there is still a sense of grinding - that is to say, suffering through bordom of killing the same monsters over and over in order to achieve a goal. To some, that goal is very well worth it. But to me, it isn't. If you like MMORPGs, there really isn't anything that can compete. But if you're like me and wish the genre would tone down the grinding and add in more challenging and academic quests, World of Warcraft isn't going to offer anything new. If you've played Everquest, Asheron's Call, Anarchy Online, or any similar game, just detract a few problems you don't like, and you've got World of Warcraft. Expand
  45. Jeff
    Feb 17, 2008
    7
    looks this is the type of game you're either going to: A: Love to the point of addiction B: Like it then get bored C: Hate It I'm a B. It's pretty fun, but the grind gets to be annoying. The Community on the Alliance side really is shit, so unless you have some buds to hook up with you're going to be soloing a lot. End game becomes repetitive. Like I said you'll looks this is the type of game you're either going to: A: Love to the point of addiction B: Like it then get bored C: Hate It I'm a B. It's pretty fun, but the grind gets to be annoying. The Community on the Alliance side really is shit, so unless you have some buds to hook up with you're going to be soloing a lot. End game becomes repetitive. Like I said you'll fall into a variation of the above categories. Expand
  46. BizmalBizmal
    May 11, 2009
    5
    World Of Warcraft does it's PvE like no other and in that area it's a great game. However it's PvP is some of the worst I've seen. The game-play makes sense but it's very casual, an every body wins kinda thing. They award you with nothing physical for the kill and since your enemies cannot talk to you they seem more like NPC's then players. They do award you World Of Warcraft does it's PvE like no other and in that area it's a great game. However it's PvP is some of the worst I've seen. The game-play makes sense but it's very casual, an every body wins kinda thing. They award you with nothing physical for the kill and since your enemies cannot talk to you they seem more like NPC's then players. They do award you with points for killing some players. But the PVP system includes to much PvE for my taste. Mosting mindless combat. You could be ranked 100 and still be better then the person ranked number one. Yet it will never show that. It's also based on items and not so much a skill game. Expand
  47. AnonymousMC
    May 15, 2009
    5
    Decent entry level MMORPG. Very easy to control and get into. Unfortunately this game also comes with a lot of flaws.

    - Poor class balancing for PvP encounters and in many cases for PvE (though recently corrected with WotLK) - Lacking originality in design, concept, and game environment (most design, game mechanics and ideas were originated in other games and made successful in the
    Decent entry level MMORPG. Very easy to control and get into. Unfortunately this game also comes with a lot of flaws.

    - Poor class balancing for PvP encounters and in many cases for PvE (though recently corrected with WotLK)
    - Lacking originality in design, concept, and game environment (most design, game mechanics and ideas were originated in other games and made successful in the implementation in WoW)
    - Adolescent community (while this isn't indigenous to the game itself, it DOES affect the player tremendously)
    - Too easy and full of cheap thrills to keep you in game and paying for development of more cheap thrills
    Repetative questing interaction (kill tasks, gathering tasks, escorts)
    Expand
  48. AnonymousMC
    Jun 16, 2009
    5
    After playing for a year with several friends, I find WoW so-so as far as MMOs go. The more casual players seemed too desperate to fit in while some of the more extreme players seemed elitist. After a while, quests start to meld together, pvp became tedious and biased towards the player that can play 9 hours a day to get the best equipment, and towards the end I found my self justAfter playing for a year with several friends, I find WoW so-so as far as MMOs go. The more casual players seemed too desperate to fit in while some of the more extreme players seemed elitist. After a while, quests start to meld together, pvp became tedious and biased towards the player that can play 9 hours a day to get the best equipment, and towards the end I found my self just wandering around the map looking for stuff that gave the game meaning. Plus, when I left, the player felt disconnected from the world. No matter what happened, Horde land was Horde land, Alliance land was Alliance land. Then when you get to the end, highest level with good gear, then what? When playing I asked my guild the three most popular responses were either raiding, PvP, or start a new character. So after a years work, I was supposed to do what I've been doing, only this time with no end. Some of the few upsides to the game are the back stories to the races and the benefits and downsides to the races go hand and hand nicely. Ping time was alright, and lag wasn't noticeable even after moving to Europe and keeping my character on a US server. Graphics seem cartoonish, but it adds to the games atmosphere. Auction houses are a nice way to form a player economy. Fairly easy to find and form parties for quests/raids. I give this game a 5, mainly because if you do find a group of friends to quest with, it can be tolerable, but if you quest alone it gets repetitive and if you join a random group there is a good chance it won't stick together until the end of the quest. Expand
