X Rebirth PC

X Rebirth Image
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1337 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the distant future, the X universe faces a period of profound and irrevocable change. While the universe stumbles towards an uncertain future, countless adventures await as new enemies rise in search of power. Enter a young adventurer and his unlikely female ally traveling in an old,In the distant future, the X universe faces a period of profound and irrevocable change. While the universe stumbles towards an uncertain future, countless adventures await as new enemies rise in search of power. Enter a young adventurer and his unlikely female ally traveling in an old, battered ship with a glorious past - two people alone against the galaxy, playing a key part in the events to come. The fate of the universe rests in the hands of the player... Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 24 out of 24
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    47
    To top off a growing tower of gripes, navigation around space in Rebirth is an astounding hassle.
  2. Dec 2, 2013
    43
    No matter what happens with stability and bug-fixing patches, its poor controls, awful interface, and dull pacing ensure that X Rebirth will remain unpleasant for all but the most forgiving, die-hard space jockeys.
  3. Dec 4, 2013
    40
    X: Rebirth will get better over time, and anyone who’s open-minded enough to look past the ‘X’ branding and see the ‘game’, may even find many hours of entertainment.
  4. Dec 3, 2013
    30
    You can (barely) fathom some good ideas about offering the players more accessibility in a saga that surely needed some, but they soon get lost in the utter and complete mess of unfinished mechanics and bugs that, sadly, is X Rebirth.
  5. Dec 11, 2013
    30
    Long story short: In its current state, X Rebirth is just a sad affair.
  6. Jan 7, 2014
    28
    Patches may stop the glitches, but I think this space sim is far beyond repair.
  7. Nov 25, 2013
    16
    Somewhere in this mess is an X as you know and like it: Smaller, but prettier and with a solid foundation. But with problems like game-stopping bugs and bad design decisions all the ambition goes down the drain.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 5, 2015
    10
    I pre ordered this game and it was disappointing when it had a lot of glitches. The X series has been my favorite since X-Beyond. I knew theI pre ordered this game and it was disappointing when it had a lot of glitches. The X series has been my favorite since X-Beyond. I knew the old games backwards and the new one was alien. I have since grown to love the game. The developers have been patching / fixing / improving the whole time and it's now a great game.
    Looking forward to the next installation.
    Expand
  2. Nov 16, 2013
    8
    After seeing all the very low zero's in the user reviews I just wanted to write my own review to show a more realistic rating on this game.After seeing all the very low zero's in the user reviews I just wanted to write my own review to show a more realistic rating on this game. I've played for about 5 hours now and it's not a superb game, but it's also not bad I would give it a 7.5 but because of the fact it must have a 7 or an 8 and with all the extemely low ratings so far I'm going with an 8 for a bit of a balance :)

    Graphics 8/10
    In space everything is just gorgeous and full of detail and I'm not even running on the highest settings, since my pc is already a couple of years old. Inside the stations it is pretty oke but just not up to the standards set by the space enviroments. The biggest problem that ruins the submersion into the game are the animations of the characters spend some more time on them and it would help a lot.

    Controles 8/10 (For controller use)
    I have connected my xbox controller and using that the most right now. At first the response of the right stick was WAY to high but after some tweaking that was fixed. It took a little bit of getting used to the several controls in the beginning and walking around is still a little bit awkward. But all in all I have no problems with it. But I have not spend a lot of time on the mouse and keyboard yet and since a lot of problems I read on here are about the keyboard and mouse controls my score might be a big higher

    User Interface 7/10
    The user interface has indeed been streamlined and although a lot of people are complaining about the new menu I think it all just a matter of getting used to it. Of course it is different from the old games and ofcourse that means you can't find everything right away. But that was the same thing when you jumped into X3 as a new player to the series. In fact for me this is already easier than the old X3 menus where.

    Gameplay 6/10
    So far the only real pain in my butt while playing the campaign is that fact that you must search for the right entry into a space station and then have to look around for the right persion (took me a long time to find a drones sales(wo)man). I rather not spend unneccesary time looking for people inside the space station when the outside is so much more beautifull to be in.

    Conclusion
    The game has a lot of potential and is off to a great start, just spend a bit more time on the animations and looks of all the characters we have to spend time with and try to think of a faster method of finding the right person for a job and the game would already improve a lot.
    Expand
  3. Dec 2, 2013
    5
    Thanks to the people here for the reviews otherwise i lose 50 euro,s .
    When i saw the X-rebirth trailer i was drooling like a dog and had
    Thanks to the people here for the reviews otherwise i lose 50 euro,s .
    When i saw the X-rebirth trailer i was drooling like a dog and had a erection I was feeling glorious and thought by myself YIAHAAA FINALLY a beautiful Space game like Eve-online but offline space battles and trading and missions maybe more Looks great I am going to buy this one Maybe a lot of people thought this also and thats why they had a selling peak what they call a SUCCESS ?
    Lucky i didn't want to buy this from Steam because long time downloading and wanted to wait for the dvd of X-rebirth coming to the game shop But now after i reading al these negative things here and on the Steam forum i will not buy this Maybe for 15 Euro,s ..dont know yet I will not buy it now maybe never and just wait for Star Citizen and Elite Dangerous and Space engineers final version .
    But isn't it a crime to sell a game wat is in alpha stage for the full price
    Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2013
    2
    The game is very dumbed down the other X games where complex and not everyone's cup of tea, but this one is overly simplified and riddledThe game is very dumbed down the other X games where complex and not everyone's cup of tea, but this one is overly simplified and riddled with many bugs or features which are simply not working.
    There are only 4 weapons in the game, even privateer had more XD

    Only good thing I can say is that the graphics in space look good.
    Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2013
    1
    This game is fun when it works, but the constant need to find a work around after each crash or game stopping bug is too much for me. I giveThis game is fun when it works, but the constant need to find a work around after each crash or game stopping bug is too much for me. I give up on this game offering any enjoyment in the near future.
    This game does not deserve a score based on what it could be, fact is without looking for work around you cannot finish it.
    Expand
  6. May 19, 2015
    0
    It's been two years since this game was released. It has received update after update and it looks like the developers are done updating.It's been two years since this game was released. It has received update after update and it looks like the developers are done updating.

    And you still shouldn't pay a cent for it.

    It is still riddled with glitches, bugs and low FPS issues even on high end systems. The campaign is more frustrating than fun (such as sending you into combat that you can't win unless you run away and make your enemy follow you to a station and let the station turrets destroy them).

    I played for a few hours then uninstalled.

    People, PLEASE stop pre purchasing! The only reason game companies can release crap like this is because you idiots keep pre purchasing their games! They already have your money, so they can release junk and there is nothing you can do about it! STOP!
    Expand
  7. Nov 15, 2013
    0
    Made for consoles. Massively dumbed down from the previous titles, everything which made them good has been removed and replaced by a buggyMade for consoles. Massively dumbed down from the previous titles, everything which made them good has been removed and replaced by a buggy action-adventure game. Someone obviously played Mass Effect and thought, "Me too!"

    The interface is terrible, and support for the keyboard, mouse, or joystick is barely there. If you're not playing with a X-Box gamepad, you're out of luck with this title.
    Expand

See all 676 User Reviews