Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 102 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game has been developed from the ground up and features a completely new game-engine. Exciting new features and challenges have been introduced whilst old favourites such as the Super Sheep and Holy Hand Grenade remain to thrill fans worldwide.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Oct 12, 2012
    85
    Team17 did it again. Worms Revolution is an excellent product, characterized by a lot of new features that surely renew the franchise.
  2. Oct 16, 2012
    80
    Worms Revolution is as good as the franchise has ever been. It's good old psychotic fun, and that's all I really wanted. Yet, after 17 years, it's still very much the same game.
  3. Oct 21, 2012
    77
    There's no revolution in this new installment of Team 17's beloved franchise, but tons of fun and crazy gadgets. New features need a good improvement if they are meant to stick around, but single and multiplayer contents will make fans happy for a bit.
  4. Oct 17, 2012
    70
    Worms Revolution remains as fun as the previous titles of the IP, adding some new features like a shuffle mode, water-based worlds, and classes for our worms. And yet, Team 17 suffers from a lack of ambition, Worms Revolution being a shy evolution of Worms Battle Islands. That's why players that are fond of the IP won't be surprised by the new weapons or some levels with good ideas of interaction.
  5. 70
    Good old worms with a new look are still entertaining (unlike the other modern parts of the series) just like the original ones. [Dec 2012]
  6. Oct 13, 2012
    65
    Even with improved visuals and enhanced physics this is Worms as you know and love (or hate) it.
  7. Oct 15, 2012
    60
    Collectively, these tweaks add a number of new tactics to the Worms repertoire, and another layer of customization. Revolution is a positive step forward. It's not, however, a game-changer, and if you're tired of the basic Worms template, it's not going to draw you back. It's no revolution. As a revival though, there's lots to like, in the old and the new.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 34
  2. Negative: 11 out of 34
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    I've played the single player missions for this game a good bit now, and I'm quite enjoying it. Definitely worth the price! Matt Berry's voice acting is stellar, as well as the way the worms seem to interact with him. There's a lot of little nuances that make it obvious that a lot of work went into this game. My only complaint so far is that I can't seem to find any multi-player games (it's entirely possible that it's on my end though). If you're a fan of the series, you're going to love this game! Expand
  2. Apr 12, 2013
    10
    After a good tutorial game, most fun found in LAN with friends over internet. Old good features are there, graphics are good and new stuffs make this Worms Revolution perfect!! Expand
  3. Jan 22, 2013
    9
    Well, I don't think this is a fair rating, because this game is better than the others. I had a lot of fun in this game, and it has a lot of innovations! Collapse
  4. Dec 9, 2012
    7
    I just bought the first 2 worms game and thoroughly enjoyed them, but then this came out and i bought it. First, overpriced. Second the arsenal of weapons is still big, but they took out important and fun to play around with weapons (not all, but several). Third, the graphics just don't give the same feel of true worms game-play. Finally, the customization wasn't quite as large as i expected, but still fairly big. For the price, buy worms 1 and 2. Expand
  5. Oct 14, 2012
    5
    IGN and SpazioGames giving it the token "Gamespot" 8.5, which is the lowest they were paid to give. The trailers don't show you anything. Seems like Team17 cannot innovate, ever. Expand
  6. Jan 8, 2013
    4
    I've always liked Worms. It's a lot of fun to beat your friends in hotseat mode, and the game always bring out some laughs. This one doesn't.

    Contrary to what other people have written here you CAN drop weapons from jetpacks and ninja ropes. Maybe they've patched it in. You CAN also create separate teams for separate players. But the game still lacks all the fun from previous installments. It's slow and sluggish, feels like everything is moving in some semi slow-motion. It's harder to aim properly in this one compared to previous games. Ninja rope and jet packs feel very weird and hard to control properly.

    The implementation of water feels very unnecessary. I though you could drown opponents worms with water gun or water bombs. And you can immerse them in water if they are in a hole, but it barely hurts them at all. They can easily get out from there, or stay in the water fighting like nothing happened only loosing 5 health per turn. If you want to drown the worms you have to throw them into the water on the sides or bottom.

    This feels like a very unpolished game. The core gameplay is crippled, and no fancy hairstyles and moustaches in the world can save this from being plain boring. If you like Worms, buy the previous versions.
    Expand
  7. Jan 11, 2013
    0
    Simply awful. As good as no content. Only usable if you are playing against friends on your computer. The single player mode is limited to a basic walk-through, hijacked by not-so-funny dialogue. This will last about 20 minutes, but it will have gotten old after the first few seconds. Online multiplayer mode: no-one is ever on-line. This game is dead. DO NOT BUY! Remember, no refunds. Expand

See all 34 User Reviews