  49. ChrisP.
    Nov 12, 2006
    6
    Initially very fun, but the need for nonstop grinding and a willingness to sacrifice real life enjoyment to make in-game progress after level 60 ruins it.
  50. Apr 20, 2011
    7
    I've been playing World of Warcraft on and off since it was released. Initially, I found it incredibly boring after getting to level 20. It's slowly grown on me through the years, and I suspect it has to do with my patience and the Blizzard developers getting better at making MMOs more accessible. Normally, I'm against "accessibilty" for a larger audience, but this is one of the few timesI've been playing World of Warcraft on and off since it was released. Initially, I found it incredibly boring after getting to level 20. It's slowly grown on me through the years, and I suspect it has to do with my patience and the Blizzard developers getting better at making MMOs more accessible. Normally, I'm against "accessibilty" for a larger audience, but this is one of the few times I think accessibility actually makes the game better.

    Quests, especially those released with Cataclysm are less focused on gathering this or killing ten of that, but doing actual interesting things. Another aspect that has made the game better by far is friends. When I first started I didn't talk to anyone or try to join any guilds, but when I started again a year ago I did with my girlfriend who has friend that play WoW. I have to say playing with other people increases the entertainment value by a lot. All in all I can say that World of Warcraft is a very solid game and while not my favorite, I will eventually pick it up again when I have the time and I will enjoy it.
    Expand
  51. Apr 27, 2011
    7
    World of Warcraft is indeed an awesome title, but there are some things that make this game not worth the time. Let me start with the pros: This is a great continuation of the Warcraft universe, the areas are awesome and there are a few recognizable characters. The game is very easy to learn with some really simple controls. The graphics are nice adds a little of the cartoony feel you gotWorld of Warcraft is indeed an awesome title, but there are some things that make this game not worth the time. Let me start with the pros: This is a great continuation of the Warcraft universe, the areas are awesome and there are a few recognizable characters. The game is very easy to learn with some really simple controls. The graphics are nice adds a little of the cartoony feel you got in the original strategy games. Now the cons: Game play is a little repetitive until you start hitting the higher levels (50+) which would take about a month or so to get to. The community is really rude sometimes, only caring about themselves and shunning upon the lower levels. Sometimes it feels like there is no mature people online ever. Usually the two factions are highly unbalanced and theres always different kinds of people that play on them on each server. All in all this is a good game that has some minor set backs. But if you are looking for a mature game then this isn't for you. Expand
  52. Jun 11, 2011
    5
    I personally hate online games like this, but I suppose this is better than the rest - though with the monthly price I could probably buy a lot of things more worth while. It's clear that a lot of work went into creating this and making it very accessible, but after a while it becomes repetitious and you'd think they would cheapen up the monthly price now that they're pretty muchI personally hate online games like this, but I suppose this is better than the rest - though with the monthly price I could probably buy a lot of things more worth while. It's clear that a lot of work went into creating this and making it very accessible, but after a while it becomes repetitious and you'd think they would cheapen up the monthly price now that they're pretty much billionaires. Then again, it really depends on who plays it. I tried it out for about a year and got a lot of pretty awesome things that you can do, but traveling is very tedious to get those things, and you have to have a lot of time on your hands (or you'd have to be extremely bored or have no life - as South Park suggests) to even consider doing half of what is available to do in the game. And they keep adding on, which is great for frequent users, but for everyone else it's only so-so. I guess it really depends on what kind of person you are, and what you enjoy - for me it's just okay. Sadly 'okay' isn't worth $15 a month. Expand
  53. Nov 21, 2011
    5
    Not bad game, but it gets boring quickly. Level upping is slow and boring when you are low level there's almost nothing funny to do. I also hate how much money does Blizzard want for being able to play on official server. Wasn't the damned game expensive enough.
