Worms Clan Wars Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Oct 7, 2013
    85
    Worms Clan Wars is probably the best entry in the long lasting franchise, both visually and gameplay wise. The clan system might work or not in the long terms but it still adds depth to a stellar multiplayer mode, joined by a good amount of single player content.
  2. Aug 13, 2013
    80
    It still has the soul of the series, and that's everything we ask for. On the top of that, online modes offer that extra fun you may need.
  3. Aug 20, 2013
    80
    The campaign, although it features very steep learning curve, proves to be enjoyable for those who are looking for a really high level of challenge, and the multiplayer segment aims to create a community able to keep the title alive for some time.
  4. Aug 15, 2013
    78
    Fans of Worms will find enough new here to keep things fresh while newcomers can have plenty of fun too.
  5. Aug 29, 2013
    70
    Whilst another sturdy entry in the series, and Clan Wars will be the quintessential Worms game for the near future, we're thankful for Team 17 taking a break from the series.
  6. Aug 13, 2013
    70
    Probably the best game in the long history of the franchise, Clan Wars nonetheless hews close to a formula that was almost perfected long ago. A dull and frustrating singleplayer mode aside, it offers little more than clan and Steam Workshop support to those who own Revolution. For others, however, it's well worth a look.
  7. Oct 7, 2013
    50
    Worms Revolution was a flawed, but promising game. Alas, Clan Wars fails to deliver on that promise.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 6 out of 15
  1. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    They did a great job so far, im not sure how other people can review the game and give it a zero when they have never even played it lol. WellThey did a great job so far, im not sure how other people can review the game and give it a zero when they have never even played it lol. Well im enjoying the new maps with items. Great game! Expand
  2. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    The game runs flawlessly on my machine, a lot better than revolution.
    People that complain about the rope mechanics being bad doesn't know
    The game runs flawlessly on my machine, a lot better than revolution.
    People that complain about the rope mechanics being bad doesn't know how to utilize it correctly. In other words they need a steel rod instead of an actual rope to be able to do anything with it.

    Those who rate this game without even playing it is narrow minded pricks.
    Collapse
  3. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    I totally disagree with the negative reviews here. In my opinion this is a massive improvement from the last game. The performance at myI totally disagree with the negative reviews here. In my opinion this is a massive improvement from the last game. The performance at my laptop is just great (no really... the fps is through the roof and all the frames etc. are smooth as hell even in multiplayer there isnt a moment where the game has any problems), the new weapons and singleplayer campaign are fun as hell.
    People saying the animations arent putting up to the fps, try turning on v-sync it has a chance to make it smoother.. also i just want to say that normally i would have a problem with 30 fps animations i have a really high-end laptop and thus run everything from 60 to 120 fps. At Payday 2 for example anything under 70 fps hurts my eyes. Worms Clan wars however totally feels like a relaxing spa for the eyes and is not straining at all.

    Im not sure if im just playing a different game then the others, looking at the reviews..
    but in my opinion this only brings up the great nostalgic feel of playing games without worrying about everything.. just play them because you enjoy them.
    And god do i enjoy Clan Wars... sure the multiplayer population isnt as big as i hoped for.. still the new weapons are great, the graphics are fun, the menus/controls are smooth (did rebind them) and the clansystem is quite nice.. ofcourse i just find the overall feel of the gameplay just something you can play over and over without getting bored a second.

    There you go my opinion about clan wars..
    redeming for the worms series, fun and social, runs perfectly without problems at me (everything on maximal, tests done in multiplayer ofcourse to).

    10/10 recommended
    Expand
  4. Aug 22, 2013
    7
    An Okay Worms Game With New Weapons And Adding Your Steam Workshop Items On The Game 7/10

    I Love The Story Mode And Multiplayer Mode As
    An Okay Worms Game With New Weapons And Adding Your Steam Workshop Items On The Game 7/10

    I Love The Story Mode And Multiplayer Mode As Well, I Do Enjoy Making My Own Map As Will To And Enjoyed New Custom Stuff And The New Items In The Game
    Expand
  5. Sep 18, 2014
    7
    To update my previous review, I'm now giving it a 7 because they seemed to have done something that makes it run smoothly on my laptop (that'sTo update my previous review, I'm now giving it a 7 because they seemed to have done something that makes it run smoothly on my laptop (that's supposed to meet the requirements) on lowest settings.

    Something I didn't mention in my previous review is the background art which, although nice-looking, can interfere with having a clear understanding of when there's a piece of ground in your way and generally makes the game more difficult to decipher.

    The last mission I played went alright (or I just got lucky) but there were still more than one glitch happening which has been the plague of this game. I don't remember it being such a problem for the old Worms games at all! What happened in between? So still can't give it any better a score than this.

    Thanks for reading!
    Expand
  6. Feb 26, 2014
    1
    Terrible Controls, confusing graphics (you cant say what's lvl and what's background), bad UI and the worst thing is: Nobody plays it.
    So the
    Terrible Controls, confusing graphics (you cant say what's lvl and what's background), bad UI and the worst thing is: Nobody plays it.
    So the name "Clan Wars" is quite misleading, because for a war you need other people.
    Expand
  7. Aug 31, 2013
    0
    I totally agree with Dexploratio. I have been a player of the worms games since the beginning and I stopped liking them back at "reloaded".I totally agree with Dexploratio. I have been a player of the worms games since the beginning and I stopped liking them back at "reloaded". Main problem I'm finding is that no one is even available to play with online, I feel like such a dumb ass for buying this copy of the disappointment I had from the previous one. Expand

See all 15 User Reviews