Yesterday Image
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 61 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Also known as "New York Crimes") In New York City, beggars are disappearing one after another, only to be found burnt alive. Meanwhile, a Y-shaped scar forms in the palm of the hands of seemingly unrelated people. With the police and the media giving little attention to these events, Henry(Also known as "New York Crimes") In New York City, beggars are disappearing one after another, only to be found burnt alive. Meanwhile, a Y-shaped scar forms in the palm of the hands of seemingly unrelated people. With the police and the media giving little attention to these events, Henry White, a young and rich heir dedicated to a charitable organization, and his friend Cooper, are the first to investigate these disappearances. They are two of the three playable characters in Yesterday, the third being none other than the enigmatic John Yesterday, who is dragged into this incredible story after his memory is completely wiped. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Yesterday Launch Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 33
  2. Negative: 3 out of 33
  1. Apr 6, 2012
    90
    Once again, a great adventure game from Pendulo. But this one is darker in tone and story (which is excellent) that, its usual productions.
  2. Apr 20, 2012
    84
    Overall, Yesterday is a fine adventure with a unique look, competent puzzles, and a compelling story. The only downside is that it's relatively short. It only took me a little more than five hours to complete the game, and so Pendulo definitely had some room to add in an extra chapter or two. But otherwise, as long as you don't mind some disturbing content, Yesterday is well worth its $30 price tag.
  3. Mar 22, 2012
    80
    Sleekly packaged and eminently playable, Yesterday conceals the darkness of the human mind within a beautiful artistic canvas; drawing you in with glimpses of dreadful secrets and leaving you shocked, yet satisfied, with its twisted narrative.
  4. Apr 11, 2012
    70
    Yesterday compensates its flaws for its great story - an element that's been the most important thing in adventure genre. If you get over its lower difficulty level and its brief duration, you might get some thrilling experience of great pace and with great atmosphere, and you will cherish that impression even after the game is over.
  5. Apr 11, 2012
    60
    Yesterday is a solid point-and-click adventure that harkens back to the games of old. The narrative is painfully short, but the interesting tone, clever puzzles and fantastic atmosphere does make up for it somewhat.
  6. Mar 23, 2012
    60
    An ambitious narrative, with some uneven characterisation and halfway successful puzzle design.
  7. Apr 3, 2012
    30
    More than most other genres, if an adventure's core narrative foundations aren't solid enough to carry the rest of game, everything else is meaningless -- and Yesterday's is a story built on matchsticks and marbles. To play it is to see it come crashing down.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 4 out of 11
  1. Oct 15, 2012
    9
    This game had me hooked from the get go, throwing me straight into a world with interesting, multi-faceted characters, a mystery to solve, andThis game had me hooked from the get go, throwing me straight into a world with interesting, multi-faceted characters, a mystery to solve, and beautiful hand-drawn backgrounds. I was immediately struck by how player friendly the game is. I was always given enough information to work out what to do next and if I ran into trouble there was a helpful hint system. When I tried to do something that seemed logical to me, the game would almost always let me try it and give me an informative message about why the item combination didn't work. These qualities are sadly lacking in most adventure games I've played so I applaud Yesterday for getting this so right and not leaving the player scratching their head as to why those items "don't work together".
    Yesterday loses a point for, yes being too short, and because consequently the narrative felt a bit rushed and I would have liked to have seen the many reveals spread out a bit more. The game took me about 8 hours but the complex story deserved twice that. Still, the game remained engaging and fun the entire time and kept me on the edge of my seat.
    Expand
  2. Mar 15, 2017
    8
    Отличный квест! Рассказывать о квестах дело неблагодатное, ты либо разжевываешь очевидное, либо спойлеришь, посему...

    Итак, игра предлагает
    Отличный квест! Рассказывать о квестах дело неблагодатное, ты либо разжевываешь очевидное, либо спойлеришь, посему...

    Итак, игра предлагает нам неплохой сюжет, который, впрочем, довольно предсказуем и банален. Но следить за ним интересно, надеюсь в сиквеле добавят перчинки в сюжет. Куда лучше сюжета удалось повествование -- очень и очень классно все стилизованно под комикс и Рассказчик довольно забавная личность, которая не упустит возможности над нами подшутить. Не отстает и графический стиль -- все очень сочно и красиво, вот только анимации жутко страшные :) Загадки тут типичные для квестов -- совмести то, совмести се, вполне логичны и предельно просты, хотя в самом начале игра выкинет фортель и даст вам три шахматных задачки. Неплохо, неплохо.