  54. Dec 1, 2011
    7
    Every gamer should try World of Warcraft because it is a major milestone in gaming history. It is a high quality game and provides endless entertainment, thus the high rating. The game can require logic and a strategic mind, skill and creativity, but it will most likely teach you to kill monsters rapidly for virtual gold and experience. In my opinion, most gamers and people will find aEvery gamer should try World of Warcraft because it is a major milestone in gaming history. It is a high quality game and provides endless entertainment, thus the high rating. The game can require logic and a strategic mind, skill and creativity, but it will most likely teach you to kill monsters rapidly for virtual gold and experience. In my opinion, most gamers and people will find a game like this to rapidly occupy more and more of their life, and this can be expected because of its similar dopamine releasing effect of many drugs. Expand
  55. Dec 24, 2011
    5
    The game has normal missions (like an other MMORPG),sound track its enjoyable,the controls are normal (like an other normal MMORPG)...Battle mode sucks compared to other games like Metin 2 (MMORPG) etc...
    The Game is just over rated by nerds and people that have no life, i played the to LVL 7 or 8 and its just a normal online game, if you want a real good gameplay on a MMORPG play metin 2.
  56. Feb 1, 2012
    6
    Very nice game, but Blizzard could do better. The game lacks the atmosphere found in Diablo and other games from this company. Also the graphics don't seem as good as they used to when the game launched. The mechanics are also much too repetitive for my taste.
  57. Aug 14, 2015
    7
    i think people are missing the point with the cartoony graphics, making the game playable to people with low spec laptops just means more players, something that all other mmos suffer from, a lack of players. im getting bored of the game now after playing for a few years but the fact its kept me active for a few years says a lot, no other games done that before. i think its a shame how tsi think people are missing the point with the cartoony graphics, making the game playable to people with low spec laptops just means more players, something that all other mmos suffer from, a lack of players. im getting bored of the game now after playing for a few years but the fact its kept me active for a few years says a lot, no other games done that before. i think its a shame how ts so dummied down now though, 1-100 in 2 weeks is a poor show in this kind of game (with heirlooms of course). it is a shame how its all been simplified now due to blizz trying to get more custom aimed at the people who need instant gratification with no effort but i guess thats business, for a 10 year old game it has to die someday i guess :) Expand
  58. May 7, 2012
    6
    The game was great a few years ago. I remember when I knew what all the items in the game looked like, when it mattered to have rare gear, when the people playing could be relied on to have a bit of skill and some manners. Expansion packs have inflated everything in the game so much and dumbed it down so much that everything has lost meaning. Everything is an endless grind, even grindingThe game was great a few years ago. I remember when I knew what all the items in the game looked like, when it mattered to have rare gear, when the people playing could be relied on to have a bit of skill and some manners. Expansion packs have inflated everything in the game so much and dumbed it down so much that everything has lost meaning. Everything is an endless grind, even grinding raids now. If you've never played it, give it a go, but it's just not the same astonishing experience any more. Expand
  59. Mar 14, 2012
    7
