Yesterday PC

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 49
  2. Negative: 11 out of 49

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 3, 2013
    5
    This game is competent (I found no bugs), but approach with caution and do not expect too much. As stated elsewhere, it's short (< 5 hours), and if like me you rate games of 1$ per hour of game-play to be the top range, then buy for only $5. The graphics are of the Monkey Island/The Next Big Thing style, which is fine for comedy games but not for more adult themes that this tries to be. ItThis game is competent (I found no bugs), but approach with caution and do not expect too much. As stated elsewhere, it's short (< 5 hours), and if like me you rate games of 1$ per hour of game-play to be the top range, then buy for only $5. The graphics are of the Monkey Island/The Next Big Thing style, which is fine for comedy games but not for more adult themes that this tries to be. It needs to be a lot darker in visual tone and music. The story is a mix between Broken Sword and something from an Irvine Welsh novel, with even some curse words in there (probably best to know if buying for someone less than 10 year olds). The music is forgettable and does not add anything to the game. Overall, buy cheap, enjoy one or two solving screens, and (probably) like me, Google the other 3 alternate endings, as the last save-point is ridiculously far back in the game. Expand
  2. Apr 28, 2013
    7
    A short point ‘n’ click adventure with lots of twists to keep you entertained. Unfortunately, the inability to connect with any of the characters and the lack of any truly memorable scenes means the short playthrough will be easily forgotten; just like the eponymous protagonist’s memories.
  3. Mar 25, 2012
    5
    There are 3 things you won't expect in this game: first, how dark and interesting the story is; second, how many bugs there are; third, how quickly it ends. With occasional assistance from the in-game help system, I finished this game in under 5 hours, getting all three endings. I found it to be very well done and thoroughly enjoyable and yet way, waaaay too short for a full priceThere are 3 things you won't expect in this game: first, how dark and interesting the story is; second, how many bugs there are; third, how quickly it ends. With occasional assistance from the in-game help system, I finished this game in under 5 hours, getting all three endings. I found it to be very well done and thoroughly enjoyable and yet way, waaaay too short for a full price purchase. If the game were twice as long I'd be giving it a 7 for STILL being kind of short. Then there are several extremely annoying bugs, the worst of which are sequences in the game where your inventory either becomes invisible or vanishes entirely. Kind of a big deal in an adventure game. As it is, I have to give the game a 5 if you pay full price, 6 if it's patched properly. If you somehow get it for 10-20 bucks, or money is no object to you, that review goes up to an 8.5. Expand
  4. Mar 28, 2012
    0
    Short but stunningly sweet. I thoroughly enjoyed Yesterday from start to finish (although that might not be saying as much as you think!), it has everything a brilliant point-and-click adventure needs: an engaging plot, attractive styling, credible characters and humour in all the right places. Unfortunately the game was *so* short, taking me around 4 hours to complete, that PenduloShort but stunningly sweet. I thoroughly enjoyed Yesterday from start to finish (although that might not be saying as much as you think!), it has everything a brilliant point-and-click adventure needs: an engaging plot, attractive styling, credible characters and humour in all the right places. Unfortunately the game was *so* short, taking me around 4 hours to complete, that Pendulo Studios neglected the opportunity to capitalise on these positive qualities. Unfortunately, as I feared, the current price of £20 is completely unrealistic for what's on offer. Yesterday is a great example of what the point-and-click genre has to offer, but dies down all too quickly and just leaves you wanting more. A fantastic game, and definitely worth playing... But unfortunately at £5 per hour of gameplay the price is just too high. Collapse
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 33
  2. Negative: 3 out of 33
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Jun 20, 2012
    55
    You have to admire Pendulo Studios for surviving 18 years by making adventure gamers, but Yesterday is a truly lackluster example of the genre. The writing is consistently awful and the puzzles are annoying and illogical. [June 2012]
  2. PC Gamer UK
    Jun 19, 2012
    52
    Unluckily, it costs 20 quid, which is significantly more than it's worth. [July 2012, p.99]
  3. PC Master (Greece)
    May 16, 2012
    70
    The first gaming slap in the face of the year. Expectations grew as we learned news during its development as well as the early gaming experience. Alas, we are let down by a very low difficulty level, a very short gaming duration as well as bad story narration. All the major plot elements are revealed too soon, the game rushes to its finale and we are not met with the anticipated climax. [May 2012]