Worms Clan Wars Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Oct 7, 2013
    85
    Worms Clan Wars is probably the best entry in the long lasting franchise, both visually and gameplay wise. The clan system might work or not in the long terms but it still adds depth to a stellar multiplayer mode, joined by a good amount of single player content.
  2. Aug 13, 2013
    80
    It still has the soul of the series, and that's everything we ask for. On the top of that, online modes offer that extra fun you may need.
  3. Aug 20, 2013
    80
    The campaign, although it features very steep learning curve, proves to be enjoyable for those who are looking for a really high level of challenge, and the multiplayer segment aims to create a community able to keep the title alive for some time.
  4. Aug 15, 2013
    78
    Fans of Worms will find enough new here to keep things fresh while newcomers can have plenty of fun too.
  5. Aug 29, 2013
    70
    Whilst another sturdy entry in the series, and Clan Wars will be the quintessential Worms game for the near future, we're thankful for Team 17 taking a break from the series.
  6. Aug 13, 2013
    70
    Probably the best game in the long history of the franchise, Clan Wars nonetheless hews close to a formula that was almost perfected long ago. A dull and frustrating singleplayer mode aside, it offers little more than clan and Steam Workshop support to those who own Revolution. For others, however, it's well worth a look.
  7. Oct 7, 2013
    50
    Worms Revolution was a flawed, but promising game. Alas, Clan Wars fails to deliver on that promise.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 6 out of 15
  1. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    The game runs flawlessly on my machine, a lot better than revolution.
    People that complain about the rope mechanics being bad doesn't know
    how to utilize it correctly. In other words they need a steel rod instead of an actual rope to be able to do anything with it.

    Those who rate this game without even playing it is narrow minded pricks.
    Collapse
  2. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    I totally disagree with the negative reviews here. In my opinion this is a massive improvement from the last game. The performance at my laptop is just great (no really... the fps is through the roof and all the frames etc. are smooth as hell even in multiplayer there isnt a moment where the game has any problems), the new weapons and singleplayer campaign are fun as hell.
    People saying the animations arent putting up to the fps, try turning on v-sync it has a chance to make it smoother.. also i just want to say that normally i would have a problem with 30 fps animations i have a really high-end laptop and thus run everything from 60 to 120 fps. At Payday 2 for example anything under 70 fps hurts my eyes. Worms Clan wars however totally feels like a relaxing spa for the eyes and is not straining at all.

    Im not sure if im just playing a different game then the others, looking at the reviews..
    but in my opinion this only brings up the great nostalgic feel of playing games without worrying about everything.. just play them because you enjoy them.
    And god do i enjoy Clan Wars... sure the multiplayer population isnt as big as i hoped for.. still the new weapons are great, the graphics are fun, the menus/controls are smooth (did rebind them) and the clansystem is quite nice.. ofcourse i just find the overall feel of the gameplay just something you can play over and over without getting bored a second.

    There you go my opinion about clan wars..
    redeming for the worms series, fun and social, runs perfectly without problems at me (everything on maximal, tests done in multiplayer ofcourse to).

    10/10 recommended
    Expand
  3. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    They did a great job so far, im not sure how other people can review the game and give it a zero when they have never even played it lol. Well im enjoying the new maps with items. Great game! Expand
  4. Aug 22, 2013
    7
    An Okay Worms Game With New Weapons And Adding Your Steam Workshop Items On The Game 7/10

    I Love The Story Mode And Multiplayer Mode As
    Well, I Do Enjoy Making My Own Map As Will To And Enjoyed New Custom Stuff And The New Items In The Game Expand
  5. Apr 21, 2014
    5
    For me the experience is extremely buggy. For a game that's not even in 3D or anything (at least it doesn't need to be) it sure hogs up a ton of CPU resources. I had to restart one of the missions about 4-5 times because of the objectives glitching it up. Sometimes the A.I. spends their entire turn thinking about their move. Though it happens quite seldom imagine how that's gonna feel if that turn happens to be the one after you've activated a checkpoint, meaning you'l have to sit through it every time you've failed because that's what happens at checkpoints, you lose your turn.

    All sorts of minor glitches crop up from behind every corner, some of them affecting gameplay, others not so much. With a tiny bit of lag it gets impossible to perform the high jump consistently. Add two to my score if you don't think you'll experience this at the lowest graphics settings like I am.

    So of course I'm not gonna be able to write a good review for this. I just checked with systemrequirementslab and found out that according to their info I should have way better than minimum requirements on my laptop. Lots of people have been running into a smörgåsbord of issues with the game reading the Steam community threads. After 20+ installments (counting all platforms), of which I played the classical Worms 1, 2, Armageddon and World Party, I returned to Revolution and this and was almost ashamed of how little it's evolved since then. The water is a nice addition, the physics objects, jetpacks, telegun... It's just compared to what you'd have expected it to become since then that it feels so lacklustre.

    So yeah if my personal experience with the game had been any smoother I'm sure this would be a 7 or 8. It's still a Worms game so of course it's going to have that baseline appeal.
    Expand
  6. Feb 26, 2014
    1
    Terrible Controls, confusing graphics (you cant say what's lvl and what's background), bad UI and the worst thing is: Nobody plays it.
    So the
    name "Clan Wars" is quite misleading, because for a war you need other people. Expand
  7. Nov 22, 2013
    0
    Team 17 forum moderators are abusing their rights to remove posts containing constructive criticism. When did Team 17 turn in to Hammerpoint Interactive?

    I don't care how good the game is, if developers are not willing to listen criticism they don't deserve your money.
    Expand

See all 15 User Reviews