    good times,this game was the greatest way to kill time,i used to no life it for hours XD but sadly the game died with cataclysm for me,all those new add ons just messed it up.The pvp was a beast but i couldn´t really give a damn bout the quests,if you have never played wow before definatley try it out although personally i dont play it enymore as i prefer swtor with itsgood times,this game was the greatest way to kill time,i used to no life it for hours XD but sadly the game died with cataclysm for me,all those new add ons just messed it up.The pvp was a beast but i couldn´t really give a damn bout the quests,if you have never played wow before definatley try it out although personally i dont play it enymore as i prefer swtor with its updated graphics and a good storyline. Expand
  60. Jun 2, 2012
    6
    Vanilla was great. Simple, without all this **** around. You want to play a dungeon, you have to go to the stone and get in the waiting list. It was all fun, because you had to communicate really. Now it´s a real bull****. The whole Land is empty, you can run and run and you will see nobody. Everyone is in Ironforge or else and go to the Dungeon, Kill the Boss, Farm and getVanilla was great. Simple, without all this **** around. You want to play a dungeon, you have to go to the stone and get in the waiting list. It was all fun, because you had to communicate really. Now it´s a real bull****. The whole Land is empty, you can run and run and you will see nobody. Everyone is in Ironforge or else and go to the Dungeon, Kill the Boss, Farm and get back to the Sell the Items. And they do that the whole **** day. Or better, they buy directly the Armor Set for 20 bucks in real. This all was pathetic and ridicoulous. So i give a 6 because of the beginning. Expand
  61. Jul 3, 2012
    7
    I have played wow for 7 years. And up until cata it was wow or nothing. But in recent content wow has burned and crashed. It had a chance to pull it back in Cata, but chose to ignore feedback and stick to its massive subscribers. Blizzard is rich and gets feed even though its players are leaving, so they took advantage over the fact and left wow to die. Rumor is Blizzard is making a newI have played wow for 7 years. And up until cata it was wow or nothing. But in recent content wow has burned and crashed. It had a chance to pull it back in Cata, but chose to ignore feedback and stick to its massive subscribers. Blizzard is rich and gets feed even though its players are leaving, so they took advantage over the fact and left wow to die. Rumor is Blizzard is making a new mmo, possible a mmofps, as of 2012, the genre started and became a gamers lust. all in all Wow let me down after years and years of passive grind. Expand
  62. Oct 5, 2012
    7
    I love WoW, and I find it kind of sad that pretty much everyone hates it. Sure, the payments are high and the leveling is painful, but that doesn't take much out of the actual game, for anyone who's actually tried it. But I really think they're making too much expansions. And they gradually went down hill on MoP. Cata and WotLK were the best imo.
  63. Oct 14, 2012
    6
    World of Warcraft fue un buen juego para mi, en lo personal juegue 6 años y fue bastante divertido, luego de Cata deje de pagar la suscripción porque ya no me gustaba lo que veía, le doy un 6 porque todos estos años de diversión fueron buenos, pero ahora blizzard solo saca dinero por tonterías.
    Graficos: 5 Sonido: 9 Jugabilidad: 7 Contenido:
    World of Warcraft fue un buen juego para mi, en lo personal juegue 6 años y fue bastante divertido, luego de Cata deje de pagar la suscripción porque ya no me gustaba lo que veía, le doy un 6 porque todos estos años de diversión fueron buenos, pero ahora blizzard solo saca dinero por tonterías.
    Graficos: 5 Sonido: 9 Jugabilidad: 7 Contenido: 6 y solo por el hecho de tener que pagar por las expanciones mas el costo mensual, le doy un 6 en total, si solo fuera costo mensual talvez le doy un 8.5.
    pero ya wow esta llegando a su fin, Espero que proyecto titan tenga algo nuevo que ofrecernos.
    Expand
  64. Jan 12, 2013
    7
    WoW is a good game. Some of the quests are very boring however, nothing like the epic quests seen in Runescape. WoW also lacks the character development i expect in a MMORPG unlike Runescape which has great character development. Overall forget WoW just play Runescape!