    Ну а теперь об минусах, точней об минусе -- для меня он один.
    Нельзя выбрать сочетание озвучкиинтерфейса. А русская озвучка.. Она неплоха голосами, но интонации.. Их нет. Такое ощущение, что актерам было откровенно на♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥ на то, что они записывают.

    Резюмируя -- неплохой, очень даже неплохой квест, с простенькими задачками, да, но менее увлекательным он не становится. Рекомендую! Только меняйте озвучку, русская плоха, ей богу.
    Expand
  3. Mar 28, 2012
    8
    Short but stunningly sweet. I thoroughly enjoyed Yesterday from start to finish (although that might not be saying as much as you think!), itShort but stunningly sweet. I thoroughly enjoyed Yesterday from start to finish (although that might not be saying as much as you think!), it has everything a brilliant point-and-click adventure needs: an engaging plot, attractive styling, credible characters and humour in all the right places. Unfortunately the game was *so* short, taking me around 4 hours to complete, that Pendulo Studios neglected the opportunity to capitalise on these positive qualities. Unfortunately, as I feared, the current price of £20 is completely unrealistic for what's on offer. Yesterday is a great example of what the point-and-click genre has to offer, but dies down all too quickly and just leaves you wanting more. A fantastic game, and definitely worth playing... But unfortunately at £5 per hour of gameplay the price is just too high. Expand
  4. Jan 3, 2013
    5
    This game is competent (I found no bugs), but approach with caution and do not expect too much. As stated elsewhere, it's short (< 5 hours),This game is competent (I found no bugs), but approach with caution and do not expect too much. As stated elsewhere, it's short (< 5 hours), and if like me you rate games of 1$ per hour of game-play to be the top range, then buy for only $5. The graphics are of the Monkey Island/The Next Big Thing style, which is fine for comedy games but not for more adult themes that this tries to be. It needs to be a lot darker in visual tone and music. The story is a mix between Broken Sword and something from an Irvine Welsh novel, with even some curse words in there (probably best to know if buying for someone less than 10 year olds). The music is forgettable and does not add anything to the game. Overall, buy cheap, enjoy one or two solving screens, and (probably) like me, Google the other 3 alternate endings, as the last save-point is ridiculously far back in the game. Expand
  5. Mar 25, 2012
    5
    There are 3 things you won't expect in this game: first, how dark and interesting the story is; second, how many bugs there are; third, howThere are 3 things you won't expect in this game: first, how dark and interesting the story is; second, how many bugs there are; third, how quickly it ends. With occasional assistance from the in-game help system, I finished this game in under 5 hours, getting all three endings. I found it to be very well done and thoroughly enjoyable and yet way, waaaay too short for a full price purchase. If the game were twice as long I'd be giving it a 7 for STILL being kind of short. Then there are several extremely annoying bugs, the worst of which are sequences in the game where your inventory either becomes invisible or vanishes entirely. Kind of a big deal in an adventure game. As it is, I have to give the game a 5 if you pay full price, 6 if it's patched properly. If you somehow get it for 10-20 bucks, or money is no object to you, that review goes up to an 8.5. Collapse
  6. Mar 24, 2012
    3
    Pendulo should take one more year to develop this game, maybe the story is good, but the game is too damn short. The music and the dubbing arePendulo should take one more year to develop this game, maybe the story is good, but the game is too damn short. The music and the dubbing are for the most part nonexistent. There are so many bug on the subtitles ( for a point & click it's just a joke ). If u ( like me ) love all the pendulo's game, avoid this one ! Expand
  7. Jul 19, 2014
    0
    I love Pendulo Studios for making Runaway 3: A Twist of Fate and The Next Big Thing, they are absolutely great games, but Yesterday is aI love Pendulo Studios for making Runaway 3: A Twist of Fate and The Next Big Thing, they are absolutely great games, but Yesterday is a bitter disappointment. I really don't know what they were thinking when they made this, usually Pendulo games are joyful and charming games with funny characters that are really lovable but in this game they are trying to be gloomy and serious and it's just not their style. The story is weak and way too short to get into. The characters in this game are all boring and weak, especially the dialogs and all the endings are completely awful and short and I really dislike the comic style they have chosen for this game. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews

Trailers