  65. Jaz
    Feb 24, 2013
    7
    There are a lot of people who consider the original WoW, the "Vanilla" as they call it the pinnacle of MMOs. Too much nostalgia i guess. For lots of players it was their first MMO. Not for me. i had already been a veteran of Everquest 1 and 2. So after failing to adjust in Everquest 2 because of its complete lack of solo content then, i tried WoW. I found a decent game which had lots ofThere are a lot of people who consider the original WoW, the "Vanilla" as they call it the pinnacle of MMOs. Too much nostalgia i guess. For lots of players it was their first MMO. Not for me. i had already been a veteran of Everquest 1 and 2. So after failing to adjust in Everquest 2 because of its complete lack of solo content then, i tried WoW. I found a decent game which had lots of solo content -and group one too if you felt like it. It had PVP also. Game was not bad as i said, but i left it after a few months. Main reasons being: Class skills were watered down -compared to EQs-, graphics were too cartoony for my taste and last but not least, community -on average- was far below EQs standards. And in MMOs community is the most important factor. So, no the game was not perfect, but still it was a good MMO. Expand
  66. Aug 1, 2013
    6
    This game was the best!!! until the end of Wrath of the lich king, then it went downhill, with bad expansions, and less interference in the game, just more time spend on the dungeon finder, which kinda made the game less of a multiplayer, i loved those days when you only went to raids once a month, and a dungeon was so hard to find people for that it took at least a week to get in to.This game was the best!!! until the end of Wrath of the lich king, then it went downhill, with bad expansions, and less interference in the game, just more time spend on the dungeon finder, which kinda made the game less of a multiplayer, i loved those days when you only went to raids once a month, and a dungeon was so hard to find people for that it took at least a week to get in to. stoped after cataclysm, that was the worst ever.... Expand
  67. Jul 27, 2013
    7
    Kinda like it except that some some the quests are confusing and you get lost easily and sometimes it gets boring when there's not a lot of people in overall good game recommend to those mmorpg fans try the free version if you're interested in the game
  68. Sep 2, 2013
    6
    Hmm....Considering it says just "World of Warcraft", I'm wondering if I should review what the game was, or what it is now. I suppose I will touch into both a little.

    Vanilla WoW was one of the best games ever developed. It has turned into one of the most boring and lifeless MMOs you can find. The 40 man raids, the challenge, and the interactivity with other players was a huge plus, but
    Hmm....Considering it says just "World of Warcraft", I'm wondering if I should review what the game was, or what it is now. I suppose I will touch into both a little.

    Vanilla WoW was one of the best games ever developed. It has turned into one of the most boring and lifeless MMOs you can find. The 40 man raids, the challenge, and the interactivity with other players was a huge plus, but now, they've dumbed down the game and recycled their ways over and over with every single expansion.

    The game is worth $15 a month, and, frankly, back in the day, it might have been worth it. However, at this point, you're paying for a game that is heavily struggling to stay afloat and has become a lifeless bore that is somehow very addicting.

    Don't buy it. I've played the game for years, and I have hated what it has become. If you're looking for a Blizzard title, buy Diablo 2 instead. Way cheaper as well.
    Expand
  69. Sep 8, 2013
    5
    Great fun to play with friends, still the most playable and responsive mmo i have experienced. Do not get sucked into the end game content unless you enjoy not having a life outside of azeroth.
  70. Oct 15, 2013
    7
    This IS a good game. A great game in fact. A BRILLIANT game in fact. There is just so much to do, so much to explore, this by far the best mmo rpg I have ever played, EVER. You might think the game play becomes repetitive, but it doesn't, the quests are just SO different and if you get bored of questing, you have raiding, pvp and dungeon raiding, with so much to do, this game becomesThis IS a good game. A great game in fact. A BRILLIANT game in fact. There is just so much to do, so much to explore, this by far the best mmo rpg I have ever played, EVER. You might think the game play becomes repetitive, but it doesn't, the quests are just SO different and if you get bored of questing, you have raiding, pvp and dungeon raiding, with so much to do, this game becomes awesome fun, and you will waste weeks of your life playing it. The graphics suits the game very well. There is obvious effort put into making this game. And then, your subscription runs out. This game should not have a subscription fee, it just feels like... To be honest Candy Crush Saga, and it is the same story with ANY subscription fee game. The vanilla game should be completely free, the only things you should have to pay for is the DLC, as it makes perfect sense to give players an opportunity for a new challenge. The only problem with this game is the vanilla subscription fee, but that is a VERY BIG problem, it is also the main cause of hackers in this game. The game has all the aspects of a f2p, but isn't. Expand
  71. Feb 26, 2014
    6
    I played from Vanilla to Cataclysm and for me the game hit its high point in Wrath. After that, the design ideas seemed to be pretty limited and repetitive.

    At this point, the game really shows its age. Its time to fold up and create WOW 2; you cant keep milking the cash cow forever Blizzard (sorry, Activision, whoops sorry Vivendi). Hey, come to think of it, the first really bad WOW
    I played from Vanilla to Cataclysm and for me the game hit its high point in Wrath. After that, the design ideas seemed to be pretty limited and repetitive.

    At this point, the game really shows its age. Its time to fold up and create WOW 2; you cant keep milking the cash cow forever Blizzard (sorry, Activision, whoops sorry Vivendi). Hey, come to think of it, the first really bad WOW expansion was the first wholly under control of Activision. Anyone think there might be a connection?
    Expand
  72. Apr 8, 2014
    5
    Content: Stupid Blizzard Entertainment doesn't even care that we have to pay $15 a month anymore, all they care about is $$$. The game keeps putting up extra expan$ion$ that have no purpose, and Blizzard recently decided that they should put up MICROTRANSACTIONS! Great! An already expensive as crap game, now with microtransactions!
    Gameplay: It was the first of its kind, but look at the
    Content: Stupid Blizzard Entertainment doesn't even care that we have to pay $15 a month anymore, all they care about is $$$. The game keeps putting up extra expan$ion$ that have no purpose, and Blizzard recently decided that they should put up MICROTRANSACTIONS! Great! An already expensive as crap game, now with microtransactions!
    Gameplay: It was the first of its kind, but look at the MMORPG market now. Guild Wars 2 is a HECK of a lot more fun than this game, and that's only a one time pay game. The gameplay really is not bad, but not worth all that cash.
    I give this game a 5/10.
    Expand
  73. May 2, 2014
    6
    World of Warcraft if looked at as an MMORPG is a fail, it's very repetitive, you fight boars at lvl 1-5, and fight boars yet again when you're high lvl, over 50. The developers simply "borrow" ideas and concepts away from other places and put them into this game. 95% of the stuff in this game being uninteresting/boring/poorly made, the RPG part of the game is especially poorly made sinceWorld of Warcraft if looked at as an MMORPG is a fail, it's very repetitive, you fight boars at lvl 1-5, and fight boars yet again when you're high lvl, over 50. The developers simply "borrow" ideas and concepts away from other places and put them into this game. 95% of the stuff in this game being uninteresting/boring/poorly made, the RPG part of the game is especially poorly made since 99% of the quests involve players going to point B, from point A, and killing an "X" amount of creatures, thus making players want to skip this part of the game as fast as possible, so they can get to the maximum level and start doing PvP, the only brilliant part this game has to offer, it used to have nice story as well, inherited from Warcraft III: the frozen throne, but they killed the main character(Arthas) and replaced him with pandas. I honestly don't know how people can pay tens of euros/dollars each month for just PvP and maybe some raids. One of the most overrated games ever, the only reason I'm giving it a 6/10 is because of the PvP, which is(was) fantastic, unfortunately besides murdering Arthas, they also murdered any fun players with rogues could have had, even on PvP servers, by making infiltration in enemy capitals useless and with 0 fun had, thanks to the whining of players and the stupidity of the developers. Expand
  74. Aug 1, 2014
    5
    Heroic dungeons that a rogue can tank, rare bosses that are harder to kill than heroic bosses, Blizzard still babysitting the horde in PvP - which is still stupidly imbalanced... there's no challenge to be found, unless you're one of the "common core" kids that they dumbed the game down for. The monthly subscription @ 50 cents a day aint' so bad but buying the expansions is a waste ofHeroic dungeons that a rogue can tank, rare bosses that are harder to kill than heroic bosses, Blizzard still babysitting the horde in PvP - which is still stupidly imbalanced... there's no challenge to be found, unless you're one of the "common core" kids that they dumbed the game down for. The monthly subscription @ 50 cents a day aint' so bad but buying the expansions is a waste of money all things considered. If you are a serious gamer I don't suggest you buy this one. League of Legends has way better PvP, and several MMO's have more challenging quests and PvE - and are free to play! Do your research before you buy - it's becoming a ghost town - merging servers and whatnot to hide the mass exodus from incompetent developers and designers who miraculously ruined one of the most awesome games I ever played (past tense of course). Expand
  75. Jun 13, 2016
    6
    This game is or was very fun with the right people (it is an MMoRPG) so you will need to play with others in order to enjoy it fully. The game allows for individuals who enjoy gaming to immerse themselves in an imaginary world in which they can be whatever they want in some cases as some have stated, you can become the douche bag elitist who spent more time on developing a character, thisThis game is or was very fun with the right people (it is an MMoRPG) so you will need to play with others in order to enjoy it fully. The game allows for individuals who enjoy gaming to immerse themselves in an imaginary world in which they can be whatever they want in some cases as some have stated, you can become the douche bag elitist who spent more time on developing a character, this is indeed sad. We all have our faults! Can't get over the annoying ones in chat Blizzard has always allowed the option for you to /ignore or simply block channels in chat. The game allows for a lot of time yes it is addictive to some, this is good if you do not enjoy outdoor activities the SUN or simply loathe actual human interaction. It is a huge TIME SINK, you will grow out of it and wonder what the hell happened to the last X amount of years. The game has indeed been "dumbed" down. Is it for a new generation of player, or profits? who knows fact is if your shaking your head yes you have grown out of it and are probably going to work or to change the babies diaper, get over it ! The game is not for us anymore. With all of that said I made many friendships that I still have years after I quit the game, why am i reading reviews ?…Think of it as that jerk from High school you hated …probably looked them up on Facebook didn't you? The biggest con i can say about WoW is they took a lot of the human interaction out of the game…you no longer need to stand for hours in your capital city and ask for groups…you simply click a button and go along your merry way until a loud noise scares the crap out of you to tell you your group is ready and your whisped away to fight moderately annoying monsters …cause everyone is like Uber leetsauce now and like can solo hogger , the game has been around for 12 years or so. Take it with a grain of salt you can play for free up to level 20 nothing lost well you will have to install and uninstall (which takes anywhere from 8 hours to a week depending your internet speed) …once again ITS ALL ABOUT TIME how much are you willing to waste? Expand
  76. Jan 2, 2017
    7
    Szomorú vagyok, mert ez a játék nem 10 évvel ezelőtt talált meg. Sajna csak mostanában próbáltam ki a játékot, de valószínűleg gyerekként odáig lettem volna érte. Ááá, kár, hogy így történt!
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Combines not only technical prowess and fine-tuned gameplay, but pleasure as well, making this the new standard for the competition. Word to the other companies: this is the reason your registered users are dwindling.
  2. 90
    The game isn't flawless, nor is it technically finished - a good many quests fall into a "kill 20 of enemy X and collect 9 of item Y" pattern, a lot of promised end-game content still isn't in, and there are still bugs being squashed - but it's easily the closest MMORPGs have yet come to perfection. If this one doesn't hook you, nothing will.
  3. 90
    Although it's not as technologically proficient as "EverQuest II," World of Warcraft has a more pronounced sense of style...If you're looking for a new MMORPG, then the World of Warcraft is the very first place you should visit.